Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-49 and 78-87 are pending. Claims 7, 9, 14, 26, 29-39, 41, 44-45, 47-49, 78-79, and 82-87 are withdrawn. Claims 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-25, 27-28, 40, 42-43, 46, and 80-81 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS’s) submitted on 5/29/2025, 7/17/2025, and 5/8/2026 were considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and the species:
in the reply filed on 5/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-25, 27-28, 40, 42-43, 46, and 80-81 embrace Applicant’s elected species and are therefore under examination. The elected species is not allowable and has been rejected below.
Claims 7, 9, 14, 26, 29-39, 41, 44-45, 47-49, 78-79, and 82-87 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 46 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1 at the beginning of the claim should read: “The compound of claim 1, selected from the group consisting of:”.
At the end of the claim (p. 8), there should be an “and” between the last two compounds.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(1 of 4) Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-25, 27-28, 40, 42-43, 46, and 80-81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Perni et al. (US12065405).
The applied reference has a common applicant and (some) inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding instant claims 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-25, 27-28, 40, 42-43, and 46, Perni et al. disclose the following compound in column 37 (Table 4):
, which is Applicant’s elected species and embraced by a compound of instant formula (I-A):
, wherein A = C-VR16, V = absent, R16 = H; E = C-ZR5, Z = absent, R5 = H; B = C-YR4, Y = absent, R4 = H; R7 – R10 and R13-R14 = H; R1 and R2 = alkyl (methyl); R11= -O-; R12 = -OH; W = NR6, R6 = H; X = absent and R3 = H.
Regarding instant claims 80-81, Perni et al. teaches the following at the bottom of column 37 (lines 61-64):
, wherein a skilled artisan would understand that a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and excipient are interchangeable substances.
(2 of 4) Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-25, 27-28, 40, 42-43, 46, and 80-81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Perni et al. (US20230357146).
The applied reference has a common applicant and (some) inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding instant claims 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-25, 27-28, 40, 42-43, and 46, Perni et al. disclose the following compound on p. 20, Table 4:
, which is Applicant’s elected species and embraced by a compound of instant formula (I-A):
, wherein A = C-VR16, V = absent, R16 = H; E = C-ZR5, Z = absent, R5 = H; B = C-YR4, Y = absent, R4 = H; R7 – R10 and R13-R14 = H; R1 and R2 = alkyl (methyl); R11= -O-; R12 = -OH; W = NR6, R6 = H; X = absent and R3 = H.
Regarding instant claims 80-81, Perni et al. teaches the following in para. [0283]:
, wherein a skilled artisan would understand that a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and excipient are interchangeable substances.
( 3 of 4) Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-25, 27-28, 40, 42-43, 46, and 80-81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Perni et al. (US11643391).
The applied reference has a common applicant and (some) inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding instant claims 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-25, 27-28, 40, 42-43, and 46, Perni et al. disclose the following compound in column 37 (Table 4):
, which is Applicant’s elected species and embraced by a compound of instant formula (I-A):
, wherein A = C-VR16, V = absent, R16 = H; E = C-ZR5, Z = absent, R5 = H; B = C-YR4, Y = absent, R4 = H; R7 – R10 and R13-R14 = H; R1 and R2 = alkyl (methyl); R11= -O-; R12 = -OH; W = NR6, R6 = H; X = absent and R3 = H.
Regarding instant claims 80-81, Perni et al. teaches the following in column 38 (lines 4-8):
, wherein a skilled artisan would understand that a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and excipient are interchangeable substances.
( 4 of 4) Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-25, 27-28, 40, 42-43, 46, and 80-81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Perni et al. (US20230066720).
The applied reference has a common applicant and (some) inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding instant claims 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-25, 27-28, 40, 42-43, and 46, Perni et al. disclose the following compound on p. 20 (Table 4):
, which is Applicant’s elected species and embraced by a compound of instant formula (I-A):
, wherein A = C-VR16, V = absent, R16 = H; E = C-ZR5, Z = absent, R5 = H; B = C-YR4, Y = absent, R4 = H; R7 – R10 and R13-R14 = H; R1 and R2 = alkyl (methyl); R11= -O-; R12 = -OH; W = NR6, R6 = H; X = absent and R3 = H.
Regarding instant claims 80-81, Perni et al. teaches the following in para. [0269]:
, wherein a skilled artisan would understand that a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and excipient are interchangeable substances.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-25, 27-28, 40, 42-43, and 46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11643391. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding instant claims 1-6, 8, 10-13, 15-25, 27-28, 40, 42-43, and 46, US11643391 discloses the following compound in claim 3:
, which is Applicant’s elected species and embraced by a compound of instant formula (I-A):
, wherein A = C-VR16, V = absent, R16 = H; E = C-ZR5, Z = absent, R5 = H; B = C-YR4, Y = absent, R4 = H; R7 – R10 and R13-R14 = H; R1 and R2 = alkyl (methyl); R11= -O-; R12 = -OH; W = NR6, R6 = H; X = absent and R3 = H.
Conclusion
/MEGHAN C HEASLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1626