Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “coupled to track.” This should be “coupled to the track.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claim 1 and 16 limitation “configured to be coupled to…another medical device” is considered met by a device capable of being coupled to another medical device, but the medical device is not a positively recited part of these claims so is not explicitly required.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control elements coupling the primary actuator to the movable portion of the end cap” in claims 1, 16, and 19, interpreted as “a coil, a tube, a sheath, a rod,” [Par. 0036] and “actuation element” in claim 1, interpreted as “a wire, a coil, a tube, a rod” [Par. 0036].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Whelehan et al. [US 2022/0265968 A1, hereinafter “Whelehan”].
Re. claim 1, Whelehan discloses a medical device [Fig. 2A], comprising:
a handle [113, see Fig. 1A, 123, and 110, together], wherein the handle includes a primary actuator [123] and a secondary actuator [305];
an end cap [117 and 115, together] configured to be coupled to a distal end of another medical device [the cap is capable of such use; see Claim Interpretation, above], wherein the end cap includes a stationary portion [115] and a movable portion [117];
a patch [160], wherein the patch is coupled to the movable portion of the end cap [via 210, Fig. 2A];
one or more control elements [tube 120] coupling the primary actuator to the movable portion of the end cap; and
an actuation element [wire 210], wherein the actuation element extends distally from the secondary actuator and the actuation element is configured to be coupled to the patch [Fig. 2A], wherein movement of the primary actuator moves the movable portion of the end cap relative to the stationary portion of the end cap [Fig. 2A, described for the first embodiment in Par. 0021-22], and
wherein movement of the secondary actuator at least partially deploys the patch from the movable portion of the end cap [Par. 0031].
Re. claim 2, Whelehan discloses: The medical device of claim 1, wherein the handle includes a handle body [110 and 113, together], and wherein both the primary actuator and the secondary actuator are movable relative to the handle body [123 is movable relative to 110/113, see Fig. 2A, Par. 0021-22, and 305 is a knob or switch and movable (by turning or switching) relative to 110/113] to control the movement of the one or more control elements and the actuation element [Pars. 0021-22, 0031].
Re. claim 3, Whelehan discloses: The medical device of claim 2, wherein the handle body includes a track [110] and the primary actuator is movably coupled to track [Par. 0022], and wherein the primary actuator is configured to translate along the track in a first direction [backwards in Fig. 2A] and an opposite second direction [forwards in Fig. 2A].
Re. claim 4, Whelehan discloses: a translation of the primary actuator in the first direction is configured to translate the movable portion of the end cap distally relative to the stationary portion [Fig. 2A, Par. 0022], and wherein a translation of the primary actuator in the second direction is configured to translate the movable portion of the end cap proximally relative to the stationary portion [just as a backward motion moves the end cap distally, moving handle 123 in a forward direction would bring elements 117 and 115 closer together].
Re. claim 15, Whelehan discloses a sheath [124] configured to at least partially cover the patch and the end cap [see Figs. 1A-B], and wherein the sheath is retractable and/or the movable portion is extendable to expose the patch and at least the movable portion of the end cap [Figs. 1A-B].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whelehan in view of Taheri [US 6120524 A].
Re. claim 12 and 13, Whelehan discloses: the medical device of claim 1, but fails to teach the patch comprising one or more wires which bias the patch into a shape. However, Taheri teaches, in a medical device, a patch [16, Figs. 2-7] comprises one or more wires [wire loop 28”], wherein
Claim 12: each of the one or more wires extend throughout a length of the patch [Fig. 4], and wherein the one or more wires bias the patch into a shape [Col 2 lines 32-40].
Claim 13: the one or more wires are biased
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Whelehan to add a wire biased to a circular shape to bias the patch into a shape, as taught by Taheri, in order to allow the patch to be delivered in a folded, compact shape through a catheter and deployed into an unfolded, desired shape [Taheri Col. 2 lines 32-54].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
Claims 5-11 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the opposite edges including channels, the stationary portion of the end cap having through-hole(s) with the control elements and actuation elements extending through the through-holes or the patch having channels configured to receive a first and second strand of the actuation element.
Conclusion
/ERIN MCGRATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771