Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lacko (US 20220340254 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lacko teaches a hollow dorsal fin (“This airfoil 26 may be configured as a wing, a vane, a fin […]” Par. [0042] lines 5-6) for an aircraft, comprising: an interior of the hollow dorsal fin that defines a compartment (Fig 1 “hollow body” element 32); at least one fixedly-connected portion configured to be fixedly connected to a fuselage of the aircraft (Fig. 1 elements 34A/B are configured to be fixed to the fuselage) such that the at least one fixedly-connected portion cannot be removed from the fuselage without expectation of damaging the aircraft or the at least one fixedly-connected portion (Fig. 1 elements 34A/B are configured to be welded/fixed to the fuselage); and at least one releasably-connected portion configured to be selectively releasably connected to a fuselage of the aircraft such that the at least one releasably-connected portion is able to be removed from the fuselage and later reconnected to the fuselage without damaging the aircraft or the at least one releasably-connected portion (Fig. 1 elements 34A/B are configured to be releasably connected to the fuselage; “The airfoil mount 36, for example, may be mechanically fastened to the aircraft assembly base 22 using one or more fasteners 124,” Par. [0074] lines 12-14).
Regarding Claim 3, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the hollow dorsal fin comprises first, second, and third portions; the first and second (Fig. 11 elements 80) portions are configured to be fixedly connected to the fuselage of the aircraft; and the third portion (Fig. 11 elements 34A and 34B) comprises the compartment and is configured to be selectively releasably connected to the fuselage of the aircraft and is located between the first portion and the second portion.
Regarding Claim 4, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 3 and further discloses a first seal between the first portion and the third portion; and a second seal between the second portion and the third portion; wherein the first and second seals are weatherproof (“may be attached (e.g., bonded) together using bonding material such as resin or any other adhesive, and/or joined via a sealant material” Par. [0066] lines 5-6).
Regarding Claim 5, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 3 and further discloses a fastener configured to fixedly connect the first and second portions of the hollow dorsal fin to the fuselage of the aircraft (Fig. 1 elements 124).
Regarding Claim 6, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 3 and further discloses the first and second portions of the hollow dorsal fin are not transmissive to radiofrequency electromagnetic radiation (“Each segment mount 80, for example, may be constructed from metal such as, but not limited to, aluminum (Al)” Par. [0077] lines 3-5).
Regarding Claim 7, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses a fastener configured to selectively releasably connect the at least a portion of the hollow dorsal fin to the fuselage of the aircraft (Fig. 1 elements 124).
Claim(s) 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lacko (US 20220340254 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Lacko teaches a hollow dorsal fin for an aircraft (“This airfoil 26 may be configured as a wing, a vane, a fin […]” Par. [0042] lines 5-6), comprising: a compartment in an interior of at least a portion of the hollow dorsal fin (Fig 1 “hollow body” element 32); an opening configured to provide access to the compartment; and a removable cover configured to (i) cover the opening and (ii) be removed from the opening and later re-cover the opening without damage to the hollow dorsal fin (Fig. 1 cover elements 34A and 34B separate to form opening; are removable).
Regarding Claim 9, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 8 and further discloses the hollow dorsal fin is not transmissive to electromagnetic radiation in the visible range (Fig. 1 element 26 is not visibly transparent).
Regarding Claim 10, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 8 and further discloses the at least a portion of the hollow dorsal fin is made of a radome material (“The airfoil body 32 and its airfoil segments 34 may be constructed substantially (or only) from the non-metallic and/or dielectric material(s)” Par. [0075] lines 1-3; Dielectric materials are known to be radome material).
Regarding Claim 11, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 8 and further discloses the at least a portion of the hollow dorsal fin is transmissive to radiofrequency electromagnetic radiation (“The airfoil body 32 and its airfoil segments 34 may be constructed substantially (or only) from the non-metallic and/or dielectric material(s)” Par. [0075] lines 1-3; Radomes are known to be made from dielectric materials).
Regarding Claim 12, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 8 and further discloses the compartment comprises one or more of: at least one divider; at least one stringer; or at least one frame (Fig. 1 elements 60 and 80).
Regarding Claim 13, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 12 and further discloses the one or more of the at least one divider, the at least one stringer, or the at least one frame is transmissive to radiofrequency electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 11 elements 60 are made from dielectric material).
Regarding Claim 14, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 12 and further discloses the compartment comprises the at least one divider; and the at least one divider is not transmissive to radiofrequency electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 11 elements 80 made from metallic material).
Regarding Claim 15, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 8 and further discloses the hollow dorsal fin comprises mounting equipment positioned inside the compartment; and the mounting equipment is configured to mount electrical equipment inside the compartment (Fig. 11 element 30).
Claim(s) 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lacko (US 20220340254 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Lacko teaches a method for providing a hollow dorsal fin on an aircraft (“This airfoil 26 may be configured as a wing, a vane, a fin […]” Par. [0042] lines 5-6), the method comprising: releasably connecting the hollow dorsal fin to a fuselage of the aircraft (Fig. 1 elements 124); wherein the hollow dorsal fin comprises an interior that defines a compartment (Fig 1 “hollow body” element 32); at least one fixedly-connected portion configured to be fixedly connected to a fuselage of the aircraft (Fig. 1 elements 34A/B are configured to be fixed to the fuselage) such that the at least one fixedly-connected portion cannot be removed from the fuselage without expectation of damaging the aircraft or the at least one fixedly-connected portion (Fig. 1 elements 34A/B are configured to be welded/fixed to the fuselage); at least one releasably-connected portion configured to be selectively releasably connected to the fuselage of the aircraft such that the at least one releasably- connected portion is able to be removed from the fuselage and later reconnected to the fuselage without damaging the aircraft or the at least one releasably-connected portion (Fig. 1 elements 34A/B are configured to be releasably connected to the fuselage; “The airfoil mount 36, for example, may be mechanically fastened to the aircraft assembly base 22 using one or more fasteners 124,” Par. [0074] lines 12-14).
Regarding Claim 18, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 16 and further discloses removing the at least a portion of the hollow dorsal fin from the fuselage of the aircraft; installing electrical equipment on the fuselage of the aircraft; and releasably reconnecting the at least a portion of the hollow dorsal fin to the fuselage of the aircraft such that the electrical equipment is within the compartment (“to facilitate placement of the electric device 30 within the airfoil system 24 during assembly, the airfoil 26 may be configured with a segmented (e.g., clamshell-like) construction” Par. [0044] lines 12-15).
Claim(s) 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lacko (US 20220340254 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Lacko teaches an aircraft comprising: a fuselage (Fig. 1 element 22); a hollow dorsal fin releasably connected to the fuselage (“This airfoil 26 may be configured as a wing, a vane, a fin […]” Par. [0042] lines 5-6), wherein the hollow dorsal fin comprises an interior that defines a compartment (Fig 1 “hollow body” element 32); at least one fixedly-connected portion configured to be fixedly connected to a fuselage of the aircraft (Fig. 1 elements 34A/B are configured to be fixed to the fuselage) such that the at least one fixedly-connected portion cannot be removed from the fuselage without expectation of damaging the aircraft or the at least one fixedly-connected portion (Fig. 1 elements 34A/B are configured to be welded/fixed to the fuselage); at least one releasably-connected portion of the hollow dorsal fin configured to be selectively releasably connected to the fuselage of the aircraft such that the at least one releasably- connected portion is able to be removed from the fuselage and later reconnected to the fuselage without damaging the aircraft or the at least one releasably-connected portion (Fig. 1 elements 34A/B are configured to be releasably connected to the fuselage; “The airfoil mount 36, for example, may be mechanically fastened to the aircraft assembly base 22 using one or more fasteners 124,” Par. [0074] lines 12-14); and electrical equipment positioned inside the compartment (Fig. 1 element 30).
Regarding Claim 21, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 20 and further discloses a conduit configured to be connected to the electrical equipment, the conduit configured to provide a connection between the compartment and an interior of the fuselage of the aircraft (Fig. 1 line to element 28 shows the connection between element 30 and the aircraft electronic system).
Regarding Claim 22, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 20 and further discloses the electrical equipment comprises one or more of: an antenna; or a sensor (“This electric device 30 may be configured as or otherwise include an antenna such as, but not limited to, a VHF antenna. The electric device 30 may also or alternatively be configured as or otherwise include a sensor such as, but not limited to, a prognostics and health management (PHM) sensor” Par. [0043] lines 6-11).
Regarding Claim 23, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 20 and further discloses the hollow dorsal fin comprises first, second, and third portions; the first and second portions (Fig. 11 elements 80) are configured to be fixedly connected to the fuselage of the aircraft; and the third portion (Fig. 11 elements 34A and 34B) comprises the compartment and is configured to be selectively releasably connected to the fuselage of the aircraft and is located between the first portion and the second portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacko (US 20220340254 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Lacko teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 16.
Lacko fails to explicitly teach before releasably connecting the hollow dorsal fin to the fuselage of the aircraft, removing a fixed dorsal fin from the fuselage of the aircraft.
However, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Lacko to have the step of removing a previous dorsal fin before connecting the new dorsal fin, if there is a dorsal fin being replaced. Doing so is known in the art as aerodynamic structures are known to be replaced and replacing an aerodynamic structure requires the removal of the previous structure.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacko (US 20220340254 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Lacko teaches a method of installing electrical equipment (Fig. 1 element 30) on an aircraft, the method comprising: providing a hollow dorsal fin comprising; an interior that defines a compartment (Fig 1 “hollow body” element 32); an opening configured to provide access to the compartment (Fig 1 “hollow body” element 32); and a cover configured to (i) cover the opening and (ii) be removed from the opening and later re-cover the opening without damage to the hollow dorsal fin (Fig. 1 cover elements 34A and 34B separate to form opening; are removable); connecting the hollow dorsal fin to the fuselage of the aircraft; and installing electrical equipment on the fuselage of the aircraft such that the electrical equipment is within the compartment (“to facilitate placement of the electric device 30 within the airfoil system 24 during assembly, the airfoil 26 may be configured with a segmented (e.g., clamshell-like) construction” Par. [0044] lines 12-15).
Lacko fails to explicitly teach removing a fixed dorsal fin from a fuselage of the aircraft.
However, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Lacko to have the step of removing a previous dorsal fin before connecting the new dorsal fin, if there is a dorsal fin being replaced. Doing so is known in the art as aerodynamic structures are known to be replaced and replacing an aerodynamic structure requires the removal of the previous structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that the portions of the cited reference, Lacko do are not configured to be fixedly/releasably connected respectively. The examiner respectfully disagrees as there is a mechanical connection with fasteners, which shows releasable connection. Regarding the fixed connection, there is a physical connection between the fuselage surface and the fixed portion surface, therefore the portion is configured to be welded. The examiner restates that as the portions are capable of being welded together, the portion is configured to be fixedly connected.
Conclusion
/E.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/Nicholas McFall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644