Response to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Amendments and Remarks filed on 02/18/2026 have been fully considered and are addressed as follow:
Regarding the claims rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101: Applicant’s amendments and arguments for claims 1-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are withdrawn.
Regarding the Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicants “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant has amended the independent claim and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application and the Office has supplied new grounds for rejection attached below in the FINAL office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control units configured to” in claim 15.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structure found for “control units” is a “processor device 202” [Spec ¶ 0059]. Therefore, “control units” is being interpreted as a general computer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 1, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im (KR-20200134009) in view of Kim (US PGPub 2019/0190092).
With respect to claim 2: A computer-implemented method, comprising [Im ¶ 0060]:
determining, by a processor device of a computer system, a requested take-off of a parked electric vehicle [Im ¶ 0011 "giving priority to charging control at the initial stage of starting a vehicle" and ¶ 0002 "controlling battery charging of an electric vehicle"];
determining, by the processor device, a battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle [Im ¶ 0023 "battery status measurement unit (110) is installed inside the vehicle (100) can measure battery status data including battery temperature];
determining, by the processor device, an ambient temperature of the electric vehicle [Im ¶ 0025 "The control unit (120) can request climate data from the data server (200) … the climate data may include outside temperature data corresponding to the current location data of the vehicle (100)"];
determining, by the processor device, a thermal activity state of at least one battery cell as the difference between the battery temperature and the ambient temperature [Im ¶ 0027 "battery charging/discharging abnormality based on the difference between the battery temperature at the start and the outside temperature"];
when the thermal activity state is above a predetermined thermal activity state threshold [Im ¶ 0028 “an abnormal discharge state exists when the difference between the battery temperature and the outside temperature exceeds a first threshold value”],
Im does not teach disconnecting, by the processor device, a battery energy storage system of the vehicle thereby preventing the requested take off when the thermal activity state is above a predetermined thermal activity state threshold.
However, in a related field of invention, Kim does teach disconnecting, by the processor device, a battery energy storage system of the vehicle thereby preventing the requested take off when the thermal activity state is above a predetermined thermal activity state threshold [Kim ¶ 0039-40 "The present invention provides a battery pack including the battery cell and the controller may further include a function electrically disconnecting the external input/output terminal of the battery cell when a measured temperature is equal to or greater than a critical value."].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the battery charging apparatus as taught by Im with the disconnecting of the battery cell when the temperature is greater than a critical value as taught by Kim in order to improve safety [Kim ¶ 0040].
With respect to claim 3: Im as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 2. Im further teaches further comprising:
allowing, by the processor device, the requested take-off when the battery temperature is above a predetermined battery temperature threshold and when the thermal activity state is below the predetermined thermal activity state threshold [Im ¶ [0009]- [0011] and [0021]- [0030]].
With respect to claim 1: All limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 2. The method taught/disclosed in claim 2 can clearly perform on the system of claim 1. Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under the same rationale.
With respect to claim 13: All limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 2. The method taught/disclosed in claim 2 can clearly perform on the system of claim 13. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale.
With respect to claim 15: All limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 2. The method taught/disclosed in claim 2 can clearly perform on the system of claim 15. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale.
With respect to claim 16: All limitations have been examined with respect to the method in claim 2. The method taught/disclosed in claim 2 can clearly perform on the medium of claim 16. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im in view of Kim and in further view of Zhao (EP-4023488).
With respect to claim 4: Im as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 2. Im as modifed by Kim does not teach further comprising: requesting increased cooling of the at least one battery cell.
However, in a related field of invention, Zhao does teach further comprising: requesting increased cooling of the at least one battery cell [Zhao ¶ 0007 "performing a cooling process on the battery pack" and ¶ 00014].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the battery charging apparatus as taught by Im and Kim with the cooling of the at least one battery cell as taught by Zhao in order to prevent abnormalities in the battery caused by charging a battery in a too high temperature state.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im in view of Kim and in further view of Yun (US PGPub 20150132615).
With respect to claim 5: Im as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 2. Im as modifed by Kim does not teach wherein: determining the battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle is performed by means of at least one sensor mounted on at least one battery cell.
However, in a related field of invention, Yun teaches wherein: determining the battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle is performed by means of at least one sensor mounted on at least one battery cell [Yun ¶ 0007 "a plurality of temperature sensors adjacent to the battery cells"].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the battery charging apparatus as taught by Im and Kim with the temperature sensor placement on at least one battery cell as taught by Yun in order to more accurately detect the temperature of a battery cell.
With respect to claim 10: Im as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 2. Im as modifed by Kim does not teach further comprising: determining the battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle as an average value of a plurality of battery temperature values.
However, in a related field of invention, Yun does teach further comprising: determining the battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle as an average value of a plurality of battery temperature values [Yun ¶ 0007 "a battery pack include a battery module including a plurality of battery cells; a plurality of temperature sensors adjacent to the battery cells;" and ¶ 0014 "The control unit may be configured to substitute a temperature value corresponding to defective temperature sensor with an average of temperature values from temperature sensors determined not to be defective"].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the battery charging apparatus as taught by Im and Kim with using the average temperature value as taught by Yun in order to more accurately detect the temperature of a battery cell.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im in view of Kim and in further view of Lee (KR-20190095047).
With respect to claim 6: Im as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 2. Im as modifed by Kim does not teach wherein: determining the battery temperature of at Least one battery cell of the electric vehicle is performed by means of at least one sensor mounted on at least one battery module.
However, in a related field of invention, Lee does teach wherein: determining the battery temperature of at Least one battery cell of the electric vehicle is performed by means of at least one sensor mounted on at least one battery module [Lee ¶ 0011 "It is characterized in that it comprises a heat conducting member connected to the temperature sensor at the specific position to transfer the temperature of the specific position to the temperature sensor." and ¶ 0013 " The specific position may be located at the edge of the battery module, and the temperature sensor may be located at the center of the battery module."].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the battery charging apparatus as taught by Im and Kim with placing the temperature sensor on at least one battery module as taught by Lee in order to increase the design freedom of the battery module and improve the stability, life, and performance of the battery module [Lee ¶ 0010].
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im in view of Kim and in further view of Bertness (US PGPub 20210203016).
With respect to claim 7: Im as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 2. Im as modifed by Kim does not teach wherein: determining the battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle is performed by means of at least one sensor mounted on at least one battery pack.
However, in a related field of invention, Bertness does teach wherein: determining the battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle is performed by means of at least one sensor mounted on at least one battery pack [Bertness ¶ 0023 "the battery pack 104 is illustrated as including its own optional controller 120 which monitors operation of the battery pack 104 using battery pack sensors 122." and ¶ 0025 For example, the sensors 122 may include temperature sensors configured to disconnect the batteries of the battery pack if a threshold temperature is exceeded"].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the battery charging apparatus as taught by Im and Kim with placing the temperature sensor on at least one battery module as taught by Bertness in order to increase the design freedom of the battery module and improve the stability, life, and performance of the battery module [Lee ¶ 0010].
With respect to claim 8: Im as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 2. Im as modifed by Kim does not teach wherein:
determining the ambient temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle is performed by means of at least one ambient sensor mounted remote, or on the exterior, of at least one battery pack.
However, in a related field of invention, Bertness does teach wherein:
determining the ambient temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle is performed by means of at least one ambient sensor mounted remote, or on the exterior, of at least one battery pack [Bertness ¶ 0069 "In another aspect, the device of FIG. 1 includes an ambient temperature sensor. The microprocessor can use information from the ambient temperature sensor in determining how the battery pack should be discharged.” And ¶ 0025 "the sensors 122 may include temperature sensors configured to disconnect the batteries of the battery pack if a threshold temperature is exceeded." and Figure 1 element 122].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the battery charging apparatus as taught by Im and Kim with placing the ambient temperature sensor on the exterior of at least one battery pack as taught by Bertness in order to increase accuracy of the ambient temperature.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im in view of Kim and in further view of Joos (US PGPub 20210167473).
With respect to claim 9: Im as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 2. Im as modifed by Kim does not teach wherein: preventing the requested take-off is performed by disconnecting the at least one battery cell.
However, in a related field of invention, Joos does teach wherein: preventing the requested take-off is performed by disconnecting the at least one battery cell [Joos ¶ 0007 "protection is provided by a method for disconnecting an battery...including at least two battery cells from at least one electrical component, in particular a drive component, of a vehicle."].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the battery charging apparatus as taught by Im and Kim with the disconnecting of a battery cell as taught by Joos in order to allow a reliable and flexible switching of the battery cells [Joos ¶ 0015].
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im in view of Kim and in further view of Tochikav (DE-102017102458).
With respect to claim 11: Im as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 2. Im as modifed by Kim does not teach further comprising: determining the battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle as a maximum value of a plurality of battery temperature values.
However, in a related field of invention, Tochikav does teach further comprising: determining the battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle as a maximum value of a plurality of battery temperature values [Tockikawa ¶ 0005 "When the battery maximum temperature is greater than the first reference value and the battery minimum temperature is the second reference value or greater, the battery temperature selection section selects the battery maximum temperature as the battery temperature selection value."].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the battery charging apparatus as taught by Im and Kim with taking the maximum value taught by Tochikawa in order to more accurately determine the battery temperature of a battery cell.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im in view of Kim in view of Yun in view of Bertness and in further view of Joos.
With respect to claim 12: Im as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 2. Im further teaches further comprising:
allowing, by the processor device, the requested take-off when the battery temperature is above a predetermined battery temperature threshold and when the thermal activity state is below the predetermined thermal activity state threshold [Im ¶ [0009]-[0011] and [0021]-[0030].
Im as modifed by Kim does not teach wherein
determining the battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle is performed by means of at least one sensor mounted on at least one battery cell, battery module, or battery pack and
wherein determining the battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle as an average value or a maximum value of a plurality of battery temperature values.
However, in a related field of invention, Yun does teach determining the battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle is performed by means of at least one sensor mounted on at least one battery cell, battery module, or battery pack [Yun ¶ 0007 "a plurality of temperature sensors adjacent to the battery cells"], and wherein
determining the battery temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle as an average value or a maximum value of a plurality of battery temperature values [Yun ¶ 0007 "a battery pack include a battery module including a plurality of battery cells; a plurality of temperature sensors adjacent to the battery cells;" and ¶ 0014 "The control unit may be configured to substitute a temperature value corresponding to defective temperature sensor with an average of temperature values from temperature sensors determined not to be defective"].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the battery charging apparatus as taught by Im and Kim with using the average temperature value and mounting the sensor on a battery cell as taught by Yun in order to more accurately detect the temperature of a battery cell.
Im as modifed by Kim and Yun does not teach determining the ambient temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle is performed by means of at least one ambient sensor mounted remote, or on the exterior, of at least one battery pack.
However, in a related field of invention, Bertness does teach determining the ambient temperature of at least one battery cell of the electric vehicle is performed by means of at least one ambient sensor mounted remote, or on the exterior, of at least one battery pack [Bertness ¶ 0069 "In another aspect, the device of FIG. 1 includes an ambient temperature sensor. The microprocessor can use information from the ambient temperature sensor in determining how the battery pack should be discharged. And ¶ 0025 "the sensors 122 may include temperature sensors configured to disconnect the batteries of the battery pack if a threshold temperature is exceeded." and Figure 1 element 122].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the battery charging apparatus as taught by Im, Yakura, and Yun with placing the ambient temperature sensor on the exterior of at least one battery pack as taught by Bertness in order to increase accuracy of the ambient temperature.
Im as modifed by Yakura, Yun, and Bertness does not teach wherein preventing the requested take-off is performed by disconnecting the at least one battery cell.
However, in a related field of invention, Joos does teach wherein preventing the requested take-off is performed by disconnecting the at least one battery cell [Joos ¶ 0007 "protection is provided by a method for disconnecting an battery...including at least two battery cells from at least one electrical component, in particular a drive component, of a vehicle."].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the battery charging apparatus as taught by Im, Yakura, Yun, and Bertness with the disconnecting of a battery cell as taught by Joos in order to allow a reliable and flexible switching of the battery cells [Joos ¶ 0015].
Conclusion
/J.E.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666