DETAILED ACTION
Claim Cancellation
The cancellation of claim 2 has been made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 19980055807 U (herein KR807) in view of JP 2011253739 A (herein JP739).
In reference to claim 1, KR807 teaches a wire connection device (100; fig. 1) for a cooking appliance comprising: a fuse (10, 55; fig. 1, 2) with an outer surface (i.e. the outer surface of 55), a first end (near lead line 16 on the left; fig. 2) that connects to an internal wire of the cooking appliance, and a second end (near lead line 16 on the right; fig. 2) that connects to a power cord of the cooking appliance; sleeve (50; fig. 2) that encapsulates the outer surface of the fuse and the first and second ends of the fuse; and at least two tightening members (left and right 60; fig. 2) that encircle the sleeve located on at least two tightening positions (i.e. where 60 mounts onto 50; fig. 2) near the first end and second end of the fuse, respectively.
However KR807 does not teach a fire-resistant sleeve that encapsulates the outer surface of the fuse and the first and second ends of the fuse.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. KR807 teaches a fire-resistant sleeve (35. See page 4, lines 32-33 which mention 35 is made of polycarbonate. This material is known to be fire-resistant) that encapsulates the outer surface of the fuse and the first and second ends of the fuse. Using the teachings of the fire-resistant material of JP739 to modify KR807 to arrive at the result of claim 1 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of JP739 to modify KR807 in order to increase fire-resistance protection around the fuse.
Regarding the limitation for a cooking appliance, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
In reference to claim 6, KR807 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However KR807 does not teach wherein the fire- resistant sleeve may be made of a fire-resistant material.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. KR807 teaches a fire-resistant sleeve is made of a fire-resistant material (35. See page 4, lines 32-33 which mention 35 is made of polycarbonate. This material is known to be fire-resistant). Using the teachings of the fire-resistant material of JP739 to modify KR807 to arrive at the result of claim 6 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of JP739 to modify KR807 in order to increase fire-resistance protection around the fuse.
In reference to claim 7, claim 8, claim 9, claim 10, KR807 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However KR807 does not teach:
(Claim 7) wherein the fire- resistant material is a glass fiber;
(Claim 8) wherein the fire- resistant material is a silicone glass fiber;
(Claim 9) wherein the fire- resistant material is a basalt flame-retardant;
(Claim 10) wherein the fire- resistant material is silica.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Modifying KR807 to arrive at the results of claim 7, claim 8, claim 9, claim 10 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material to arrive at the results of claim 7, claim 8, claim 9, claim 10. The sleeve still encases and protects the fuse, therefore new results are not produced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
(Claim 17) remains allowable due to the reasons stated in the Non-Final dated 04/02/2026.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 08/24/2026