Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12, 14, 17-23 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 2017/0108360) in view of Murg (US 2006/0022082), Zahlen et al. (US 2015/0064389) and Bourgon et al. (US 2001/0030261).
Regarding claim 11, Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) a connection assembly for attaching to a fuselage of an aircraft, the connection assembly comprising:
a first opening (clearly seen in figures 1A-1B) in a skin/aircraft skin (150) of the fuselage/exterior shell of the aircraft (Para 0016; first opening is an opening which is covered by air data probe assembly (100));
a panel/mount plate interface (125) (Para 0016); and
a connector/ electrical connectors (133a-b) extending through the panel/mount plate interface (125) (Para 0016, 0018)
but it is silent about the connection assembly comprising:
a first doubler plate attachable to an external surface of the fuselage around a first opening in a skin of the aircraft, the first doubler plate having a second opening;
wherein the panel occludes the second opening .
Murg ‘082 teaches (figures 1-3) a static port skin applique configuration (20) in which a panel (22) is held by a mounting frame/doubler plate having first, second, third, and fourth components (24, 26, 28, 30) respectively mounted to the fuselage surface (38) using a captive fastening device (Para 0022, 0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wong et al. ‘360 to incorporate the teachings of Murg ‘082 to secure a panel using mounting frame/doubler plate around a perimeter of the panel on an external surface of the fuselage.
This results in the connection assembly comprising:
a first doubler plate attachable to an external surface of the fuselage around a first opening in a skin of the aircraft, the first doubler plate having a second opening;
wherein the panel occludes the second opening .
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would spread the weight and aerodynamic drag forces of air data probe assembly across a much wider surface area and prevent skin from flexing under high aircraft speed.
Modified Wong et al. ‘360 is silent about the connection assembly comprising:
a second doubler plate attachable to an internal surface of the fuselage around the first opening; and
a panel configured to be removably sandwiched between the first and second doubler plates, wherein the panel occludes the second opening when sandwiched between the first and second doubler plates.
Zahlen et al. ‘389 teaches (figures 12-13) a window panel/first doubler plate (1) with an aperture (7) and window assembly (20) wherein window assembly (20) comprises a double pane/panel (22), which overlaps the window panel/first doubler plate (1), a seal (23) and retainer element/ second doubler plate (24) wherein the double pane/panel (22) seal (23) are sandwiched between the window panel/first doubler plate (1) and the retainer element/ second doubler plate (clearly seen in figure 12) (Para 0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wong et al. ‘360 to incorporate the teachings of Zahlen et al. ‘389 to configure the connection assembly comprising:
a second doubler plate attachable to an internal surface of the fuselage around the first opening; and
a panel configured to be removably sandwiched between the first and second doubler plates, wherein the panel occludes the second opening when sandwiched between the first and second doubler plates.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would reinforce first doubler plate.
Modified Wong et al. ‘360 is silent about the connection assembly wherein the first doubler plate is permanently coupled to a stringer or former of the fuselage.
Bourgon et al. ‘261 teaches (figures 1-4) a fuselage panel (20) comprising an opening (22) located integrally facing the support element/doubler (18) wherein the support element/doubler (18) is fixed between frames (34) and angle bars (36) by rivets (24) (Para 0033, 0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wong et al. ‘360 to incorporate the teachings of Bourgon et al. ‘261 to configure the connection assembly wherein the first doubler plate is permanently coupled to a stringer or former of the fuselage (rivets permanently couple doubler plates to a stringer or former).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would rigidly secure the first doubler plate to a stringer or former of the fuselage.
Regarding claim 12, modified Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) the connection assembly wherein the first doubler plate is permanently coupled to the stringer or former of the fuselage using at least one rivet (as modified by Bourgon et al. ‘261).
Regarding claim 14, modified Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) the connection assembly wherein:
the first doubler plate is sized to extend between and overlap with a plurality of structural features of the fuselage (as modified by Bourgon et al. ‘261; first doubler plate is permanently coupled to a stringer or former of the fuselage); and
the second doubler plate is sized to fit between the plurality of structural features of the fuselage (first and second doubler plate are opposite each other and in order to couple the first and second doubler plates using rivets the second doubler plate has to be in between the plurality of structural features which put the second doubler plate directly next to the skin of the fuselage).
Regarding claim 17, modified Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) the connection assembly wherein:
the connection assembly further comprises:
an electrical distribution system/system formed by electrical connectors (133a, 113b, 133c) connected or connectable to an electrical system/electrical line (133) of the aircraft (Para 0018); and
wherein the electrical system/electrical line (133) powers the sensor body (121) (Para 0018)
but it is silent about the connection assembly wherein the connection assembly further comprises:
a patch bay electrically connected to the electrical distribution system and comprising an electrical connector configured for one or more of electrical communication or providing power, wherein the electrical connector is compatible with the connector.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to have an aircraft patch bay as a centralized junction assembly to route and connect power distribution lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wong et al. ‘360 to configure the connection assembly wherein the connection assembly further comprises:
a patch bay electrically connected to the electrical distribution system and comprising an electrical connector configured for providing power, wherein the electrical connector is compatible with the connector (electrical lines are plugged in the patch bay via. electrical connector).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would simplify and organize wiring in an aircraft.
Regarding claim 18, modified Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) the connection assembly wherein at least one of the connector or the electrical connector is configured for connection to a sensor/sensor body (121) (Para 0018)
Regarding claim 19, modified Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) the connection assembly of claim 18 but it is silent about the connection assembly wherein the sensor comprises one or more of: an antenna, LiDAR, RADAR, a hyperspectral camera, and a multispectral camera.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to use an antenna in an aircraft. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wong et al. ‘360 to configure the connection assembly wherein the sensor comprises antenna.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable to transmit and receive radio frequency signals for communication, navigation, surveillance, and safety systems.
Regarding claim 20, modified Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) the connection assembly further comprising:
a re-usable seal positioned between the panel and at least one of the first and second doubler plates and configured to provide a weather seal providing (as modified by Zahlen et al. ‘389; seal is a weather seal as if blocks air, water etc.)).
Regarding claim 21, Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) an aircraft (Para 0014) comprising:
a connection assembly attached to a fuselage of an aircraft, the connection assembly comprising:
a first opening (clearly seen in figures 1A-1B) in a skin/aircraft skin (150) of the fuselage/exterior shell of the aircraft (Para 0016; first opening is an opening which is covered by air data probe assembly (100));
a panel/mount plate interface (125) (Para 0016); and
a connector/ electrical connectors (133a-b) extending through the panel/mount plate interface (125) (Para 0016, 0018)
but it is silent about the connection assembly comprising:
a first doubler plate attachable to an external surface of the fuselage around a first opening in a skin of the aircraft, the first doubler plate having a second opening;
wherein the panel occludes the second opening .
Murg ‘082 teaches (figures 1-3) a static port skin applique configuration (20) in which a panel (22) is held by a mounting frame/doubler plate having first, second, third, and fourth components (24, 26, 28, 30) respectively mounted to the fuselage surface (38) using a captive fastening device (Para 0022, 0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wong et al. ‘360 to incorporate the teachings of Murg ‘082 to secure a panel using mounting frame/doubler plate around a perimeter of the panel on an external surface of the fuselage.
This results in the connection assembly comprising:
a first doubler plate attachable to an external surface of the fuselage around a first opening in a skin of the aircraft, the first doubler plate having a second opening;
wherein the panel occludes the second opening .
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would spread the weight and aerodynamic drag forces of air data probe assembly across a much wider surface area and prevent skin from flexing under high aircraft speed.
Modified Wong et al. ‘360 is silent about the connection assembly comprising:
a second doubler plate attachable to an internal surface of the fuselage around the first opening; and
a panel configured to be removably sandwiched between the first and second doubler plates, wherein the panel occludes the second opening when sandwiched between the first and second doubler plates.
Zahlen et al. ‘389 teaches (figures 12-13) a window panel/first doubler plate (1) with an aperture (7) and window assembly (20) wherein window assembly (20) comprises a double pane/panel (22), which overlaps the window panel/first doubler plate (1), a seal (23) and retainer element/ second doubler plate (24) wherein the double pane/panel (22) seal (23) are sandwiched between the window panel/first doubler plate (1) and the retainer element/ second doubler plate (clearly seen in figure 12) (Para 0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wong et al. ‘360 to incorporate the teachings of Zahlen et al. ‘389 to configure the connection assembly comprising:
a second doubler plate attachable to an internal surface of the fuselage around the first opening; and
a panel configured to be removably sandwiched between the first and second doubler plates, wherein the panel occludes the second opening when sandwiched between the first and second doubler plates.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would reinforce first doubler plate.
Modified Wong et al. ‘360 is silent about the connection assembly wherein the first doubler plate is permanently coupled to a stringer or former of the fuselage.
Bourgon et al. ‘261 teaches (figures 1-4) a fuselage panel (20) comprising an opening (22) located integrally facing the support element/doubler (18) wherein the support element/doubler (18) is fixed between frames (34) and angle bars (36) by rivets (24) (Para 0033, 0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wong et al. ‘360 to incorporate the teachings of Bourgon et al. ‘261 to configure the connection assembly wherein the first doubler plate is permanently coupled to a stringer or former of the fuselage (rivets permanently couple doubler plates to a stringer or former).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would rigidly secure the first doubler plate to a stringer or former of the fuselage.
Regarding claim 22, modified Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) the connection assembly of claim 21 but it is silent about the connection assembly wherein the first and second doubler plates are attached around the first opening in an underside of the fuselage of the aircraft.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to secure the air data probe assembly at a location which receives undisturbed clear airflow and underside of the fuselage, especially underside of the forward fuselage receives clear airflow. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wong et al. ‘360 to configure the connection assembly wherein the first and second doubler plates are attached around the first opening in an underside of the fuselage of the aircraft (first and second doubler plate couples the air data probe assembly to the opening).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable to gather accurate data.
Regarding claim 23, modified Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) the aircraft wherein:
the first doubler plate is sized to extend between and overlap with a plurality of structural features of the fuselage (as modified by Bourgon et al. ‘261; first doubler plate is permanently coupled to a stringer or former of the fuselage); and
the second doubler plate is sized to fit between the plurality of structural features of the fuselage (first and second doubler plate are opposite each other and in order to couple the first and second doubler plates using rivets the second doubler plate has to be in between the plurality of structural features which put the second doubler plate directly next to the skin of the fuselage).
Regarding claim 25, modified Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) the aircraft wherein the first doubler plate is permanently coupled to the stringer or former of the fuselage using at least one rivet (as modified by Bourgon et al. ‘261).
Regarding claim 26, modified Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) the aircraft wherein:
the connection assembly further comprises:
an electrical distribution system/system formed by electrical connectors (133a, 113b, 133c) connected to an electrical system/electrical line (133) of the aircraft (Para 0018); and
wherein the electrical system/electrical line (133) powers the sensor body (121) (Para 0018)
but it is silent about the aircraft wherein the connection assembly further comprises:
a patch bay electrically connected to the electrical distribution system and comprising an electrical connector configured for one or more of electrical communication or providing power, wherein the electrical connector is compatible with the connector.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to have an aircraft patch bay as a centralized junction assembly to route and connect power distribution lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wong et al. ‘360 to configure the aircraft wherein the connection assembly further comprises:
a patch bay electrically connected to the electrical distribution system and comprising an electrical connector configured for providing power, wherein the electrical connector is compatible with the connector (electrical lines are plugged in the patch bay via. electrical connector).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would simplify and organize wiring in an aircraft.
Claim(s) 15 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 2017/0108360), Murg (US 2006/0022082), Zahlen et al. (US 2015/0064389) and Bourgon et al. (US 2001/0030261) as applied to claim 11 and 21 above, and further in view of Martin et al. (US 2016/0001871).
Regarding claim 15, modified Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) the connection assembly of claim 11 but it is silent about the connection assembly wherein one of the first doubler plate or the second doubler plate comprises one or more captive nuts configured to mate with one or more corresponding bolts coupled to the other of the first doubler plate or the second doubler plate.
Martin et al. ‘871 teaches (figures 1-6) a fuel tank access door system/connection assembly (100) comprising an outer door/ first doubler plate (clearly seen in figure 6) attached to an external surface of the aircraft wing (500) and an inner door/second doubler plate (clearly seen in figure 6) attached to an internal surface of the aircraft wing (clearly seen in figure 6) (Para 0042); and
wherein the inner door/ second doubler plate comprises one or more captive nuts configured to mate with one or more corresponding bolts/screw coupled to the other of the outer door/first doubler plate (clearly seen in figure 6) (Para 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wong et al. ‘360 to incorporate the teachings of Martin et al. ‘871 to configure the connection assembly wherein one of the first doubler plate or the second doubler plate comprises one or more captive nuts configured to mate with one or more corresponding bolts coupled to the other of the first doubler plate or the second doubler plate.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would rigidly secure the doubler plate/hatch body to the fuselage at multiple points.
Regarding claim 24, modified Wong et al. ‘360 teaches (figures 1A-2B) the aircraft of claim 23 but it is silent about the aircraft wherein one of the first doubler plate or the second doubler plate comprises one or more captive nuts configured to mate with one or more corresponding bolts coupled to the other of the first doubler plate or the second doubler plate.
Martin et al. ‘871 teaches (figures 1-6) a fuel tank access door system/connection assembly (100) comprising an outer door/ first doubler plate (clearly seen in figure 6) attached to an external surface of the aircraft wing (500) and an inner door/second doubler plate (clearly seen in figure 6) attached to an internal surface of the aircraft wing (clearly seen in figure 6) (Para 0042); and
wherein the inner door/ second doubler plate comprises one or more captive nuts configured to mate with one or more corresponding bolts/screw coupled to the other of the outer door/first doubler plate (clearly seen in figure 6) (Para 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wong et al. ‘360 to incorporate the teachings of Martin et al. ‘871 to configure the aircraft wherein one of the first doubler plate or the second doubler plate comprises one or more captive nuts configured to mate with one or more corresponding bolts coupled to the other of the first doubler plate or the second doubler plate.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would rigidly secure the doubler plate/hatch body to the fuselage at multiple points.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 29th May 2026, with respect to the amended claim(s) 11 and 21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as explained in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642