Drawing Objection
The drawings are objected to because the lead line for cavity 104 in Figures 2 and 4 are improperly positioned, as they are pointed to a surface of the first optical member.1 Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Objection to the Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “first and second optical members 114,116” (line 3, Para 23 of Applicant’s Publication) should read - - first and second third optical member 114, 116 - - .
Appropriate correction is required.
112(b) Rejection
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, line 10 is confusing, as it’s not clear how a “cavity” (i.e. empty space) can be a “member”. Consider that the first optical member 114 and third optical member 116 are solid matter, but that the cavity 104 is mere empty space. As such, how is one of ordinary skill to comprehend what “matter” is? Can the first 114 and third 116 members be understood to also be empty space? How is the same term “matter” to be understood such that both empty space and members 114,116 are matter?
As to claim 1, there is no cavity “member” (line 10) between the first 114 and second 116 members. The cavity appears to be empty space. How is “member” defined such that 114,104 and 116 are all members?
As to claim 1, the assembly separately claims “an optical element” (line 3) 102 and additional structural components (“a first optical member” 114, “a third optical member” 116), but those additional members are parts of the optical element 102. In effect, this claim is claiming the same structure twice; once as element 102, and a second time as members 114,116. Is this claim somehow limited to a plurality of assemblies 100, or is the claim merely inconsistent with the specification and drawings?
As to claim 16, “an optical cavity surface of the first optical member” 114 is confusing, as empty space (i.e. the optical cavity) does not have a surface. A surface of the member 114 partially defines the cavity; but what the quoted portion means in uncertain.
As to claim 16, how does affixing “enclose” (line 3 from last) the cavity. The term “enclose” suggests that the optical cavity actually exists before “affixing”, when it does not. Affixing might provide or create an optical cavity, but does not enclose such. What is Applicant’s intent by employing the term “enclose”?
As to claim 16, “optical cavity formed as a second optical member” (line 2 from last) is confusing because it’s not clear how a cavity can be a member. It’s not clear how the term “member” defined such that the first member, second member and empty space are all members? The same term (i.e. “member”) should not have different definitions for different parts of an article.
35 USC 102 Rejection
Claim(s) 1-3,5-,10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Davidson EP 1869737 (1449).
As to claims 1-3,5-8,10-12 Davisson teaches (Figure 1A) A Fabry-P~rot sensor assembly comprising;
an optical element defining a Fabry-P~rot optical cavity therein; and
a sensor ferrule affixed to the optical element, wherein the sensor ferrule is configured to physically connect to an optical fiber, optically aligning and spacing the optical fiber with the optical cavity,
wherein the sensor ferrule defines a bore for receiving the optical fiber,
wherein the bore extends along a longitudinal axis that extends to the optical element, and
wherein the optical cavity is a second optical member defined between a first optical member and a third optical member spaced apart from the first optical member along the longitudinal axis, and wherein the first optical member includes a curved lens surface facing away from the optical cavity and into the bore, configured to collimate light passing through the first optical member
As to claim 8, the photodetector measures temperature or pressure. (Para 5)
35 USC 103 Rejection
Claim(s) 9,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson EP 1869737 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Zhang et al CN 114236796.
As to claims 9,13, it would have been obvious to employ spinel for first optical member as the Reference teaches use for collimating lenses.
“ Quasi-lens group 4 comprises: a first collimating lens 41, a second collimating lens 42, a third collimating lens 43 and a fourth collimating lens 44. In order to correct the chromatic aberration, at least 3 kinds of materials are selected, the first material barium fluoride is used for the positive lens, the second material is zinc sulphide or zinc selenide used as the negative lens, the third material is spine“
Prior Art cited (not applied)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rijnveld et al WO 2022175537 teach (Figure 3) A Fabry-P~rot sensor assembly comprising;
an optical element defining a Fabry-P~rot optical cavity therein; and
a sensor 117 ferrule affixed to the optical element, wherein the sensor ferrule is configured to physically connect to an optical fiber, optically aligning and spacing the optical fiber with the optical cavity,
wherein the sensor ferrule defines a bore for receiving the optical fiber,
wherein the bore extends along a longitudinal axis that extends to the optical element, and
wherein the optical cavity is a second optical member defined between a first optical member and a third optical member spaced apart from the first optical member along the longitudinal axis, and wherein the first optical member includes a curved
Saaski et al EP 0228677 teach (Figure 14) lenses 204,216 the collimate light passing in the direction of a sensor 184, to prevent light loss.
Oji et al 5718036 teach (Figures 73A-73C,74) teaches every step of method claim 16, with sole exception that the first member (top portion of element 156) is not a lens. (Oji’s member is ferrite)
Nakata et al 5463707 teach (Figure 4) a method of making a device comprising: using a machining and/or grinding process to remove material from a first optical member 26 to form a curved lens surface facing away from
Cross out on 1449
Regarding the 1449 filed 6/23/25: Foreign reference 381178 was crossed out only because it was not in the electronic record.
Conclusion
/ROBERT R RAEVIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
1 Note the properly located lead line arrow 104 that correctly point to the cavity in Figures 5 and 6.