DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 1/6/2026 and 12/15/2023 have been fully considered.
Priority
The foreign priority claim to JP2023-007282 filed on 1/20/2023 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Yoshizue (US 20210324951 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshizue teaches an in-wheel motor unit (1 “in-wheel motor drive device” taught by figure 1) that drives a wheel (2 “wheel” taught by figure 1) of a vehicle, the in-wheel motor unit comprising:
a motor (3 “motor” taught by figure 1);
a casing that accommodates the motor (6 “motor case” taught by figure 1);
a first rotating shaft that is driven by the motor (8 “first rotation shaft” taught by figure 1) and includes a first gear (12 “driving gear” taught by figure 1);
a pair of first bearings, each of which is located on each side of the first gear, and that supports the first rotating shaft with respect to the casing such that the first rotating shaft is rotatable (taught by first annotated figure 1 attached below);
a second rotating shaft (14 “a second rotation shaft” taught by figure 1) that is parallel to the first rotating shaft and includes a second gear meshing with the first gear (13 “driven gear” taught by figure 1); and
a pair of second bearings, each of which is located on each side of the second gear, and that supports the second rotating shaft with respect to the casing such that the second rotating shaft is rotatable (taught by first annotated figure 1 attached below), wherein:
the second bearings are located between the first bearings in an axial direction parallel to the first rotating shaft and the second rotating shaft (taught by first annotated figure 1 attached below); and
each of the second bearings includes an outer ring fixed to the second gear from a radially inner side, an inner ring fixed to the casing from a radially outer side, and a rolling element located between the outer ring and the inner ring (taught by second annotated figure 1 attached below).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshizue teaches the motor unit according to claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Yoshizue also teaches each end face in the axial direction of the second gear is provided with a groove for accommodating each of the second bearings (taught by the first annotated figure 1 attached above); and
the outer ring of each of the second bearings is fixed to an inner peripheral surface of the groove from the radially inner side (taught by the second annotated figure 1 attached above).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshizue teaches the motor unit according to claim 2, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Yoshizue also teaches wherein: the casing is provided with a pair of bosses, each of which projects toward each groove of the second gear (taught by the second annotated figure 1 attached above); and
the inner ring of each of the second bearings is fixed to an outer peripheral surface of the boss from the radially outer side (taught by the second annotated figure 1 attached above);.
Regarding claim 5, Yoshizue teaches the motor unit according to claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Yoshizue also teaches wherein: the first rotating shaft is coaxially connected to the motor (taught by figure 1); and the second rotating shaft is coaxially connected to the wheel (taught by figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizue (US 20210324951 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshizue teaches the motor unit according to claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Yoshizue does not explicitly teach wherein when viewed along the axial direction, the first bearings and the second bearings at least partially overlap.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the first and second bearings such that they at least partially overlap when viewed in the axial direction, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Reese, 129 USPQ 402.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS R. KANDAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613