Detailed Action
Drawing Objection
The drawings are objected to because the figures do not provide the parallel arrangement of a dummy strip in the first region. Figure 5 shows a dummy strip (Fig. 5: 106) in the second region (Fig. 5: 120) that is parallel to the conductive track (104) but not Claim 3’s parallel dummy track in the claimed first region (160) of Claim 1. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “receive mechanical pressure from a moulding insert during manufacture” which is unclear as the dummy track is in the first region which is claimed as having no moulding compound. The moulding insert seems to be a separate element not structurally claimed. Examiner looks to the specification where two dummy tracks are cited (Fig. 5: 106 in the second encapsulated region 120 & 110 in the first region). Examiner interprets the claimed dummy track as element 110 as it is the only dummy track in the first region 160. The moulding insert is then interpreted as element (fig. 2: 312). The insert 312 structurally described as a removable insert for covering the first region for preventing moulding compound ingress when encapsulating the second region [0029] [0120-0121].
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the dummy track comprises at least one strip parallel to the direction of the conductive line” where the orientation of the strip is unclear as to which edge or dimension of the “strip” is parallel to “the direction of the conductive line” and where the location of a dummy track strip is in the second region 120 which is further unclear as claim 1 requires dummy strips to be in at least the first region 160.
Claim 4 dependent on claim 1 refers to “one strip” without defining the structure or function of the “one strip” element in claims 1 or 4. Examiner looks to the specification [0014] &[0097] where “one strip” refers to the shape of dummy strip Fig. 5: 110.
Claim 4 uses exemplary language of “for example arranged perpendicular to the conductive line” which is unclear as to whether the structure is required as it is not distinctly claimed.
All dependent claims are rejected for their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (US 20150330820: “Sakuma”) in view of Hunziker (US 20200182661: “Hunziker”).
Claim 1. Sakuma discloses a sensor package (Fig. 1)[0031: a thermal type fluid flow sensor is described, but the invention can be similarly applied to other sensors encapsulated by a mold resin having an opening, for example, a humidity sensor and a pressure sensor] comprising: an active element (1) comprising a first region (Fig. 1: 3) and a second region (Fig. 1: 2 area below section 3 without overlap) opposite to the first region (3) (Fig. 1: 3 at top and 2 at bottom which are opposing), wherein the first region (3) comprises a sensing structure [0034: The air flow metering unit 3 is provided with a diaphragm structure 7 having removed the back surface of a semiconductor substrate], and the second region (Fig. 1: 2 excluding overlap with 3) comprises at least one contact pad (8b where 9 contacts 8b)[0034] a moulding compound (10) encapsulating the second region (2 area not overlapping 3)[0047-0048], wherein the first region (3) of the active element (1) is free from moulding compound (10) 0034: The sensor element 2 is covered with a mold resin 10, except for a portion of the air flow metering unit 3, and a stress absorbing layer 6 is formed through an insulating film between the end of the mold resin 10 and the wiring 4 of the air flow metering unit 3], the active element (1) comprising at least one conductive line (4 & 5) for routing signals [0034: The wiring 4 is supplied with a power source from the outside through the electrode 5 and external terminal 8a to output a heater temperature and a sensor signal to the outside] from the sensing structure [0034: The air flow metering unit 3 is provided with a diaphragm structure 7 having removed the back surface of a semiconductor substrate] of the first region (3) to the at least one contact (8b) of the second region (2) [0034: the electrode 5 and an external terminal 8b of the lead frame are connected to each other through a wire bonding 9], the active element (1) comprising an external surface (18) wherein the projection of the at least one conductive line (4 & 5) over the active element (1) corresponds to a portion of said external surface (18) (Fig. 5: conductive line 5 and 6 on top of layer 18), wherein the active element (1) further comprises at least one dummy track (6 stress absorbing layer) [0034] providing a protrusion (6) thereby raising a portion of the surface (18) of the active element (1) [0034] & [0043] to at least the same height as the portion corresponding to the conductive line (Fig. 15: 6 & 5 shown at same height) so as to receive mechanical pressure from a moulding insert (Fig. 8: 22) during manufacture [0047], the dummy track (6) extending along at least the first region (3) (Fig. 15)[0034] [0047]. Sakuma does not disclose the contact (8b) is a contact pad. Specifically, Sakauma does not explicitly disclose:
an active element comprising at least one conductive line for routing signals from the sensing structure of the first region to the at least one contact pad of the second region.
Hunziker teaches a sensor package comprises a sensor chip (3) with a sensitive element (31) exposed to an environment of the sensor package, and contact pads (2) for electrically contacting the sensor package [Abstract]. Hunziker further teaches an active element (Fig. 1) comprising at least one conductive line (2 & 5) for routing signals from the sensing structure (31)[0062] of the first region to the at least one contact pad (2) of the second region (6) [Abstract] [0061-0062] & [0064].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hunziker’s contact pads for connecting sensor electrical connections to an external connection pad as Sakuma’s external terminals because contact pads are space efficient and increase the reliability of electrical connection with secure embedded bond pads on the contact pads [Hunziker 0009].
Claim 2. Dependent on the sensor package in accordance with claim 1. Sakuma further discloses the conductive line (4 & 5) and the dummy track (6) are covered by a protective layer (29) thereby forming layer stacks [0054: By forming the cover layer 29, not only can the stress absorbing layer 6 be prevented from suffering corrosion, but also the adhesion of the mold resin 10 and the stress absorbing layer 6 can be further improved].
Claim 3. Dependent on the sensor package in accordance with claim 1. Sakuma further discloses the dummy track (6) comprises at least one strip parallel to the direction of the conductive line (4 & 5) (Fig. 2: track 6 is a square aligned 23with conductive lines 4 & 5 therefore parallel).
Claim 4. Dependent on the sensor package in accordance with claim 1. Sakuma further discloses at least one strip arranged to prevent ingress of moulding compound (10) into the hollows formed by the insert (22 & 23) and the protrusion of the dummy track (6), for example arranged perpendicular to the conductive line (Fig. 8: 6 prevents molding fluid from entering conductive lines 4 & 5 and is perpendicular to 4)[0051].
Claim 5. Dependent on the sensor package in accordance with claim 1. Sakuma further discloses a pressure sensor package (Fig. 1)[0031: a thermal type fluid flow sensor is described, but the invention can be similarly applied to other sensors encapsulated by a mold resin having an opening, for example, a humidity sensor and a pressure sensor].
Claims 8. Sakuma discloses a method of providing a sensor package [0031: a thermal type fluid flow sensor is described, but the invention can be similarly applied to other sensors encapsulated by a mold resin having an opening, for example, a humidity sensor and a pressure sensor] the method comprising: providing an active element (1) comprising a first region (3) comprising a sensing structure [0034: The air flow metering unit 3 is provided with a diaphragm structure 7 having removed the back surface of a semiconductor substrate], and a second region (Fig. 1: 2 area below section 3 without overlap) being opposite to the first region (3) (Fig. 1: 3 at top and 2 at bottom which are opposing), the second region (Fig. 1: 2 area below section 3 without overlap) comprising at least one contact (8b) [0034: the electrode 5 and an external terminal 8b of the lead frame are connected to each other through a wire bonding 9], and at least one conductive line (4 & 5) wherein the projection of the conductive line (4 & 5) on the active element (1) corresponds to a portion of an external surface (18) of the active element (1)[0050], for routing signals [0034: the wiring 4 is supplied with a power source from the outside through the electrode 5 and external terminal 8a to output a heater temperature and a sensor signal to the outside] from the sensing element (3) to the at least one contact (8b)[0044], providing an insert (22 & 23) covering the first region (3), forming a package (21-23) by providing a moulding compound (10) for covering the second region (2) including a portion of the at least one conductive line (4 & 5), wherein the insert (22 & 23) impedes moulding compound (10) from reaching at least the first region (3)[0045], so that the active element (1) extends between an open volume (above 3) and a packaged volume (10) encapsulated by moulding compound (10)[0045], the method further comprising providing at least one dummy track (Figs. 2, 8 & 15: 6) extending along at least the first region (Fig. 15: 3) of the active element (1)[0043] & [0047], wherein the at least one dummy track (6) rises the surface (18) of the active element (1) at least to the same height as the portion of the external surface (18) (Figs. 2, 8 & 15: same height for 6 and 5) corresponding to the conductive line (4 & 5), for protecting the active element (1) from damages [0051] by reducing pressure of the insert (22-23) onto the conductive lines (4 & 5) (Fig. 15)[0034] [0048]. Sakuma does not disclose the contact (8b) is a contact pad. Specifically, Sakauma does not explicitly disclose:
an active element comprising at least one conductive line for routing signals from the sensing structure of the first region to the at least one contact pad of the second region.
Hunziker teaches a sensor package comprises a sensor chip (3) with a sensitive element (31) exposed to an environment of the sensor package, and contact pads (2) for electrically contacting the sensor package [Abstract]. Hunziker further teaches an active element (Fig. 1) comprising at least one conductive line (2 & 5) for routing signals from the sensing structure (31)[0062] of the first region to the at least one contact pad (2) of the second region (6) [Abstract] [0061-0062] & [0064].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hunziker’s contact pads for connecting sensor electrical connections to an external connection pad as Sakuma’s external terminals because contact pads are space efficient and increase the reliability of electrical connection with secure embedded bond pads on the contact pads [Hunziker 0009].
Claim 9. Dependent on the method of the previous claim 8. Sakuma further discloses providing at least one conductive line (4 & 5) comprises providing at least one conductive track (4, 5, 9 & 8b)[0034], further wherein providing at least one dummy track (6) comprises providing the at least one dummy track (6) simultaneously with providing at least one conductive line (4 & 5) being a conductive track (4, 5, 9 & 8b)[0034].
Claim 10. Dependent on the method of claim 8. Sakuma further discloses providing the at least one dummy track (6) comprises providing contact between the insert (22 & 23) and the dummy track (6) and to reduce or to avoid contact between the insert (22 & 23) and the conductive line (4 & 5)[0051].
Sakuma, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
providing the at least one dummy track comprises providing at least one track higher than the at least one conductive line.
The changing of size of a dummy track is a design choice. Since such a modification would have involved mere change in the size of a component a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a taller sized dummy track as Sakuma’s, as modified, dummy track because increasing the height increases the area of the dummy track to compress and absorb shock for larger loading conditions.
Claim 11. Dependent on the method of the previous claim 10. Sakuma further discloses providing an additional layer (29), wherein the additional layer (29) allows rising the height of the at least one dummy track (6), the conductive line (4 & 5) being provided outside the additional layer (Fig. 14 & 15: additional layer ends 29 and conductive layer 5 extends beyond layer 29).
Claim 12. Dependent on the method of claim 8. Sakuma further discloses providing at least one further structure (22 & 23) arranged for blocking moulding compound (10) from infiltrating the first region (3)[0045].
Claim 14. Dependent on the method of claim 8. Sakuma further discloses providing a protective layer (29) over the conductive line (4 & 5) and the dummy track (6)[0045].
Claims 6-7 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma and Hunziker in view of Otte (US 20200072692: “Otte”).
Claim 6. Dependent on the sensor package in accordance with the previous claim 5. Sakuma, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the sensing structure comprises a membrane and a plurality of piezo-resistors.
Otte teaches a sensing structure that is a pressure sensor device comprises a device package (110) arranged to define a cavity (116) having an opening for fluid communication with an internal volume thereof [Abstract]. Otte further teaches the sensing structure (100) comprises a membrane (106) and a plurality of piezo-resistors [0037: The substrate 100 can be formed from any suitable material, for example silicon or glass. For some applications, use of a silicon substrate is advantageous, because silicon has desirable mechanical properties and/or permits integration of piezo resistors with the silicon substrate will allowing isolation thereof within the crystalline structure of the silicon].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Otte’s piezo-resistive pressure sensing membrane structure as Sakuma’s, pressure sensor because a metal membrane with piezoresistive sensing provides a reliable and sturdy structure capable of sensing in a highly pressure dynamic environment [Otte 0004].
Claim 7. Dependent on the sensor package in accordance with claim 1. Sakuma, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the first region of the active element protrudes from the moulding compound thereby being in a cantilever position.
Otte teaches a sensing structure that is a pressure sensor device comprises a device package (110) arranged to define a cavity (116) having an opening for fluid communication with an internal volume thereof [Abstract]. Otte further teaches the sensing structure (100) comprises a membrane (106) and a plurality of piezo-resistors [0037: The substrate 100 can be formed from any suitable material, for example silicon or glass. For some applications, use of a silicon substrate is advantageous, because silicon has desirable mechanical properties and/or permits integration of piezo resistors with the silicon substrate will allowing isolation thereof within the crystalline structure of the silicon] and the first region of the active element (116) protrudes [0025] from the moulding compound (120) thereby being in a cantilever position (122) [0043].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Otte’s piezoresitive pressure sensing cantilevered membrane structure as Sakuma’s, pressure sensor because a cantilevered metal membrane with piezoresistive sensing provides a highly pressure sensitive structure with a cantilever while providing reliable and sturdy membrane and piezo-resistive sensing in a highly pressure dynamic environment [Otte 0004].
Claim 13. Dependent on the method of claim 8. Sakuma further teaches the insert (22 & 23) impedes moulding compound (10) from reaching at least the first region (3)[0045]. Sakuma further discloses forming the package (21-23) comprises providing a moulding compound (10) for covering second region (2). Sakuma, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the active element forms a cantilever protruding from the moulding compound.
Otte teaches a sensing structure that is a pressure sensor device comprises a device package (110) arranged to define a cavity (116) having an opening for fluid communication with an internal volume thereof [Abstract]. Otte further teaches the active element (100) comprises a a cantilever (122) protruding from the moulding compound (120) [0037: The substrate 100 can be formed from any suitable material, for example silicon or glass. For some applications, use of a silicon substrate is advantageous, because silicon has desirable mechanical properties and/or permits integration of piezo resistors with the silicon substrate will allowing isolation thereof within the crystalline structure of the silicon] & [0043].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Otte’s piezo-resistive pressure sensing cantilevered membrane structure as Sakuma’s, pressure sensor because a cantilevered metal membrane with piezoresistive sensing provides a highly pressure sensitive structure with a cantilever while providing reliable and sturdy membrane and piezo-resistive sensing in a highly pressure dynamic environment [Otte 0004].
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Monica S Young whose telephone number is (303)297-4785. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 08:30-05:30 MST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855