Claims 1-25 are pending, of which claims 1, 22, and 24 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/29/2023 and 03/20/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Abstract
The Abstract is objected to because of the following informalities: according to MPEP 608.01(b), the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “comprises” should be avoided in the abstract of the disclosure. In this instance, the abstract includes legal phraseology such as “A device comprises…”, which should be avoided.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 14, 17, 18, 19, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goldenberg et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2025/0382812 A1) (“Goldenberg”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Goldenberg teaches:
A device comprising: Goldenberg: Paragraph [0003] (“…methods and devices for wirelessly communicating with submerged robots using unique acoustic signals that differ from environmental noise and robot-generated sounds.”)
an emitter configured to produce a first acoustic signal having a first tone and a second tone, the first tone different from the second tone, Goldenberg: Paragraph [0025] (“Acoustic communication systems for underwater robotics provide a method for transmitting information to submerged devices operating in aquatic environments. In some cases, these systems may utilize sound waves that propagate through water to convey commands, requests, or other data to robotic platforms. The acoustic signals may be designed to carry specific content that can be interpreted by receiving equipment on the submerged robot.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0051] (“The frequency response characteristics shown in FIG. 6 may extend well beyond the 20 KHz range to demonstrate the capability of the acoustic transducers to operate in higher ultrasonic frequency ranges where interference from ambient noise sources may be reduced.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0052] (“In some cases, the frequency response characteristics may be used to identify optimal frequency ranges for specific communication functions, such as command transmission, status reporting, or bidirectional data exchange between surface-based control systems and submerged robots.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0053] (“The acoustic communication system may incorporate multiple frequency ranges simultaneously to provide redundant communication paths or to enable parallel transmission of different types of information. The frequency response data may also inform the design of acoustic signal generators and receivers to ensure compatibility between transmission and reception components operating in the underwater environment.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0054] (“Referring to FIG. 7 , a signal generator circuit may incorporate a variable attenuation network that provides progressive signal conditioning based on input amplitude characteristics. The signal generator circuit may include multiple diode elements and resistor networks configured to provide different levels of attenuation based on signal amplitude ranges. In some cases, the circuit configuration may prevent saturation of receiver components by controlling the gain and amplitude of transmitted ultrasonic signals. The variable attenuation approach may address challenges associated with frequency-based interference and signal manipulation effects that occur within pool environments where acoustic signals may experience multiple reflections, destructive and constructive interferences, attenuations, and distortions.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0097] (“Partially submerged systems may serve as intermediate communication platforms that facilitate signal transmission between surface-based control systems and fully submerged robots. The unique signals may be generated by a partially submerged system that functions as a communication relay or signal conditioning platform positioned at the water surface interface. In some cases, the partially submerged system may receive commands or information from surface-based sources and convert the received content into appropriate acoustic signals for transmission to the submerged robot.”) [The signal generator circuit, the acoustic signal generator, and/or the partially submerged systems read on “emitter”. The transmission of the command at one frequency value at 20kHz and another frequency value of the frequency values greater than 20 kHz reads on “produce a first acoustic signal having a first tone and a second tone, the first tone different from the second tone”.]
the first acoustic signal operable to alter operation of a machine receiving the first acoustic signal; and Goldenberg: Abstract (“…a controller configured to control the one or more motors to generate acoustic signals indicative of content… The controller may be configured to control the one or more motors to generate an ascending sequence of frequencies and to use a frequency of a pulse generated by the one or more motors to validate a pulse width of the pulse. The one or more motors are configured to transmit frequency tones that indicate bits of a first value within the content. The one or more motors comprise at least one of a pump motor and a drive motor, wherein the controller is configured to control electric power within a motor coil using pulse width modulation to generate the acoustic signals.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0071] (“Electric power within a motor coil may be determined using pulse width modulation where the PWM signal may be generated at different frequencies to produce corresponding variations in the acoustic noise generated by the motor during operation. In some cases, controlling the frequencies of the PWM signals may result in transmission of acoustic signals that convey desired content to receiving systems positioned within the pool environment or on other robotic platforms. The frequency variations in the PWM signals may cause corresponding changes in the electromagnetic forces within the motor, leading to mechanical vibrations and acoustic emissions that propagate through the motor housing and into the surrounding water medium.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0073] (“The motor speed control approach may involve setting the rotational speed of drive motors or pump motors to multiple discrete speed values that correspond to different acoustic frequency outputs.”)
an activation mechanism in communication with the emitter, the activation mechanism configured to activate the emitter. Goldenberg: Paragraph [0025], [0052], [0053], and [0097] [As described above.] Goldenberg: Paragraph [0094] (“The acoustic signal generation may be accomplished through various types of signal sources that provide controlled acoustic output characteristics for underwater communication applications. The unique signals may be generated by a device positioned above or at the water surface that incorporates acoustic transducers capable of producing the desired frequency content and signal patterns. In some cases, the unique signals may be generated by a speaker system that converts electrical signals into acoustic energy for transmission through the water medium to the submerged robot. The speaker configuration may incorporate conventional audio equipment adapted for underwater signal transmission or specialized acoustic transducers designed for aquatic communication applications. The signal generation approach may involve electronic signal processing circuits that create the electrical drive signals for the acoustic transducers, enabling precise control over frequency content, signal timing, and acoustic output power levels.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0096] (“Human voice signals may provide an alternative approach for generating communication signals where spoken commands or instructions are transmitted to the submerged robot through acoustic propagation in the water medium.”)
Regarding claim 2, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends. Goldenberg further teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the device is located remotely from the machine. Goldenberg: Paragraph [0025], [0052], [0053], [0094] and [0097] [As described in claim 1.] Goldenberg: Paragraph [0090] (“The communication approach may involve the transmission of unique acoustic signals that carry specific information content to submerged robots equipped with appropriate receiving equipment…the acoustic communication method may enable remote control and monitoring of robotic operations without requiring physical cable connections or the need to retrieve the robot from the underwater environment.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0101] (“The movement commands may specify directional instructions, speed settings, or navigation waypoints that guide the robot to specific locations or along predetermined paths within the pool. The movement response capability may enable remote control of robot positioning for targeted cleaning operations or for positioning the robot for maintenance or retrieval operations.”)
Regarding claim 4, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 4 depends. Goldenberg further teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein altering operation of the machine comprises stopping and/or starting operation of the machine. Goldenberg: Paragraph [0099] (“The signal processing capabilities within the submerged robot may enable the interpretation and utilization of the content carried by the unique acoustic signals. The method may include determining the content by a processor of the submerged robot where signal processing algorithms analyze the received acoustic signals to extract the encoded information content. In some cases, the processor may incorporate digital signal processing techniques that perform frequency analysis, pattern recognition, or other signal analysis methods to decode the information carried by the acoustic signals. The content determination process may involve comparing received signal characteristics with predetermined signal patterns or frequency templates that correspond to specific commands or information types. The processor may utilize lookup tables, decision algorithms, or other computational methods to translate the decoded signal content into appropriate control actions or responses for the robot systems.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0100] (“The robot response mechanisms may encompass various types of actions or operations that the submerged robot may perform in response to the received unique signals.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0103] (“The stopping response may enable immediate cessation of robot operations …when operational suspension may be required. The responding may include stopping the submerged robot where acoustic signals cause the robot to halt all movement and operational activities.”)
Regarding claim 6, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 6 depends. Goldenberg further teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein altering operation of the machine comprises electrically separating from the machine one or more sources of power to the machine. Goldenberg: Paragraph [0099] (“The signal processing capabilities within the submerged robot may enable the interpretation and utilization of the content carried by the unique acoustic signals. The method may include determining the content by a processor of the submerged robot where signal processing algorithms analyze the received acoustic signals to extract the encoded information content. In some cases, the processor may incorporate digital signal processing techniques that perform frequency analysis, pattern recognition, or other signal analysis methods to decode the information carried by the acoustic signals. The content determination process may involve comparing received signal characteristics with predetermined signal patterns or frequency templates that correspond to specific commands or information types. The processor may utilize lookup tables, decision algorithms, or other computational methods to translate the decoded signal content into appropriate control actions or responses for the robot systems.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0100] (“The robot response mechanisms may encompass various types of actions or operations that the submerged robot may perform in response to the received unique signals.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0106] (“The battery replacement response may facilitate maintenance operations where the robot participates in procedures for replacing or servicing power supply systems. The responding may include participating in a replacement of a battery of the submerged robot where the robot performs actions that assist in battery maintenance procedures. In some cases, the battery replacement response may involve positioning the robot for easy access, activating maintenance modes that preserve system settings during power interruption, or providing status information about battery condition and replacement requirements. The battery replacement capability may enable extended robot operation through systematic battery maintenance while minimizing disruption to cleaning operations and pool usage.”) [During servicing power supply systems, replacing the battery from the submerged robot reads on “electrically separating from the machine one or more sources of power to the machine”.]
Regarding claim 8, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 8 depends. Goldenberg further teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the emitter is further configured to produce a second acoustic signal having a third tone. Goldenberg: Paragraph [0051] (“The acoustic communication system may incorporate frequency ranges that extend below 20 kHz, such as frequencies spanning from 3 kHz to 20 kHz, which may allow the use of regular speakers or tweeters that are commonly used in music market applications. In some cases, the frequency range selection may provide compatibility with standard audio equipment that has been developed for consumer audio applications, potentially reducing system costs and improving component availability. The 3 kHz to 20 KHz frequency range may encompass portions of both the audible spectrum and the lower ultrasonic frequency ranges, providing flexibility in signal design and transmission approaches.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0078] (“In some cases, different frequencies within each sub-range may be spaced apart by specific intervals such as 142 Hz, providing adequate frequency separation to enable reliable detection and discrimination between adjacent frequency components.”) [The frequency at an interval between 3kHz to 20 kHz reads on “a second acoustic signal having a third tone”.]
Regarding claim 9, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 8, from which claim 9 depends. Goldenberg further teaches:
The device of claim 8, wherein the third tone has a frequency between 300 Hz and 20 kHz. Goldenberg: Paragraph [0051] (“The acoustic communication system may incorporate frequency ranges that extend below 20 kHz, such as frequencies spanning from 3 kHz to 20 kHz, which may allow the use of regular speakers or tweeters that are commonly used in music market applications. In some cases, the frequency range selection may provide compatibility with standard audio equipment that has been developed for consumer audio applications, potentially reducing system costs and improving component availability. The 3 kHz to 20 KHz frequency range may encompass portions of both the audible spectrum and the lower ultrasonic frequency ranges, providing flexibility in signal design and transmission approaches.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0077] (“The frequency sub-range configuration may involve dividing a broader spectrum, such as the frequency range spanning from 4 kHz to 20 kHz, into seven discrete sub-ranges that enable parallel transmission of seven separate data words. Each sub-range may encompass a specific portion of the overall frequency spectrum, with the sub-range boundaries selected to provide adequate frequency separation between adjacent channels while maximizing the frequency bandwidth available within each sub-range. In some cases, the seven sub-ranges may be configured to allow transmission of seven words in parallel for a defined period such as 0.1 seconds, enabling rapid data transfer rates that exceed the capabilities of sequential single-channel transmission approaches. The parallel transmission capability may provide substantial improvements in communication efficiency for applications where multiple types of information may be transmitted simultaneously to submerged robots or other underwater communication targets.”)
Regarding claim 10, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 10 depends. Goldenberg further teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the machine comprises a robot. Goldenberg: Paragraph [0003] (“…methods and devices for wirelessly communicating with submerged robots using unique acoustic signals that differ from environmental noise and robot-generated sounds.”)
Regarding claim 14, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 14 depends. Goldenberg further teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the device further comprises a receiver configured to receive a return signal from the machine. Goldenberg: Paragraph [0028] (“The acoustic communication approach may support bidirectional information exchange between surface-based control systems and submerged robots. In some cases, the submerged robot may also generate acoustic signals to transmit status information, sensor data, or responses back to surface-based receivers. This bidirectional capability may enable more sophisticated control and monitoring scenarios where the robot can provide feedback about its operational state, environmental conditions, or task completion status. The acoustic communication system may incorporate various signal encoding and decoding techniques to ensure accurate information transfer in the challenging underwater acoustic environment.”)
Regarding claim 17, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 17 depends. Goldenberg further teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the device is configured to alter operation of two or more machines. Goldenberg: Paragraph [0077] (“The parallel transmission capability may provide substantial improvements in communication efficiency for applications where multiple types of information may be transmitted simultaneously to submerged robots or other underwater communication targets.”)
Regarding claim 18, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 18 depends. Goldenberg further teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the device is configured to alter operation of one uniquely identified machine. Goldenberg: Paragraph [0077] (“The frequency sub-range configuration may involve dividing a broader spectrum, such as the frequency range spanning from 4 kHz to 20 kHz, into seven discrete sub-ranges that enable parallel transmission of seven separate data words. Each sub-range may encompass a specific portion of the overall frequency spectrum, with the sub-range boundaries selected to provide adequate frequency separation between adjacent channels while maximizing the frequency bandwidth available within each sub-range. In some cases, the seven sub-ranges may be configured to allow transmission of seven words in parallel for a defined period such as 0.1 seconds, enabling rapid data transfer rates that exceed the capabilities of sequential single-channel transmission approaches. The parallel transmission capability may provide substantial improvements in communication efficiency for applications where multiple types of information may be transmitted simultaneously to submerged robots or other underwater communication targets.”)
Regarding claim 19, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 19 depends. Goldenberg further teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the device is embodied in a remote control device of the machine. Goldenberg: Paragraph [0090] (“…the acoustic communication method may enable remote control and monitoring of robotic operations without requiring physical cable connections or the need to retrieve the robot from the underwater environment.”)
Regarding independent claim 22, Goldenberg teaches:
A device for altering operation of a machine, the device comprising: Goldenberg: Paragraph [0003] (“…methods and devices for wirelessly communicating with submerged robots using unique acoustic signals that differ from environmental noise and robot-generated sounds.”)
a receiver configured to recognize a first acoustic signal having a first tone and a second tone, the first tone different from the second tone; and Goldenberg: Paragraph [0051] (“The frequency response characteristics shown in FIG. 6 may extend well beyond the 20 KHz range to demonstrate the capability of the acoustic transducers to operate in higher ultrasonic frequency ranges where interference from ambient noise sources may be reduced.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0040] (“Referring to FIG. 4 , piezo disk components may operate in multiple distinct modes that provide different mechanical response characteristics and acoustic output patterns. The operational modes may be selected based on the specific application requirements and the desired acoustic coupling characteristics for underwater communication systems.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0044] (“Referring to FIG. 5 , the internal housing arrangement may incorporate a receiver configuration that includes a microphone 55 positioned on a printed circuit board (PCB) 56 assembly within the submerged robot structure.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0048] (“The microphone frequency response characteristics may be configured to operate effectively within specific frequency ranges that correspond to the ultrasonic communication signals used for robot control and monitoring. In some cases, the microphone may be designed to operate within the 20-30 kHz range where ultrasonic communication signals may be transmitted to avoid interference with ambient noise sources in the pool environment.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0051] (“The frequency response characteristics shown in FIG. 6 may extend well beyond the 20 KHz range to demonstrate the capability of the acoustic transducers to operate in higher ultrasonic frequency ranges where interference from ambient noise sources may be reduced.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0053] (“The acoustic communication system may incorporate multiple frequency ranges simultaneously to provide redundant communication paths or to enable parallel transmission of different types of information.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0098] (“The unique signals may convey content where the acoustic signal characteristics encode specific information intended for interpretation by the submerged robot's control systems. In some cases, the content may include commands that instruct the robot to perform specific actions or operations, such as movement commands, cleaning operation instructions, or operational mode changes.”) [The robot structure including a receiver operating at one frequency value to perform an operation and another frequency value to perform another operation of the frequency values reads on “a receiver configured to recognize a first acoustic signal having a first tone and a second tone, the first tone different from the second tone”.]
a controller in communication with the receiver, the controller configured to alter operation of the machine based on the first acoustic signal. Goldenberg: Abstract (“…a controller configured to control the one or more motors to generate acoustic signals indicative of content… The controller may be configured to control the one or more motors to generate an ascending sequence of frequencies and to use a frequency of a pulse generated by the one or more motors to validate a pulse width of the pulse. The one or more motors are configured to transmit frequency tones that indicate bits of a first value within the content. The one or more motors comprise at least one of a pump motor and a drive motor, wherein the controller is configured to control electric power within a motor coil using pulse width modulation to generate the acoustic signals.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0025] (“Acoustic communication systems for underwater robotics provide a method for transmitting information to submerged devices operating in aquatic environments. In some cases, these systems may utilize sound waves that propagate through water to convey commands, requests, or other data to robotic platforms. The acoustic signals may be designed to carry specific content that can be interpreted by receiving equipment on the submerged robot.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0071] (“Electric power within a motor coil may be determined using pulse width modulation where the PWM signal may be generated at different frequencies to produce corresponding variations in the acoustic noise generated by the motor during operation. In some cases, controlling the frequencies of the PWM signals may result in transmission of acoustic signals that convey desired content to receiving systems positioned within the pool environment or on other robotic platforms.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0099] (“The method may include determining the content by a processor of the submerged robot where signal processing algorithms analyze the received acoustic signals to extract the encoded information content. In some cases, the processor may incorporate digital signal processing techniques that perform frequency analysis, pattern recognition, or other signal analysis methods to decode the information carried by the acoustic signals. The content determination process may involve comparing received signal characteristics with predetermined signal patterns or frequency templates that correspond to specific commands or information types.”)
Regarding independent claim 24, Goldenberg teaches:
A system for altering operation of a machine, the system comprising: Goldenberg: Paragraph [0003] (“The present disclosure relates to acoustic communication systems for underwater robotics, and more particularly to methods and devices for wirelessly communicating with submerged robots using unique acoustic signals that differ from environmental noise and robot-generated sounds.”)
a first device for altering operation of a machine, the first device comprising an emitter configured to produce a first acoustic signal having a first tone and a second tone, the first tone different from the second tone; and Goldenberg: Paragraph [0015] (“FIG. 1 illustrates a device for communicating with a submerged robot having piezo disks, according to aspects of the present disclosure.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0025] (“Acoustic communication systems for underwater robotics provide a method for transmitting information to submerged devices operating in aquatic environments. In some cases, these systems may utilize sound waves that propagate through water to convey commands, requests, or other data to robotic platforms. The acoustic signals may be designed to carry specific content that can be interpreted by receiving equipment on the submerged robot.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0051] (“The frequency response characteristics shown in FIG. 6 may extend well beyond the 20 KHz range to demonstrate the capability of the acoustic transducers to operate in higher ultrasonic frequency ranges where interference from ambient noise sources may be reduced.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0052] (“In some cases, the frequency response characteristics may be used to identify optimal frequency ranges for specific communication functions, such as command transmission, status reporting, or bidirectional data exchange between surface-based control systems and submerged robots.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0053] (“The acoustic communication system may incorporate multiple frequency ranges simultaneously to provide redundant communication paths or to enable parallel transmission of different types of information. The frequency response data may also inform the design of acoustic signal generators and receivers to ensure compatibility between transmission and reception components operating in the underwater environment.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0054] (“Referring to FIG. 7, a signal generator circuit may incorporate a variable attenuation network that provides progressive signal conditioning based on input amplitude characteristics. The signal generator circuit may include multiple diode elements and resistor networks configured to provide different levels of attenuation based on signal amplitude ranges. In some cases, the circuit configuration may prevent saturation of receiver components by controlling the gain and amplitude of transmitted ultrasonic signals. The variable attenuation approach may address challenges associated with frequency-based interference and signal manipulation effects that occur within pool environments where acoustic signals may experience multiple reflections, destructive and constructive interferences, attenuations, and distortions.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0097] (“Partially submerged systems may serve as intermediate communication platforms that facilitate signal transmission between surface-based control systems and fully submerged robots. The unique signals may be generated by a partially submerged system that functions as a communication relay or signal conditioning platform positioned at the water surface interface. In some cases, the partially submerged system may receive commands or information from surface-based sources and convert the received content into appropriate acoustic signals for transmission to the submerged robot.”) [The signal generator circuit, the acoustic signal generator, and/or the partially submerged systems read on “emitter”. The transmission of the command at one frequency value at 20kHz and another frequency value of the frequency values greater than 20 kHz reads on “produce a first acoustic signal having a first tone and a second tone, the first tone different from the second tone”.]
an activation mechanism in communication with the emitter, the activation mechanism configured to activate the emitter; and Goldenberg: Paragraph [0025], [0052], [0053], and [0097] [As described above.] Goldenberg: Paragraph [0094] (“The acoustic signal generation may be accomplished through various types of signal sources that provide controlled acoustic output characteristics for underwater communication applications. The unique signals may be generated by a device positioned above or at the water surface that incorporates acoustic transducers capable of producing the desired frequency content and signal patterns. In some cases, the unique signals may be generated by a speaker system that converts electrical signals into acoustic energy for transmission through the water medium to the submerged robot. The speaker configuration may incorporate conventional audio equipment adapted for underwater signal transmission or specialized acoustic transducers designed for aquatic communication applications. The signal generation approach may involve electronic signal processing circuits that create the electrical drive signals for the acoustic transducers, enabling precise control over frequency content, signal timing, and acoustic output power levels.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0096] (“Human voice signals may provide an alternative approach for generating communication signals where spoken commands or instructions are transmitted to the submerged robot through acoustic propagation in the water medium.”)
a second device for altering operation of the machine, the second device comprising a receiver configured to recognize the first acoustic signal; and Goldenberg: Paragraph [0051] [As described above.] Goldenberg: Paragraph [0040] (“Referring to FIG. 4 , piezo disk components may operate in multiple distinct modes that provide different mechanical response characteristics and acoustic output patterns. The operational modes may be selected based on the specific application requirements and the desired acoustic coupling characteristics for underwater communication systems.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0044] (“Referring to FIG. 5 , the internal housing arrangement may incorporate a receiver configuration that includes a microphone 55 positioned on a printed circuit board (PCB) 56 assembly within the submerged robot structure.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0048] (“The microphone frequency response characteristics may be configured to operate effectively within specific frequency ranges that correspond to the ultrasonic communication signals used for robot control and monitoring. In some cases, the microphone may be designed to operate within the 20-30 kHz range where ultrasonic communication signals may be transmitted to avoid interference with ambient noise sources in the pool environment.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0053] (“The acoustic communication system may incorporate multiple frequency ranges simultaneously to provide redundant communication paths or to enable parallel transmission of different types of information.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0098] (“The unique signals may convey content where the acoustic signal characteristics encode specific information intended for interpretation by the submerged robot's control systems. In some cases, the content may include commands that instruct the robot to perform specific actions or operations, such as movement commands, cleaning operation instructions, or operational mode changes.”) [The robot structure including a receiver operating at one frequency value to perform an operation and another frequency value to perform another operation of the frequency values reads on “a second device for altering operation of the machine, the second device comprising a receiver configured to recognize the first acoustic signal”.]
a controller in communication with the receiver, the controller configured to alter operation of the machine based on the receiver recognizing the first acoustic signal. Goldenberg: Abstract (“…a controller configured to control the one or more motors to generate acoustic signals indicative of content… The controller may be configured to control the one or more motors to generate an ascending sequence of frequencies and to use a frequency of a pulse generated by the one or more motors to validate a pulse width of the pulse. The one or more motors are configured to transmit frequency tones that indicate bits of a first value within the content. The one or more motors comprise at least one of a pump motor and a drive motor, wherein the controller is configured to control electric power within a motor coil using pulse width modulation to generate the acoustic signals.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0025] (“Acoustic communication systems for underwater robotics provide a method for transmitting information to submerged devices operating in aquatic environments. In some cases, these systems may utilize sound waves that propagate through water to convey commands, requests, or other data to robotic platforms. The acoustic signals may be designed to carry specific content that can be interpreted by receiving equipment on the submerged robot.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0071] (“Electric power within a motor coil may be determined using pulse width modulation where the PWM signal may be generated at different frequencies to produce corresponding variations in the acoustic noise generated by the motor during operation. In some cases, controlling the frequencies of the PWM signals may result in transmission of acoustic signals that convey desired content to receiving systems positioned within the pool environment or on other robotic platforms.”) Goldenberg: Paragraph [0099] (“The method may include determining the content by a processor of the submerged robot where signal processing algorithms analyze the received acoustic signals to extract the encoded information content. In some cases, the processor may incorporate digital signal processing techniques that perform frequency analysis, pattern recognition, or other signal analysis methods to decode the information carried by the acoustic signals. The content determination process may involve comparing received signal characteristics with predetermined signal patterns or frequency templates that correspond to specific commands or information types.”)
It is noted that any citations to specific paragraphs or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 20, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldenberg in view of Abate et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2025/0189962 A1) (“Abate”).
Regarding claim 3, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 3 depends. Goldenberg does not expressly teach the features of claim 3. However, Abate describes a method of identifying at least one robot. Abate teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein altering operation of the machine comprises interrupting operation of the machine. Abate: Paragraph [0082] (“As discussed, there are a number of different types of shutdowns, which may result in different end states achieved in different timeframes. In some embodiments, a shutdown may be initiated by a command protocol, wherein and as described above, a soft shutdown allows for a legged robot to finish a task, such as safely placing a payload in a required position before returning to an idle area or a charging dock, other shutdowns may require that the legged robot sit down in a controlled manner and power off, while in other circumstances the shutdown may require that the legged robot is immediately powered down or de-energized such as in an emergent situation. Such an emergent shutdown may be a forced stop. In such embodiments, a signal received at the receptor or sensor on the robot will trigger an instant and rapid emergency shutdown.”) Abate: Paragraph [0105] (“In some embodiments, a watchdog protocol comprises circuits involving relays or switches, the circuits in some embodiments operate on a “normally closed circuit,” or a circuit that transmits through the switch to the receiving computer in a typical operating state. In such circuits, when a system anomaly occurs, or a hard-wired emergency stop is engaged, or a fuse or circuit breaker, for example, is triggered, the circuit may be opened, and a signal will be generated to deactivate the robot.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg and Abate before them, for altering operation of the machine comprises initiating an emergency stop of the machine because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on control using acoustic signals.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification for rapidly identifying, selecting, and communicating with a robot, particularly in order to control a remote disablement of at least one robot within a group. In the event that the robot to be controlled is a legged robot, the type of disablement becomes even more important as a sudden full power-off shut down may impair or damage the robot. Abate Paragraph [0005].
Regarding claim 5, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 5 depends. Goldenberg does not expressly teach the features of claim 5. However, Abate describes a method of identifying at least one robot. Abate teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein altering operation of the machine comprises initiating an emergency stop of the machine. Abate: Paragraph [0082] (“As discussed, there are a number of different types of shutdowns, which may result in different end states achieved in different timeframes. In some embodiments, a shutdown may be initiated by a command protocol, wherein and as described above, a soft shutdown allows for a legged robot to finish a task, such as safely placing a payload in a required position before returning to an idle area or a charging dock, other shutdowns may require that the legged robot sit down in a controlled manner and power off, while in other circumstances the shutdown may require that the legged robot is immediately powered down or de-energized such as in an emergent situation. Such an emergent shutdown may be a forced stop. In such embodiments, a signal received at the receptor or sensor on the robot will trigger an instant and rapid emergency shutdown.”) Abate: Paragraph [0105] (“In some embodiments, a watchdog protocol comprises circuits involving relays or switches, the circuits in some embodiments operate on a “normally closed circuit,” or a circuit that transmits through the switch to the receiving computer in a typical operating state. In such circuits, when a system anomaly occurs, or a hard-wired emergency stop is engaged, or a fuse or circuit breaker, for example, is triggered, the circuit may be opened, and a signal will be generated to deactivate the robot.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg and Abate before them, for altering operation of the machine comprises initiating an emergency stop of the machine because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on control using acoustic signals.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification for rapidly identifying, selecting, and communicating with a robot, particularly in order to control a remote disablement of at least one robot within a group. In the event that the robot to be controlled is a legged robot, the type of disablement becomes even more important as a sudden full power-off shut down may impair or damage the robot. Abate Paragraph [0005].
Regarding claim 20, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 20 depends. Goldenberg does not expressly teach the features of claim 20. However, Abate describes a method of identifying at least one deployed robot in a group of robots, differentially commanding the identified robot, and initiating a remote shutdown or disablement of at least one robot selected from a group of robots. Abate teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the machine is configured to be altered based on a location of the machine relative to the device. Abate: Paragraph [0107] (“The operator can therefore adjust the power and the frequency of the RF signal such as to affect a single nearby robot or all robots in a defined radius or distance, and such that the signal may cause a remote disablement or shutdown. In other embodiments, the RF signal may be encoded and can comprise a command, such as a remote disablement command or shutdown.”) Abate: Paragraph [0109] (“In certain embodiments, when the device transmits a signal each robot within a defined distance, will in response, transmit a series of flashes of light (much like a visible morse code), with different durations or flash rates, such that each robot transmits a unique active light code. The code is read by the optical sensor comprising the remote device and each robot is thereby identifiable. The operator may then select the desired robot as identified by its unique code and subsequently transmit a further command, thereby selectively identifying, commanding, and in some embodiments initiating a remote disablement or shutdown of at least one robot in a group of robots.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg and Abate before them, for the machine to be configured to be altered based on a location of the machine relative to the device because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on control using acoustic signals.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification for rapidly identifying, selecting, and communicating with a robot, particularly in order to control a remote disablement of at least one robot within a group. In the event that the robot to be controlled is a legged robot, the type of disablement becomes even more important as a sudden full power-off shut down may impair or damage the robot. Abate Paragraph [0005].
Regarding claim 23, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 22, from which claim 23 depends. Goldenberg does not expressly teach the features of claim 23. However, Abate describes a method of identifying at least one deployed robot in a group of robots, differentially commanding the identified robot, and initiating a remote shutdown or disablement of at least one robot selected from a group of robots. Abate teaches:
The device of claim 22 wherein alteration of operation of the machine based on the first acoustic signal is maintained until the device receives a separate action. Abate: Paragraph [0029] (“In some further embodiments, the receiver is visibly located on the robot; in other embodiments, the first signal is an electromagnetic signal, comprising at least one of an ionizing, visible, acoustic, microwave, or radio wave frequency, and wherein in certain embodiments the signal is an encoded IR signal.”) Abate: Paragraph [0063] (“The robot 100 can use the communication components 182 for internal operations and/or to interact with devices and/or systems external to the robot 100, such as systems for providing contextual information about the environment in which the robot 100 operates and/or systems for changing operating conditions of the robot 100.”) Abate: Paragraph [0066] (“The robot 100 may include any number of mechanical aspects and associated rules, which may be based on or otherwise configured in accordance with the purpose of and/or functions performed by the robot 100. In some embodiments, encoded software protocols perform system checks comprising allowed minimum and maximum values in order to determine the operational state of robot 100. In some embodiments, a robot state or robot operational state may be one of, but not limited to: on, stalled, off-line, or shutdown.”) Abate: Paragraph [0107] (“The operator can therefore adjust the power and the frequency of the RF signal such as to affect a single nearby robot or all robots in a defined radius or distance, and such that the signal may cause a remote disablement or shutdown. In other embodiments, the RF signal may be encoded and can comprise a command, such as a remote disablement command or shutdown.”) Abate: Paragraph [0117] (“The processor may be in communication with the communication interface, and the processor may further be configured to determine a control command for controlling an operation of the robot based on the gesture sensor data, wherein for example the gesture data may initiate a robot task, such as but not limited to a halt, or a shutdown.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg and Abate before them, to include alteration of operation of the machine based on the first acoustic signal is maintained until the device receives a separate action because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on control using acoustic signals.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification for rapidly identifying, selecting, and communicating with a robot, particularly in order to control a remote disablement of at least one robot within a group. In the event that the robot to be controlled is a legged robot, the type of disablement becomes even more important as a sudden full power-off shut down may impair or damage the robot. Abate Paragraph [0005].
Regarding claim 25, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 24, from which claim 25 depends. Goldenberg does not expressly teach the features of claim 25. However, Abate describes a method of identifying at least one deployed robot in a group of robots, differentially commanding the identified robot, and initiating a remote shutdown or disablement of at least one robot selected from a group of robots. Abate teaches:
The system of claim 24, further comprising one or more relay units configured to propagate the first acoustic signal over an increased range. Abate: Paragraph [0076] (“Considering the block diagram of FIG. 4B, the robot 100 comprises a software architecture 200 which may include a planning module 202, an estimating module 204, and an execution module 206 operably associated with one another. The planning module 202 can be configured to relay or to generate a plan corresponding to a remote disablement, such as a soft shut down of robot 100 as disclosed herein.”) Abate: Paragraph [0077] (“In some cases, the planning module 202 receives information from the communication components 182 (such as the electromagnetic signals disclosed herein) and relays or generates a plan based in part on the information received. For example, the planning module 202 can receive a command from a user via the communication components 182 and relay the command as a plan. In another example, the planning module 202 can receive a command from a user via the communication components 182 and generate a plan related to the command. In a further example, the planning module 202 can generate a plan without receiving a command from a user, such as at a predetermined time or in response to information about a current state of the robot 100 or the environment from the sensor components 189. A requirement to enable a soft shutdown of a robot within a work cell would follow the logic implemented by such planning modules when for example a human may need to enter a workcell, a worker unexpectedly enters a work cell, or modify or correct a robot behavior.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg and Abate before them, to comprise one or more relay units configured to propagate the first acoustic signal over an increased range because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on control using acoustic signals.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification for rapidly identifying, selecting, and communicating with a robot, particularly in order to control a remote disablement of at least one robot within a group. In the event that the robot to be controlled is a legged robot, the type of disablement becomes even more important as a sudden full power-off shut down may impair or damage the robot. Abate Paragraph [0005].
Claims 7, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldenberg in view of Izhikevich (US Patent Publication No. 2015/0283701 A1) (“Izhikevich”).
Regarding claim 7, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 7 depends. Goldenberg does not expressly teach the features of claim 7. However, Izhikevich describes a learning apparatus and methods for control of robotic devices. Izhikevich teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the first tone has a frequency between 20 kHz and 2000 kHz and the second tone has a frequency between 20 kHz and 2000 kHz. Izhikevich: Paragraph [0245] (“FIG. 17 illustrates exemplary control command codes for a plurality of selected remote controlled devices, according to one or more implementations. The data in FIG. 17 represents duration in microseconds. In some implementations, the duration may correspond to duration between pulses used to encode data in using pulse position modulation methodology. In one or more implementations of pulse width modulation, the duration in FIG. 17 may correspond to pulse duration. In some implementations, of infrared remote controllers, the codes shown in FIG. 17 may be used with infrared carrier wave of wavelength at around 870 nm and/or selected between 930 nm and 950 nm. Modulation carrier may be selected between 33 kHz and 40 kHz and/or between 50 kHz and 60 kHz. In some implementations, one or more robotic devices may support a plurality of control channels” (channel a, channel b, shown in lines 44 and 52 of FIG. 17). Such configuration may allow multiple of the same type of robot to be configured and controlled simultaneously. In some implementations, codes may be combined (e.g., using XOR operation).”) [The frequency at one interval between 33 kHz and 40 kHz and the frequency at another interval 50 kHz and 60 kHz reads on “the first tone has a frequency between 20 kHz and 2000 kHz and the second tone has a frequency between 20 kHz and 2000 kHz”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg and Izhikevich before them, for the first tone has a frequency between 20 kHz and 2000 kHz and the second tone has a frequency between 20 kHz and 2000 kHz because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on control of robotic devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would advantageously enable operation of robotic devices by a trained controller using a learning process configured to determine an association between one or more control commands and context determined from the sensory data communicated via the link using various activation commands from a user including using a whistle. Izhikevich Paragraphs [0114] and [0252]
Regarding claim 11, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 11 depends. Goldenberg does not expressly teach the features of claim 11. However, Izhikevich describes a learning apparatus and methods for control of robotic devices. Izhikevich teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the activation mechanism comprises a blow mechanical feature. Izhikevich: Paragraph [0096] (“The learning controller apparatus 160 may comprise a user interface module (not shown), e.g. a button, a proximity detection device (e.g., a near-field communications reader), a light sensor, a sound sensor, and/or a switch, configured to enable the user to activate learning by the apparatus 160. The activation command may comprise a remote action by a user (e.g., a clap, a click, a whistle, a light beam, a swipe of an RFID tag, a voice command and/or other action). Subsequent to activation of learning, the learning controller apparatus 160 may detect one or more command instructions within the transmissions 156.”) Izhikevich: Paragraph [0097] The learning controller 160 may comprise an adaptable predictor block configured to determine an association between the remote control instructions 156 and context determined from the input provided by the sensor module 166. In some implementations, the context may comprise …the robotic device 154 speed and/or position relative an obstacle, and/or other parameters. The context may be configured exclusive of the transmissions 156. The control instruction may comprise a turn right command. Various methodologies may be utilized in order to determine the associations between the context and user instructions.”) [The whistle reads on “a blow mechanical feature”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg and Izhikevich before them, for the activation mechanism of Goldenberg to comprise a blow mechanical feature because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on control of robotic devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would advantageously enable operation of robotic devices by a trained controller using a learning process configured to determine an association between one or more control commands and context determined from the sensory data communicated via the link using various activation commands from a user including using a whistle. Izhikevich Paragraphs [0114] and [0252]
Regarding claim 13, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 13 depends. Goldenberg does not expressly teach the features of claim 13. However, Izhikevich describes a learning apparatus and methods for control of robotic devices. Izhikevich teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the activation mechanism comprises a pull cord and/or a push button. Izhikevich: Paragraph [0006] (“However, operation of robotic devices by such controllers even subsequent to controller training still requires user input (e.g., button press).”) Izhikevich: Paragraph [0080] (“In some implementations of infrared user remote controller handsets 102, the signal between the handset 102 and the robot 104 may comprise pulses of infrared light, which is invisible to the human eye, but may be detected by electronic means (e.g., a phototransistor). During operation, a transmitter 108 in the remote control handset may sends out a stream of pulses of infrared light when the user presses a button on the handset.”) Izhikevich: Paragraph [0083] (“The learning controller apparatus 110 may comprise a user interface element 114 (e.g., a button, a touch pad, a switch, and/or other user interface element) configured to enable the user to activate learning by the apparatus 110.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg and Izhikevich before them, for the activation mechanism of Goldenberg to comprise a push button because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on control of robotic devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification as a type of activation mechanism in which the user is required to input a command using, for instance, a button press, to activate the robot. Izhikevich Paragraphs [0006], [0080], and [0083]
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldenberg in view of Izhikevich, and further in view of Baillie (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0374841 A1) (“Baillie”).
Regarding claim 12, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 12 depends. Goldenberg does not expressly teach the features of claim 12. However, Izhikevich describes a learning apparatus and methods for control of robotic devices. Izhikevich teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the activation mechanism comprises a blow electromechanical feature. Izhikevich: Paragraph [0096] (“The learning controller apparatus 160 may comprise a user interface module (not shown), e.g. a button, a proximity detection device (e.g., a near-field communications reader), a light sensor, a sound sensor, and/or a switch, configured to enable the user to activate learning by the apparatus 160. The activation command may comprise a remote action by a user (e.g., a clap, a click, a whistle, a light beam, a swipe of an RFID tag, a voice command and/or other action). Subsequent to activation of learning, the learning controller apparatus 160 may detect one or more command instructions within the transmissions 156.”) Izhikevich: Paragraph [0097] The learning controller 160 may comprise an adaptable predictor block configured to determine an association between the remote control instructions 156 and context determined from the input provided by the sensor module 166. In some implementations, the context may comprise …the robotic device 154 speed and/or position relative an obstacle, and/or other parameters. The context may be configured exclusive of the transmissions 156. The control instruction may comprise a turn right command. Various methodologies may be utilized in order to determine the associations between the context and user instructions.”) [The whistle reads on “a blow mechanical feature”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg and Izhikevich before them, for the activation mechanism of Goldenberg to comprise a blow feature because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on control of robotic devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would advantageously enable operation of robotic devices by a trained controller using a learning process configured to determine an association between one or more control commands and context determined from the sensory data communicated via the link using various activation commands from a user including using a whistle. Izhikevich Paragraphs [0114] and [0252]
Goldenberg and Izhikevich do not expressly teach that the blow feature is a “blow electromechanical feature”. However, Baillie describes an ewhistle. Baillie teaches:
…a blow electromechanical feature. Baillie: Paragraph [0025] (“Referring to FIG. 1, a top view of an electronic whistle system/transmitter module 100, is disclosed. In an embodiment, the electronic whistle system 100 comprises a membrane switch 101, a mouthpiece 102, a housing 111, a transmitter antenna 107 and one or more batteries 106 inside the housing 111. Further, a vane 103 extending through the sidewall into the housing 111 of the electronic whistle system 100. The vane 103 comprises a pivoting shaft 104 and an optical sensor 105 to provide the reliability of operation. The vane 103 extends out away from the wall of the whistle housing 111, so the vane 103 will not freeze unless the whole electronic whistle system 100 is covered with snow or ice. The pivoting shaft 104 comprises an o-ring through the side wall to prevent water intrusion into the electronic whistle system 100. In one embodiment, the mouthpiece 102 is made of food grade silicone rubber cushion. The electronic whistle system 100 is powered with replaceable 2 AAA batteries, which could be installed just before the start of the game. In some embodiments, the electronic whistle system 100 is provided with a rechargeable Li-ion battery, a smart charger chip, and an adapter.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg, Izhikevich, and Baillie before them, for the activation mechanism of Goldenberg to comprise a blow electromechanical feature because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification as a type of whistle to reduce timing errors in the transmission of a whistle signal. Baillie Paragraphs [0003] and [0033]
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldenberg in view of Orita et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2008/0109114 A1) (“Orita”).
Regarding claim 15, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 14, from which claim 15 depends. Goldenberg does not expressly teach the features of claim 15. However, Orita describes a robot control apparatus. Orita teaches:
The device of claim 14, wherein the return signal comprises a periodic control signal, a pairing signal, or an acknowledgement signal. Orita: Paragraph [0219] (“If the robot R is not executing a task (step S6; No), the task manager 340 confirms or checks whether or not the battery charging task has been registered in the task schedule (step S9). If the battery charging task has been registered (step S9; Yes), the executive instruction for instructing the robot R to execute the reserved battery replacement task is transmitted from the executive instruction generator 350 to the robot R specified by the robot ID (step S10). Subsequently, when the signal indicative of receipt of the executive instruction by the robot R (acknowledgment signal) is transmitted from the robot R, …”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg and Orita before them, for the return signal comprises a periodic control signal, a pairing signal, or an acknowledgement signal because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on control of robotic devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification to control a plurality of mobile robots to effectively perform a plurality of tasks even in the condition where an unexpected factor such as human interaction response exists. Orita Paragraph [0011]
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldenberg in view of Dooley et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2004/0186623 A1) (“Dooley”).
Regarding claim 16, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 14, from which claim 16 depends. Goldenberg does not expressly teach the features of claim 16. However, Dooley describes a robot programming. Dooley teaches:
The device of claim 14, wherein the device is configured to determine a proximity of the machine based on a loss of magnitude of the return signal relative to a specified origination power of the return signal. Dooley: Paragraph [0121] (“Since the emitters 202. 203, 204 in FIG. 2 transmit signals with information representative of the power level at which the signals are transmitted, the direction and distance to the position at which another robot appears can be determined in terms of the zones H, ML MC, MR, LL, LCL, LC, LCR and LR. One or both of the two receivers 502 and 503 on a first robot can receive the signals emitted by the emitters 202, 203, 204, and 205 of a second robot.”) Dooley: Paragraph [0141] (“The system can be controlled to receive signals from a remote control unit (not shown). In that case, the data supplied to the buffer is interpreted as remote control commands. Thereby, the receivers 702 and 703 may be used for receiving ping-/message-signals as well as remote control commands.”) Dooley: Paragraph [0169] (“The user interface further comprises a number of area symbols 1106, 1107, and 1108, each of which schematically illustrating the proximity zones in which the robot may detect an object, such as another robot, a control device, or the like. The area symbols are elliptic shapes of different size and extending to different distances from the robot symbol 1101. The area 1108 illustrates the detection zone in which a signal transmitted by another robot at power level L may be received. Similarly the area 1107 illustrates the reception zone of a medium power level signal transmitted by another robot or device, and area 1106 illustrates the reception zone of a high power level signal transmitted by another robot or device. The area symbols 1106, 1107, and 1108 are further connected to control elements 1116, 1117, and 1118, respectively.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg and Dooley before them, to determine a proximity of the machine based on a loss of magnitude of the return signal relative to a specified origination power of the return signal because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on control of robotic devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification so that complex and compound behavior, depending on the detection of positional relationships with objects such as other robots, may easily be programmed. Dooley Paragraph [0035]
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldenberg in view of Stokes et al. (US Patent No. 4,460,987) (“Stokes”).
Regarding claim 21, Goldenberg teaches all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 21 depends. Goldenberg does not expressly teach the features of claim 21. However, Stokes describes variable focus sonar with curved array. Stokes teaches:
The device of claim 1, further comprising a signal processor configured to determine a nominal frequency of the first tone. Stokes: Column 1, lines 7-11 (“…sonar systems having an array of transducers for projecting or receiving acoustic energy and having the capability of varying the focal length of the system.”) Stokes: Column 2, lines 56-60 (“Suffice it to say that the frequency of acoustic projection or detection, that is the nominal "operating frequency" of the sonar system 10 is selectively and variable controllable by varying the frequency output 20 of the source 18.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Goldenberg and Stokes before them, to determine a nominal frequency of the first tone because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on control using acoustic signals.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification to achieve acoustic focusing in a convexly curved, multistage array sonar using fixed time delay analog beamforming without the complexity and expense involved in high speed digital phase shifting beamforming or complex and unwieldy acoustic lens systems by taking advantage of a fortuitous relationship between changes in operating frequency and focal length of a curved transducer array. Stokes Column 1, line 65, to Column 2, lines 2-18.
It is noted that any citations to specific paragraphs or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
So et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2016/0274579 A1) describes a cleaning robot system may include a remote controller to output at least one of an infrared signal and an ultrasonic signal, and a signal reception unit to receive at least one of the output infrared signal and the ultrasonic signal, and a cleaning robot to calculate a distance from the remote controller and a direction of the remote controller using at least one of the received infrared signal and the ultrasonic signal.
Chung et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2010/0087954 A1) describes a robot suitable for receiving an input signal to generate a response. The input signal includes a tone provided with a command and having a first frequency. The robot includes a receiver, a signal processor, a driver and a response device. The receiver receives the tone of the input signal. The signal processor acquires a command by determining whether the first frequency satisfies a predetermined relationship. The driver generates an operation signal according to the command. The response device receives the operation signal and generates the response according to the operation signal.
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117