DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the filing of amendments to the claims on 2/12/2026. As per the amendments therein, claim 24 has been amended, claims 27-30 have been added, and no claims have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-30 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-11, 14-20, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yruko et al. (US Pat. 7,890,342) in view of Simon (US Pat. 9,424,394) in view of Hao et al. (US Pub. 2013/0278623).
Regarding claim 1, Yruko discloses a graphic user interface for a display (display device 30 in Fig. 2) of an apparatus for determining compliance with respiratory pressure therapy comprising one or more processors (see Col. 3 lines 28-45 and Col. 9 lines 57-67 where a calculated value of compliance is modified by a weighting factor, the result of which is a therapy quality indicator since it determines the relative compliance of the session, and thus the quality of the therapy provided, where computing device 34 in Fig. 2 performs the data processing as seen in Col. 12 lines 63 to Col. 13 line 5), the graphic user interface comprising: a graphic image on the display representing a therapy quality indicator for a therapy session of respiratory pressure therapy (see Col. 7 lines 35-42 where the compliance (a calculated value of compliance being a determined indicator of the quality of the applied therapy) is provided as a report that can be in the form on a chart/ diagram/ graph, etc.; see also Col. 8 lines 56-59 where any of the results/ values from the controller are contemplated being displayed to the patient; see also Col. 13 lines 6-8 where data and compliance information is displayed on the display device), the plurality of different contributions comprising different variables derived from therapy data (see Col. 10 lines 24-26 and Col. 11 line 56 to Col. 12 line 62 where a plurality of factors (different contributions; such as length/ duration of usage session, measured physiological condition, presence of apnea/ snoring, and so on) contribute to the weighting factor that is applied to the compliance value, resulting in different variables that affect the weighting factor and thus the compliance dependent on the weighting factor), and a display area, on the display with the graphic image, and comprising a displayed listing of the contributions (see Col. 7 lines 35-42, Col. 8 lines 56-59, and Col. 13 lines 6-8 where the display has some display area which visually shows all of the displayed contributing factors).
Yruko lacks a detailed description of a graphic image annular item on the display filled in proportion to an addition of a plurality of different contributions to the therapy quality indicator.
However, Simon teaches a health and wellness system for displaying information to a user, where a graphic image is an annular item, and is filled in proportion to the value of a variable (see Figs. 6B-6C and Col. 10 line 61 to Col. 11 line 14 where a measured value of blood sugar is provided in an annular graph 633 that fills in relation to the value), and where the variables can be labeled on the display in a list format (see Fig. 6A where different variables can be labeled on the display).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the output display of Yruko to have an annular bar graph for the compliance (therapy quality indicator) value and labeled variables, as taught by Simon, as it would be a simple matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to choose how they want to display measured values onto a display. Further, an annular bar graph is intuitive to grasp at a glance (Simon; see Col. 10 lines 61-63). It is noted that Yruko displays compliance as a percentage (see Col. 11 lines 26-30), which is readily translatable into a proportionally filled annular graph showing the percentage range from 0-100% for the compliance.
The modified Yruko device lacks a detailed description of the displayed therapy quality indicator being in proportion to an addition of a plurality of different contributions to the therapy quality indicator, and the graphic image annular item having both the therapy quality indicator and the displayed listing of the different contributions in the display area.
However, Hao teaches a graphic image annular item, where a displayed correlation (see Fig. 1 correlation ring 110) is in proportion to an addition of a plurality of different contributions to the correlation (see [0041], and [0046] where the correlation is based on an aggregate (average, mean, etc., which is an addition of the coefficients) based on the attributes, as in discrete rings 102, 104, 106, and 108), and both the correlation and the displayed contributions to the correlation are displayed in the display area (see Fig. 1 where discrete rings 102, 104, 106, and 108 are on the same display as correlation ring 110).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of the modified Yruko device to take an average of a correlation of contributions and display the contributions on the same display as the correlation/ therapy quality indicator, as taught by Hao, as it would ensure that all pertinent information is displayed together on the same screen. Further, by aggregating a plurality of contributions, the system is able to make a better determination of what value of the weighting factor to provide based on its plurality of different contributions in Yruko, as it can combine some or all of the contributions for different determinations for a multi-variable approach (Hao; see [0022] and [0029]). It is understood that, in the modified Yruko device, Yruko discloses the respiratory therapy system and contributions leading to a therapy quality indicator; the teachings of Simon show that an annular graph can be used as a means of displaying a value of a monitored condition and that the display can show a list of different variables; and Hao teaches displaying both the determined value (therapy quality indicator) and its contributions on the same display while also aggregating the contributing variables.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Yruko device has a displayed value representing the therapy quality indicator in association with a displayed value of a desired target number of points for the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Fig. 6C and Col. 10 line 61 to Col. 11 line 14 where ring 633 fills circumferentially in proportion to the inner ring 631a/ 631b, and the inner ring section 631a corresponds to a desired range of target values for the therapy quality indicator in the modified Yruko device).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Yruko device has wherein the displayed listing of the different contributions comprises a displayed value of a first variable in association with a first contribution value to the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Fig. 6A and Col. 5 lines 14-23 where measured values that make up the therapy quality indicator in the modified Yruko device are separately displayed, the displayed value being the value that is used in for the determination of the therapy quality indicator, with a first variable (Yruko; see Col. 11 lines 56-64 where time of the session is a contribution to the weighting factor of compliance)).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Yruko device has wherein first contribution value is displayed in association with a maximum point contribution, for the first variable, to the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Fig. 6A and Col. 5 lines 14-23 where measured values that make up the therapy quality indicator in the modified Yruko device are separately displayed, the displayed value being the current maximum of that value that is used in for the determination of the therapy quality indicator).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Yruko device has wherein the displayed listing of the different contributions comprises a displayed value of a second variable in association with a second contribution value to the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Fig. 6A and Col. 5 lines 14-23 where measured values that make up the therapy quality indicator in the modified Yruko device are separately displayed, the displayed value being the value that is used in for the determination of the therapy quality indicator, with a second variable (Yruko; Col. 12 lines 49-55 where the amount of leak from the system is a factor that adjusts the weighting factor)).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Yruko device has wherein second contribution value is displayed in association with a maximum point contribution, for the second variable, to the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Fig. 6A and Col. 5 lines 14-23 where measured values that make up the therapy quality indicator in the modified Yruko device are separately displayed, the displayed value being the current maximum that is used in for the determination of the therapy quality indicator).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Yruko device has wherein the plurality of different contributions concern usage data associated with usage of a respiratory pressure therapy device (Yruko; see Col. 11 lines 56-64 where time of the session is a contributing weighting factor) that delivers a respiratory pressure therapy to a patient in multiple sessions, and wherein the therapy quality indicator represents a session of the multiple sessions (Yruko; see Col. 9 lines 25-43 where a plurality of sessions can occur, giving a compliance value for each sub-session).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Yruko device has wherein the different variables comprise two or more of a group consisting of: usage time of the session (Yruko; see Col. 11 lines 56-64 where time of the session is a contributing weighting factor), apnea-hypopnea index for the session (Yruko; see Col. 12 lines 18-40 where the weighting factor is adjusted by the presence of apnea and hypopnea events, and thus some value or index of the apnea or hypopnea adjusts the weighting factor), and average leak flow rate for the session (Yruko; Col. 12 lines 49-55 where the amount of leak from the system is a factor that adjusts the weighting factor).
Regarding claim 11, Yruko discloses a computer readable data storage medium configured with program instructions for one or more processors (see Col. 12 line 63 to Col. 13 line 5, where the control system and program is understood to perform all of the actions of the system, including collecting data, masking determinations from the data, and sending the data to be displayed) to control generation of a graphic user interface on a display of an apparatus for determining compliance with respiratory pressure therapy (see Col. 8 lines 56-59 and Col. 13 lines 6-8), the program instructions comprising: instructions to generate the graphic user interface with a graphic image on the display representing a therapy quality indicator for a therapy session of respiratory pressure therapy (see Col. 7 lines 35-42 where the compliance (a calculated value of compliance being a determined indicator of the quality of the applied therapy) is provided as a report that can be in the form on a chart/ diagram/ graph, etc.; see also Col. 8 lines 56-59 where any of the results/ values from the controller are contemplated being displayed to the patient; see also Col. 13 lines 6-8 where data and compliance information is displayed on the display device), the plurality of different contributions comprising different variables derived from therapy data (see Col. 10 lines 24-26 and Col. 11 line 56 to Col. 12 line 62 where a plurality of factors (different contributions; such as length/ duration of usage session, measured physiological condition, presence of apnea/ snoring, and so on) contribute to the weighting factor that is applied to the compliance value, resulting in different variables that affect the weighting factor and thus the compliance dependent on the weighting factor), and instructions to generate the graphic user interface with a display area comprising a displayed listing of the contributions (see Col. 7 lines 35-42, Col. 8 lines 56-59, and Col. 13 lines 6-8 where the display has some display area which visually shows all of the displayed contributing factors).
Yruko lacks a detailed description of a graphic image annular element on the display filled in proportion to an addition of a plurality of different contributions to the therapy quality indicator.
However, Simon teaches a health and wellness system for displaying information to a user, where a graphic image is an annular item, and is filled in proportion to the value of a variable (see Figs. 6B-6C and Col. 10 line 61 to Col. 11 line 14 where a measured value of blood sugar is provided in an annular graph 633 that fills in relation to the value), and where the variables can be labeled on the display in a list format (see Fig. 6A where different variables can be labeled on the display).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the output display of Yruko to have an annular bar graph for the compliance (therapy quality indicator) value and labeled variables, as taught by Simon, as it would be a simple matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to choose how they want to display measured values onto a display. Further, an annular bar graph is intuitive to grasp at a glance (Simon; see Col. 10 lines 61-63). It is noted that Yruko displays compliance as a percentage (see Col. 11 lines 26-30), which is readily translatable into a proportionally filled annular graph showing the percentage range from 0-100% for the compliance.
The modified Yruko device lacks a detailed description of the displayed therapy quality indicator being in proportion to a plurality of different contributions to the therapy quality indicator, and instructions to generate the graphic image annular element having both the therapy quality indicator and the displayed listing of the different contributions in the display area.
However, Hao teaches a graphic image annular item, where a displayed correlation (see Fig. 1 correlation ring 110) is in proportion to an addition of a plurality of different contributions to the correlation (see [0041], and [0046] where the correlation is based on an aggregate (average, mean, etc., which is an addition of the coefficients) based on the attributes, as in discrete rings 102, 104, 106, and 108), and both the correlation and the displayed contributions to the correlation are displayed in the display area (see Fig. 1 where discrete rings 102, 104, 106, and 108 are on the same display as correlation ring 110).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of the modified Yruko device to take an average of a correlation of contributions and display the contributions on the same display as the correlation/ therapy quality indicator, as taught by Hao, as it would ensure that all pertinent information is displayed together on the same screen. Further, by aggregating a plurality of contributions, the system is able to make a better determination of what value of the weighting factor to provide based on its plurality of different contributions in Yruko, as it can combine some or all of the contributions for different determinations for a multi-variable approach (Hao; see [0022] and [0029]). It is understood that, in the modified Yruko device, Yruko discloses the respiratory therapy system and contributions leading to a therapy quality indicator; the teachings of Simon show that an annular graph can be used as a means of displaying a value of a monitored condition and that the display can show a list of different variables; and Hao teaches displaying both the determined value (therapy quality indicator) and its contributions on the same display while also aggregating the contributing variables.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Yruko device has instructions to generate the graphic user interface with a displayed value representing the therapy quality indicator in association with a displayed value of a desired target number of points for the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Fig. 6C and Col. 10 line 61 to Col. 11 line 14 where ring 633 fills circumferentially in proportion to the inner ring 631a/ 631b, and the inner ring section 631a corresponds to a desired range of target values for the therapy quality indicator in the modified Yruko device, as controlled by the control system and programs of Yruko).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Yruko device has wherein the displayed listing of the different contributions comprises a displayed value of a first variable in association with a first contribution value to the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Fig. 6A and Col. 5 lines 14-23 where measured values that make up the therapy quality indicator in the modified Yruko device are separately displayed, the displayed value being the value that is used in for the determination of the therapy quality indicator, with a first variable (Yruko; see Col. 11 lines 56-64 where time of the session is a contribution to the weighting factor of compliance)).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Yruko device has wherein first contribution value is displayed in association with a maximum point contribution, for the first variable, to the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Fig. 6A and Col. 5 lines 14-23 where measured values that make up the therapy quality indicator in the modified Yruko device are separately displayed, the displayed value being the current maximum of that value that is used in for the determination of the therapy quality indicator).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Yruko device has wherein the displayed listing of the different contributions comprises a displayed value of a second variable in association with a second contribution value to the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Fig. 6A and Col. 5 lines 14-23 where measured values that make up the therapy quality indicator in the modified Yruko device are separately displayed, the displayed value being the value that is used in for the determination of the therapy quality indicator, with a second variable (Yruko; Col. 12 lines 49-55 where the amount of leak from the system is a factor that adjusts the weighting factor)).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Yruko device has wherein second contribution value is displayed in association with a maximum point contribution, for the second variable, to the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Fig. 6A and Col. 5 lines 14-23 where measured values that make up the therapy quality indicator in the modified Yruko device are separately displayed, the displayed value being the current maximum that is used in for the determination of the therapy quality indicator).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Yruko device has wherein the plurality of different contributions concern usage data associated with usage of a respiratory pressure therapy device (Yruko; see Col. 11 lines 56-64 where time of the session is a contributing weighting factor) that delivers a respiratory pressure therapy to a patient in multiple sessions, and wherein the therapy quality indicator represents a session of the multiple sessions (Yruko; see Col. 9 lines 25-43 where a plurality of sessions can occur, giving a compliance value for each sub-session).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Yruko device has wherein the variables comprise two or more of a group consisting of: usage time of the session (Yruko; see Col. 11 lines 56-64 where time of the session is a contributing weighting factor), apnea-hypopnea index for the session (Yruko; see Col. 12 lines 18-40 where the weighting factor is adjusted by the presence of apnea and hypopnea events, and thus some value or index of the apnea or hypopnea adjusts the weighting factor), and average leak flow rate for the session (Yruko; Col. 12 lines 49-55 where the amount of leak from the system is a factor that adjusts the weighting factor).
Regarding claim 27, the modified Yruko device has wherein the graphic image annular item on the display is displayed so as to surround numerical text displaying the result of the addition of the plurality of different contributions to the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Figs. 6B-6C where, in the modified Yruko device, the displayed variable is the therapy quality indicator, being an annular graph showing the therapy quality indicator numerically in the center, and where it is understood that the therapy quality indicator is the result of the combination of contributions in Yruko, such that displaying the therapy quality indicator is “the result” of the combination of the contributions thereof, the combination being an “addition” as taught by Hao).
Regarding claim 29, the modified Yruko device has wherein the graphic image annular item on the display is displayed so as to surround numerical text displaying the result of the addition of the plurality of different contributions to the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Figs. 6B-6C where, in the modified Yruko device, the displayed variable is the therapy quality indicator, being an annular graph showing the therapy quality indicator numerically in the center, and where it is understood that the therapy quality indicator is the result of the combination of contributions in Yruko, such that displaying the therapy quality indicator is “the result” of the combination of the contributions thereof, the combination being an “addition” as taught by Hao).
Claims 2-3, 12-13, 22, 25, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yruko in view of Simon in view of Hao as applied to claims 1, 11, 27, and 29 above, respectively, and further in view of Olsen (US Pub. 2013/0211214).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Yruko device has wherein the graphic image annular item comprises an annular area (Simon; see annular ring member 633 in Fig. 6C).
The modified Yruko device lacks a detailed description of the annular area displayed above the display area comprising the displayed listing of the different contributions.
However, Olsen teaches a patient display, where an annular area is placed above a plurality of different labeled contributions (see Fig. 3 where 80a-80d are additional health parameters that are displayed below the annular displays 10a and 10b).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the displayed labeled contributions to be below the annular graph as taught by Olsen, as it would be a simple matter of design choice for a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose where the variables are placed on the display when displayed together (as already taught by Hao).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Yruko device has wherein the filled proportion is a fraction of the annular area comprising a visual change in a portion of the circumference of the annular area (Simon; see Fig. 6C and Col. 10 line 61 to Col. 11 line 14 where ring 633 fills circumferentially in proportion to the inner ring 631a/ 631b which corresponds to a range of values).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Yruko device has wherein the graphic image annular item comprises an annular area (Simon; see annular ring member 633 in Fig. 6C).
The modified Yruko device lacks a detailed description of the annular area displayed above the display area comprising the displayed listing of the different contributions.
However, Olsen teaches a patient display, where an annular area is placed above a plurality of different labeled contributions (see Fig. 3 where 80a-80d are additional health parameters that are displayed below the annular displays 10a and 10b).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the displayed labeled contributions to be below the annular graph as taught by Olsen, as it would be a simple matter of design choice for a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose where the variables are placed on the display when displayed together (as already taught by Hao).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Yruko device has wherein the filled proportion is a fraction of the annular area comprising a visual change in a portion of the circumference of the annular area (Simon; see Fig. 6C and Col. 10 line 61 to Col. 11 line 14 where ring 633 fills circumferentially in proportion to the inner ring 631a/ 631b which corresponds to a range of values).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Yruko device has wherein the display area comprising the displayed listing of the different contributions further comprises one or more icons representing one or more of the plurality of different contributions respectively (Olsen; see Fig. 3 where indicators 80a-80d have icons describing which variable they are).
Regarding claim 25, the modified Yruko device has wherein the display area comprising the displayed listing of the different contributions further comprises one or more icons representing one or more of the plurality of different contributions respectively (Olsen; see Fig. 3 where indicators 80a-80d have icons describing which variable they are).
Regarding claim 28, the modified Yruko device has wherein when the graphic image annular item is displayed on the display (Simon; see Figs. 6B-6C where the annular graph of the therapy quality indicator in the modified Yruko device is displayed), the graphic image annular item is the sole annular item (b) that is filled in relation to any of the contributions to the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Figs. 6B-6C where in the modified Yruko device, the annular graph displays the therapy quality indicator value, which is derived from and thus in relation to its contributions, such that is fills in proportion to the contributions thereof, and is the only annular graph of the therapy quality indicator value, and thus fills regardless of which contribution it is related to).
The modified Yruko device lacks a detailed description of wherein the graphic image annular item is the sole annular item (a) that surrounds the numerical text.
However, Olsen teaches a display for measured and calculated health values, where a ring-like graphic image is a) the sole ring-like graphic image that surrounds its particular numerical text (see Fig. 2 where each ring-like member 10a/10b is showing only a singular variable, with numerical values denoting the variable value placed within the ring-like member), and other variables are shown off to the side and separate therefrom (see Fig. 2 where each ring-like graph 10a/10b are separate, as well as other variables 30a/30b and 50a-50d, which are on the same display but separated).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular graph of the modified Yruko device to be directed to only a singular measured/ calculated variable (the therapy quality indicator) as taught by Olsen, as it would provide a numeric value that is quick and easy to read (Olsen; see [0028]), while keeping the variables separate so that they can be individually tracked to better monitor patient health (Olsen; see [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 30, the modified Yruko device has wherein when the graphic image annular item is displayed on the display (Simon; see Figs. 6B-6C where the annular graph of the therapy quality indicator in the modified Yruko device is displayed), the graphic image annular item is the sole annular item (b) that is filled in relation to any of the contributions to the therapy quality indicator (Simon; see Figs. 6B-6C where in the modified Yruko device, the annular graph displays the therapy quality indicator value, which is derived from and thus in relation to its contributions, such that is fills in proportion to the contributions thereof, and is the only annular graph of the therapy quality indicator value, and thus fills regardless of which contribution it is related to).
The modified Yruko device lacks a detailed description of wherein the graphic image annular item is the sole annular item (a) that surrounds the numerical text.
However, Olsen teaches a display for measured and calculated health values, where a ring-like graphic image is a) the sole ring-like graphic image that surrounds its particular numerical text (see Fig. 2 where each ring-like member 10a/10b is showing only a singular variable, with numerical values denoting the variable value placed within the ring-like member), and other variables are shown off to the side and separate therefrom (see Fig. 2 where each ring-like graph 10a/10b are separate, as well as other variables 30a/30b and 50a-50d, which are on the same display but separated).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular graph of the modified Yruko device to be directed to only a singular measured/ calculated variable (the therapy quality indicator) as taught by Olsen, as it would provide a numeric value that is quick and easy to read (Olsen; see [0028]), while keeping the variables separate so that they can be individually tracked to better monitor patient health (Olsen; see [0038]-[0039]).
Claims 21 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yruko in view of Simon in view of Hao in view of Olsen as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, respectively, and further in view of Landers (US Pub. 2013/0138230).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Yruko device has the user interface and display representing the therapy quality indicator and the displayed listing of the contributions.
The modified Yruko device lacks a detailed description of wherein the user interface comprises a date selector control icon displayed, with date information, above the graphic image annular element on the display representing the therapy quality indicator, the date selector control icon being configured to, in response to activation by a user, change the graphic image annular element on the display representing the therapy quality indicator and the displayed listing of the contributions of the display area to move the graphic user interface backward or forward through a history of therapy sessions, wherein each session of the history of therapy sessions is represented by the graphic image and the display area of the graphic user interface one session at a time.
However, Landers teaches a similar health tracking display system, where the tracked health parameters include a date selector control icon on the display (see Figs. 4-6 where a date is shown on the display, with arrows to look at previous dates or advance the date), with date information, above the graphic image on the display representing the health information (see Figs. 4-6 where the date is presented above the circles 26/ 28 containing the collected health information), the date selector control icon being configured to, in response to activation by a user, change the graphic image on the display representing the health information and the displayed listing of the measured parameters of the display area to move the graphic user interface backward or forward through a history of therapy sessions (see Figs. 4-6 and [0044] where the date bar is able to be actuated by a user to display the data from prior weeks, and see [0083] where the data is intended to be read as day-to-day or week-to-week comparisons, via saving the data and being able to cycle through the data (as shown in Fig. 5)), wherein each session of the history of sessions is represented by the graphic image and the display area of the graphic user interface one session at a time (see Figs. 4-6 and [0044] where the cycling between days constitutes a cycling between sessions, each represented via the saved and displayed data corresponding to the selected day).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of the modified Yruko device to save the data on a day-today basis and allow a user to cycle through the saved data of previous days as taught by Landers, as it would allow for the user to see their day-to-day health and track trends over time for better monitoring.
Regarding claim 24, the modified Yruko device has the user interface and display representing the therapy quality indicator and the displayed listing of the contributions.
The modified Yruko device lacks a detailed description of wherein the user interface comprises a date selector control icon displayed, with date information, above the graphic image annular element on the display representing the therapy quality indicator, the date selector control icon being configured to, in response to activation by a user, change the graphic image annular element on the display representing the therapy quality indicator and the displayed listing of the different contributions of the display area to move the graphic user interface backward or forward through a history of therapy sessions, wherein each session of the history of therapy sessions is represented by the graphic image annular element and the display area of the graphic user interface one session at a time.
However, Landers teaches a similar health tracking display system, where the tracked health parameters include a date selector control icon on the display (see Figs. 4-6 where a date is shown on the display, with arrows to look at previous dates or advance the date), with date information, above the graphic image on the display representing the health information (see Figs. 4-6 where the date is presented above the circles 26/ 28 containing the collected health information), the date selector control icon being configured to, in response to activation by a user, change the graphic image on the display representing the health information and the displayed listing of the measured parameters of the display area to move the graphic user interface backward or forward through a history of therapy sessions (see Figs. 4-6 and [0044] where the date bar is able to be actuated by a user to display the data from prior weeks, and see [0083] where the data is intended to be read as day-to-day or week-to-week comparisons, via saving the data and being able to cycle through the data (as shown in Fig. 5)), wherein each session of the history of sessions is represented by the graphic image and the display area of the graphic user interface one session at a time (see Figs. 4-6 and [0044] where the cycling between days constitutes a cycling between sessions, each represented via the saved and displayed data corresponding to the selected day).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of the modified Yruko device to save the data on a day-today basis and allow a user to cycle through the saved data of previous days as taught by Landers, as it would allow for the user to see their day-to-day health and track trends over time for better monitoring.
Claims 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yruko in view of Simon in view of Hao in view of Olsen as applied to claims 22 and 25 above, respectively, and further in view of Damani et al. (US Pat. 9,852,266).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Yruko device has the display area comprising the displayed listing of the different contributions.
The modified Yruko device lacks a detailed description of wherein the display area comprising the displayed listing of the different contributions further comprises a progress- type line icon beneath each of the plurality of different contributions, wherein each progress-type line icon respectively depicts a portion of a target for one of the plurality of different contributions.
However, Damani teaches a similar display arrangement for health information, where a plurality of health contributions can have a progress-type line icon beside each of the plurality of health contributions (see Fig. 13 where each health contributions (measurements 1304) can have a bar graph 1312 underneath them to show historical changes in data, as well as a line to the side (slider bar graphs 1308) which show the value of the contributions compared to a target; see also Col. 20 lines 38-57), wherein each progress-type line icon respectively depicts a portion of a target for one of the plurality of contributions (see Fig. 13 where each health contributions slider bar graph 1308 shows the value of the contributions compared to a target; see also Col. 20 lines 38-57).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display for the contributions to have a progress-type line as taught by Damani, as it would provide a quick visual comparison of the measured value against a target value, in a condensed graphical form. Further, it would be a simple matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the location of data on a display screen, such as putting the progress-type line icon below the contributions rather than beside them.
Regarding claim 26, the modified Yruko device has the display area comprising the displayed listing of the contributions.
The modified Yruko device lacks a detailed description of wherein the display area comprising the displayed listing of the different contributions further comprises a progress- type line icon beneath each of the plurality of different contributions, wherein each progress-type line icon respectively depicts a portion of a target for one of the plurality of different contributions.
However, Damani teaches a similar display arrangement for health information, where a plurality of health contributions can have a progress-type line icon beside each of the plurality of health contributions (see Fig. 13 where each health contributions (measurements 1304) can have a bar graph 1312 underneath them to show historical changes in data, as well as a line to the side (slider bar graphs 1308) which show the value of the contributions compared to a target; see also Col. 20 lines 38-57), wherein each progress-type line icon respectively depicts a portion of a target for one of the plurality of contributions (see Fig. 13 where each health contributions slider bar graph 1308 shows the value of the contributions compared to a target; see also Col. 20 lines 38-57).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display for the contributions to have a progress-type line as taught by Damani, as it would provide a quick visual comparison of the measured value against a target value, in a condensed graphical form. Further, it would be a simple matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the location of data on a display screen, such as putting the progress-type line icon below the contributions rather than beside them.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 8-9 of the remarks that Simon does not provide a plurality of shown contributions, nor filing the annular graph in proportion to the addition of those contributions. While the Examiner agrees, it is noted that these deficiencies are provided for in the additional teachings relying upon Hao, and are then addressed int eh fully modified Yruko device. Simon is relied upon to show that 1) a variable can be given an annular graph, with the annular graph filling in relation to the displayed value of the variable, as well as noting that additional values can be displayed (though not necessarily on the same screen at the same time).
Applicant further argues on pages 11-12 of the remarks that Hao does not teach filling a variable in proportion to the addition of a plurality of contributions, and displaying them together in the display area. The argument is not well-taken. Firstly, it is clear that Hao does teach that there can be plurality of contributing variables, which are then aggregated together to form a correlation variable that is displayed alongside. This is understood to be analogous to the therapy quality indicator of Yruko, which has a plurality of contributing variables that are combined together into a therapy quality indicator (although not necessarily displayed together). In the fully modified device, the therapy quality indicator of Yruko is displayed as an annular graph (as per Simon), which fills in relation to its value. Then, as further in light of Hao, the therapy quality indicator (annular as per Simon) has the contributing variables and their values displayed alongside it, where the derived value from the contributions comes from a coefficient of correlation from aggregating these contributions. Furthermore, even Hao alone teaches that the coefficient ring changes in brightness (e.g. how filled each section is with color) in relation to the derived coefficient value at that period of time. Hence, the modified Yruko device, taken as a whole with the teachings of Simon and Hao, does have 1) filling the annular graph in relation to the value of the therapy quality indicator, which is derived from the contributions, and 2) the derived therapy quality indicator being an aggregated coefficient of a plurality of contributions, via addition.
For these reasons, the rejections hold.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D ZIEGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785