DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in regards to application # 18/541,613 that was filed on 12/15/2023. Claims 1-18 are currently pending and are under examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to clearly show elements 290,292, and 122 as described in the specification. All the above elements seem to indicate the same structure. A clearly visible structure for each elements is required. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites ‘a hollow wingtip device for an aircraft’ without positively claiming the aircraft in line 1. In line 3-4, the hollow wingtip device is tied to the aircraft. It is not clear to the examiner if the aircraft are part of the claim or not. Appropriate correction/clarification required.
Claim 12 recites “a method for providing a hollow wingtip device to a wing of an aircraft”’ without positively claiming the aircraft in line 1. In line 3, 5-6, the hollow wingtip device is tied to the aircraft. It is not clear to the examiner if the aircraft are part of the claim or not. Appropriate correction/clarification required.
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are rejected under the same rational as the rejection of claim 1 and 12 solely due to their dependency from the rejected claims 1 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-9, and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hazen (US 2015/0042521).
Regarding Claim 1, Hazen discloses a hollow wingtip device (202, Fig. 2) for an aircraft (105, Fig. 1), comprising: an interior of the hollow wingtip device that defines a compartment (202, Fig. 2-3, para. [0017], provide enclosure); wherein the hollow wingtip device (202)is configured to be selectively releasably connected to a wing of the aircraft (para. [0035], releasably connected via mounting features).
Regarding Claim 2, Hazen discloses a hollow wingtip device (202, Fig. 2) for an aircraft (105, Fig. 1) comprising: a fastener configured to selectively releasably connect the hollow wingtip device to the wing of the aircraft (para. [0035], releasably connected via mounting features).
Regarding Claim 4, Hazen discloses a hollow wingtip device (202, Fig. 2) for an aircraft (105, Fig. 1) comprising: a compartment in an interior of the hollow wingtip device(202, Fig. 2-3, para. [0017], provide enclosure) with an antenna ((305, Fig. 3, para. [0024]); an opening configured to provide access to the compartment; and a cover (215, Fig. 2) configured to cover the opening (para. [0023], ‘…an inboard edge of the inboard region 215 may have a plate that is configured to be attached to the wing…’).
Regarding Claim 6, Hazen discloses a hollow wingtip device (202, Fig. 2) for an aircraft (105, Fig. 1) wherein the hollow wingtip device is a radome (202, Fig. 2; abstract, para. [0021]).
Regarding Claim 7, Hazen discloses a hollow wingtip device (202, Fig. 2) for an aircraft (105, Fig. 1) wherein the hollow wingtip device is transmissive to radiofrequency electromagnetic radiation. (para. [0017], ‘…can allow it to send and receive a variety of signals, including radio waves,…’).
Regarding Claim 8, Hazen discloses a hollow wingtip device (202, Fig. 2) for an aircraft (105, Fig. 1) wherein the compartment comprises one or more of: at least one divider; at least one stringer; or at least one frame (Para. [0026], Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Hazen discloses a hollow wingtip device (202, Fig. 2) for an aircraft (105, Fig. 1) wherein the one or more of the at least one divider, the at least one stringer, or the at least one frame is transmissive to radiofrequency electromagnetic radiation (para. [0017]).
Regarding Claim 11, Hazen discloses a hollow wingtip device (202, Fig. 2) for an aircraft (105, Fig. 1) wherein: the hollow wingtip device comprises mounting equipment positioned inside the compartment; and the mounting equipment is for electrical equipment (para. [0026], ‘…printed circuit board (PCB) element 405…’; ‘…fasteners, such as screws,…’)).
Regarding Claim 12, Hazen discloses a method for providing a hollow wingtip device (202, Fig. 2) on an aircraft(105, Fig. 1), the method comprising: releasably connecting the hollow wingtip device (202) to a wing of the aircraft (105); wherein the hollow wingtip device comprises an interior that defines a compartment (202, Fig. 2-3, para. [0017], provide enclosure), the hollow wingtip device configured to be selectively releasably connected to the wing of the aircraft(para. [0035], releasably connected via mounting features).
Regarding Claim 13, Hazen discloses a method for providing a hollow wingtip device (202, Fig. 2) on an aircraft(105, Fig. 1) comprising: before releasably connecting the hollow wingtip device to the wing of the aircraft(para. [0035], releasably connected via mounting features), removing a fixed wingtip device from the wing of the aircraft (it’s inherent that if it is removably connected, the fixed wingtip device would be removeable from the wing, and potentially be replaced, para. [0035]).
Regarding Claim 14, as best understood and broadly interpreted, Hazen discloses a method for providing a hollow wingtip device (202, Fig. 2) on an aircraft(105, Fig. 1) comprising: removing the hollow wingtip device from the wing of the aircraft(it’s inherent that if it is removably connected, the fixed wingtip device would be removeable from the wing, and potentially be replaced, para. [0035], Fig. 5); installing electrical equipment (305, Fig. 4; Fig. 3) on the wing of the aircraft; and releasably reconnecting the hollow wingtip device to the wing of the aircraft such that the electrical equipment is within the compartment (Fig. 2, Fig. 4, Fig. 5; 305 is between 505 and 510, Para. [0032]).
Regarding Claim 15, as best understood and broadly interpreted, Hazen discloses a method of installing electrical equipment(305, Fig. 4; Fig. 3) on an aircraft(105, Fig. 1), the method comprising: removing a fixed wingtip device from a wing of the aircraft(it’s inherent that if it is removably connected, the fixed wingtip device would be removeable from the wing, and potentially be replaced, para. [0035]); providing a hollow wingtip device(202, Fig. 2) comprising an interior that defines a compartment(para. [0017], provide enclosure), the hollow wingtip device (202) configured to be selectively releasably connected to the wing of the aircraft(para. [0035]); installing the electrical equipment (305, Fig. 4; Fig. 3) on the wing (110, Fig. 1) of the aircraft; and releasably connecting the hollow wingtip device (para. [0035]) to the wing of the aircraft such that the electrical equipment (305, Fig. 3) is within the compartment.
Regarding Claim 16, Hazen discloses an aircraft (105, Fig. 1)comprising: a wing (110, Fig. 1); a hollow wingtip device(202, Fig. 2) releasably connected to the wing(para. [0035], releasably connected via mounting features), wherein the hollow wingtip device (202) comprises an interior that defines a compartment (para. [0017], provide enclosure), the hollow wingtip device (202) configured to be selectively releasably connected to the wing of the aircraft (para. [0035]); and electrical equipment (305, Fig. 4; Fig. 3) positioned inside the compartment(Fig. 2, Fig. 4, Fig. 5; 305 is between 505 and 510, Para. [0032]).
Regarding Claim 17, Hazen discloses an aircraft (105, Fig. 1) comprising: a conduit (417/410, Fig. 4) configured to be connected to the electrical equipment, wherein the conduit is configured to provide a connection between the compartment and an interior of the aircraft (para. [0024], para. [0030]).
Regarding Claim 18, Hazen discloses an aircraft (105, Fig. 1) wherein the electrical equipment comprises one or more of an antenna (305, Fig. 3, para. [0024]); or a sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hazen (US 2015/0042521) in view of Dennison et al. (US2014/0077029)
Regarding Claim 3, Hazen is silent, but Dennison in the same area of endeavor teaches a wingtip device comprising: a seal configured to be positioned between the hollow wingtip device and the wing of the aircraft, wherein the seal is weatherproof (Figs. 7, 9, 11; para. [0029], ‘…weatherproof seals 229a and 229b between inboard edges of horizontal airfoils 213a and 213b and outer skin of tailboom 209….’, Fig).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hollow wingtip device disclosed in Hazen with the weatherproof seal taught in Dennison with a reasonable expectation of success because it prevents water, dust, foreign debris, and/or moisture from interring interior portion of the hollow wingtip device..
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hazen (US 2015/0042521) in view of Leinweber et al. (US 6,184,842).
Regarding Claim 5, Hazen discloses hollow wingtip device wherein the hollow wingtip device is transmissive to electromagnetic radiation (para. [0017], ‘…can allow it to send and receive a variety of signals, including radio waves,…’), but silent to disclose not transmissive to electromagnetic radiation in the visible range.
Leinweber in the same area of endeavor teaches an aircraft radar radome device that specifically not transmissive to electromagnetic radiation in the visible range (abstract, claim 1, col. 2, line 29-37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hollow wingtip device disclosed in Hazen not transmit the visible range electromagnetic radiation as taught in Leinweber with a reasonable expectation of success because it creates smart wingtip device that look black but are transparent to the needed radio frequencies, enhancing stealth and improving sensor function (less glare), offering dual benefits of camouflage/stealth and signal integrity for the aircraft's own radar/communications.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hazen (US 2015/0042521) in view of Sauer et al. (US 2011/0122033).
Regarding Claims 8 and 10, Hazen is silent, but Sauer in the same area of endeavor teaches an aircraft antenna device comprising at least one divider (‘….plates or layer…’, para. [0006]) wherein the at least one divider; and the at least one divider is not transmissive to radiofrequency electromagnetic radiation (para. [0006], “…, the antenna typically includes plates or layers that close out the antenna and prevent passage of radio frequency signals, so that the signal can be emitted in the desired direction, rather than radiating out in all directions”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antenna compartment of hollow wingtip device disclosed in Hazen with the radiofrequency electromagnetic radiation blocking divider/surface taught in Sauer with a reasonable expectation of success because it allows the radiofrequency signals to be emitted in the desired direction, rather than radiating out in all directions (Sauer, para. [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lacko (US 2022/0340253) discloses an airfoil system is provided that includes an airfoil and an electric device. The airfoil includes a first exterior surface, a second exterior surface, a first airfoil segment and a second airfoil segment attached to the first airfoil segment. The airfoil extends widthwise between the first exterior surface and the second exterior surface. The first airfoil segment forms the first exterior surface. The second airfoil segment forms the second exterior surface. The electric device is embedded within the airfoil between the first airfoil segment and the second airfoil segment .
Assres H. Woldemaryam
Primary Examiner (Aeronautics and Astronautics)
Art Unit 3642
/ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642