DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I [claims 1-10] in the reply filed on 10/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/16/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: The last line of claim 4 ends with a comma [“,”], which leaves it unclear if there should be more limitations after the comma or that it is the end of the claim limitations. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (KR 20150004133)
Regarding claims 1, 10, a nozzle head comprising: a plate portion (121) having a through hole (nozzles); a droplet discharging nozzle (123) portion located corresponding to the through hole in the plate portion, the droplet discharging nozzle portion including a plurality of droplet discharging nozzles discharging droplets by an electrostatic discharging method (Paragraph 0006)
A pseudo-nozzle portion (122) located around the droplet discharging nozzle portion in the plate portion and including a plurality of pseudo-nozzles whose tips are blocked (Figures 1-10; Abstract; Paragraphs 0013-0014, 0028-0033)
Regarding claim 2, the plurality of droplet discharging nozzles are arranged in line in a first direction; and the pseudo-nozzle portion is arranged on both sides of the droplet discharging nozzle portion in the first direction (Figures 1-10; Abstract; Paragraphs 0013-0014, 0028-0033)
Regarding claim 5, a first distance between adjacent droplet discharging nozzles (123) is the same as a second distance between adjacent pseudo-nozzles (122) (Figure 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20150004133) in view of Ogawa (U.S. Pub. 2018/0304629)
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the claimed invention except for the plurality of pseudo-nozzles are arranged over the entire range of 1 mm to 5 mm toward the first direction from the outermost pseudo-nozzle. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a plurality of pseudo-nozzles are arranged over the entire range of 1 mm to 5 mm toward the first direction from the outermost pseudo-nozzle, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate a plurality of pseudo-nozzles are arranged over the entire range of 1 mm to 5 mm toward the first direction from the outermost pseudo-nozzle, for the purpose of finely controlling the discharge amount of ink by the discharging ink nozzles
Regarding claim 4, Ogawa discloses pseudo-nozzle portion (22, 23, 24) includes five or more pseudo-nozzles on both sides of the droplet discharging nozzle portion (10) in the first direction [scanning direction] (Figures 1, 8; Paragraphs 0020-0022, 0025-0027)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teaching of Ogawa into the device of Choi, for the purpose of suppressing deviation of a landing position on a medium on which a liquid is discharged
Regarding claim 6, Ogawa disclose the plurality of droplet discharging nozzles (10) are arranged in the first direction (scanning direction) and in a second direction (conveying direction) intersecting the first direction; and the pseudo-nozzle portion (22,23,24) is arranged to surround the droplet discharging nozzle portion (Figures 1, 8; Paragraphs 0020-0022, 0025-0027)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teaching of Ogawa into the device of Choi, for the purpose of suppressing deviation of a landing position on a medium on which a liquid is discharged
Regarding claim 7, Ogawa discloses the pseudo-nozzles are arranged in line on both sides in the first direction and on both sides in the second direction corresponding to each of the droplet discharging nozzles arranged outside of the plurality of droplet discharging nozzles; and the number of the pseudo-nozzles per row arranged on one side in the first direction and on one side in the second direction is 2 or more and 30 or less (Figures 1, 8; Paragraphs 0020-0022, 0025-0027)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teaching of Ogawa into the device of Choi, for the purpose of suppressing deviation of a landing position on a medium on which a liquid is discharged
Regarding claim 8, Ogawa discloses pseudo-nozzle has a frame shape (Figure 8 discloses pseudo-nozzles surrounding the discharging nozzles in a frame shape)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 December 10, 2025