DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the amendments filed on 02/17/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1, 15, and 18 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently rejected.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with regards to the art rejections have been considered and appear to be directed solely to the instant amendments to the claims. Accordingly, the claims are addressed in the body of the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kneuper et. al. (US 2017/0344181), herein Kneuper in view of Siegmeth et. al. (US 2021/0189977), herein Siegmeth, Danielson et. al. (US 2018/0319510), herein Danielson, and Hausmann (CN 110318880), herein Hausmann.
Regarding claim 1:
Kneuper teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising stored instructions, the instructions when executed by a processor (On-board computer 201 includes for example non-volatile memory, software, and a processor [0106]) of an aerial vehicle control and interface system (a representation 100 of a touch-screen instrument panel (TSIP) is illustrated. The TSIP replaces the plurality of instruments, dials, gauges, and screens typically utilized on the console of an aircraft. The TSIP is configured for at least a touch screen implementation. In some embodiments, the TSIP may span the width of a cockpit of an aircraft [0097]) cause the aerial vehicle control and interface system to:
generate a graphical user interface (GUI) (the representation 100 includes the TSIP 110, one or more flight instrument displays 120, one or more navigational displays 130, one or more user interface panels 140, a menu 150, and the real-time view 160 [0099]) comprising a plurality of aerial vehicle monitor graphics providing an operator of an aerial vehicle with status information related to operations of the aerial vehicle (Aircraft flight equipment 250 is monitored and controlled by pilots using TSIP 210 through computer 201 for flying aircraft [0111]);
measure a plurality of pre-start engine parameters using one or more of a plurality of sensors coupled to the aerial vehicle (Aircraft flight equipment 250 includes flight control surfaces, engines, deicing equipment, lights, and sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, electrical). Aircraft flight equipment 250 is monitored and controlled by pilots using TSIP 210 through computer 201 for flying aircraft. [0111]);
generate a first status indicator for display at the GUI indicating that an engine of the aerial vehicle (The color of the zone, pressurized line, condition unit, valve or air source may be modified to indicate if the component is functioning normally. As in other embodiments of the synoptic windows, green may indicate a component functioning within normal parameters, while gray may indicate a component that is not currently active and other colors may indicate component failures. [0136])
modify one or more of the plurality of aerial vehicle monitor graphics of the GUI to reflect the [verified] post-start engine parameters (The color of the zone, pressurized line, condition unit, valve or air source may be modified to indicate if the component is functioning normally. As in other embodiments of the synoptic windows, green may indicate a component functioning within normal parameters, while gray may indicate a component that is not currently active and other colors may indicate component failures. [0136]; In some embodiments one or more buttons 367 may be provided to access further information about an element of the system such as the engines. [0137]); and
Kneuper does not explicitly teach, however Siegmeth teaches:
generate a first status indicator for [display at the GUI] indicating that an engine of the aerial vehicle (multiple data inputs regarding a number of factors influencing startup time for a number of engines on the aircraft using best available data (step 508). Examples of such factors include the model of the engines on the aircraft, the type of start required (e.g., cold start, warm start), engine conditions such as engine temperature as well as temperature and pressures at the compressor exit and entrance, and current weather conditions. [0069]) is ready to be started if determined that a first plurality of operational criteria are satisfied by the plurality of pre-start engine parameters (Aircraft 100 might optionally include an automated engine controller 172 that can automatically initiate engine start in response to a signal from computer control system 152 at a calculated engine start time prior to estimated time of departure to ensure timing of engine start and warmup [0043]; Once N2 reaches the specified minimum percentage of maximum, the igniter in the combustion chamber is activated (step 306), and fuel is injected into the combustion chamber to mix with the compressed air and ignite (step 308). [0054]);
when the engine of the aerial vehicle is started (the control computer sends an engine start signal (step 516) [0078]), for each computer of a plurality of computers (fig. 1, computer system 152), further instructions to:
measure a post-start engine parameter using a sensor of the plurality of sensors coupled to the aerial vehicle (After engine start, the system monitors engine temperature to determine when the engines reach the specified operating temperature to set takeoff power (step 518) [0080]);
verify that the measured post-start engine parameters satisfy one or more accuracy criteria (The nominal ETD calculation is then fed into a statistical uncertainty (step 506). The statistical uncertainty calculator provides a confidence margin interval for the nominal ETD calculation. [0068]); and
modify one or more of the plurality of aerial vehicle monitor graphics of the GUI to reflect the verified post-start engine parameters (FIG. 6 depicts an example of an engine power setting gauge with active warmup limit. Gauge 600 in an example of a display provided to the crew in response to the start signal from step 520 in FIG. 5. In this example gauge 600 displays a warmup limit 602 and time remaining of 32 second before setting takeoff power. [0081]); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kneuper to include the teachings as taught by Siegmeth with a reasonable expectation of success. Siegmeth teaches the benefit of optimizing the start time of an aircraft engine because “as engines idle on an aircraft, fuel is expended. The illustrative examples recognize and take into account that it is desirable to reduce fuel waste for environmental and cost reasons. By reducing fuel waste, operating an aircraft is less expensive, fewer emissions are released for each flight, and non-renewable resources are conserved. In addition, by reducing engine idle/run time less noise is created at airports and less braking is required to counteract thrust created from idling/running engines, thereby reducing brake wear. [Siegmeth, 0019]”.
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth does not explicitly teach, however Danielson teaches:
generate a second status indicator for display at the GUI indicating the aerial vehicle is ready for flight if determined that a second plurality of operational criteria are satisfied by the verified post-start engine parameters (at a step 506, upon determining, by a processing unit of the computer system 200, based on the first indication and the second indication, that the position of the aircraft engine start switch is an “on” position and the aircraft engine start operating mode is a healthy start, the method 500 executes a step 508. The step 508 comprises causing the display of a first visual indication indicative of the healthy start of the aircraft engine [0190]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kneuper in view of Siegmeth to include the teachings as taught by Danielson with a reasonable expectation of success. Danielson teaches “improvements are therefore desirable, in particular improvements aiming at presenting a more reliable operating status of an aircraft engine to one or more cabin crew members. [Danielson, 0008]”.
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth and Danielson does not explicitly teach, however Hausmann teaches:
wherein a user input control of the GUI is disabled to prevent the engine of the aerial vehicle from being started (Thus, the process 200 prohibits the starting of the engine when the engine cover has been installed [page 6]) until the first plurality of operational criteria are satisfied (when the flight status sensor indicates the aircraft not flying and sensor signal indicating the cover has been installed, the task 222 in response to receiving input of the engine start prohibition of the engine start. when the sensor signal indicating the cover has been installed and task 224 in response to receiving input of the engine start indication cover has been installed on the display [page 6]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kneuper in view of Siegmeth and Danielson to include the teachings as taught by Hausmann with a reasonable expectation of success. Hausmann teaches the benefit of “in order to prevent objects from entering the engine, often with a cover or a plug to physically cover the air inlet or air outlet of the engine. before starting the engine must remove the cover or plug, to prevent the cover or plug into and damage the engine. crew typically remove the cover or plug before starting the engine. before starting the engine, it is necessary to confirm the presence of these conventional cover or plug on the vision by the crew. However, before the approval engine is started, crew occasionally fails to identify the presence of a cover or plug. In such a case, it may damage the engine. Therefore, it would be desirable to provide a risk of the cover detecting system for reducing damage of engine, the engine cover and the aircraft [Hausmann, page 2]”.
Regarding claim 3:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Siegmeth further teaches:
wherein the one or more accuracy criteria (The nominal ETD calculation is then fed into a statistical uncertainty (step 506). The statistical uncertainty calculator provides a confidence margin interval for the nominal ETD calculation. [0068]) comprise a range of values for a particular post-start engine parameter (The current data input at step 502 can be correlated with historical data to determine a more accurate ETD. For example, if the aircraft is in Chicago in winter, and it begins snowing while the aircraft is taxiing, AI 158 can access historical data related to weather conditions and air traffic delays in Chicago and weigh current conditions against it to help calculate nominal ETD and the likelihood and probably length of delay. [0067]), the range determined using a machine learning model (Computer system 152 might also incorporate artificial intelligence (AI) 158 to assist in processes and interpreting external data 154 and internal data 156 [0040]) trained using historical post-start engine parameters indicating that a historical aerial vehicle was ready for flight (including not only current external data 154 and internal data 156 but also historical data regarding air traffic at different airports, weather conditions, flight schedules and delays, etc [0040]).
Regarding claim 4:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Danielson further teaches:
wherein a safety criterion of the second plurality of operational criteria includes a temperature of engine oil (the parameter is at least one of an exhaust gas temperature of a combustion chamber of the aircraft engine, a rotation speed of the aircraft engine, a fuel flow of the aircraft engine, an oil pressure of the aircraft engine, an oil temperature of the aircraft engine [0059]) being within a predetermined range for a predetermined duration of time (the analysis of the parameter associated with the operating condition of the aircraft engine comprises comparing the parameter with a predefined threshold and wherein the abnormal start is determined to be the aircraft engine operating mode if the parameter does not exceed the predefined threshold during the period of time [0048]).
Regarding claim 5:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Danielson further teaches:
wherein the measured post-start engine parameters include an oil pressure (an oil pressure of the aircraft engine [0082]) and an oil temperature (an oil temperature of the aircraft engine [0082]), wherein an operational criterion of the second plurality of operational criteria includes:
the oil pressure meeting a target oil pressure (the parameter is at least one of an exhaust gas temperature of a combustion chamber of the aircraft engine, a rotation speed of the aircraft engine, a fuel flow of the aircraft engine, an oil pressure of the aircraft engine, an oil temperature of the aircraft engine, an altitude of the aircraft and an air speed of the aircraft, a turbine temperature and a synthesized parameter. [0017]) within a first predetermined duration of time since starting the engine of the aerial vehicle (a first period of time and a second period of time, the first period of time starting at the issuance of the command to start the aircraft engine and ending at an ignition of the aircraft engine and the second period of time starting at the ignition of the aircraft engine and ending at a predefined amount of time [0047]), and
the oil temperature is maintained at a target oil temperature (the parameter is at least one of an exhaust gas temperature of a combustion chamber of the aircraft engine, a rotation speed of the aircraft engine, a fuel flow of the aircraft engine, an oil pressure of the aircraft engine, an oil temperature of the aircraft engine, an altitude of the aircraft and an air speed of the aircraft, a turbine temperature and a synthesized parameter. [0017]) for a second predetermined duration of time after the engine is operated at a predetermined rotations per minute (a first period of time and a second period of time, the first period of time starting at the issuance of the command to start the aircraft engine and ending at an ignition of the aircraft engine and the second period of time starting at the ignition of the aircraft engine and ending at a predefined amount of time [0047]).
Regarding claim 6:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Danielson further teaches:
wherein one of the plurality of aerial vehicle monitor graphics is a gauge indicating a range of safe operating values for a post-start engine parameter and a range of unsafe operating values for the post-start engine parameters (the analysis of the one or more parameters associated with the operating condition of the aircraft engine may start to be taken into consideration to update (either leave as is, modify or replace) the first visual indication 302. In some embodiments, if the analysis results in a determination that the aircraft engine start operating mode is an abnormal start, then the first visual indication 302 may be updated, for example, but without being limited to, replacing the first visual indication 302 with a second visual indication 402 (shown in FIG. 4) indicative of the abnormal start. [0181]).
Regarding claim 7:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kneuper further teaches:
further comprising instructions that when executed cause the aerial vehicle control and interface system to generate a virtual touchpad for display at the GUI, a plurality of user input controls for one or more of a speed, a heading, or an altitude of the aerial vehicle provided through corresponding finger gestures on the virtual touchpad when the second plurality of operational criteria satisfied by verified post-start engine parameters (touching altitude indicator 416 or airspeed indicator 417 on TSIP 210 displays a touch-screen keyboard for entering values. Altitude indicator 416 and airspeed indicator 417 display the selected cruising altitude and airspeed, respectively. Altitude indicator 416 is 10,500 feet (FT) and airspeed indicator 417 is 400 nautical miles per hour (KTS) in FIG. 4A. [0165]).
Regarding claim 8:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kneuper further teaches:
generate a remote assistance request control for display at the GUI (The navigational aids of the present invention may be displayed via the TSIP 210. Additionally, the use of a camera, such as camera 290, may facilitate the capture of the real-time image displayed on the TSIP 210. The navigations aids described herein may be displayed on the TSIP 210 overlaying the real-time image. In embodiments, navigational aids are displayed overlaying a three-dimensional real-time panoramic view. The navigational aids may include, for instance, a flight guide, an airport guide, and a traffic guide, to name a few. Any other application that aids in the navigation of a vehicle (e.g., aircraft) may be included in the navigational aids displayed via TSIP 210. [0204]), the aerial vehicle communicatively coupled to a ground-based computer system that remotely accesses input controls of the GUI (First and second navigation channels 488, 489 are, for example, used for radio communication with navigational aids, such as fixed ground beacon or GPS networks. [0193]).
Regarding claim 10:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kneuper further teaches:
wherein the plurality of pre-start engine parameters include one or more of a seat belt lock state, a fuel valve state (the display element depicts a hydraulic valve, a pneumatic valve, or a fuel valve, and actuating it modifies the state of the aircraft by opening or closing the valve. [0015]), a brake engagement state, a circuit breaker state, or a freedom of movement state.
Regarding claim 11:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Danielson further teaches:
wherein the plurality of post-start engine parameters include one or more of an engine torque, a rotational speed of an engine compressor (a rotation speed of the aircraft engine [0017]), or a measured gas temperature (an exhaust gas temperature of a combustion chamber of the aircraft engine [0017]).
Regarding claim 12:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kneuper further teaches:
generate a plurality of manually verified engine start controls including input controls to provide user verification of one or more of a clear area around the aerial vehicle, a fuel-pull off guard is on, a cabin heat is off (Status information may include a label 322 for each climate zone such as “Cockpit”, “Cabin”, “Lavatory”, or “Baggage”. It may also include a numerical indication 323 of the measured temperature in the relevant climate zone. It may also include a text or numerical indication 325 to indicate the current temperature setting for the relevant climate zone. The status information may be linked to the relevant climate zone by a line 324. In some embodiments, the line, the background of the status information, or the text of the status information may be in the color that corresponds to the temperature of the relevant climate zone. In some embodiments, control elements are provided for some or all of the climate zones in the aircraft. The control elements may include control input icons 326 and 327 to receive user input through the touch screen functionality of the TSIP 210 [0127]), or a rotor brake is off.
Regarding claim 13:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Siegmeth further teaches:
perform a set of pre-start engine checks, the plurality of pre-start engine parameters characterizing outcomes of the performed set of pre-start checks (Prior to completion of the countdown, the system continues an iterative loop of updating the nominal time to departure, the nominal minimum time required to start the engines and set takeoff power and reviving the countdown according to continually updated new input data. Upon completion of the countdown, the control computer sends an engine start signal (step 516). This start signal might be sent to the flight crew of the aircraft or sent to an automatic engine controller such as controller 172. [0078]); and
Danielson further teaches:
perform a set of post-start engine checks (a second indication indicative of an aircraft engine start operating mode, the second indication having been generated based on an analysis of a parameter associated with an operating condition of the aircraft engine [0189]), the plurality of post-start engine parameters characterizing outcomes of the performed set of post-start checks (The step 508 comprises causing the display of a first visual indication indicative of the healthy start of the aircraft engine. In some embodiments, the first visual indication is a first icon and the second visual indication is a second icon, the first icon being associated with a first color and the second icon being associated with a second color. [0190]).
Regarding claim 14:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Danielson further teaches:
wherein the instructions when executed further cause the aerial vehicle control and interface system to, in response to determining that the second plurality of operational criteria are not satisfied by the verified post-start engine parameters, stop the engine (the abnormal start, as with the healthy start, may be determined by a computer-implemented system such as, for example, but without being limited to, the FADEC. The abnormal start may be configured to inform the cabin crew members that the starting phase is not operating normally The abnormal start may be interpreted by the cabin crew members as a negative indication that the starting phase requires a specific action and/or a specific attention. The specific action may include for example, but without being limitative, a shutdown of the engine [0176]).
Regarding claim 15:
Kneuper teaches:
A method (Systems, methods and computer-storage media are provided for a touch-screen interface panel (TSIP) of an aircraft. [abstract]) comprising:
generate a graphical user interface (GUI) (the representation 100 includes the TSIP 110, one or more flight instrument displays 120, one or more navigational displays 130, one or more user interface panels 140, a menu 150, and the real-time view 160 [0099]) comprising a plurality of aerial vehicle monitor graphics providing an operator of an aerial vehicle with status information related to operations of the aerial vehicle (Aircraft flight equipment 250 is monitored and controlled by pilots using TSIP 210 through computer 201 for flying aircraft [0111]);
measuring a plurality of pre-start engine parameters using one or more of a plurality of sensors coupled to the aerial vehicle (Aircraft flight equipment 250 includes flight control surfaces, engines, deicing equipment, lights, and sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, electrical). Aircraft flight equipment 250 is monitored and controlled by pilots using TSIP 210 through computer 201 for flying aircraft. [0111]);
generating a first status indicator for display at the GUI indicating that an engine of the aerial vehicle (The color of the zone, pressurized line, condition unit, valve or air source may be modified to indicate if the component is functioning normally. As in other embodiments of the synoptic windows, green may indicate a component functioning within normal parameters, while gray may indicate a component that is not currently active and other colors may indicate component failures. [0136])
modifying one or more of the plurality of aerial vehicle monitor graphics of the GUI to reflect the [verified] post-start engine parameters (The color of the zone, pressurized line, condition unit, valve or air source may be modified to indicate if the component is functioning normally. As in other embodiments of the synoptic windows, green may indicate a component functioning within normal parameters, while gray may indicate a component that is not currently active and other colors may indicate component failures. [0136]; In some embodiments one or more buttons 367 may be provided to access further information about an element of the system such as the engines. [0137]); and
Kneuper does not explicitly teach, however Siegmeth teaches:
generating a first status indicator for [display at the GUI] indicating that an engine of the aerial vehicle (multiple data inputs regarding a number of factors influencing startup time for a number of engines on the aircraft using best available data (step 508). Examples of such factors include the model of the engines on the aircraft, the type of start required (e.g., cold start, warm start), engine conditions such as engine temperature as well as temperature and pressures at the compressor exit and entrance, and current weather conditions. [0069]) is ready to be started if determined that a first plurality of operational criteria are satisfied by the plurality of pre-start engine parameters (Aircraft 100 might optionally include an automated engine controller 172 that can automatically initiate engine start in response to a signal from computer control system 152 at a calculated engine start time prior to estimated time of departure to ensure timing of engine start and warmup [0043]; Once N2 reaches the specified minimum percentage of maximum, the igniter in the combustion chamber is activated (step 306), and fuel is injected into the combustion chamber to mix with the compressed air and ignite (step 308). [0054]);
in response to starting the engine of the aerial vehicle (the control computer sends an engine start signal (step 516) [0078]), for each computer of a plurality of computers (fig. 1, computer system 152):
measuring a post-start engine parameter using a sensor of the plurality of sensors coupled to the aerial vehicle (After engine start, the system monitors engine temperature to determine when the engines reach the specified operating temperature to set takeoff power (step 518) [0080]);
verifying that the measured post-start engine parameters satisfy one or more accuracy criteria (The nominal ETD calculation is then fed into a statistical uncertainty (step 506). The statistical uncertainty calculator provides a confidence margin interval for the nominal ETD calculation. [0068]); and
modifying one or more of the plurality of aerial vehicle monitor graphics of the GUI to reflect the verified post-start engine parameters (FIG. 6 depicts an example of an engine power setting gauge with active warmup limit. Gauge 600 in an example of a display provided to the crew in response to the start signal from step 520 in FIG. 5. In this example gauge 600 displays a warmup limit 602 and time remaining of 32 second before setting takeoff power. [0081]); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kneuper to include the teachings as taught by Siegmeth with a reasonable expectation of success. Siegmeth teaches the benefit of optimizing the start time of an aircraft engine because “as engines idle on an aircraft, fuel is expended. The illustrative examples recognize and take into account that it is desirable to reduce fuel waste for environmental and cost reasons. By reducing fuel waste, operating an aircraft is less expensive, fewer emissions are released for each flight, and non-renewable resources are conserved. In addition, by reducing engine idle/run time less noise is created at airports and less braking is required to counteract thrust created from idling/running engines, thereby reducing brake wear. [Siegmeth, 0019]”.
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth does not explicitly teach, however Danielson teaches:
generating a second status indicator for display at the GUI indicating the aerial vehicle is ready for flight in response to determining that a second plurality of operational criteria are satisfied by the verified post-start engine parameters (at a step 506, upon determining, by a processing unit of the computer system 200, based on the first indication and the second indication, that the position of the aircraft engine start switch is an “on” position and the aircraft engine start operating mode is a healthy start, the method 500 executes a step 508. The step 508 comprises causing the display of a first visual indication indicative of the healthy start of the aircraft engine [0190]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kneuper in view of Siegmeth to include the teachings as taught by Danielson with a reasonable expectation of success. Danielson teaches “improvements are therefore desirable, in particular improvements aiming at presenting a more reliable operating status of an aircraft engine to one or more cabin crew members. [Danielson, 0008]”.
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth and Danielson does not explicitly teach, however Hausmann teaches:
wherein a user input control of the GUI is disabled to prevent the engine of the aerial vehicle from being started (Thus, the process 200 prohibits the starting of the engine when the engine cover has been installed [page 6]) until the first plurality of operational criteria are satisfied (when the flight status sensor indicates the aircraft not flying and sensor signal indicating the cover has been installed, the task 222 in response to receiving input of the engine start prohibition of the engine start. when the sensor signal indicating the cover has been installed and task 224 in response to receiving input of the engine start indication cover has been installed on the display [page 6]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kneuper in view of Siegmeth and Danielson to include the teachings as taught by Hausmann with a reasonable expectation of success. Hausmann teaches the benefit of “in order to prevent objects from entering the engine, often with a cover or a plug to physically cover the air inlet or air outlet of the engine. before starting the engine must remove the cover or plug, to prevent the cover or plug into and damage the engine. crew typically remove the cover or plug before starting the engine. before starting the engine, it is necessary to confirm the presence of these conventional cover or plug on the vision by the crew. However, before the approval engine is started, crew occasionally fails to identify the presence of a cover or plug. In such a case, it may damage the engine. Therefore, it would be desirable to provide a risk of the cover detecting system for reducing damage of engine, the engine cover and the aircraft [Hausmann, page 2]”.
Regarding claim 16:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 15, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kneuper further teaches:
in response to the second plurality of operational criteria satisfied by verified post-start engine parameters (Altitude indicator 416 is configured such that selection thereof activates an altitude component of the flight planning system. Similarly, airspeed indicator 417 is configured such that selection thereof activates an airspeed component of the flight planning system. Altitude indicator 416 and airspeed indicator 417 may be used, for example, to select a cruising altitude and a cruising airspeed, respectively. [0165]):
generating a virtual touchpad for display at the GUI, a plurality of user input controls for one or more of a speed, a heading, or an altitude of the aerial vehicle provided through corresponding finger gestures on the virtual touchpad (touching altitude indicator 416 or airspeed indicator 417 on TSIP 210 displays a touch-screen keyboard for entering values. Altitude indicator 416 and airspeed indicator 417 display the selected cruising altitude and airspeed, respectively. Altitude indicator 416 is 10,500 feet (FT) and airspeed indicator 417 is 400 nautical miles per hour (KTS) in FIG. 4A. [0165]).
Regarding claim 17:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 15, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kneuper further teaches:
generating a plurality of manually verified engine start controls including input controls to provide user verification of one or more of a clear area around the aerial vehicle, a fuel pull-off guard is on, a cabin heat is off (Status information may include a label 322 for each climate zone such as “Cockpit”, “Cabin”, “Lavatory”, or “Baggage”. It may also include a numerical indication 323 of the measured temperature in the relevant climate zone. It may also include a text or numerical indication 325 to indicate the current temperature setting for the relevant climate zone. The status information may be linked to the relevant climate zone by a line 324. In some embodiments, the line, the background of the status information, or the text of the status information may be in the color that corresponds to the temperature of the relevant climate zone. In some embodiments, control elements are provided for some or all of the climate zones in the aircraft. The control elements may include control input icons 326 and 327 to receive user input through the touch screen functionality of the TSIP 210 [0127]), or a rotor brake is off.
Regarding claim 18:
Kneuper teaches:
An aerial vehicle control and interface system (Systems, methods and computer-storage media are provided for a touch-screen interface panel (TSIP) of an aircraft. [abstract]) comprising:
a universal vehicle control interface for an aerial vehicle (the representation 100 includes the TSIP 110, one or more flight instrument displays 120, one or more navigational displays 130, one or more user interface panels 140, a menu 150, and the real-time view 160 [0099]), the universal vehicle control interface configured to:
receive input commands from an operator of the aerial vehicle (he panels 140 display information and accept input from a user regarding various aircraft systems. [0102]); and
display a graphical user interface (GUI) (the representation 100 includes the TSIP 110, one or more flight instrument displays 120, one or more navigational displays 130, one or more user interface panels 140, a menu 150, and the real-time view 160 [0099]) comprising a plurality of aerial vehicle monitor graphics providing an operator of an aerial vehicle with status information related to operations of the aerial vehicle (Aircraft flight equipment 250 is monitored and controlled by pilots using TSIP 210 through computer 201 for flying aircraft [0111]); and
a universal avionics control router (a system environment 200 including an aircraft touch-screen instrument panel (TSIP) 210. System environment 200 has a network of subsystems that includes an on-board computer 201, the TSIP itself 210, a local digital network 220, databases 230, a flight controller 240, aircraft flight equipment 250, communications equipment 260, radar 270, an anti-collision and terrain awareness 280, and a camera 290 [0105]) configured to:
measure a plurality of pre-start engine parameters using one or more of a plurality of sensors coupled to the aerial vehicle (Aircraft flight equipment 250 includes flight control surfaces, engines, deicing equipment, lights, and sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, electrical). Aircraft flight equipment 250 is monitored and controlled by pilots using TSIP 210 through computer 201 for flying aircraft. [0111]);
generate a first status indicator for display at the GUI indicating that an engine of the aerial vehicle (The color of the zone, pressurized line, condition unit, valve or air source may be modified to indicate if the component is functioning normally. As in other embodiments of the synoptic windows, green may indicate a component functioning within normal parameters, while gray may indicate a component that is not currently active and other colors may indicate component failures. [0136])
modify one or more of the plurality of aerial vehicle monitor graphics of the GUI to reflect the [verified] post-start engine parameters (The color of the zone, pressurized line, condition unit, valve or air source may be modified to indicate if the component is functioning normally. As in other embodiments of the synoptic windows, green may indicate a component functioning within normal parameters, while gray may indicate a component that is not currently active and other colors may indicate component failures. [0136]; In some embodiments one or more buttons 367 may be provided to access further information about an element of the system such as the engines. [0137]); and
Kneuper does not explicitly teach, however Siegmeth teaches:
generate a first status indicator for [display at the GUI] indicating that an engine of the aerial vehicle (multiple data inputs regarding a number of factors influencing startup time for a number of engines on the aircraft using best available data (step 508). Examples of such factors include the model of the engines on the aircraft, the type of start required (e.g., cold start, warm start), engine conditions such as engine temperature as well as temperature and pressures at the compressor exit and entrance, and current weather conditions. [0069]) is ready to be started if determined that a first plurality of operational criteria are satisfied by the plurality of pre-start engine parameters (Aircraft 100 might optionally include an automated engine controller 172 that can automatically initiate engine start in response to a signal from computer control system 152 at a calculated engine start time prior to estimated time of departure to ensure timing of engine start and warmup [0043]; Once N2 reaches the specified minimum percentage of maximum, the igniter in the combustion chamber is activated (step 306), and fuel is injected into the combustion chamber to mix with the compressed air and ignite (step 308). [0054]);
in response to starting the engine of the aerial vehicle (the control computer sends an engine start signal (step 516) [0078]), for each computer of a plurality of computers (fig. 1, computer system 152):
measure a post-start engine parameter using a sensor of the plurality of sensors coupled to the aerial vehicle (After engine start, the system monitors engine temperature to determine when the engines reach the specified operating temperature to set takeoff power (step 518) [0080]);
verify that the measured post-start engine parameters satisfy one or more accuracy criteria (The nominal ETD calculation is then fed into a statistical uncertainty (step 506). The statistical uncertainty calculator provides a confidence margin interval for the nominal ETD calculation. [0068]); and
modify one or more of the plurality of aerial vehicle monitor graphics of the GUI to reflect the verified post-start engine parameters (FIG. 6 depicts an example of an engine power setting gauge with active warmup limit. Gauge 600 in an example of a display provided to the crew in response to the start signal from step 520 in FIG. 5. In this example gauge 600 displays a warmup limit 602 and time remaining of 32 second before setting takeoff power. [0081]); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kneuper to include the teachings as taught by Siegmeth with a reasonable expectation of success. Siegmeth teaches the benefit of optimizing the start time of an aircraft engine because “as engines idle on an aircraft, fuel is expended. The illustrative examples recognize and take into account that it is desirable to reduce fuel waste for environmental and cost reasons. By reducing fuel waste, operating an aircraft is less expensive, fewer emissions are released for each flight, and non-renewable resources are conserved. In addition, by reducing engine idle/run time less noise is created at airports and less braking is required to counteract thrust created from idling/running engines, thereby reducing brake wear. [Siegmeth, 0019]”.
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth does not explicitly teach, however Danielson teaches:
generate a second status indicator for display at the GUI indicating the aerial vehicle is ready for flight in response to determining that a second plurality of operational criteria are satisfied by the verified post-start engine parameters (at a step 506, upon determining, by a processing unit of the computer system 200, based on the first indication and the second indication, that the position of the aircraft engine start switch is an “on” position and the aircraft engine start operating mode is a healthy start, the method 500 executes a step 508. The step 508 comprises causing the display of a first visual indication indicative of the healthy start of the aircraft engine [0190]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kneuper in view of Siegmeth to include the teachings as taught by Danielson with a reasonable expectation of success. Danielson teaches “improvements are therefore desirable, in particular improvements aiming at presenting a more reliable operating status of an aircraft engine to one or more cabin crew members. [Danielson, 0008]”.
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth and Danielson does not explicitly teach, however Hausmann teaches:
wherein a user input control of the GUI is disabled to prevent the engine of the aerial vehicle from being started (Thus, the process 200 prohibits the starting of the engine when the engine cover has been installed [page 6]) until the first plurality of operational criteria are satisfied (when the flight status sensor indicates the aircraft not flying and sensor signal indicating the cover has been installed, the task 222 in response to receiving input of the engine start prohibition of the engine start. when the sensor signal indicating the cover has been installed and task 224 in response to receiving input of the engine start indication cover has been installed on the display [page 6]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kneuper in view of Siegmeth and Danielson to include the teachings as taught by Hausmann with a reasonable expectation of success. Hausmann teaches the benefit of “in order to prevent objects from entering the engine, often with a cover or a plug to physically cover the air inlet or air outlet of the engine. before starting the engine must remove the cover or plug, to prevent the cover or plug into and damage the engine. crew typically remove the cover or plug before starting the engine. before starting the engine, it is necessary to confirm the presence of these conventional cover or plug on the vision by the crew. However, before the approval engine is started, crew occasionally fails to identify the presence of a cover or plug. In such a case, it may damage the engine. Therefore, it would be desirable to provide a risk of the cover detecting system for reducing damage of engine, the engine cover and the aircraft [Hausmann, page 2]”.
Regarding claim 19:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 18, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kneuper further teaches:
in response to the second plurality of operational criteria satisfied by verified post-start engine parameters (Altitude indicator 416 is configured such that selection thereof activates an altitude component of the flight planning system. Similarly, airspeed indicator 417 is configured such that selection thereof activates an airspeed component of the flight planning system. Altitude indicator 416 and airspeed indicator 417 may be used, for example, to select a cruising altitude and a cruising airspeed, respectively. [0165]):
generate a virtual touchpad for display at the GUI, a plurality of user input controls for one or more of a speed, a heading, or an altitude of the aerial vehicle provided through corresponding finger gestures on the virtual touchpad (touching altitude indicator 416 or airspeed indicator 417 on TSIP 210 displays a touch-screen keyboard for entering values. Altitude indicator 416 and airspeed indicator 417 display the selected cruising altitude and airspeed, respectively. Altitude indicator 416 is 10,500 feet (FT) and airspeed indicator 417 is 400 nautical miles per hour (KTS) in FIG. 4A. [0165]).
Regarding claim 20:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 18, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kneuper further teaches:
generate a plurality of manually verified engine start controls including input controls to provide user verification of one or more of a clear area around the aerial vehicle, a fuel pull-off guard is on, a cabin heat is off (Status information may include a label 322 for each climate zone such as “Cockpit”, “Cabin”, “Lavatory”, or “Baggage”. It may also include a numerical indication 323 of the measured temperature in the relevant climate zone. It may also include a text or numerical indication 325 to indicate the current temperature setting for the relevant climate zone. The status information may be linked to the relevant climate zone by a line 324. In some embodiments, the line, the background of the status information, or the text of the status information may be in the color that corresponds to the temperature of the relevant climate zone. In some embodiments, control elements are provided for some or all of the climate zones in the aircraft. The control elements may include control input icons 326 and 327 to receive user input through the touch screen functionality of the TSIP 210 [0127]), or a rotor brake is off.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kneuper et. al. (US 2017/0344181), herein Kneuper in view of Siegmeth et. al. (US 2021/0189977), herein Siegmeth, Danielson et. al. (US 2018/0319510), herein Danielson, and Hausmann (CN 110318880), herein Hausmann in further view of Ahmad at. al. (US 2013/0311006), herein Ahmad.
Regarding claim 2:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Siegmeth further teaches:
providing instructions to actuators of the aerial vehicle (starting the engines in response to the start signal [0007]),
wherein the actuators are coupled with the engine (Each turbofan engine 104 comprises a starter system 106 that initiates engine start and helps the engine 104 reach self-sustaining speed [0033]), and
wherein the instructions when executed further cause the aerial vehicle control and interface system (starting the engines in response to the start signal [0007]) to:
generate actuator instructions for the actuators (Process 300 begins with turning on compressed bleed air for the starter system (step 302). The bleed might be supplied by an APU such, as APU 150 in FIG. 1, or might be provided from another turbofan engine on the aircraft that is already at operational speed. The bleed air fed into the starter drives an accessory gearbox, which in turn begins rotating the compressors in the engine core. [0052])
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann does not explicitly teach, however Ahmad teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of computers is associated with respective channels (The system may include at least three pilot sensor channels including a first channel containing a first set of pilot sensor data, a second channel containing a second set of pilot sensor data, and a third channel containing a third set of pilot sensor data. The system may also include at least three aircraft sensor channels including a primary channel containing a first set of aircraft sensor data, a secondary channel containing a second set of aircraft sensor data, and a tertiary channel containing a third set of aircraft sensor data [0008])
in the respective channels (Each channel output is voted against the other channel outputs. [0039]); and
determine, using a voter in each channel (Each channel output is voted against the other channel outputs. [0039]), a validity of an actuator instruction provided to the engine (Such a voting procedure allows for a high integrity command, i.e., 10.sup.-9 or greater, to be output. [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann to include the teachings as taught by Ahmed with a reasonable expectation of success. Ahmed is in the same field of endeavor and teaches “a fly-by-wire aircraft control system having a smaller footprint and providing for a reduction in weight and associated maintenance costs over conventional fly-by-wire aircraft control systems currently in use [Ahmad, 0007]”.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kneuper et. al. (US 2017/0344181), herein Kneuper in view of Siegmeth et. al. (US 2021/0189977), herein Siegmeth, Danielson et. al. (US 2018/0319510), herein Danielson, and Hausmann (CN 110318880), herein Hausmann in further view of Moeykens (US 2023/0058992), herein Moeykens.
Regarding claim 9:
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann do not explicitly teach, however Moeykens teaches:
wherein the aerial vehicle is a rotorcraft (As a non-limiting example, aircraft may include airplanes, helicopters, commercial and/or recreational aircraft, instrument flight aircraft, drones, electric aircraft, airliners, rotorcrafts, vertical takeoff and landing aircraft, jets, airships, blimps, gliders, paramotors, and the like thereof. [0150]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kneuper in view of Siegmeth, Danielson, and Hausmann to include the teachings as taught by Moeykens with a reasonable expectation of success. Moeykens is in the same field of endeavor and teaches “authenticate the at least an aircraft using a credential received from the at least an electric aircraft. The computing device is configured to receive a plurality of measured aircraft operation datum from a sensor disposed on the at least an electric aircraft. The computing device is configured to select a training set as a function of each measured aircraft operation datum of the plurality of measured aircraft operation datum and the at least an electric aircraft, where each measured aircraft operation datum of the plurality of measured aircraft operation datum is correlated to an element of modeled aircraft data. The computing device is configured to generate, using a machine-learning algorithm, an aircraft performance model output based on the plurality of measured aircraft operation datum and the selected training set, wherein generating an aircraft performance model includes generating a performance alert. [Moeykens, 0004]”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Scott R Jagolinzer whose telephone number is (571)272-4180. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 8AM - 4PM Eastern.
Scott R. Jagolinzer
Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/S.R.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665