DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/541,150 filed on 12/15/2023.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 12/15/2023 as approved by applicant (See Response to Arguments/Remarks - Election/Restrictions and Interview Summary), which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1-20 are pending.
-Claims 1-5, 6-10 are elected without traverse.
-Claims 11-20 are cancelled (non-elected).
-Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Priority
4. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments/Remarks - Election/Restrictions
5. Applicant in Applicant’s arguments/Remarks made in an Amendment submitted 2/24/2026 (i.e. in response to the restriction requirement 02/19/2026) states Applicant elects Claim Group I: Claims 1-5 and 6-10, where this election is made without traverse and the non-elected claims have been canceled.
However, subject to the above referenced election by applicant, claims filed by applicant on 02/24/2026 are non-compliant with the election and cancellations referenced above. Subsequently to bring claims to be examined into compliance with applicant’s stated election and cancellation, applicant furthermore orally corrected applicant’s claim elections without traverse based upon claims submitted 12/15/2023 during an interview conducted 03/18/2026.
As result of the interview (See Attached interview Summary), non-complaint claims with receipt date 02/24/2026 were approved by applicant for non-entry i.e. not to be entered and not to be utilized for examination, and therefore the office accordingly does not enter non-complaint claims with receipt date 02/24/2026.
Alternately, based upon applicant’s now further corrected oral election, claims 1-10 are elected without traverse from claims submitted 12/15/2023 and are now approved by applicant for examination as reflected under claim status above. Furthermore, as approved by applicant, non-elected claims 11-20 are verified as cancelled by applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claim 5, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Regarding Claim 5, 10 (Utilizing claim 5 as an example representative of claim 10) - Claim 5 (i.e. which depends from claim 1) recites terms “the data frame through non-punctured sub-channels” after a preceding recitation of “a data frame through non-punctured sub-channels” in Claim 1, where the office action presents a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “non-punctured sub-channels” in Claim 5 finds antecedent basis, i.e. whether the recitation of “non-punctured sub-channels” in claim 1 serves as the antecedent basis for “non-punctured sub-channels” in Claim 5, or whether the recitation “non-punctured sub-channels” in claim 5 refers to a separate instance of “non-punctured sub-channels” different from claim 1.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
9. Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SUN et al. (US 20220085910 A1) i.e. “SUN”.
Regarding Claim 1. SUN discloses: A data transmission method (SUN FIG. 9 depicts Data PPDU transmission & ¶0100 […] bandwidth negotiation operation 900 between an AP and a STA; ¶0103 […] AP confirms receipt of the data PPDU ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 9 depicting PPDU transmission and per ¶0103 i.e. AP confirms receipt of the data PPDU reads on: A data transmission and as associated with per ¶0100 i.e. bandwidth negotiation operation 900 reads on: method ),
comprising: detecting, by a processor of a first apparatus, a medium condition to obtain a detection result (SUN FIG. 5B & ¶0061 […] an application processor 535 coupled with the wireless communication device 51 ; FIG. 7A & ¶0082 […] at least eight of the remaining bits 704 may be repurposed to convey punctured channel information (such as the dynamic punctured channel information 604 or the additional punctured channel information 606 of FIG. 6); FIG. 6 & ¶0069 […] The STA 610 can detect the additional occupied subchannels, for example, by performing CCA on the remaining subchannels of the wireless channel 650. In some implementations, the STA 610 may transmit dynamic punctured channel information 604 to the AP 620 to indicate the additional subchannels to be avoided or punctured; FIG. 9 & ¶0101 […] At time t.sub.0, the STA transmits an RTS frame to the AP that is duplicated over a 320 MHz channel, excluding a number of punctured subchannels. […] the punctured subchannels may represent one or more occupied subchannels detected by the AP and one or more additional occupied subchannels detected by the STA. […] the RTS frame may carry punctured channel information indicating the punctured subchannels to be avoided or punctured when communicating over the 320 MHz channel. […] the punctured channel information may be carried by one or more of the remaining bits following a scrambler initialization sequence in the service field of the RTS frame (such as described with reference to FIGS. 7A-7C);
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. time t.sub.0, the STA transmits an RTS frame to the AP that is duplicated over a 320 MHz channel, excluding a number of punctured subchannels, where i.e. the punctured subchannels may represent one or more occupied subchannels detected by the AP and one or more additional occupied subchannels i.e. detected by the STA reads on: comprising: detecting prior to RTS frame i.e. additional occupied subchannels detected. Furthermore the RTS associates via FIG. 7A to dynamic punctured channel information 604 which per ¶0069 i.e. STA 610 can detect the additional occupied subchannels, for example, by performing CCA. Furthermore per FIG. 5 & ¶0061 i.e. an application processor 535 of the STA 504 reads on: by a processor of a first apparatus. Furthermore per ¶0101 i.e. prior to RTS frame i.e. additional occupied subchannels detected, where the RTS associates via FIG. 7A to dynamic punctured channel information 604 of FIG. 6 which per ¶0069 i.e. STA 610 can detect the additional occupied subchannels, for example, by performing CCA reads on: a medium condition to obtain a detection result);
receiving, by the processor, a second channel information from a second apparatus (Sun FIG. 5B & ¶0061 See above; FIG. 9 & ¶0102 […] The AP receives the RTS frame and may interpret one or more bits of the service field to carry punctured channel information. The AP may further determine the punctured subchannels represented by the received punctured channel information. In the example of FIG. 9, the AP may detect a number of additional occupied subchannels in the upper 160 MHz sub-band of the 320 MHz channel. Because the STA supports punctured channel negotiation, the AP may allow the STA to utilize any portion of the 320 MHz channel exclusive of the occupied subchannels. Thus, at time t.sub.1, the AP transmits a CTS frame to the STA that is duplicated over the 320 MHz channel, excluding the punctured subchannels indicated by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP. In some implementations, the CTS frame also may carry punctured channel information identifying the punctured subchannels indicated in the RTS frame and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0102 i.e. at time t.sub.1, the AP transmits a CTS frame to the STA reads on: receiving, by the processor where STA comprises processor 535.
Furthermore per ¶0102 i.e. CTS i.e. that is duplicated over the 320 MHz channel, excluding i.e. the punctured subchannels indicated by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP Reads on: a second channel information , where furthermore the CTS associates via FIG. 7A to dynamic punctured channel information 606 of FIG. 6. Furthermore per ¶0102 i.e. the AP transmits reads on: from a second apparatus that transmits the CTS. );
obtaining, by the processor, a punctured sub-channel information corresponding to a transmission bandwidth based on the detection result and the second channel information (Sun FIG. 5B & ¶0061 See above; FIG. 9 & ¶0101 See above; ¶0102 see above; ¶0103 […] the CTS frame may indicate that the AP supports the 320 MHz channel (and punctured subchannels) requested by the STA. The STA receives the CTS frame and, at time t2, proceeds to transmit a data PPDU to the AP over the portion of the 320 MHz channel which excludes the punctured subchannels determined by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP […] At time t3, the AP confirms receipt of the data PPDU by transmitting an acknowledgement (ACK) frame back to the STA;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0103 i.e. STA receives the CTS frame and, at time t2, proceeds to transmit a data PPDU to the AP over the portion of the 320 MHz channel which excludes the punctured subchannels determined by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP reads on: obtaining, by the processor, a punctured sub-channel information where STA comprises processor 535. Furthermore per ¶0103 i.e. transmit a data PPDU to the AP over the portion of the 320 MHz channel, where per FIG. 9 as depicted and per ¶0103 i.e. the CTS frame may indicate that the AP supports the 320 MHz channel (and punctured subchannels) requested by the STA reads on: corresponding to a transmission bandwidth . Furthermore per ¶0103 i.e. proceeds to transmit a data PPDU to the AP over the portion of the 320 MHz channel which excludes the punctured subchannels determined by the STA and as depicted in FIG. 9 i.e. avoids Additional Punctured Subchannels determined by STA (TXOP holder) reads on: based on the detection result . Furthermore per ¶0103 i.e. The STA receives the CTS frame and, at time t2, proceeds to transmit a data PPDU to the AP over the portion of the 320 MHz channel which excludes i.e. the punctured subchannels determined by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP reads on: and the second channel information );
transmitting, by the processor, a data frame through non-punctured sub-channels of the transmission bandwidth to the second apparatus based on the punctured sub-channel information (SUN FIG. 5 & ¶0051 […] each PPDU 300 includes a PHY preamble 302 and a PSDU 304; ¶0061 see above; FIG. 9 & ¶0103 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0103 i.e. The STA receives the CTS frame and, at time t2, proceeds to transmit reads on: transmitting, by the processor where STA comprises processor 535. Furthermore per FIG. 9 & ¶0099 i.e. The STA receives the CTS frame and, at time t2, proceeds to transmit a data PPDU and where per FIG. 3 & ¶0051 i.e. each PPDU 300 includes a PHY preamble 302 and a PSDU 304 reads on: a data frame where per ¶0103 i.e. the AP transmits a CTS frame to the STA that is duplicated over the 320 MHz channel, i.e. excluding the punctured subchannels indicated by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP as also depicted in FIG. 9 reads on: through non-punctured sub-channels of the transmission bandwidth to the second apparatus, Furthermore as depicted in FIG. 9 over i.e. sub-bands of the 320 MHz channel which i.e. avoids additional Occupied channels Detected by AP and Additional Punctured Subchannels Detected by STA reads on: based on the punctured sub-channel information );
and receiving, by the processor, an acknowledgement frame from the second apparatus in response to the second apparatus receiving the data frame (SUN FIG. 9 & ¶0103 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0103 i.e. At time t3, the AP confirms receipt of the data PPDU i.e. by transmitting an acknowledgement (ACK) frame back reads on: and receiving per ¶0103 i.e. to the STA reads on: by the processor where STA comprises processor 535. Furthermore per FIG. 9 & ¶0103 i.e. by transmitting an acknowledgement (ACK) frame back reads on: an acknowledgement frame where per ¶0103 i.e. the AP confirms receipt of the data PPDU by transmitting i.e. from the second apparatus where the AP transmits the ACK frame, and per ¶0103 i.e. the AP confirms receipt of the data PPDU, and i.e. as also depicted in FIG. 9 reads on: in response to the second apparatus receiving the data frame ).
Regarding Claim 2. SUN discloses: The data transmission method of claim 1,
furthermore SUN discloses: further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, a first channel information to the second apparatus based on the detection result (SUN FIG. 9 & ¶0101 See Claim 1; ¶0103 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 9 & ¶0101 i.e. the STA transmits an RTS frame to the AP that is duplicated over a 320 MHz channel, excluding a number of punctured subchannels. In the example of FIG. 9, the punctured subchannels may represent i.e. one or more occupied subchannels detected by the AP and one or more additional occupied subchannels detected by the STA reads on: further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, a first channel information , per FIG. 9 & ¶0101 i.e. the STA transmits an RTS frame to the AP reads on: to the second apparatus , where per ¶0101 i.e. the punctured subchannels may represent i.e. one or more occupied subchannels detected by the AP and i.e. one or more additional occupied subchannels detected by the STA reads on: based on the detection result ),
wherein the second channel information comprises the first channel information (SUN FIG. 9 & ¶0101 See Claim 1; ¶0102 & ¶0103 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0102 i.e. at time t.sub.1, the AP transmits a CTS frame to the STA that is duplicated over the 320 MHz channel, excluding the punctured subchannels indicated by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP and per ¶0102 i.e. the CTS frame also may carry punctured channel information identifying the punctured subchannels indicated in the RTS frame reads on: wherein the second channel information comprises the first channel information);
and obtaining, by the processor, the punctured sub-channel information corresponding to the transmission bandwidth based on the second channel information (SUN FIG. 9 & ¶0101 See Claim 1; ¶0102 & ¶0103 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0103 i.e. The STA receives the CTS frame and, at time t2, proceeds to transmit a data PPDU to the AP over the portion of the 320 MHz channel which excludes the punctured subchannels determined by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP as also depicted in FIG. 9 reads on: and obtaining, by the processor, the punctured sub-channel information where per ¶0103 i.e. receives CTS and transmits a data PPDU over the portion of the 320 MHz channel which excludes reads on: corresponding to the transmission bandwidth , where per ¶0103 i.e. which excludes the punctured subchannels determined by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP reads on: based on the second channel information where furthermore the CTS associates to FIG. 7A to convey punctured channel information via such as dynamic punctured channel information 606 of FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 3. SUN discloses: The data transmission method of claim 2,
furthermore SUN discloses: wherein the first channel information and the second channel information are control frames (SUN FIG. 9 & ¶00102 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0102 i.e. AP transmits a CTS frame to the STA that is duplicated over the 320 MHz channel, excluding the punctured subchannels indicated by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP. Where i.e., the CTS frame that carries i.e. CTS frame also may carry i.e. punctured channel information identifying the punctured subchannels indicated in the RTS frame reads on: wherein the first channel information where the RTS frame per FIG. 9 & ¶0101 comprises i.e. punctured subchannels which i.e. represent i.e. one or more occupied subchannels detected by the AP and one or more additional occupied subchannels detected by the STA. Furthermore Per ¶0102 i.e. at time t.sub.1, the AP transmits a CTS frame to the STA that is duplicated over the 320 MHz channel, where the CTS frame that is i.e. excluding the punctured subchannels indicated by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP reads on: and the second channel information. Both the first channel information and second channel information are transmitted or received via RTS frames or CTS frames reads on: are control frames ).
Regarding Claim 6. SUN discloses: An apparatus for data transmission (SUN FIG. 9 depicts Data PPDU transmission & ¶0100 […] bandwidth negotiation operation 900 between an AP and a STA; ¶0103 […] The STA receives the CTS frame and, at time t2, proceeds to transmit a data PPDU to the AP; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 9 depicting PPDU transmission and per ¶0103 i.e. The STA i.e. proceeds to transmit reads on: An apparatus for data transmission ),
comprising: a transceiver, configured to perform wireless transmission and reception to and from a second apparatus (SUN FIG. 5 & ¶0061 […] The STA 504 also includes one or more antennas 525 coupled with the wireless communication device 515 to transmit and receive wireless communication FIG. 9; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As applied to the STA of FG. 9 per ¶0061 i.e. one or more antennas 525 coupled with the wireless communication device 515 reads on: comprising: a transceiver , per ¶0061 i.e. to transmit and receive wireless communication such RTS CTS PPDU of FIG. 9 reads on: configured to perform wireless transmission and reception to and from, per FIG. 9 and ¶0103 AP reads on: a second apparatus );
a processor, coupled to the transceiver (SUN FIG. 5 & ¶0061 See claim 1 and above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As applied to the STA of FG. 9 per ¶0061 i.e. The STA 504 additionally includes an application processor 535 coupled with the wireless communication device 515 reads on: a processor, coupled to the transceiver ),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 6 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 6. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
and configured to: detect a medium condition to obtain a detection result; receive, via the transceiver (SUN FIG. 5 & ¶0061 […] See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As applied to the STA of FG. 9 per ¶0061 i.e. one or more antennas 525 coupled with the wireless communication device 515, to transmit and receive wireless communication such RTS CTS PPDU of FIG. 9 reads on: receive, via the transceiver),
a second channel information from the second apparatus; obtain a punctured sub-channel information corresponding to a transmission bandwidth based on the detection result and the second channel information; transmit, via the transceiver(SUN FIG. 5 & ¶0061 […] See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As applied to the STA of FIG. 9 per ¶0061 i.e. one or more antennas 525 coupled with the wireless communication device 515, to transmit and receive wireless communication such RTS CTS PPDU of FIG. 9 reads on: transmit, via the transceiver),
a data frame through non-punctured sub-channels of the transmission bandwidth to the second apparatus based on the punctured sub-channel information; and receive, via the transceiver(SUN FIG. 5 & ¶0061 […] See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As applied to the STA of FG. 9 per ¶0061 i.e. one or more antennas 525 coupled with the wireless communication device 515, to transmit and receive wireless communication such RTS CTS PPDU of FIG. 9 reads on: receive, via the transceiver),
an acknowledgement frame from the second apparatus in response to the second apparatus receiving the data frame(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 6 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 6. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 7. SUN discloses: The apparatus for data transmission of claim 6,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 7 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 7. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit, via the transceiver(SUN FIG. 5 & ¶0061 […] See Claim 2; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As applied to the STA of FIG. 9 per ¶0061 i.e. one or more antennas 525 coupled with the wireless communication device 515, to transmit and receive wireless communication such RTS CTS PPDU of FIG. 9 reads on: transmit, via the transceiver), a first channel information to the second apparatus based on the detection result, wherein the second channel information comprises the first channel information; and obtain the punctured sub-channel information corresponding to the transmission bandwidth based on the second channel information(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 7 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 7. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 8. SUN discloses: The apparatus for data transmission of claim 7,
(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 8 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 8. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the first channel information and the second channel information are control frames(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 8 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 8. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
11. Claims 4, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN in view of NOH et al. (US 20220116192 A1), i.e. “NOH”.
Regarding Claim 4. SUN discloses: The data transmission method of claim 2,
furthermore SUN discloses: wherein the first channel information and the second channel information are frames (SUN FIG. 9 & ¶00102 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0102 i.e. AP transmits a CTS frame to the STA that is duplicated over the 320 MHz channel, excluding the punctured subchannels indicated by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP. Where i.e., the CTS frame that carries i.e. CTS frame also may carry i.e. punctured channel information identifying the punctured subchannels indicated in the RTS frame reads on: wherein the first channel information where the RTS frame per FIG. 9 & ¶0101 comprises i.e. punctured subchannels which i.e. represent i.e. one or more occupied subchannels detected by the AP and one or more additional occupied subchannels detected by the STA. Furthermore Per ¶0102 i.e. at time t.sub.1, the AP transmits a CTS frame to the STA that is duplicated over the 320 MHz channel, where the CTS frame that is i.e. excluding the punctured subchannels indicated by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP reads on: and the second channel information. Both the first channel information and second channel information are transmitted or received via RTS frames or CTS frames reads on: are frames );
SUN does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. note italicized portions): channel information are management frames.
NOH teaches: wherein channel information are management frames (NOH FIG. 15 & ¶0130 […] FIG. 15 shows a table of puncturing mode indication, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. The table illustrates an example of indicating a puncturing mode as a bitmap. The puncturing pattern may be included in an EHT-SIG field, a management frame, or a triggering frame. For example, in the second row of the table, puncturing mode “1000” indicates puncturing of second, third, and fourth sub-channels. The other rows in the table may be interpreted in a similar manner; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0130 i.e. puncturing pattern reads on: wherein channel information may be included in an EHT-SIG field, a management frame, or a triggering frame reads on: are management frames).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SUN with teachings of NOH, since NOH enables to help resolve the problem of uplink/downlink interference between multiple links that can occur when data is transmitted in one link while data is being simultaneously transmitted in another link through multi-link operations (NOH - ¶0139).
Regarding Claim 9. SUN discloses: The apparatus for data transmission of claim 7,
(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 9 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 9. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the first channel information and the second channel information are management frames (See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 9 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 9. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
11. Claims 5, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN in view of Cariou (US 20230087908 A1), i.e. “Cariou”.
Regarding Claim 5. SUN discloses: The data transmission method of claim 1,
furthermore SUN discloses: further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, the data frame through non-punctured sub-channels of the transmission bandwidth based on the punctured sub-channel information (SUN FIG. 5 & ¶0051 see Claim 1; ¶0061 see Claim 1; FIG. 9 & ¶0103 See Claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0103 i.e. The STA receives the CTS frame and, at time t2, proceeds to transmit reads on: transmitting, by the processor where STA comprises processor 535. Furthermore per FIG. 9 & ¶0099 i.e. The STA receives the CTS frame and, at time t2, proceeds to transmit a data PPDU and where per FIG. 3 & ¶0051 i.e. each PPDU 300 includes a PHY preamble 302 and a PSDU 304 reads on: the data frame where per ¶0103 i.e. the AP transmits a CTS frame to the STA that is duplicated over the 320 MHz channel, i.e. excluding the punctured subchannels indicated by the STA and the additional punctured subchannels determined by the AP as also depicted in FIG. 9 reads on: through non-punctured sub-channels of the transmission bandwidth to the second apparatus, Furthermore as depicted in FIG. 9 over i.e. sub-bands of the 320 MHz channel which i.e. avoids additional Occupied channels Detected by AP and Additional Punctured Subchannels Detected by STA reads on: based on the punctured sub-channel information ).
and a specified puncture pattern list (SUN – FIG. 7b & ¶0090 […] the punctured channel information may be represented by a punctured subchannel value (rather than a bitmap). In other words, a combined value of the bits in bit positions B9-B13 may represent a known pattern of punctured subchannels (similar to how punctured channel information is conveyed in the bandwidth and punctured information subfield of U-SIG). For example, each pattern of 5 bits may be mapped to a unique set of punctured subchannels for a given bandwidth (which may also be indicated by the service field 720). Thus, after determining the bandwidth associated with the punctured channel information, a receiving device may use a lookup table to determine the particular punctured subchannels represented by the punctured subchannel value; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to FIG. 9 per ¶0090 i.e. a receiving device may use a lookup table reads on: and a specified puncture pattern list i.e. to determine the particular punctured subchannels represented by the punctured subchannel value);
While SUN teaches a specified puncture pattern list as noted above, assuming arguendo specified is implied as pertains to list from the look up table of SUN, and therefore assuming arguendo that:
SUN does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. note italicized portions): channel information and a specified puncture pattern list.
Cariou teaches: transmitting, based on the punctured sub-channel information and a specified puncture pattern list (Cariou FIG. 11 & ¶0111 the Service field 1104 is modified in order to carry the puncturing information, so that it can be signaled in an RTS frame or a CTS frame even when transmitted in non-HT duplicate mode Table 1 illustrates the service field 1104.; ¶0119 In some embodiments, instead of defining a bitmap for 20 MHz or 40 MHz subchannels within the PPDU BW, a list of puncturing patterns, depending on the bandwidth of the PPDU is used by the transmitter or receiver […] the MRU index may be used from Tables 36-13(Indices for large size MRUs in an OFDMA 80 MHz EHT PPDU and in a non-OFDMA 80 MHz EHT PPDU), 36-14(Indices for large size MRUs in an OFDMA 160 MHz EHT PPDU and in a non-OFDMA 160 MHz EHT PPDU), and 36-15(Indices for large size MRUs in an OFDMA 320 MHz EHT PPDU and in a non-OFDMA 320 MHz EHT PPDU, included in the IEEE 802.11be standard). The service field 1104 indicates the puncturing pattern index 1106 using one or more bits.; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0111i.e. Service field 1104 is modified in order to carry the puncturing information, so that it can be signaled in an RTS frame or a CTS frame reads on: reads on: transmitting, based on the punctured sub-channel information where furthermore, per FIG. 11 & ¶0119 i.e. a list of puncturing patterns, depending on the bandwidth of the PPDU is used by the transmitter or receiver i.e. the MRU index may be used from Tables included in the IEEE 802.11be standard reads on: and a specified puncture pattern list and i.e. The service field 1104 indicates the puncturing pattern index )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SUN with teachings of Cariou, since Cariou enables procedures the receiver of the PPDU only uses a puncturing pattern to determine the puncturing pattern to correctly receive the PPDU itself (Cariou - ¶0106).
Regarding Claim 10. SUN discloses: The apparatus for data transmission of claim 6, (See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 10 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit, via the transceiver(SUN FIG. 5 & ¶0061 […] See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As applied to the STA of FIG. 9 per ¶0061 i.e. one or more antennas 525 coupled with the wireless communication device 515, to transmit and receive wireless communication such RTS CTS PPDU of FIG. 9 reads on: transmit, via the transceiver), the data frame through non-punctured sub-channels of the transmission bandwidth based on the punctured sub-channel information and a specified puncture pattern list (See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 10 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
03/19/2026
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414