DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, files on 03/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 17-19, 23,31-32, 45-46,54-55, and 76-84 under Skorka (US 2024/0348938) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Taamazyan (US 2023/0007161 to Taamazyan et al).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 46, 54, and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taamazyan (US 2023/0007161 to Taamazyan et al).
Regarding claim 1, Taamazyan discloses an imaging device comprising:
an image sensor (image sensor 14) (Taamazyan, fig. 1a, par [0043]);
a light modulation layer (combination of mask 16, polarizer 18, and imaging optics 20) coupled to the image sensor, wherein the light modulation layer comprises a plurality of liquid-crystal (LC) device pixels (filters 17a-17d) disposed over the image sensor (Taamazyan, fig. 1a, par [0047-0048]); and
control circuitry (controller 12) coupled to the image sensor and the light modulation layer, wherein the control circuitry is configured to apply a transparency mask (mask 16) to the light modulation layer by modifying, based on at least one frame (captured frame) captured at the image sensor, pixel attributes (angle of polarizer 18) of the plurality of LC device pixels for modulating exposure of the image sensor (Taamazyan, fig. 1A, par [0047-0048], wherein controller 12 rotates polarizer 18 so as to create a mask 16), wherein:
an LC device pixel (filters 17a-17d) of the plurality of LC device pixels corresponds to two or more sensor pixels (subpixels 15a-15d) of the image sensor (Taamazyan, fig. 1A, par [0045]); and
the LC device pixel (filters 17a-17d) is configured to modulate exposure for the two or more corresponding sensor pixels (Taamazyan, fig. 1A, par [0045, 0047-0048]).
Regarding claim 46, Taamazyan discloses an imaging device comprising:
a CMOS sensor comprising a plurality of sensor pixels (cmos image sensor) (Taamazyan, fig. 1A, par [0043];
a liquid-crystal (LC) pixel array (combination of mask 16, polarizer 18, and imaging optics 20) directly bonded to the CMOS sensor, wherein the LC pixel array comprises a plurality of LC pixels (filters 17a-17d) (Taamazyan, fig. 1a, par [0047-0048]); and
wherein the LC pixel array modulates exposure of at least one sensor pixel (subpixels 15a-15d) of the CMOS sensor using one or more LC pixels of the plurality of LC pixels (Taamazyan, fig. 1A, par [0047-0048], wherein combination of mask 16, polarizer 18, and imaging optics 20 modulates exposure of subpixels 15a-15d), wherein:
an LC device pixel (filters 17a-17d) of the plurality of LC device pixels corresponds to two or more sensor pixels of the image sensor (subpixels 151-15d) (Taamazyan, fig. 1A, par [0045]); and
the LC device pixel (filters 17a-17d) is configured to modulate exposure for the two or more corresponding sensor pixels (Taamazyan, fig. 1A, par [0045, 0047-0048], combination of mask 16, polarizer 18, and imaging optics 20 modulates exposure of subpixels 15a-15d).
Regarding claim 54, Taamazyan discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Taamazyan discloses:
the LC pixel array (combination of mask 16, polarizer 18, and imaging optics 20) is configured to store, in the memory cache, sensor data (current image) corresponding to one or more frames captured at the CMOS sensor (cmos image sensor) (Taamazyan, fig. 1a, fig. 3, par [0043, 0068], wherein memory cache stores current image).
Regarding claim 76, Taamazyan discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Taamazyan discloses:
an LC device pixel (filters 17a-17d) of the plurality of LC device pixels corresponds to two or more sensor pixels (subpixels 151-15d) of the image sensor (Taamazyan, fig. 1A, par [0045]); and
the LC device pixel (filters 17a-17d) is configured to modulate exposure for the two or more corresponding sensor pixels (Taamazyan, fig. 1A, par [0045, 0047-0048]).
Claims 23 and 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taamazyan (US 2023/0007161 to Taamazyan et al) in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 23, Taamazyan discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Taamazyan discloses:
the image sensor (image sensor 15) is coupled to the light modulation layer (combination of mask 16, polarizer 18, and imaging optics 20) (Taamazyan, fig. 1a).
However, Taamazyan does not disclose
the image sensor is coupled to the light modulation layer through one of direct dielectric bonds.
On the other hand, Official Notice (MPEP § 2144.03) is taken that both the concepts and advantages of the image sensor being coupled to the light modulation layer through one of direct dielectric bonds as claimed are well known and expected in the art. At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the image sensor being coupled to the light modulation layer through one of direct dielectric bonds into the device by Taamazyan because such implementation provides high-density interconnects or superior electrical connections.
Regarding claim 84, Taamazyan discloses aforementioned limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Skorka discloses:
the cmos sensor (cmos image sensor) is included to the light modulation (combination of mask 16, polarizer 18, and imaging optics 20) (Taamazyan, fig. 1a).
However, Taamazyan does not disclose
the CMOS sensor is directly bonded to the LC pixel array through direct dielectric bonds or hybrid bonds formed therebetween.
On the other hand, Official Notice (MPEP § 2144.03) is taken that both the concepts and advantages of the CMOS sensor being directly bonded to the LC pixel array through direct dielectric bonds or hybrid bonds formed therebetween as claimed are well known and expected in the art. At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the CMOS sensor being directly bonded to the LC pixel array through direct dielectric bonds or hybrid bonds formed therebetween into the device by Taamazyan because such implementation provides high-density interconnects or superior electrical connections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19, 55, 77-79, and 83 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious, in combination with other claim limitations, the claim language of “determine, using a motion prediction model based on the sensor data corresponding to the one or more stored frames, a predicted transparency mask; and apply the predicted transparency mask to the light modulation layer for capturing a subsequent frame.”
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious, in combination with other claim limitations, the claim language of “ determine, using a motion prediction model based on the sensor data corresponding to the one or more stored frames, a predicted transparency mask; and reconstruct sensor data without a transparency mask based on the sensor data corresponding to the one or more stored frames, wherein the predicted transparency mask is determined based on the sensor data without the transparency mask.”
Regarding claim 19, the claim is objected to as being dependent on claim 17.
Regarding claim 55, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious, in combination with other claim limitations, the claim language of “the LC pixel array is further configured to determine, using a motion prediction model based on the sensor data corresponding to the one or more stored frames, a predicted transparency mask.”
Regarding claim 77, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious, in combination with other claim limitations, the claim language of “the two or more sensor pixels of the image sensor have respective exposure levels; and wherein the control circuitry is configured to modify pixel attributes of the LC device pixel corresponding to the two or more sensor pixels based on a highest exposure level of the respective exposure levels.”
Regarding claim 78, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious, in combination with other claim limitations, the claim language of “one or more LC device pixels of the plurality of LC device pixels has a different pixel size than one or more sensor pixels of the image sensor; at least one sensor pixel of the one or more sensor pixels has a first pixel size; the LC device pixel has a second pixel size that is about the same or greater than the first pixel size; and the LC device pixel having the second pixel size modulates exposure of the at least one sensor pixel having the first pixel size.”
Regarding claim 79, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious, in combination with other claim limitations, the claim language of “the control circuitry is configured to: store, in the memory cache, sensor data corresponding to one or more frames captured at the image sensor; and determine, using a motion prediction model based on the stored sensor data corresponding to the one or more stored frames, a predicted transparency mask.”
Regarding claim 83, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious, in combination with other claim limitations, the claim language of “the LC pixel array is configured to modify pixel attributes of the LC pixel corresponding to the two or more sensor pixels based on a highest exposure level of the respective exposure levels.”
Claims 31, 32, 45, 80-82 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 31, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious, in combination with other claim limitations, the claim language of “identifying, based on the sensor data, one or more of an overexposed region or an underexposed region at the image sensor, wherein the one or more overexposed region or underexposed region correspond to a subset of the image sensor, and wherein the subset of the image sensor does not include the image sensor; in response to identifying the one or more overexposed region or underexposed region: computing a transparency mask based on the one or more overexposed region or underexposed region, wherein the transparency mask corresponds to pixel attributes of a subset of the plurality of LC device pixels, and wherein the subset of the plurality of LC device pixels does not include the plurality of LC device pixels; and applying, via the control circuitry, the transparency mask to the light modulation layer by modifying the pixel attributes of the subset of the plurality of LC device pixels disposed over the one or more overexposed region or underexposed region.”
Regarding claims 32, 45, 80-82, the claims are allowed as being dependent on claim 31.
Conclusion
/TUAN H LE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638