DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 10-13, 16-18, 22-25 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2025/0055642, relying on the provisional application 63/532,251) in view of Muruganathan et al. (US 2025/0030512).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to ([0144] The UE 1300 may include processor 1302, RF interface circuitry 1304, memory/storage; [0146] The processor 1302 may include any type of circuitry or processor circuitry that executes or otherwise operates computer-executable instructions, ... to cause the UE 1300 to perform operations (63/532,251 [0110], [0112])):
receive control signaling scheduling a set of configured grant uplink shared channel occasions ([0050] for a CG physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration, a UE can include uplink control information (UCI) that provides information about unused CG PUSCH transmission occasions in each CG PUSCH that is transmitted (63/532,251 [0016]); [0133] Operations of the method 1100 include obtaining 1102 a first CG configuration for an UL carrier (e.g., a normal uplink carrier, NUL) and a second CG configuration for a SUL carrier, each of the first and second CG configurations including multiple transmission occasions (63/532,251 [0099])), and
transmit uplink control information comprising an indication of use for each of the at least two transport blocks relating to a subset of the set of configured grant uplink shared channel occasions ([0071] PUSCH repetition is supported with multiple PUSCH transmissions in a CG period. For example, if there are 4 TOs in a CG period, the first two TOs may be for a same transport block, and the second two TOs may be for another transport block ... For UCI multiplexing, HARQ redundancy version and/or NDI for the current PUSCH can be multiplexed with UTO-UCI. In some examples, HARQ redundancy version and/or NDI for the current PUSCH can be multiplexed with UTO-UCI and HARQ-ACK (63/532,251 [0037]); [0127] a UE feature group supports multiple CG PUSCHs in multiple CG periods and UTO-UCI multiplexing and UTO signaling ... The multiple CG PUSCHs may be associated with more than one transport block (63/532,251 [0093])).
However, Yang does not teach wherein each configured grant uplink shared occasion of the set of configured grant uplink shared channel occasions is configured for transmission of at least two transport blocks.
In an analogous art, Muruganathan teaches wherein each configured grant uplink shared occasion of the set of configured grant uplink shared channel occasions is configured for transmission of at least two transport blocks ([0103] For simultaneous PUSCH transmission by a UE to multiple TRPs, the transmission to multi-TRPs may share the same time/frequency resource, referring here as Spatial Division Multiplexing (SDM), or use different frequency domain resources for different TRPs, referring here as Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM). Therefore, the CG configuration may also indicate whether SDM or FDM is used; [0104] Different data may be sent to different TRPs and may be associated with a single or multiple Transport Blocks (TBs) ... In case of multiple TBs, they would be encoded in different CWs, one for each TRP. Each of the CWs may have different number of layers and different MCS. Therefore, the CG configuration may also indicate whether SDM or FDM is used and additionally, whether a single TB or multiple TBs are used. Alternatively, whether a single TB or multiple TBs are pre-determined by specification. In case of multiple TBs, a separate MCS per CW may be configured as part of the CG configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Muruganathan’s method with Yang’s methos so that it can increases channel capacity by utilizing the geometric relationships between multiple transmitters to transmit multiple signals or data streams simultaneously on one channel, thereby improving data rates and link utilization.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Yang and Muruganathan, specifically Yang teaches the indication of use comprises a bitmap comprising a respective bit indicating whether the UE expects to transmit each of the at least two transport blocks for each configured grant uplink shared channel occasion of the subset ([0081] the UTO-UCI bitmap size may be determined according to the number of TOs over a time duration; [0082] the bitmap size configured by RRC is according to the number of TOs which come after the TO within which the CG PUSCH carrying the UTO-UCI is located, each bit in the bitmap corresponds to such a TO; [0092] a PUSCH 914 for the first CG configuration 902 in slot n carries UTO signaling with a bitmap of [1000]. The bitmap [1000], with the reference slot starting from slot n, indicates slots n+1, n+2, n+3 are unused (63/532,251 [0047], [0048], [0058])).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yang and Muruganathan, specifically Yang teaches the indication of use comprises a respective bitmap for each of the at least two transport blocks, and each respective bitmap indicates whether the UE expects to transmit the respective transport block for each configured grant uplink shared channel occasion of the subset ([0081] the UTO-UCI bitmap size may be determined according to the number of TOs over a time duration; [0082] the bitmap size configured by RRC is according to the number of TOs which come after the TO within which the CG PUSCH carrying the UTO-UCI is located, each bit in the bitmap corresponds to such a TO; [0092] a PUSCH 914 for the first CG configuration 902 in slot n carries UTO signaling with a bitmap of [1000]. The bitmap [1000], with the reference slot starting from slot n, indicates slots n+1, n+2, n+3 are unused).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Yang and Muruganathan, specifically Yang teaches to transmit the uplink control information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink control information via a first configured grant uplink shared channel occasion of the set of configured grant uplink shared channel occasions ([0092] In this example, a PUSCH 914 for the first CG configuration 902 in slot n carries UTO signaling with a bitmap of [1000]. The bitmap [1000], with the reference slot starting from slot n, indicates slots n+1, n+2, n+3 are unused. In slot n+1, a PUSCH 916 for the second CG configuration 904 carries UTO signaling with a bitmap of [110]. The bitmap [110], with reference slot starting from slot n, indicates slot n+3 as unused, but slot n+1 & n+2 as “not unused”/“used”).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Yang and Muruganathan, specifically Yang teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, via the control signaling or via second control signaling, an indication of a quantity of uplink shared channel occasions to include in the subset ([0064] FIG. 2 illustrates a timeline of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) 202 and a PUSCH 204. Time-Domain Resource Allocation (TDRA) design for PUSCH 204 is about the determination of the starting symbol 206, the duration 208 of the PUSCH 204, the slot offset 210 (K2) with respect to the PDCCH 202, and the slot duration; [0067] The maximum number of PUSCHs (N) may be configured by higher layers or indicated by activation DCI (63/532,251 [0030], [0033])).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Yang and Muruganathan, specifically Yang teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit at least one transport block in a configured grant uplink shared channel occasion of the subset ([0127] a UE feature group supports multiple CG PUSCHs in multiple CG periods and UTO-UCI multiplexing and UTO signaling ... The multiple CG PUSCHs may be associated with more than one transport block), wherein the indication of use indicates that the UE expects to transmit the at least one transport block ([0071] PUSCH repetition is supported with multiple PUSCH transmissions in a CG period. For example, if there are 4 TOs in a CG period, the first two TOs may be for a same transport block, and the second two TOs may be for another transport block ... For UCI multiplexing, HARQ redundancy version and/or NDI for the current PUSCH can be multiplexed with UTO-UCI. In some examples, HARQ redundancy version and/or NDI for the current PUSCH can be multiplexed with UTO-UCI and HARQ-ACK; [0127] a UE feature group supports multiple CG PUSCHs in multiple CG periods and UTO-UCI multiplexing and UTO signaling ... The multiple CG PUSCHs may be associated with more than one transport block).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang does not teach the at least two transport blocks for each of the set of configured grant uplink shared channel occasions are spatially division multiplexed.
In an analogous art, Muruganathan teaches the at least two transport blocks for each of the set of configured grant uplink shared channel occasions are spatially division multiplexed ([0103] For simultaneous PUSCH transmission by a UE to multiple TRPs, the transmission to multi-TRPs may share the same time/frequency resource, referring here as Spatial Division Multiplexing (SDM), or use different frequency domain resources for different TRPs, referring here as Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM). Therefore, the CG configuration may also indicate whether SDM or FDM is used; [0104] Different data may be sent to different TRPs and may be associated with a single or multiple Transport Blocks (TBs) ... In case of multiple TBs, they would be encoded in different CWs, one for each TRP. Each of the CWs may have different number of layers and different MCS. Therefore, the CG configuration may also indicate whether SDM or FDM is used and additionally, whether a single TB or multiple TBs are used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Muruganathan’s method with Yang’s methos so that it can increases channel capacity by utilizing the geometric relationships between multiple transmitters to transmit multiple signals or data streams simultaneously on one channel, thereby improving data rates and link utilization.
Regarding Claim 13, Yang teaches a network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to ([0158] The access node 1400 may include processor 1402, RF interface circuitry 1404, core network (CN) interface circuitry 1406, memory/storage circuitry 1408, and one or more antenna(s) 1410. The processor 1402 may include any type of circuitry or processor circuitry that executes or otherwise operates computer-executable instructions, such as program code, software modules, or functional processes from memory/storage circuitry 1408 to cause the access node 1400 to perform operations):
output, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling scheduling a set of configured grant uplink shared channel occasions ([0050] for a CG physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration, a UE can include uplink control information (UCI) that provides information about unused CG PUSCH transmission occasions in each CG PUSCH that is transmitted; [0133] Operations of the method 1100 include obtaining 1102 a first CG configuration for an UL carrier (e.g., a normal uplink carrier, NUL) and a second CG configuration for a SUL carrier, each of the first and second CG configurations including multiple transmission occasions); and
obtain, from the UE, uplink control information comprising an indication of use for each of the at least two transport blocks relating to a subset of the set of configured grant uplink shared channel occasions ([0071] PUSCH repetition is supported with multiple PUSCH transmissions in a CG period. For example, if there are 4 TOs in a CG period, the first two TOs may be for a same transport block, and the second two TOs may be for another transport block ... For UCI multiplexing, HARQ redundancy version and/or NDI for the current PUSCH can be multiplexed with UTO-UCI. In some examples, HARQ redundancy version and/or NDI for the current PUSCH can be multiplexed with UTO-UCI and HARQ-ACK; [0127] a UE feature group supports multiple CG PUSCHs in multiple CG periods and UTO-UCI multiplexing and UTO signaling ... The multiple CG PUSCHs may be associated with more than one transport block).
However, Yang does not teach wherein each configured grant uplink shared occasion of the set of configured grant uplink shared channel occasions is configured for transmission of at least two transport blocks.
In an analogous art, Muruganathan teaches wherein each configured grant uplink shared occasion of the set of configured grant uplink shared channel occasions is configured for transmission of at least two transport blocks ([0103] For simultaneous PUSCH transmission by a UE to multiple TRPs, the transmission to multi-TRPs may share the same time/frequency resource, referring here as Spatial Division Multiplexing (SDM), or use different frequency domain resources for different TRPs, referring here as Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM). Therefore, the CG configuration may also indicate whether SDM or FDM is used; [0104] Different data may be sent to different TRPs and may be associated with a single or multiple Transport Blocks (TBs) ... In case of multiple TBs, they would be encoded in different CWs, one for each TRP. Each of the CWs may have different number of layers and different MCS. Therefore, the CG configuration may also indicate whether SDM or FDM is used and additionally, whether a single TB or multiple TBs are used. Alternatively, whether a single TB or multiple TBs are pre-determined by specification. In case of multiple TBs, a separate MCS per CW may be configured as part of the CG configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Muruganathan’s method with Yang’s methos so that it can increases channel capacity by utilizing the geometric relationships between multiple transmitters to transmit multiple signals or data streams simultaneously on one channel, thereby improving data rates and link utilization.
Regarding Claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 12.
Regarding Claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7-9, 14-15, 19-21 and 26-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xu et al. (US 2025/0374263) teaches method of configured grant-based communication.
Nagano (US 2025/0358814) teaches method of configuring a number of bits of uplink control information (UCI) on an unused transmission occasion.
Babaei (US 2025/0159679) teaches unused transmission occasion indication.
Kuo et al. (US 2025/0142575) teaches method for scheduling requests accounting for unused transmission occasions.
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413