DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 6/24/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 14-20 of amendment, filed 6/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Cho in view of Martin have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen (US 2009/0164914).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejection of Claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is hereby withdrawn do to Applicant’s amendment filed 6/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7-9, 12, 14, 15, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2018/0077543), in view of Martin et al. (US 2020/0274962), hereinafter Martin, in view of Chen.
As per claim 1, Cho teaches the following:
a communication system for text-based communication, (see abstract), comprising:
a communication unit and an additional communication unit, (see Fig. 1, 100 and 200), said communication unit, containing:
at least one communication interface configured to receive chat text messages from said additional communication unit and to send incoming said chat text messages to said additional communication unit. As Cho teaches in paragraph [0082], messages are sent between the devices 100 and 200 via a server 300. Further see Fig. 56, 1300;
an input unit allowing a first user to input the chat text messages. See Fig. 56, 1450, and Fig. 2; and
a display unit, on which the chat text messages received from said at least one communication interface and the chat text messages input via said input unit can be displayed as chat. See Fig. 56, 1100, and Fig. 2;
said additional communication unit, containing:
at least one additional communication interface configured to receive the chat text messages from said communication unit and to send incoming said chat text messages. As Cho teaches in paragraph [0082], messages are sent between the devices 100 and 200 via a server 300. Further see paragraph [0074]. Further see Fig. 56, 1300;
an additional input unit allowing a second user to input the chat text messages. See Fig. 56, 1450, and Fig. 8;
an additional display unit, on which the chat text messages received from said additional communication interface and the chat text messages input via said additional input unit can be displayed as said chat. See Fig. 56, 1100, and Fig. 8; and
a chat application being invoked from said additional communication unit, wherein the chat text messages being issued via the chat application to said communication unit, and wherein the chat application is configured to display graphical user interfaces in the chat on said additional communication unit. See Fig. 57, 1240-3, and Fig. 8; and
an analysis entity connected between said at least one communication interface and said at least one additional communication interface, wherein said analysis entity is configured to analyze the chat text messages input via said input unit and based on an analysis, to add metadata to an input said chat text message before forwarding the chat text messages to said additional communication interface, wherein the chat application is configured to display a graphical user interface corresponding to the metadata upon receiving the metadata. As Cho shows in Fig. 13A, server 300 may analyze keywords (S2030 and 20440) of a message and obtain content relevant to said keywords and acts as an “in-between” for the communicating devices. Further see paragraph [0226], where operations 2030, 2040, and 2050 may be performed before the server transmits the message, i.e., the content is added to the chat text message before forwarding said message. Cho further shows in Fig. 14A, and corresponding paragraph [0244], that the server 300 may extract the keyword and forward the keyword to the receiving device. Therefore, Cho teaches applicant’s limitation in the server 300 receiving a text message, determining the text message is a question, determine keywords for the question, and forwarding the message and keywords to the receiving device. The examiner further interprets Cho’s keywords as encompassing applicant’s metadata because as Cho teaches in paragraphs [0097] through [0103], the keywords provide context about the specific question, i.e., metadata about the question. Further see paragraph [0146] where metadata is stored about content. Therefore, the keywords sent by the server are matched with metadata describing content stored on the receiving device.
However, Cho does not explicitly teach of converting interaction with the content into a chat text message response. Martin teaches the following:
said analysis entity being configured to detect an interaction with said graphical user interface performed by the second user in the chat via said additional input unit and to convert the interaction with said graphical user interface into a chat text message corresponding to the interaction and to transmit the chat text message to said communication unit. As Martin teaches in paragraph [0075], and corresponding Fig. 5, a user may select options via soft buttons 506. As Martin later shows in Fig. 7B, and corresponding paragraph [0084], an EMS extracts information from the communication and presents said information as text 716.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the device of Cho with the emergency contact center of Martin. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Martin teaches in paragraph [0004], generating such autonomous communications through software components benefit users of EMS services in providing the service coordinators with necessary information before a human operator may respond.
Furthermore, while Cho suggests the reply being a textual answer (see Cho, Fig. 20D, “possible answers” and Martin suggests receiving textual answers in response to visual selections by a user (see Martin, Fig. 7B, 716), neither Cho nor Martin explicitly teach of a text only message on said communication unit. In a similar field of endeavor, Chen teaches of a method of selecting response to messages (see abstract). Chen further teaches the following:
said communication unit configured to display the chat text message received from said analysis entity as a text only message on said communication unit. As Chen teaches in paragraph [0027], and corresponding Fig. 6, 625, a graphical icon which corresponds to a premade message may be selected by a sender and in paragraph [0021], a response message may be a “textual response message”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have further modified the response message of Cho in view of Martin with the textual response message of Chen. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Chen teaches in paragraph [0005], such text only messaging benefits users who utilize systems which may only support text based messages, and would thus be unable to send images.
Regarding claim 2, Cho teaches the system of claim 1 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
said analysis entity is configured to add the metadata in a form of an identifier to the input chat text message before forwarding it to said additional communication interface, wherein the identifier identifies the graphical user interface to be displayed on said additional communication unit by the chat application, wherein in the chat application at least one graphical user interface is stored with its associated identifying identifier and wherein the chat application is configured, upon receiving an identifier, to display the at least one graphical user interface, the identifier of which corresponds to the identifier received. As Cho teaches in paragraphs [0244] and [0245], and corresponding Fig. 14A, a keyword may be sent to electronic device 100 with a first message. Content based on said keyword is then obtained by device 100 at S3050. Further see paragraph [0226], where operations 2030, 2040, and 2050 may be performed before the server transmits the message. Further see Fig. 5 where obtained content is displayed based upon the keyword received.
Regarding claim 3, Cho teaches the system of claim 1 as described above. However, Cho does not explicitly teach of the metadata being a software component. In a similar field of endeavor, Martin teaches of a method of managing a messaging interaction with a user (see abstract). As Martin further teaches in paragraph [0075], and corresponding Fig. 5, the messaging may comprise an EMS initiating a communication with a device by launching a mobile application on the device which may display various components. Upon the modification of Cho in view of Martin, one or ordinary skill would arrive at: wherein said analysis entity is configured to add the metadata in a form of a software component to the input chat text message before forwarding it to said additional communication interface, wherein the chat application is configured to display a corresponding graphical user interface on receiving the software component, where the keyword/metadata of Cho (see paragraph [0244]) would cause the launch of application components of Martin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the content of Cho with the application components of Martin. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Martin teaches in paragraph [0004], generating such autonomous communications through software components benefit users of EMS services in providing the service coordinators with necessary information before a human operator may respond.
Regarding claim 4, Cho teaches the system of claim 1 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
said additional communication unit is a mobile device. See paragraph [0077];
the chat application is invoked from said communication unit; the chat text messages are sent to said additional communication unit via the chat application. See paragraph [0126], “text chatting service”; and
the chat application is configured to display the graphical user interfaces in the chat. See Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 5, Cho teaches the system of claim 1 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
said input unit allows an operator as the first user to input the chat text messages to the second user. See Fig. 5; and
the chat text messages received from said at least one communication interface and the chat text messages input by the operator via said input unit are displayed on said display unit. As Cho further shows in Fig. 5, communications may be bi-directionally sent between devices.
However, Cho does not explicitly teach of a communication device being a workstation at an emergency control center. In a similar field of endeavor, Martin teaches of a method of managing a messaging interaction with a user (see abstract). Martin further teaches the following:
the text-based communication is a text-based emergency communication. See abstract;
said communication unit is included in an operator workstation (10) for an emergency control center. See paragraph [0066], emergency service provider 230;
said at least one communication interface is configured to receive emergency calls in a form of the chat text messages from said additional communication unit and to send incoming said chat text messages to said additional communication unit. Martin shows in Fig. 7B of an operator receiving the emergency text message information and Cho teaches of allowing bi-directional communication between devices;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the device of Cho with the emergency contact center of Martin. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Martin teaches in paragraph [0004], generating such autonomous communications through software components benefit users of EMS services in providing the service coordinators with necessary information before a human operator may respond.
Regarding claim 6, modified Cho teaches the system of claim 5 as described above. However, as described above, Cho does not explicitly teach of a device being an emergency control center. Martin further teaches the following:
said additional communication unit is a mobile device. See Fig. 2, 210B, and corresponding paragraph [0066];
the chat application being invoked from said mobile device allows the emergency calls in a form of the chat text message being issued to the emergency control center. See Fig. 3, 310; and
said mobile device contains said at least one additional communication interface, which is configured to send the emergency calls in a form of the input chat text messages to said communication unit of the operator workstation and to receive the chat text messages from said communication unit of the operator workstation. See Fig. 1A, 114 and 117.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the device of Cho with the emergency contact center of Martin. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Martin teaches in paragraph [0004], generating such autonomous communications through software components benefit users of EMS services in providing the service coordinators with necessary information before a human operator may respond.
Regarding claim 7, Cho teaches the system of claim 1 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
said analysis entity is configured to analyze the chat text messages input via said additional input unit and, based on an analysis, to select the chat text messages stored in a memory of said analysis entity and/or in a memory of said first communication unit and/or the metadata of said graphical user interfaces to be displayed on said additional communication unit and to send the chat text messages and the metadata to said additional communication unit. As Cho teaches in paragraph [0302], and corresponding Fig. 20D, obtained content may be that of a “direct response”, where the text of the direct response would be stored in memory.
Regarding claim 8, Cho teaches the system of claim 1 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
said graphical user interfaces to be displayed by the chat application are graphical user interface (GUI) widgets. As Cho shows in Fig. 20D, and corresponding paragraph [0301], various widgets associated with the keyword are displayed.
Regarding claim 9, Cho teaches the system of claim 1 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
said graphical user interface contains at least one of the following elements: a yes/no question; a date and/or time selection; a numeric range; a more/less question; a geographical map for manually selecting a position via said additional input unit; a schematic representation of a person for selecting a body part via said additional input unit; a picture; a pictogram; a video; and an audio file for output via a speaker of said additional communication unit. As Cho shows in Fig. 5, pictures 71-73 are presented for selection.
Regarding claim 11, modified Cho teaches the system of claim 1 as described above. However, Cho does not explicitly teach of converting an interaction into a chat text and transmitting said text. Martin teaches the following:
the chat application is configured to detect an interaction with the graphical user interface performed by the second user in the chat via said additional input unit and to convert the interaction with the graphical user interface into a chat text message corresponding to the interaction and transmit the chat text message to said communication unit. As Martin teaches in paragraph [0075], and corresponding Fig. 5, a user may select options via soft buttons 506. As Martin later shows in Fig. 7B, and corresponding paragraph [0084], an EMS extracts information from the communication and presents said information as text 716.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the device of Cho with the emergency contact center of Martin. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Martin teaches in paragraph [0004], generating such autonomous communications through software components benefit users of EMS services in providing the service coordinators with necessary information before a human operator may respond.
The examiner would like to further note that as Martin teaches of extracting textual information from communications provided through selection of soft buttons, this method could be utilized in communication in either direction.
Regarding claim 12, Cho teaches the system of claim 4 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
wherein the chat application of said communication unit is configured to process the metadata transmitted by said analysis entity and to display it on said display unit for the first user. As Cho shows in Fig. 5, the message containing the keywords (metadata/”it”) is displayed on the interface.
Regarding claim 14, Cho teaches the system of claim 1 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
wherein said analysis entity is: integrated in said communication unit; or accommodated on an external server; or integrated in said additional communication unit. See Fig. 3 where server 300 performs analysis of message exchanges.
Regarding claim 15, Cho teaches the system of claim 4 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
wherein: the mobile device is a smartphone or tablet; and/or the chat application is installed on said communication unit. See Fig 2.
Regarding claim 16, modified Cho teaches the system of claim 6 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
wherein said mobile device is a smartphone or tablet. See Fig 2.
Regarding claim 17, Cho teaches the system of claim 7 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
wherein the chat text messages stored in said memory of said analysis entity are stored said chat text messages from a question list. As Cho teaches in paragraph [0088], messages are analyzed to determine if the message is a question.
Regarding claim 18, Cho teaches the system of claim 9 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
wherein said graphical user interfaces are graphical user interface widgets. As Cho shows in Fig. 20A, content is depicted as selectable widgets.
As per claim 20, Cho teaches the following:
a communication system for text-based communication, (see abstract), comprising:
a communication unit and an additional communication unit, (see Fig. 1, 100 and 200), said communication unit, containing:
at least one communication interface configured to receive chat text messages from said additional communication unit and to send incoming said chat text messages to said additional communication unit. As Cho teaches in paragraph [0082], messages are sent between the devices 100 and 200 via a server 300. Further see Fig. 56, 1300;
an input unit allowing a first user to input the chat text messages. See Fig. 56, 1450, and Fig. 2; and
a display unit, on which the chat text messages received from said at least one communication interface and the chat text messages input via said input unit can be displayed as chat. See Fig. 56, 1100, and Fig. 2;
said additional communication unit, containing:
at least one additional communication interface configured to receive the chat text messages from said communication unit and to send incoming said chat text messages. As Cho teaches in paragraph [0082], messages are sent between the devices 100 and 200 via a server 300. Further see paragraph [0074]. Further see Fig. 56, 1300;
an additional input unit allowing a second user to input the chat text messages. See Fig. 56, 1450, and Fig. 8;
an additional display unit, on which the chat text messages received from said additional communication interface and the chat text messages input via said additional input unit can be displayed as said chat. See Fig. 56, 1100, and Fig. 8; and
a chat application being invoked from said additional communication unit, wherein the chat text messages being issued via the chat application to said communication unit, and wherein the chat application is configured to display graphical user interfaces in the chat on said additional communication unit. See Fig. 57, 1240-3, and Fig. 8; and
an analysis entity connected between said at least one communication interface and said at least one additional communication interface, wherein said analysis entity is configured to analyze the chat text messages input via said input unit and based on an analysis, to add metadata to an input said chat text message before forwarding the chat text messages to said additional communication interface, wherein the chat application is configured to display a graphical user interface corresponding to the metadata upon receiving the metadata. As Cho shows in Fig. 13A, server 300 may analyze keywords (S2030 and 20440) of a message and obtain content relevant to said keywords and acts as an “in-between” for the communicating devices. Further see paragraph [0226], where operations 2030, 2040, and 2050 may be performed before the server transmits the message, i.e., the content is added to the chat text message before forwarding said message. Cho further shows in Fig. 14A, and corresponding paragraph [0244], that the server 300 may extract the keyword and forward the keyword to the receiving device. Therefore, Cho teaches applicant’s limitation in the server 300 receiving a text message, determining the text message is a question, determine keywords for the question, and forwarding the message and keywords to the receiving device. The examiner further interprets Cho’s keywords as encompassing applicant’s metadata because as Cho teaches in paragraphs [0097] through [0103], the keywords provide context about the specific question, i.e., metadata about the question. Further see paragraph [0146] where metadata is stored about content. Therefore, the keywords sent by the server are matched with metadata describing content stored on the receiving device.
However, Cho does not explicitly teach of converting interaction with the content into a chat text message response. Martin teaches the following:
said analysis entity being configured to detect an interaction with said graphical user interface performed by the second user in the chat via said additional input unit and to convert the interaction with said graphical user interface into a chat text message corresponding to the interaction and to transmit the chat text message to said communication unit in the form of a simple text message that is displayed on the communication unit as simple text. As Martin teaches in paragraph [0075], and corresponding Fig. 5, a user may select options via soft buttons 506. As Martin later shows in Fig. 7B, and corresponding paragraph [0084], an EMS extracts information from the communication and presents said information as text 716. Martin teaches of “simple” text such as in Fig. 5, the “yes” button 506A being selected, is displayed as “simple” text “Yes” on Fig. 7B.
Upon the modification of Cho in view of Martin, the textual aspect of the display of Martin’s Fig. 7B would be displayed in a text messaging interface of Cho.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the device of Cho with the emergency contact center of Martin. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Martin teaches in paragraph [0004], generating such autonomous communications through software components benefit users of EMS services in providing the service coordinators with necessary information before a human operator may respond.
Furthermore, while Cho suggests the reply being a textual answer (see Cho, Fig. 20D, “possible answers” and Martin suggests receiving textual answers in response to visual selections by a user (see Martin, Fig. 7B, 716), neither Cho nor Martin explicitly teach of a text only message on said communication unit. In a similar field of endeavor, Chen teaches of a method of selecting response to messages (see abstract). Chen further teaches the following:
said communication unit configured to display the chat text message received from said analysis entity as a text only message on said communication unit. As Chen teaches in paragraph [0027], and corresponding Fig. 6, 625, a graphical icon which corresponds to a premade message may be selected by a sender and in paragraph [0021], a response message may be a “textual response message”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have further modified the response message of Cho in view of Martin with the textual response message of Chen. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Chen teaches in paragraph [0005], such text only messaging benefits users who utilize systems which may only support text based messages, and would thus be unable to send images.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Martin in view of Chen as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Sheth et al. (US 2012/0042022), hereinafter Sheth.
Regarding claim 10, modified Cho teaches the system of claim 1 as described above. However, Cho does not explicitly teach of cgenerating metadata corresponding to the interaction and transmitting said metadata. In a similar field of endeavor, Sheth teaches of a method of sending text messages (see abstract). Sheth further teaches the following:
said analysis entity is additionally configured to generate the metadata corresponding to the interaction and transmit the metadata to said communication unit. As Sheth teaches in paragraph [0024], metadata may be generated and attached to text messages and include various information about the sending device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the messages of Cho with the metadata attachment of Sheth. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Sheth teaches in paragraph [0024], metada may be helpful in analyzing the text message by providing spatial and temporal information about the message. This information may be especially useful in an emergency situation such as in the modified system of Cho in view of Martin. This is exemplified in Martin Fig. 4.
Claim(s) 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Martin in view of Chen as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Harper (US 2020/0133464).
Regarding claim 13, Cho teaches the system of claim 1 as described above. However, Cho does not explicitly teach of the graphical user interfaces being selectable by the first user. Harper teaches the following:
wherein: said communication unit and/or said analysis entity contains a memory. See Fig. 1, 142;
said graphical user interfaces with their associated identifying said meta are stored in said memory. As Harper teaches in paragraph [0049], system 140 stores interactive icons;
when a chat text message is input via said input unit by the first user, the graphical user interfaces stored in said memory are selectable. As Harper teaches in paragraph [0055], and corresponding Fig. 2, upon a user typing the word “fed” a recommended interactive icon is displayed for selection; and
said analysis entity is configured, when an at least one graphical user interface is selected via said input unit, to add the metadata to the input chat text message corresponding to the at least one graphical user interface selected. As Harper shows in Fig. 2, 212, the interactive icons are sent to the communicating device, where Cho teaches that content items are identified via keywords. Therefore, upon the modification of Cho in view of Harper, the modified system would allow a user to select an interactive object (Harper) and said a keyword for said object for subsequent retrieval at the receiving device (Cho).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the message composition of Cho with the interactive icon selection of Harper. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Harper teaches in paragraph [0006], such interactive icon selection allows functional content items to be shared without leaving a messaging application.
Regarding claim 19, modified Cho teaches the system of claim 13 as described above. Cho further teaches the following:
wherein: said graphical user interfaces are graphical user interface widgets. As Cho shows in Fig. 20A, content is depicted as selectable widgets, and
the associated identifying said metadata is an identifier. See paragraph [0146] where metadata is stored to identify content.; and
said analysis entity is configured, w. Cho shows in Fig. 14A, and corresponding paragraph [0244], that the server 300 may extract the keyword and forward the keyword to the receiving device.
However, Cho does not explicitly teach of adding the keyword/identifier in response to user selection As Harper shows in Fig. 2, 212, the interactive icons are sent to the communicating device, where Cho teaches that content items are identified via keywords. Therefore, upon the modification of Cho in view of Harper, the modified system would allow a user to select an interactive object (Harper) and said a keyword for said object for subsequent retrieval at the receiving device (Cho).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the message composition of Cho with the interactive icon selection of Harper. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have made such modification because as Harper teaches in paragraph [0006], such interactive icon selection allows functional content items to be shared without leaving a messaging application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Yu et al. (US 2020/0028805), creating of textual responses through user selection of graphical elements, see Fig. 6B.
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GREGORY A. DISTEFANO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174