DETAILED ACTION
Claims 20-36 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/15/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 30 recites the limitation “apparatus of claim 27” in line 1 of the claim. This appears to mean “apparatus of claim 28” in order to prevent antecedent basis issues. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 34-36 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 34-36 recite the limitation “method of claim 32” in line 1 of each claim. This appears to mean “method of claim 33” since claim 33 is the first method claim. Claim 32 is an apparatus claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-23, 31, 33, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. Chinese Patent Document CN 108872844 A (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches an apparatus (refer to fig.1), comprising: a powered component (i.e. fan/compressor in the figure below)(fig.1); a power line path (i.e. power lines in the figure below)(fig.1) for delivering power to the powered component (implicit); a contactor (i.e. contactor in the figure below)(fig.1) for controlling power delivery to the powered component (implicit), the contactor including main power contacts (i.e. main in the figure below)(fig.1) connected in the power line path (implicit) and auxiliary contacts (i.e. first auxiliary and second auxiliary in the figure below)(fig.1) that operate the same as, or opposite to, the main power contacts (refer to page 1 “the main contact and the auxiliary contact in the contactor are simultaneously sucked”); and a monitoring system (i.e. controller in the figure below)(fig.1) operatively connected to the auxiliary contacts (implicit) to monitor an open or closed state of the auxiliary contacts (refer to Step C of claim 1), wherein the monitoring system is configured to identify abnormal contactor operation based upon the open or closed state of the auxiliary contacts (refer to claim 1 Steps F1-F3).
Regarding claim 21, Li teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the auxiliary contacts include a first auxiliary contact (i.e. first auxiliary in the figure above)(fig.1) and a second auxiliary contact (i.e. second auxiliary in the figure above)(fig.1), wherein the monitoring system includes an electrical sensor for detecting one of (i) a voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact or (ii) a current flow condition between the first auxiliary contact to the second auxiliary contact (refer to optocoupler in the figure above)(fig.1)(refer also to claim 1 Step C).
Regarding claim 22, Li teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the monitoring system includes a controller (i.e. controller in the figure above)(fig.1)(refer also to claim 1) operatively connected to (i) a control input of the contactor for commanding an open state or a closed state of the main power contacts (implicit)(refer to D0 in the figure above)(fig.1)(refer also to page 3 “the controller (ie, the air conditioner controller) sends a signal to the contactor coil through the DO, and the coil is electrically driven to drive the main contact + the auxiliary contact to be coupled”) and (ii) the electrical sensor for monitoring the voltage condition or the current flow condition (refer to optocoupler in the figure above)(fig.1), wherein the controller is configured to identify abnormal contactor operation based upon at least both of (a) a command state of the main power contacts and (b) the voltage condition or the current flow condition (refer to claim 1).
Regarding claim 23, Li teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the auxiliary contacts include a first auxiliary contact (i.e. first auxiliary in the figure above)(fig.1) and a second auxiliary contact (i.e. second auxiliary in the figure above)(fig.1), wherein the monitoring system includes a voltage source (i.e. voltage source in the figure above)(fig.1) operatively connected to the first auxiliary contact (implicit) and at least one of (i) a voltage detector operatively connected to the second auxiliary contact or (ii) a current detector (i.e. optocoupler in the figure above)(fig.1) associated with one of the first auxiliary contact or the second auxiliary contact (implicit).
Regarding claim 31, Li teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the powered component is one of a heating element or a pump or a fan (refer to fan/compressor in the figure above)(fig.1).
Regarding claim 33, Li teaches a method of operating (refer to claim 1) an apparatus (refer to fig.1) that includes a powered component (i.e. fan/compressor in the figure above)(fig.1), a power line path (i.e. power lines in the figure above)(fig.1) for delivering power to the powered component (implicit), and a contactor (i.e. contactor in the figure above)(fig.1) for controlling power delivery to the powered component (implicit), the contactor including main power contacts (i.e. main in the figure above)(fig.1) connected in the power line path (implicit) and auxiliary contacts (i.e. first auxiliary and second auxiliary in the figure above)(fig.1) that operate the same as, or opposite to, the main power contacts (refer to page 1 “the main contact and the auxiliary contact in the contactor are simultaneously sucked”), the method comprising the steps of: applying a voltage to the first auxiliary contact (refer to first auxiliary and voltage source in the figure above)(fig.1); detecting at least one of (i) a voltage condition at the second auxiliary contact or a current flow condition between the first auxiliary contact and the second auxiliary contact (refer to optocoupler in the figure above)(fig.1)(refer also to claim 1 Step C); and identifying abnormal contactor operation based upon at least (i) the voltage condition or the current condition and (ii) a command state of the main power contacts (refer to claim 1 Steps F1-F3).
Regarding claim 36, Li teaches the method of claim 33, further comprising: upon identification of abnormal contactor operation, initiating an electronic error message and/or initiating a shutdown mode of the apparatus (refer to claim 1 steps F2 and F3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 25, 27-30, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claims 23 and 33 above, and further in view of Sun et al. Chinese Patent Application CN 206450999 U (hereinafter “Sun”).
Regarding claim 24, Li teaches the apparatus of claim 23; however, Li does not teach wherein the monitoring system further comprises a temperature sensor. However, Sun teaches wherein the monitoring system further comprises a temperature sensor (i.e. temperature detection circuit 14)(figs.3 and 7). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Li to include the temperature sensor of Sun to provide the advantage of protecting the apparatus from damage due to overheating.
Regarding claim 25, Li teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the monitoring system includes a controller (i.e. controller in the figure above)(fig.1) operatively connected to (i) a control input of the contactor (implicit) for commanding an open or closed state of the main power contacts (implicit); however, Li does not teach wherein the monitoring system includes the voltage detector and (ii) the voltage detector for monitoring a voltage level of the second auxiliary contact. However, Sun teaches wherein the monitoring system includes the voltage detector (refer to page 4 “first voltage sensor”: “the auxiliary contact detecting circuit 9 includes an auxiliary contact switch K1, a first resistor R1 and a first voltage sensor”) and (ii) the voltage detector for monitoring a voltage level of the second auxiliary contact (refer to page 4 “the first voltage sensor is provided at the auxiliary contact point switch K1”). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Li to include the voltage sensor of Sun to provide the advantage of using a simple, discrete means to quickly and easily detect the state of the auxiliary switch.
Regarding claim 27, Li and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the auxiliary contacts operate the same as the main power contacts (refer to Li page 1 “the main contact and the auxiliary contact in the contactor are simultaneously sucked”), wherein the controller is configured to identify an abnormal contactor operation based at least in part upon:(i) a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be closed and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”)(refer also to Li Step D in claim 1); or (ii) a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be open and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”)(refer also to Li Step D in claim 1). However, Li and Sun do not teach (i) the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact above a first threshold or (ii) the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is above a second threshold. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to reverse the connection of the power source and the ground to the voltage detector and the auxiliary contact, thereby reversing the logic of the detection, since applicant has not disclosed that the specific logic and orientation of the voltage sensor and auxiliary contact solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any logic capable of detecting whether the auxiliary contact is open or closed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Li and Sun to reverse the voltage level detected to provide the advantage of using whatever logic best suits the controller. Therefore, Li and Sun modified with inverted logic teach wherein the controller is configured to identify an abnormal contactor operation based at least in part upon:(i) a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be closed and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is below a first threshold (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”)(refer also to Li Step D in claim 1); or (ii) a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be open and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is above a second threshold (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”)(refer also to Li Step D in claim 1).
Regarding claim 28, Li and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 25, wherein (B) the auxiliary contacts operate the same as the main power contacts (refer to Li page 1 “the main contact and the auxiliary contact in the contactor are simultaneously sucked”), wherein the controller is configured to (i) identify a first abnormal contactor operation state based at least in part upon a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be closed and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”)(refer also to Li Step D in claim 1); and (ii) identify a second abnormal contactor operation state based at least in part upon a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be open and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”)(refer also to Li Step D in claim 1); however, they do not teach wherein: (A) the auxiliary contacts operate opposite to the main power contacts, wherein the controller is configured to: (i) identify a first abnormal contactor operation state based at least in part upon a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be closed and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is above a first threshold; and (ii) identify a second abnormal contactor operation state based at least in part upon a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be open and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is below a second threshold; or (B) (i) the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact above a first threshold and (ii) the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is above a second threshold. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to reverse the connection of the power source and the ground to the voltage detector and the auxiliary contact, thereby reversing the logic of the detection, since applicant has not disclosed that the specific logic and orientation of the voltage sensor and auxiliary contact solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any logic capable of detecting whether the auxiliary contact is open or closed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Li and Sun to reverse the voltage level detected to provide the advantage of using whatever logic best suits the controller. Therefore, Li and Sun modified with inverted logic teach wherein the controller is configured to (i) identify a first abnormal contactor operation state based at least in part upon a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be closed and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is below a first threshold (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”)(refer also to Li Step D in claim 1); and (ii) identify a second abnormal contactor operation state based at least in part upon a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be open and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is above a second threshold (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”)(refer also to Li Step D in claim 1). Limitations under (A) are listed in the alternative to limitations under (B) and are therefore not addressed.
Regarding claim 29, Li and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 28, wherein: the controller is configured such that, upon identification of the first abnormal contactor operation state, the controller initiates an error message (i.e. Li claim 1 Step F1 “fault counter is incremented”); and the controller is configured such that, upon identification of the second abnormal contactor operation state (i.e. Li claim 1 Step F1 “fault counter is equal to 5”), the controller initiates a shutdown mode of the apparatus (i.e. Li claim 1 Steps F2 and F3).
Regarding claim 30, Li and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the controller is configured such that, upon identification of the second abnormal contactor operation state, the controller energized the contactor one or more times in attempt to clear the second abnormal contactor operation state (refer to Li claim 1 step F1).
Regarding claim 34, Li teaches the method of claim 33, wherein the first and second auxiliary contacts are configured to operate the same as the main power contacts (refer to Li page 1 “the main contact and the auxiliary contact in the contactor are simultaneously sucked”); however, Li does not teach the step of identifying involves:(i) the command state of the main power contacts being closed and the voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact being above a first threshold; or (ii) the command state of the main power contacts being open and the voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact being below a second threshold. However, Sun teaches the step of identifying involves:(i) the command state of the main power contacts being closed and the voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”); or (ii) the command state of the main power contacts being open and the voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Li to include the voltage sensor of Sun to provide the advantage of using a simple, discrete means to quickly and easily detect the state of the auxiliary switch. However, Li and Sun do not teach (i) the voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact being above a first threshold or (ii) the voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact being above a second threshold. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to reverse the connection of the power source and the ground to the voltage detector and the auxiliary contact, thereby reversing the logic of the detection, since applicant has not disclosed that the specific logic and orientation of the voltage sensor and auxiliary contact solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with any logic capable of detecting whether the auxiliary contact is open or closed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Li and Sun to reverse the voltage condition detected to provide the advantage of using whatever logic best suits the controller. Therefore, Li and Sun modified with inverted logic teach the step of identifying involves:(i) the command state of the main power contacts being closed and the voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact being above a first threshold (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”); or (ii) the command state of the main power contacts being open and the voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact being below a second threshold (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”).
Claim(s) 26 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Sun as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Marchand et al. U.S. Patent No. 6,738,243 (hereinafter “Marchand”).
Regarding claim 26, Li and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 25; however, they do not teach wherein the auxiliary contacts operate opposite to the main power contacts, wherein the controller is configured to identify an abnormal contactor operation based at least in part upon:(i) a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be closed and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is above a first threshold; or (ii) a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be open and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is below a second threshold. However, Marchand teaches wherein the auxiliary contacts operate opposite to the main power contacts (refer to col. 3 lines 42-43). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li to include the opposite operation of Marchand to provide the advantage of simplifying the design of the contactor and allowing for a smaller contactor. However, Li, Sun, and Marchand do not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to identify an abnormal contactor operation based at least in part upon:(i) a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be closed and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is above a first threshold; or (ii) a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be open and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is below a second threshold. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the logic of Li and Sun when using the opposite operation of Marchand to provide the advantage of having the circuit still work to identify abnormalities with the opposite operation of the main and auxiliary contactors. Therefore, Li, Sun, and Marchand teach wherein the controller is configured to identify an abnormal contactor operation based at least in part upon:(i) a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be closed and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is above a first threshold (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”)(refer also to Li Step D in claim 1)(refer also to Marchand col. 3 lines 42-43); or (ii) a condition in which the controller is commanding the main power contacts to be open and the voltage level of the second auxiliary contact is below a second threshold.
Regarding claim 35, Li teaches the method of claim 33; however, Li does not teach wherein the first and second auxiliary contacts are configured to operate opposite to the main power contacts, and the step of identifying involves:(i) the command state of the main power contacts being closed and the voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact being below a first threshold; or (ii) the command state of the main power contacts being open and the voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact being above a second threshold. However, Sun teaches the step of identifying involves:(i) the command state of the main power contacts being closed and the voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact being below a first threshold (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”); or (ii) the command state of the main power contacts being open and the voltage condition of the second auxiliary contact being above a second threshold (refer to Sun “V1 is the voltage to be detected of the first voltage sensor. When the main contactor 25 is energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is engaged, When the main contactor 25 is de-energized, the auxiliary contact switch K1 is turned off, and the level of V1 is high”). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li to include the voltage detection of Sun to provide the advantage of using a simple, discrete means to quickly and easily detect the state of the auxiliary switch. However, Li and Sun do not teach wherein the first and second auxiliary contacts are configured to operate opposite to the main power contacts. However, Marchand teaches wherein the first and second auxiliary contacts are configured to operate opposite to the main power contacts (refer to col. 3 lines 42-43). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and Sun to include the opposite operation of Marchand to provide the advantage of simplifying the design of the contactor and allowing for a smaller contactor.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Lutz et al. European Patent Document EP 2491847A1 (hereinafter “Lutz”).
Regarding claim 32, Li teaches the apparatus of claim 20; however, Li does not teach wherein the apparatus is a food equipment device. However, Lutz teaches wherein the apparatus is a food equipment device (refer to fig.1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Li to include the food equipment device of Lutz to provide the advantage of protecting a wide range of electric apparatuses.
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838