DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11, 12, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20200313441) in view of Takashima (US 20250167696).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a vehicle (paragraph [0030] discloses a vehicle) comprising:
bidirectional power factor correction circuitry having line and neutral terminals configured to be connected with an AC source (figure 6 shows a bidirectional power factor correction circuit, item 520 PFC circuit having line and neutral terminals connected to an AC source);
an isolated DC/DC converter connected between the bidirectional power factor correction circuitry and traction battery (figure 6 shows an isolated DCDC converter item 531 connected between PFC and battery. Paragraph [0012] discloses wherein the battery may be connected to the output of the DCDC circuit).
Yang does not explicitly teach a traction battery having positive and negative terminals and a midpoint; a plurality of switches configured to selectively connect the positive and negative terminals directly to the line terminals and the midpoint directly to the neutral terminal.
Takashima teaches wherein a traction battery having positive and negative terminals and a midpoint (figure 1 shows a battery items 31 and 32 having positive and negative terminals and a midpoint);
a plurality of switches configured to selectively connect the positive and negative terminals directly to the line terminals and the midpoint directly to the neutral terminal (figure 1 shows a plurality of switches items SMRH, 40, 50, 60, SMRL directly connected to the positive and negative terminals and the midpoint terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang reference with the charging system of the Takashima reference so that the batteries may be charged efficiently regardless of whether the external charger has a charging voltage of 400V or 800V
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Takashima reference in paragraph [0003] wherein the batteries may be charged efficiently regardless of the type of charger.
Yang figures 6 and 7A show a PFC circuit and a DCDC circuit.
Takshima figure 1 shows a battery items 31 and 32 with a midpoint
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the bidirectional power factor correction circuitry is a bidirectional totem pole power factor correction circuit (figures 6 and 7 show a totem-pole power factor correction circuit).
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the isolated DC/DC converter is a three port isolated DC/DC converter (figure 6 and 7A show a three port isolated DCDC converter).
Regarding claim 7, Yang teaches the vehicle of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach further comprising a controller programmed to, responsive to the line and neutral terminals being connected with an AC source, disconnect the positive and negative terminals from the line terminals and the midpoint from the neutral terminal.
Takashima teaches comprising a controller programmed to, responsive to the line and neutral terminals being connected with an AC source, disconnect the positive and negative terminals from the line terminals and the midpoint from the neutral terminal (figure 1 shows a controller 100 defined in paragraph [0066] which is programmed to connect and disconnect the switches).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang reference with the charging system of the Takashima reference so that the batteries may be charged efficiently regardless of whether the external charger has a charging voltage of 400V or 800V
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Takashima reference in paragraph [0003] wherein the batteries may be charged efficiently regardless of the type of charger.
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches a method comprising:
after disconnecting line and neutral terminals associated with bidirectional power factor correction circuitry of a vehicle from an AC source (figure 6 shows a bidirectional power factor correction circuit, item 520 PFC circuit having line and neutral terminals connected to an AC source),
power flows from the traction battery through the bidirectional power factor correction circuitry to an isolated DC/DC converter connected between the bidirectional power factor correction circuitry and traction battery (figure 6 shows an isolated DCDC converter item 531 connected between PFC and battery. Paragraph [0012] discloses wherein the battery may be connected to the output of the DCDC circuit).
Yang does not explicitly teach directly connecting the line terminals to positive and negative terminals of a traction battery of the vehicle and the neutral terminal to a midpoint of the traction battery.
Takashima teaches directly connecting the line terminals to positive and negative terminals of a traction battery of the vehicle and the neutral terminal to a midpoint of the traction battery (figure 1 shows a battery items 31 and 32 having positive and negative terminals and a midpoint. Figure 1 shows a plurality of switches items SMRH, 40, 50, 60, SMRL directly connected to the positive and negative terminals and the midpoint terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang reference with the charging system of the Takashima reference so that the batteries may be charged efficiently regardless of whether the external charger has a charging voltage of 400V or 800V
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Takashima reference in paragraph [0003] wherein the batteries may be charged efficiently regardless of the type of charger.
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches the method of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach further comprising disconnecting the line terminals from the positive and negative terminals and the neutral terminal from the midpoint such that power from the AC source when connected with the line and neutral terminals flows through the bidirectional power factor correction circuitry and isolated DC/DC converter to charge the traction battery.
Takashima teaches disconnecting the line terminals from the positive and negative terminals and the neutral terminal from the midpoint such that power from the AC source when connected with the line and neutral terminals flows through the bidirectional power factor correction circuitry and isolated DC/DC converter to charge the traction battery (figure 1 shows a plurality of switches items SMRH, 40, 50, 60, SMRL directly connected to the positive and negative terminals and the midpoint terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang reference with the charging system of the Takashima reference so that the batteries may be charged efficiently regardless of whether the external charger has a charging voltage of 400V or 800V
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Takashima reference in paragraph [0003] wherein the batteries may be charged efficiently regardless of the type of charger.
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches an automotive power system (shown figures 5 – 7 and paragraph [0030] discloses a vehicle) comprising:
bidirectional power factor correction circuitry having line and neutral terminals configured to be connected with an AC source (figure 6 shows a bidirectional power factor correction circuit, item 520 PFC circuit having line and neutral terminals connected to an AC source)
an isolated DC/DC converter connected between the bidirectional power factor correction circuitry and traction battery (figure 6 shows an isolated DCDC converter item 531 connected between PFC and battery. Paragraph [0012] discloses wherein the battery may be connected to the output of the DCDC circuit).
Yang does not explicitly teach a traction battery having positive and negative terminals and a midpoint; a controller programmed to, during a drive mode, connect the positive and negative terminals directly to the line terminals and the midpoint directly to the neutral terminal such that power from the traction battery flows through the bidirectional power factor correction circuitry and to the isolated DC/DC converter.
Takashima teaches a traction battery having positive and negative terminals and a midpoint (figure 1 shows a battery items 31 and 32 having positive and negative terminals and a midpoint); a controller programmed to, during a drive mode, connect the positive and negative terminals directly to the line terminals and the midpoint directly to the neutral terminal such that power from the traction battery flows through the bidirectional power factor correction circuitry and to the isolated DC/DC converter (figure 1 shows a plurality of switches items SMRH, 40, 50, 60, SMRL directly connected to the positive and negative terminals and the midpoint terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang reference with the charging system of the Takashima reference so that the batteries may be charged efficiently regardless of whether the external charger has a charging voltage of 400V or 800V
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Takashima reference in paragraph [0003] wherein the batteries may be charged efficiently regardless of the type of charger.
Regarding claim 12, Yang teaches the automotive power system of claim 11, but does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further programmed to, during a charge mode, disconnect the positive and negative terminals from the line terminals and the midpoint from the neutral terminal such that power from an AC source flows through the bidirectional power factor correction circuitry and isolated DC/DC converter to charge the traction battery.
Takashima teaches wherein the controller is further programmed to, during a charge mode, disconnect the positive and negative terminals from the line terminals and the midpoint from the neutral terminal such that power from an AC source flows through the bidirectional power factor correction circuitry and isolated DC/DC converter to charge the traction battery (figure 1 shows a plurality of switches items SMRH, 40, 50, 60, SMRL directly connected to the positive and negative terminals and the midpoint terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang reference with the charging system of the Takashima reference so that the batteries may be charged efficiently regardless of whether the external charger has a charging voltage of 400V or 800V
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Takashima reference in paragraph [0003] wherein the batteries may be charged efficiently regardless of the type of charger.
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches the automotive power system of claim 11, wherein the bidirectional power factor correction circuitry is a bidirectional totem pole power factor correction circuit (figures 6 and 7A show bidirectional totem pole power factor correction circuit).
Regarding claim 16, Yang teaches the automotive power system of claim 11, wherein the isolated DC/DC converter is a three port isolated DC/DC converter (figures 6 and 7A show wherein the isolated DCDC converter is a three port isolated DCDC converter).
Claims 4-6, 10, 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yang (US 20200313441) in view of Takashima (US 20250167696) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Khaligh (US 20210155100).
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Takashima teach the vehicle of claim 3, but do not explicitly teach further comprising an auxiliary battery connected with the three port isolated DC/DC converter.
Khaligh teaches further comprising an auxiliary battery connected with the three port isolated DC/DC converter (shown in figure 13 an auxiliary battery, item LV battery connected with the three port isolated DCDC converter. Paragraph [0182] discloses wherein DCDC converter may be isolated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang and Takashima references with the charging system of the Khaligh reference so that charging time within the batteries is reduced.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khaligh reference in paragraph [0024] wherein charging time is reduced.
Khaligh figure 13 shows a rectifier magnetically coupled to the transformer item 14 of the DCDC converter
Regarding claim 5, Yang in view of Takashima teach the vehicle of claim 4, but do not explicitly teach wherein the three port isolated DC/DC converter includes a transformer and a rectifier magnetically coupled with the transformer.
Khaligh teaches wherein the three port isolated DC/DC converter includes a transformer and a rectifier magnetically coupled with the transformer (figures 10 – 13 show wherein the DCDC converter includes a transformer and a rectifier magnetically coupled with the transformer. Paragraph [0182] discloses wherein the DCDC converter may be isolated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang and Takashima references with the charging system of the Khaligh reference so that charging time within the batteries is reduced.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khaligh reference in paragraph [0024] wherein charging time is reduced.
Regarding claim 6, Yang in view of Takashima teaches the vehicle of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein the three port isolated DC/DC converter is configured to selectively transfer power from the auxiliary battery to the traction battery.
Khaligh teaches wherein the three port isolated DC/DC converter is configured to selectively transfer power from the auxiliary battery to the traction battery (paragraphs [0004]- [0005] and [0038] discloses wherein the auxiliary battery, LV battery, may selectively transfer power to the traction battery or the HV battery as the charging is exchanged between the two batteries. Paragraph [0182] discloses wherein the DCDC converter may be isolated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang and Takashima references with the charging system of the Khaligh reference so that charging time within the batteries is reduced.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khaligh reference in paragraph [0024] wherein charging time is reduced.
Regarding claim 10, Yang in view of Takashima teach the method of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach further comprising operating the isolated DC/DC converter to transfer power from an auxiliary battery connected with the isolated DC/DC converter to the traction battery.
Khaligh teaches comprising operating the isolated DC/DC converter to transfer power from an auxiliary battery connected with the isolated DC/DC converter to the traction battery (shown in figure 13 an auxiliary battery, item LV battery connected with the three port isolated DCDC converter. Paragraph [0182] discloses wherein the DCDC converter may be isolated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang and Takashima references with the charging system of the Khaligh reference so that charging time within the batteries is reduced.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khaligh reference in paragraph [0024] wherein charging time is reduced.
Regarding claim 13, Yang in view of Takashima teach the automotive power system of claim 11, but does not explicitly teach further comprising an auxiliary battery connected with the isolated DC/DC converter.
Khaligh teaches further comprising an auxiliary battery connected with the isolated DC/DC converter (shown in figure 13 an auxiliary battery, item LV battery connected with the three port isolated DCDC converter. Paragraph [0182] discloses wherein the DCDC converter may be isolated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang and Takashima references with the charging system of the Khaligh reference so that charging time within the batteries is reduced.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khaligh reference in paragraph [0024] wherein charging time is reduced.
Regarding claim 14, Yang in view of Takashima teach the automotive power system of claim 13, but do not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further programmed to operate the isolated DC/DC converter to transfer power from the auxiliary battery to the traction battery.
Khaligh teaches teach wherein the controller is further programmed to operate the isolated DC/DC converter to transfer power from the auxiliary battery to the traction battery (shown in figure 13 an auxiliary battery, item LV battery connected with the three port isolated DCDC converter. Paragraph [0182] discloses wherein the DCDC converter may be isolated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang and Takashima references with the charging system of the Khaligh reference so that charging time within the batteries is reduced.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khaligh reference in paragraph [0024] wherein charging time is reduced.
Regarding claim 17, Yang in view of Takashima teach the automotive power system of claim 16, but do not explicitly teach wherein the three port isolated DC/DC converter includes a transformer and a rectifier magnetically coupled with the transformer.
Khaligh teaches wherein the three port isolated DC/DC converter includes a transformer and a rectifier magnetically coupled with the transformer (figures 10 – 13 show wherein the DCDC converter includes a transformer and a rectifier magnetically coupled with the transformer. Paragraph [0182] discloses wherein the DCDC converter may be isolated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Yang and Takashima references with the charging system of the Khaligh reference so that charging time within the batteries is reduced.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Khaligh reference in paragraph [0024] wherein charging time is reduced.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20260109244 A1 Multi-Port Charger Choi; Se Wan
Us 20250042279 A1 Power Conversion Device Choi; Min Seong Et Al.
Us 12049148 B2 Dual-Purpose Drive And Charger Fu; Tianjun Et Al.
Us 20250178467 A1 Charging Electric Vehicle Jang; Jin-Su
Us 20240048083 A1 Power Conversion Apparatus Kazaoka; Ryoya
Us 20250206190 A1 Power Conversion Device Kurachi; Taisuke Et Al.
Us 10971998 B2 Charging Apparatus For Electric Vehicle Kim; Jongpil Et Al.
Us 20200280190 A1 On-Board Bidirectional AC Fast Charger Lehn; Peter Et Al.
Us 20250196676 A1 OBC Control Method Lee; Sang Youn Et Al.
Us 20240154422 A1 Power Conversion Park; Sung Uk Et Al.
Us 20240317087 A1 Transformerless OBC Device For EV Schafmeister; Frank
Us 20210155104 A1 Bi-Directional Power Conversion Skutt; Glenn Et Al.
Us 20200298722 A1 Integrated Charging System For An EV Smolenaers; Stefan
Us 20140191720 A1 Charging System Sugiyama; Yoshinobu Et Al.
Us 20220355686 A1 Energy Conversion Device Teng; Jingcui Et Al.
Us 20210408889 A1 Multibridge Power Converter Zhu; Huibin Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859