Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-13 and 15 set forth in the amendment submitted 4/13/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6-9, filed 4/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 13 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOTTAPU et al. (Hereinafter, “Gottapu”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210288353 A1 in view of Plett in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20050110498 A1 and further in view of Mergener et al in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20210359526 A1, Claim(s) 5, 8 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottapu ‘353 A1 in view of Plett ‘498 A1 and Mergener ‘526 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of KLINTBERG ANTON [SE]; ALTAF FAISAL et al. (Hereinafter, “Altaf”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2021121609 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7-9, of the remarks, filed on 4/13/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 13 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOTTAPU et al. (Hereinafter, “Gottapu”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210288353 A1 in view of Plett in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20050110498 A1 and further in view of Mergener et al in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20210359526 A1, Claim(s) 5, 8 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottapu ‘353 A1 in view of Plett ‘498 A1 and Mergener ‘526 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of KLINTBERG ANTON [SE]; ALTAF FAISAL et al. (Hereinafter, “Altaf”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2021121609 A1, that “Gottapu does not teach or suggest that limitation. Gottapu is directed to estimating SOC, capacity, and uptime of a battery pack. Even assuming Gottapu uses measured values and models to estimate present or aggregate battery characteristics, Gottapu does not disclose predicting, for each battery pack in a multi-pack ESS, a future sequence of terminal-voltage values and terminal-current values at future time points, as now expressly recited. Indeed, the Final Office Action itself turns to Plett-not Gottapu-for the specific limitation requiring that the time-evolved voltages and currents be represented as sequences of values associated with future time points in time.
Plett does not cure that deficiency. As relied upon in the Office Action, Plett assumes a candidate constant current over a future interval and evaluates the resulting SOC or voltage behavior under that assumed input. That is materially different from what is claimed here. In Plett, future current is an assumed input used for limit analysis. In the present claims, future terminal current is part of the predicted output. An assumed constant current used to test a limit is not a predicted future evolution of terminal current. At most, Plett asks what would happen if a selected constant current were imposed. The claims, by contrast, require predicting how terminal (Remarks-page 7) voltage and terminal current will evolve in the future and representing those predicted evolutions as sequences of values at future time points (Remarks-Page 8).
……………
In view of the above, it is clear that the cited references, taken in any reasonable combination, do not render the claimed invention obvious. Therefor the withdrawal of the rejections is respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 9).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-9, of the remarks, filed on 4/13/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 13 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOTTAPU et al. (Hereinafter, “Gottapu”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210288353 A1 in view of Plett in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20050110498 A1 and further in view of Mergener et al in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20210359526 A1, Claim(s) 5, 8 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottapu ‘353 A1 in view of Plett ‘498 A1 and Mergener ‘526 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of KLINTBERG ANTON [SE]; ALTAF FAISAL et al. (Hereinafter, “Altaf”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2021121609 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 1/13/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 1, “predicting a future evolution of terminal voltage and current based on a respective measured terminal voltage, wherein the future evolution of terminal voltages and currents are represented as sequences of voltage and current values associated with future time points in time; based on the predicted future evolution of terminal voltages and currents,” which overcomes the present rejection of Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 13 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOTTAPU et al. (Hereinafter, “Gottapu”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210288353 A1 in view of Plett in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20050110498 A1 and further in view of Mergener et al in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20210359526 A1, Claim(s) 5, 8 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottapu ‘353 A1 in view of Plett ‘498 A1 and Mergener ‘526 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of KLINTBERG ANTON [SE]; ALTAF FAISAL et al. (Hereinafter, “Altaf”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2021121609 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 1/13/2026. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. FROST et al. (Hereinafter, “Frost”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160363629 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1. Therefore claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOTTAPU et al. (Hereinafter, “Gottapu”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210288353 A1 in view of FROST et al. (Hereinafter, “Frost”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160363629 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Dependent claims 2-4, 6-7, 9-11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOTTAPU et al. (Hereinafter, “Gottapu”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210288353 A1 in view of FROST et al. (Hereinafter, “Frost”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160363629 A1 and dependent Claim(s) 5, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottapu ‘353 A1 in view of Frost ‘629 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of KLINTBERG ANTON [SE]; ALTAF FAISAL et al. (Hereinafter, “Altaf”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2021121609 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOTTAPU et al. (Hereinafter, “Gottapu”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210288353 A1 in view of FROST et al. (Hereinafter, “Frost”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20160363629 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Gottapu teaches a method of computing a state of charge of an energy storage system, ESS, with multiple parallel battery packs [205] (methods and electronic devices for accurately estimating State of Charge (SOC), uptime and capacity of a battery pack; Paragraph [0002] Line 2-4; A battery pack comprises a plurality of cells, wherein each cell can be connected to other cells in series or parallel; Paragraph [0003] Line 1-3; FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating an example Battery Management System (BMS) 200 configured to predict capacity and SOC of a battery pack 205, according to various embodiments. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the BMS 200 includes a Power Management Integrated Circuit (PMIC) 201. The PMIC 201 includes a processor (e.g., including processing circuitry) 202, a memory 203 and a display 204. The BMS 200 is hosted in a device (not shown), which includes the battery pack 205. The battery pack 205 may include a plurality of cells, wherein the plurality of cells can be arranged in series and/or parallel. In an embodiment, the battery pack 205 comprises a plurality of modules connected in series, wherein each module comprises a plurality of cells connected in parallel; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-14), the method comprising:
for each battery pack, predicting terminal voltage and current based on a respective measured terminal voltage (The BMS 200 is configured to estimate remaining capacity and uptime of the battery pack 205, for determining the time period for which a user can expect to operate the device without interruption and to avoid possible failures during runtime (execution of an instruction). The BMS 200 is configured to determine the chargeable capacity of the battery pack 205. The BMS 200 is configured to consider variations of SOC, temperature, capacity, voltage, current, ambient temperature, and surface temperature of each of the individual cells of the battery pack 205, during the estimation of the SOC of the battery pack 205, the remaining capacity of the battery pack 205, the chargeable capacity of the battery pack 205, and the uptime of the battery pack 205; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-17; The equivalent circuit model generates the current flowing through the cell as output. The current flowing through the cell is used by the electrochemical model as input, to predict the voltage of the cell as output, estimate the SOC of the cell, and estimate the capacity of the cell. The cell voltage is used as an input, by the equivalent circuit model, to calculate the voltage drop across the terminals and generating the current flowing through the cell as output. Therefore, the equivalent circuit model and the electrochemical model are coupled with each other; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-10);
based on the predicted terminal voltages and currents, computing a chargeable and/or dischargeable capacity of the ESS (In an embodiment, the processor 202 may estimate the uptime of the battery pack 205 based on the uptime of a cell in the battery pack 205. The uptime of the cell is determined based on SOC of a cell, capacity of the cell, and current flowing through the cell. The value of the uptime of the cell is lowest amongst values of uptimes of a plurality of battery cells in the plurality of branches of each of the plurality of modules; Paragraph [0051] Line 1-8); and
computing the state of charge of the ESS based on the chargeable and/or dischargeable capacity of the ESS (The processor 202 may estimate the SOC of the battery pack 205, the remaining capacity of the battery pack 205, the chargeable capacity of the battery pack 205, and the uptime of the battery pack 205, based on the estimated values of capacity, SOC, voltage, current, and ambient and surface temperatures of each of the individual cells of the battery pack 205; Paragraph [0050] 1-7).
Gottapu fails to teach wherein predicting terminal voltage and current is the future evolution of terminal voltages and currents and the future evolution of terminal voltages and currents are represented as sequences of voltage and current values associated with future time points in time; and controlling an operation of the entity based on the computed state of charge of the ESS.
Frost teaches systems and methods for estimating power capability of a battery system. More specifically, but not exclusively, the systems and methods disclosed herein relate to estimating power capability of a battery system using a forward-iteration method (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5),
wherein predicting terminal voltage and current is the future evolution of terminal voltages and currents and the future evolution of terminal voltages and currents are represented as sequences of voltage and current values associated with future time points in time (A first future battery current at a first iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated voltage limit based on the initial battery current may be estimated. Similarly, a first future battery voltage at the first iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated current limit based on the initial battery voltage may be estimated. In some embodiments, estimating the first future battery current and estimating the first future battery voltage may include determining parameters associated with a model of the battery system (e.g., an equivalent circuit model or the like) at the first iteration interval time; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-11; In certain embodiments, a second future battery current at a second iteration interval time following the first iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated voltage limit based on the first future battery current may be estimated. A second future battery voltage at the second iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated current limit based on the first future battery voltage may further be estimated. Based on the second future battery current, a second estimated voltage-limited power capability of the battery system at the second iteration interval time may be determined. A second estimated current-limited power capability of the battery system at the second iteration interval time may be further determined based on the second future battery voltage; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-14);
controlling an operation of the entity based on the computed state of charge of the ESS (In certain embodiments, the battery control system 104 may be configured, at least in part, to provide information regarding the battery system 102 (e.g., information measured by sensors 106 and/or determined by control system 104 in response to one or more requests) to a user, testing personnel, service personnel, and/or the like of the vehicle 100, the vehicle computer system 108, and/or the external computer system 110. Such information may include, without limitation, battery SOC, state of energy (“SOE”), and/or state of health (“SOH”) information, battery energy power capability and/or capacity information, battery operating time information, battery cycle information, battery operating temperature information, vehicle range information, and/or any other information regarding the battery system 102 that may be utilized in connection with determining battery system power capability information and/or information used in connection with battery system 102 and/or vehicle 100 management and/or control operations; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-19). The purpose of doing so is to relatively accurate estimate of future power capability of a battery system, to determine available vehicle drivetrain performance levels (e.g., available acceleration levels, vehicle speed levels, available drivetrain torque, etc.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Gottapu in view of Frost, because Frost teaches to represent the future evolution of terminal voltages and currents as sequences of voltage and current values associated with future time points in time relatively accurate estimates of future power capability of a battery system, determines available vehicle drivetrain performance levels (e.g., available acceleration levels, vehicle speed levels, available drivetrain torque, etc. (Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Gottapu teaches a method,
wherein the chargeable and/or dischargeable capacity of the ESS is computed using a Coulomb-counting approach (A battery pack comprises a plurality of cells, wherein each cell can be connected to other cells in series or parallel. Currently, coulomb counting is being used for determining the State of Charge (SOC) of the battery pack. Coulomb counting typically considers the input current at the battery pack level, assuming that the current distribution across all cells of the battery pack is uniform and capacities of all cells in the battery pack are same; Paragraph [0003] Line 1-8).
Regarding claim 3, Gottapu teaches a method,
wherein the chargeable capacity of the ESS is computed under an assumption of minimum charge time (The battery pack model may determine variations in temperature, SOC, capacity, internal resistance, busbar resistance, voltage, and current, amongst the six cells in six branches of the three modules of battery pack. The battery pack model determines the currents flowing through the two branches of each of the three modules. The currents are labeled as i.sub.11, i.sub.12, i.sub.21, i.sub.22, i.sub.31, and i.sub.32. The battery pack model may determine the uptime of the battery pack, the remaining capacity of the battery pack, the chargeable capacity of the battery pack, and the SOC of the battery pack; based on variations in the temperature, SOC, capacity, internal resistance, busbar resistance, voltage, and current, amongst the six cells in six branches of the three modules of battery pack; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-14;
; Paragraph [0071]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Gottapu teaches a method,
wherein the minimum charge time is calculated by: calculating an expected charge time for each battery pack based on its time-evolved terminal voltage; and selecting, from the expected charge times for all battery packs, the smallest expected charge time as said minimum charge time.
; Paragraph [0071]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 6, Gottapu teaches a method,
wherein the dischargeable capacity of the ESS is computed under an assumption of minimum discharge time (Once the parameters have been determined/identified, various example embodiments may include estimating/obtaining the uptime of the battery pack, the remaining capacity of the battery pack available for discharge, the chargeable capacity of the battery pack, and the SOC of the battery pack; Paragraph [0015] Line 1-6
; Paragraph [0071]-[0074]; Although Gottapu only shows minimum charging time. However, Gottapu discloses charging or discharging cycle. Therefore, same equation is applicable for minimum discharge time; Various example embodiments herein disclose methods and systems for providing a model for accurately estimating at least one of State of Charge (SOC) of a battery pack, battery pack uptime, chargeable capacity of the battery pack, voltage of the battery pack, temperature of the battery pack, and remaining capacity of the battery pack. Various embodiments include performing the estimations using, for example, and without limitation, an equivalent circuit model, an electrochemical model, and a thermal model. The equivalent circuit model, the electrochemical model, and the thermal model may be coupled to each other. The estimation can be performed in real time (online) or prior to termination of every discharge cycle; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-13).
Regarding claim 7, Gottapu teaches a method,
wherein the minimum discharge time is calculated by: calculating an expected discharge time for each battery pack based on its terminal voltage; and selecting, from the expected discharge times for all battery packs, the smallest expected discharge time as said minimum charge time (Once the parameters have been determined/identified, various example embodiments may include estimating/obtaining the uptime of the battery pack, the remaining capacity of the battery pack available for discharge, the chargeable capacity of the battery pack, and the SOC of the battery pack; Paragraph [0015] Line 1-6;
; Paragraph [0071]-[0074]; Although Gottapu only shows minimum charging time. However, Gottapu discloses charging or discharging cycle. Therefore, same equation is applicable for minimum discharge time; Various example embodiments herein disclose methods and systems for providing a model for accurately estimating at least one of State of Charge (SOC) of a battery pack, battery pack uptime, chargeable capacity of the battery pack, voltage of the battery pack, temperature of the battery pack, and remaining capacity of the battery pack. Various embodiments include performing the estimations using, for example, and without limitation, an equivalent circuit model, an electrochemical model, and a thermal model. The equivalent circuit model, the electrochemical model, and the thermal model may be coupled to each other. The estimation can be performed in real time (online) or prior to termination of every discharge cycle; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-13).
Gottapu fails to teach wherein predicting terminal voltage is the future evolution of terminal voltages.
Frost teaches systems and methods for estimating power capability of a battery system. More specifically, but not exclusively, the systems and methods disclosed herein relate to estimating power capability of a battery system using a forward-iteration method (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5),
wherein predicting terminal voltage is the future evolution of terminal voltages (A first future battery current at a first iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated voltage limit based on the initial battery current may be estimated. Similarly, a first future battery voltage at the first iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated current limit based on the initial battery voltage may be estimated. In some embodiments, estimating the first future battery current and estimating the first future battery voltage may include determining parameters associated with a model of the battery system (e.g., an equivalent circuit model or the like) at the first iteration interval time; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-11; In certain embodiments, a second future battery current at a second iteration interval time following the first iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated voltage limit based on the first future battery current may be estimated. A second future battery voltage at the second iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated current limit based on the first future battery voltage may further be estimated. Based on the second future battery current, a second estimated voltage-limited power capability of the battery system at the second iteration interval time may be determined. A second estimated current-limited power capability of the battery system at the second iteration interval time may be further determined based on the second future battery voltage; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-14). The purpose of doing so is to relatively accurate estimate of future power capability of a battery system, to determine available vehicle drivetrain performance levels (e.g., available acceleration levels, vehicle speed levels, available drivetrain torque, etc.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Gottapu in view of Frost, because Frost teaches to include the future evolution of terminal voltages relatively accurate estimates of future power capability of a battery system, determines available vehicle drivetrain performance levels (e.g., available acceleration levels, vehicle speed levels, available drivetrain torque, etc. (Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Gottapu teaches a method,
wherein the terminal voltages are predicted using a dynamic model of currents and voltages in a multi-battery system (The equivalent circuit model generates the current flowing through the cell as output. The current flowing through the cell is used by the electrochemical model as input, to predict the voltage of the cell as output, estimate the SOC of the cell, and estimate the capacity of the cell. The cell voltage is used as an input, by the equivalent circuit model, to calculate the voltage drop across the terminals and generating the current flowing through the cell as output. Therefore, the equivalent circuit model and the electrochemical model are coupled with each other; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-10; The current flowing through the individual cells, the voltage drop across the terminals of the individual cells, the ambient temperature of the individual cells, surface temperature of the individual cells, act as internal input parameters and external input parameters. The charging current, internal resistances of the individual cells, connection resistances, electrochemical parameters, and thermal parameters, are the (external) inputs of the model, which are received as inputs by the sub-models (the equivalent circuit model, the electrochemical model, and the thermal model); Paragraph [0049] Line 1-10).
Gottapu fails to teach wherein predicting terminal voltage is the future evolution of terminal voltages.
Frost teaches systems and methods for estimating power capability of a battery system. More specifically, but not exclusively, the systems and methods disclosed herein relate to estimating power capability of a battery system using a forward-iteration method (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5),
wherein predicting terminal voltage is the future evolution of terminal voltages (A first future battery current at a first iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated voltage limit based on the initial battery current may be estimated. Similarly, a first future battery voltage at the first iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated current limit based on the initial battery voltage may be estimated. In some embodiments, estimating the first future battery current and estimating the first future battery voltage may include determining parameters associated with a model of the battery system (e.g., an equivalent circuit model or the like) at the first iteration interval time; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-11; In certain embodiments, a second future battery current at a second iteration interval time following the first iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated voltage limit based on the first future battery current may be estimated. A second future battery voltage at the second iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated current limit based on the first future battery voltage may further be estimated. Based on the second future battery current, a second estimated voltage-limited power capability of the battery system at the second iteration interval time may be determined. A second estimated current-limited power capability of the battery system at the second iteration interval time may be further determined based on the second future battery voltage; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-14). The purpose of doing so is to relatively accurate estimate of future power capability of a battery system, to determine available vehicle drivetrain performance levels (e.g., available acceleration levels, vehicle speed levels, available drivetrain torque, etc.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Gottapu in view of Frost, because Frost teaches to include the future evolution of terminal voltages relatively accurate estimates of future power capability of a battery system, determines available vehicle drivetrain performance levels (e.g., available acceleration levels, vehicle speed levels, available drivetrain torque, etc. (Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Gottapu teaches a method,
wherein the model is variable with respect to battery temperature and/or a setpoint charge/discharge-current profile (For a particular cell, the equivalent circuit model receives the charging current (current fed to the battery pack 205), internal resistances of the cell, and connection resistance (contributed by the connectors, bolts and nuts, cables, and bus bars) of the cell as inputs. The equivalent circuit model further receives the voltage of the cell, from the electrochemical model, as an input. The electrochemical model receives electrochemical parameters (comprising of electrode level information such as length, particle radius, active material loading capacities, diffusion characteristics, and so on) as input. The electrochemical model further receives the current flowing through the cell from the equivalent circuit model, and the ambient temperature of the cell from the thermal model, as inputs. The thermal model receives thermal parameters (comprising of heat transfer coefficients and cooling fluid material properties such as density, specific heat capacity, and so on) as input. The thermal model further receives the surface temperature of the cell from the electrochemical model as an input; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-19; The equivalent circuit model generates the current flowing through the cell as output. The current flowing through the cell is used by the electrochemical model as input, to predict the voltage of the cell as output, estimate the SOC of the cell, and estimate the capacity of the cell. The cell voltage is used as an input, by the equivalent circuit model, to calculate the voltage drop across the terminals and generating the current flowing through the cell as output. Therefore, the equivalent circuit model and the electrochemical model are coupled with each other; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-10).
Regarding claim 11, Gottapu teaches a method,
wherein the current for each battery pack is predicted using current split prediction based on a total reference ESS current and a measured terminal voltage for the battery pack (The uptime of the battery pack 205 may be the uptime of a battery cell in a branch of a module. For a particular branch in a module, various embodiments include computing a product of capacity of the battery cell and SOC of the battery cell. Various embodiments include obtaining a ratio of the product and the current flowing through the battery cell. Various embodiments include computing the ratios for each of the battery cells in each of the branches of the module. The ratio with the lowest value can be considered as the uptime of the module. Similarly, various embodiments include computing the uptimes of each of the plurality of modules. The lowest value of uptime, among the values of the uptimes of each of the plurality of modules, is considered as the uptime of the battery pack 205; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-14).
Regarding claim 13, Gottapu teaches a processor device [200] for controlling an operation of an entity comprising an energy storage system, ESS [201], with multiple parallel battery packs [205] (As illustrated in FIG. 2, the BMS 200 includes a Power Management Integrated Circuit (PMIC) 201. The PMIC 201 includes a processor (e.g., including processing circuitry) 202, a memory 203 and a display 204. The BMS 200 is hosted in a device (not shown), which includes the battery pack 205. The battery pack 205 may include a plurality of cells, wherein the plurality of cells can be arranged in series and/or parallel; Paragraph [0042] Line 4-11),
the device [200] (FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating an example Battery Management System (BMS) 200 configured to predict capacity and SOC of a battery pack 205; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-3) comprising:
an interface (As illustrated in FIG. 2, the BMS 200 includes a Power Management Integrated Circuit (PMIC) 201. The PMIC 201 includes a processor (e.g., including processing circuitry) 202, a memory 203 and a display 204; Paragraph [0042] Line 4-8) or receiving sensor signals (equivalent circuit model) associated with the ESS [201]; and
processing circuitry [202] configured to perform the method of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, Gottapu teaches
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when executed by the processor device [202] (Various example embodiments disclosed herein describe methods and systems for providing a model for accurately estimating battery pack uptime, remaining capacity of the battery pack available for discharge, and chargeable capacity of the battery pack. Therefore, it is understood that the scope of the disclosure is extended to such a program and in addition to a computer readable medium having a message therein, such computer readable storage medium may contain program code for implementation of one or more steps of the method, when the program runs on a server or mobile device or any suitable programmable device. The method may be implemented in example embodiment through or together with a software program written in example Very high speed integrated circuit Hardware Description Language (VHDL), or any other programming language, or implemented by one or more VHDL or several software modules being executed on at least one hardware device; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-18) cause the processor device to perform the method of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim(s) 5, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottapu ‘353 A1 in view of Frost ‘629 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of KLINTBERG ANTON [SE]; ALTAF FAISAL et al. (Hereinafter, “Altaf”) in the Patent Application Publication Number WO 2021121609 A1.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Gottapu and Frost fails to teach a method, wherein the expected charge time is calculated by applying to the time-evolved terminal voltage a termination criterion including a charging limit voltage and an equilibrium condition.
Altaf teaches a method for estimating a capacity of a battery unit in an energy storage system of a vehicle. The invention further relates to a computer program, a computer readable medium, a control unit, a battery management system, and a vehicle; TECHNICAL FIELD; Page 2 Line 1-3),
wherein the expected charge time is calculated by applying to the time-evolved terminal voltage a termination criterion including a charging limit voltage and an equilibrium condition (Optionally, the terminal voltage used to determine the transient voltage response is measured within a predetermined period of time after a termination of an immediately preceding charge process or discharge process of the battery unit. For example, the measurement may be initiated within a predetermined period of time after disconnecting the load; page 4 Line 22-25; Optionally, the estimation of the capacity of the battery unit based on at least the estimated at least first value of the open circuit voltage comprises using Coulomb counting. For Coulomb counting, at least two values of the state of charge (SOC) of the battery unit are needed, which two values may be determined from the open circuit voltage values prior to and subsequent to a charge or discharge process using look-up tables. Both of these open circuit voltage values, i.e. prior to and subsequent to the charge or discharge process, may be obtained as described above, but it is also possible to obtain one of the values during a relaxed no-load condition, when the battery unit is in full equilibrium. It is also possible to determine one of the SOC values from the first value of the open circuit voltage as described above, and to obtain the other SOC value in some other way; Page 4 Line 26-33). The purpose of doing so is to estimate the capacity based on the two open circuit voltage values and measured current during the charge or discharge process, to estimate the capacity without having to wait for the battery unit to achieve a full equilibrium, or a full steady-state, after removal of a load, to estimate the capacity much faster after disconnection of a load, such as 5-10 times faster than by waiting for full equilibrium to be achieved, to determine the capacity on-board the vehicle in a more time efficient manner in comparison with prior art methods relying on open circuit voltage values measured during a relaxed steady-state of the battery unit.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Gottapu and Frost in view of Altaf, because Altaf teaches to calculate the expected charge time by applying to the time-evolved terminal voltage a termination criterion including a charging limit voltage and an equilibrium condition estimates the capacity based on the two open circuit voltage values and measured current during the charge or discharge process (Page 4), estimates the capacity without having to wait for the battery unit to achieve a full equilibrium, or a full steady-state, after removal of a load, estimates the capacity much faster after disconnection of a load, such as 5-10 times faster than by waiting for full equilibrium to be achieved, determines the capacity on-board the vehicle in a more time efficient manner in comparison with prior art methods relying on open circuit voltage values measured during a relaxed steady-state of the battery unit (Page 3).
Regarding claim 8, Gottapu fails to teach a method, wherein the expected discharge time is calculated by applying to the predicted future evolution of terminal voltage a termination criterion including a discharging limit voltage and an equilibrium condition.
Frost teaches systems and methods for estimating power capability of a battery system. More specifically, but not exclusively, the systems and methods disclosed herein relate to estimating power capability of a battery system using a forward-iteration method (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-5),
wherein predicting terminal voltage is the future evolution of terminal voltages (A first future battery current at a first iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated voltage limit based on the initial battery current may be estimated. Similarly, a first future battery voltage at the first iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated current limit based on the initial battery voltage may be estimated. In some embodiments, estimating the first future battery current and estimating the first future battery voltage may include determining parameters associated with a model of the battery system (e.g., an equivalent circuit model or the like) at the first iteration interval time; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-11; In certain embodiments, a second future battery current at a second iteration interval time following the first iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated voltage limit based on the first future battery current may be estimated. A second future battery voltage at the second iteration interval time when the battery system operates at the associated current limit based on the first future battery voltage may further be estimated. Based on the second future battery current, a second estimated voltage-limited power capability of the battery system at the second iteration interval time may be determined. A second estimated current-limited power capability of the battery system at the second iteration interval time may be further determined based on the second future battery voltage; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-14). The purpose of doing so is to relatively accurate estimate of future power capability of a battery system, to determine available vehicle drivetrain performance levels (e.g., available acceleration levels, vehicle speed levels, available drivetrain torque, etc.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Gottapu in view of Frost, because Frost teaches to include the future evolution of terminal voltages relatively accurate estimates of future power capability of a battery system, determines available vehicle drivetrain performance levels (e.g., available acceleration levels, vehicle speed levels, available drivetrain torque, etc. (Paragraph [0004]).
The combination of Gottapu and Frost fails to teach a method, wherein the expected discharge time is calculated by applying to the terminal voltage a termination criterion including a discharging limit voltage and an equilibrium condition.
Altaf teaches a method for estimating a capacity of a battery unit in an energy storage system of a vehicle. The invention further relates to a computer program, a computer readable medium, a control unit, a battery management system, and a vehicle; TECHNICAL FIELD; Page 2 Line 1-3),
wherein the expected discharge time is calculated by applying to the terminal voltage a termination criterion including a discharging limit voltage and an equilibrium condition (Optionally, the terminal voltage used to determine the transient voltage response is measured within a predetermined period of time after a termination of an immediately preceding charge process or discharge process of the battery unit. For example, the measurement may be initiated within a predetermined period of time after disconnecting the load; page 4 Line 22-25; Optionally, the estimation of the capacity of the battery unit based on at least the estimated at least first value of the open circuit voltage comprises using Coulomb counting. For Coulomb counting, at least two values of the state of charge (SOC) of the battery unit are needed, which two values may be determined from the open circuit voltage values prior to and subsequent to a charge or discharge process using look-up tables. Both of these open circuit voltage values, i.e. prior to and subsequent to the charge or discharge process, may be obtained as described above, but it is also possible to obtain one of the values during a relaxed no-load condition, when the battery unit is in full equilibrium. It is also possible to determine one of the SOC values from the first value of the open circuit voltage as described above, and to obtain the other SOC value in some other way; Page 4 Line 26-33). The purpose of doing so is to estimate the capacity based on the two open circuit voltage values and measured current during the charge or discharge process, to estimate the capacity without having to wait for the battery unit to achieve a full equilibrium, or a full steady-state, after removal of a load, to estimate the capacity much faster after disconnection of a load, such as 5-10 times faster than by waiting for full equilibrium to be achieved, to determine the capacity on-board the vehicle in a more time efficient manner in comparison with prior art methods relying on open circuit voltage values measured during a relaxed steady-state of the battery unit.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Gottapu and Frost in view of Altaf, because Altaf teaches to calculate the expected discharge time by applying to the time-evolved terminal voltage a termination criterion including a discharging limit voltage and an equilibrium condition. estimates the capacity based on the two open circuit voltage values and measured current during the charge or discharge process (Page 4), estimates the capacity without having to wait for the battery unit to achieve a full equilibrium, or a full steady-state, after removal of a load, estimates the capacity much faster after disconnection of a load, such as 5-10 times faster than by waiting for full equilibrium to be achieved, determines the capacity on-board the vehicle in a more time efficient manner in comparison with prior art methods relying on open circuit voltage values measured during a relaxed steady-state of the battery unit (Page 3).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Gottapu and Frost fails to teach a method, wherein the ESS is a vehicular ESS.
Altaf teaches a method for estimating a capacity of a battery unit in an energy storage system of a vehicle. The invention further relates to a computer program, a computer readable medium, a control unit, a battery management system, and a vehicle; TECHNICAL FIELD; Page 2 Line 1-3),
wherein the entity is a vehicle (Fig. 1 shows a simplified perspective view of an all-electric vehicle in the form of a bus 201, which according to an embodiment is equipped with at least one electric machine (not shown) for operating the bus. The bus 201 carries an electric energy storage system (ESS) 200 comprising a battery unit 202 in the form of a battery pack; DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF EXAMPLE EMBODIMENTS OF THE INVENTION; Page 6 Line 5-8). The purpose of doing so is to apply for hybrid vehicles or electrical vehicles, such as partly or fully electrical vehicles, to apply any type of electrical vehicle such as electrically powered construction equipment, electrical working machines, e.g. wheel loaders, articulated haulers, dump trucks, excavators and backhoe loaders etc.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Gottapu and Frost in view of Altaf, because Altaf teaches to include the entity in a vehicle can apply for hybrid vehicles or electrical vehicles, such as partly or fully electrical vehicles, can apply any type of electrical vehicle such as electrically powered construction equipment, electrical working machines, e.g. wheel loaders, articulated haulers, dump trucks, excavators and backhoe loaders etc. (TECHNICAL FIELD; Page 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Burden (US 20190067959 A1) discloses, “BATTERY PACK BALANCING SYSTEM- A method and apparatus for operating a battery pack balancing system includes a set of power units including a set of battery cells, the set of power units having a respective set of terminals selectably connected with a circuit, a set of sensors adapted to sense the amount of power available at the respective terminals of the set of power units, and a controller module adapted to receive the sensed power available at the respective terminals of the set of power units from the set of sensors and identify the power unit having the largest amount of power available at the terminals (Abstract). [0022] FIG. 2 illustrates a schematic circuit diagram of a battery pack balancing system 30 or circuit that can be utilized in the aircraft 10 of FIG. 1 or another environment having a battery pack 24. As shown, the battery pack balancing system 30 can include a battery pack 24 comprising a set of batteries 32. Each respective battery 32 of the set of batteries 32 can include at least one battery cell. As illustrated, the set of batteries 32 can include, respectively, a first battery cell 34, a second battery cell 36, a third battery cell 38, and a fourth battery cell 40. While only a single battery cell 34, 36, 38, 40 is illustrated for ease of understanding, the set of batteries 32, or the battery cells 34, 36, 38, 40 can include a set of respective cells 34, 36, 38, 40 arranged, configured, adapted, enable, or the like, to provide any desired power output, storage capacity, or power storage capabilities envisioned. Each of the set of batteries 32 or battery cells 34, 36, 38, 40 is shown having a respective set of battery terminals 48 for providing or receiving electrical power. [0024] The battery pack balancing system 30 can further include a set of sensors 46 arranged or adapted to sense or measure a power characteristic of the set of batteries 32 or battery cells 34, 36, 38, 40. For example, as illustrated, the set of sensors 46 can include voltage sensors adapted to sense or measure the voltage of the respective set of batteries 32 or battery cells 34, 36, 38, 40. While a set of voltage sensors are illustrated, the set of sensors can be configured, adapted, or the like to sense or measure a value or characteristic related to an amount of power available in or from the respective battery 32 or battery cell 34, 36, 38, 40. The set of sensors 46 can also be adapted or configured to provide the sensed or measured value or characteristic related to the amount of power available in or from the respective battery 32 or battery cell 34, 36, 38, 40 to another component-However, Burden does not disclose predicting a future evolution of terminal voltage and current based on a respective measured terminal voltage, wherein the future evolution of terminal voltages and currents are represented as sequences of voltage and current values associated with future time points in time; based on the predicted future evolution of terminal voltages and currents.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858