Status of Application
The Amendments and Remarks filed on 08/06/26 are acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 13 were amended.
New claims 15-20 were added.
Claims 7-12 and 14 were previously withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-6, 13, and 15-20 are included in the prosecution.
Applicants’ request for rejoinder of the withdrawn claims based on MPEP 821.04 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of the certified English translation of the foreign priority document BE 2022/6030, which was submitted on 08/06/26.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Objection to the Specification
In light of the amendment of the Specification, the objection to the disclosure is withdrawn.
Claim Objection(s)
In light of the amendment of claim 4, the objection to this claim is withdrawn. However, new claim objections are presented below.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Notice for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 13 are again rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anastasiou et al. (US 2013/0216649 A1 – “Anastasiou”).
Instant claim 1 is drawn to a composition in the form of a thermoformed extrudate in any suitable form allowing administration to an animal or a human being, the composition comprising at least one natural or synthetic N-alkylamide as active substance and at least one support of natural origin chosen from the group consisting of amino acids, peptides, polypeptides, proteins, saccharides, lipids, their derivatives and their mixtures, wherein the composition exhibits a higher solubility and/or dispersion of the at least one natural or synthetic N-alkylamide than the solubility and/or dispersion of said N-alkylamide in isolation.
Anastasiou teaches a chewing gum composition comprising spilanthol, which is a natural N-alkylamide (Abstract, [0009], claims 1-18). Maltodextrin having a dextrose equivalent (DE) between 10 and 18, and mixtures thereof with hydrogenated starch hydrolysates, can be used as the matrix carriers of the extruded spilanthol-containing component in powder form ([0040], Example 1 – [0159], TABLE 1). The mixture of components is formed into the desired final shape by employing conventional techniques, e.g., extruded ([0161]).
Regarding instant claims 1 and 2, the limitations of a composition in the form of a thermoformed extrudate in any suitable form allowing administration to an animal or a human being is anticipated by the extruded chewing gum composition ([0161]), as taught by Anastasiou.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 2-3, the limitations of at least one natural or synthetic N-alkylamide as active substance are anticipated by the spilanthol, which is a natural N-alkylamide (Abstract, [0009], [0040], Example 1 – [0159], TABLE 1, claims 1-18), as taught by Anastasiou.
Regarding instant claim 1, the limitation of at least one support of natural origin chosen from the group consisting of amino acids, peptides, polypeptides, proteins, saccharides, lipids, their derivatives and their mixtures is anticipated by the maltodextrin ([0040], [0059]), monosaccharides, disaccharides, polysaccharides, sugar alcohols, and polydextrose ([0059]), as taught by Anastasiou.
Regarding instant claim 1, the newly added limitation of the composition exhibiting a higher solubility and/or dispersion of the at least one natural or synthetic N-alkylamide than the solubility and/or dispersion of said N-alkylamide in isolation is anticipated by the extruded chewing gum composition ([0161]), spilanthol, which is a natural N-alkylamide (Abstract, [0009], [0040], Example 1 – [0159], TABLE 1, claims 1-18), and the maltodextrin ([0040], [0059]), monosaccharides, disaccharides, polysaccharides, sugar alcohols, and polydextrose ([0059]), as taught by Anastasiou. The recited limitation of a higher solubility and/or dispersion is a property associated with the composition and is inseparable from it. Instant claim 1 does not recite any structural features such as specific N-alkylamide, support of natural origin or their corresponding concentrations to distinguish over the thermoformed extrudate containing spilanthol as well as maltodextrin, monosaccharides, disaccharides, polysaccharides, sugar alcohols and polydextrose which are taught by Anastasiou. Please see MPEP 2112.01. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990.) The burden is shifted to Applicant to show that the prior art product does not possess or render obvious the same properties as the instantly claimed product.
Regarding instant claim 4, the limitation of at least one plasticizing agent is anticipated by the plasticizers including lanolin, palmitic acid, etc., ([0055], [0062], [0064]), as taught by Anastasiou.
Regarding instant claim 5, the limitation of at least one additive is anticipated by the surfactant ([0064], [0143]), antioxidants ([0054], [0070], [0123], [0139]), and chelating agent ([0064], [0143]), as taught by Anastasiou.
Regarding instant claim 6, the limitation of at least one first additional compound of polyphenol type is anticipated by the polyphenols and flavonoids ([0140]), as taught by Anastasiou.
Regarding instant claim 13, the limitation of any suitable form allowing administration to an animal or a human being is anticipated by the extruded chewing gum composition ([0161]), as taught by Anastasiou. The limitation of “for use in preventive and/or curative treatment …” denotes a future-intended use and thus, does not accord patentable weight to the claims. The recited intended use does not alter the structure of the claimed composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (Pages 9-10, filed 08/06/26) with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anastasiou have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Anastasiou does not teach a composition with spilanthol having a higher solubility and/or dispersion than spilanthol in isolation.
This is not persuasive because, as explained above, the recited limitation of a higher solubility and/or dispersion is a property associated with the composition and is inseparable from it. Instant claim 1 does not recite any structural features such as specific N-alkylamide, support of natural origin or their corresponding concentrations to distinguish over the thermoformed extrudate containing spilanthol as well as maltodextrin, monosaccharides, disaccharides, polysaccharides, sugar alcohols and polydextrose taught by Anastasiou. Please see MPEP 2112.01. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990.) The burden is shifted to Applicant to show that the prior art product does not possess or render obvious the same properties as the instantly claimed product.
Moreover, the instant specification shows that the higher solubility and/or dispersion is achieved with a specific natural or synthetic N-alkylamide and a specific support of natural origin at specific concentrations. Example 2 a) uses 180 mg of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) ([0177]) and b) uses 180 mg of oleoylethanolamide (OEA) ([0183]). Figure 1 shows the dispersion and solubility for inventive compositions containing PEA that are greater than control ([0180]); and Figure 2 shows the dispersion and solubility for inventive compositions containing OEA that are greater than control ([0186]). However, instant claim 1 does not recite a specific N-alkylamide or support of natural origin or their corresponding concentrations to distinguish over the thermoformed extrudate taught by Anastasiou.
Therefore, the rejection of 05/06/26 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is again rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anastasiou et al. (US 2013/0216649 A1 – “Anastasiou”), as applied to claims 1-6 and 13 above, in view of Taglienti et al. (US 2020/0046759 A1 – “Taglienti”).
The elected species of natural or synthetic N-alkylamide is palmitoylethanolamide.
The teaching of Anastasiou is discussed above.
Although Anastasiou teaches spilanthol, which is a natural N-alkylamide (Abstract, [0009], claims 1-18), Anastasiou does not expressly teach the elected species of palmitoylethanolamide.
Taglienti teaches a sustained-release matrix prepared by melt-extrusion techniques ([0151], [0169]), wherein the active ingredient includes palmitoylethanolamide ([0158]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare a thermoformed extrudate which is an extruded chewing gum composition that contains a natural N-alkylamide, i.e., spilanthol, as taught by Anastasiou, substitute the spilanthol with palmitoylethanolamide, as taught by Taglienti, and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because both references teach extruded products containing natural N-alkylamides. The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. Please see MPEP 2141(III)(B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use various N-alkylamides based on the desired therapy of the composition, including those taught by Anastasiou and Taglienti. One of ordinary skill in the art would also have been motivated to use the palmitoylethanolamide of Taglienti because this reference teaches that this N-alkylamide is a cannabinoid receptor agonist ([0158]).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding instant claim 3, the limitation of the elected species of palmitoylethanolamide would have been obvious over the palmitoylethanolamide ([0158]), as taught by Taglienti.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (Page 10, filed 08/06/26) with respect to the rejection of claim 3 under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Anastasiou in view of Taglienti have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Taglienti does not teach a composition with palmitoylethanolamide having a higher solubility and/or dispersion than palmitoylethanolamide in isolation. Thus, Taglienti, like Anastasiou, does not describe a composition exhibiting a higher solubility and/or dispersion of at least one natural or synthetic N-alkylamide than the solubility and/or dispersion of said N-alkylamide in isolation.”
This is not persuasive because, as explained above, the recited limitation of a higher solubility and/or dispersion is a property associated with the composition and is inseparable from it. Please see MPEP 2112.01. The instant specification shows that the higher solubility and/or dispersion is achieved with a specific natural or synthetic N-alkylamide and a specific support of natural origin at specific concentrations. Example 2 a) uses 180 mg of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) ([0177]) and b) uses 180 mg of oleoylethanolamide (OEA) ([0183]). Figure 1 shows the dispersion and solubility for inventive compositions containing PEA that are greater than control ([0180]); and Figure 2 shows the dispersion and solubility for inventive compositions containing OEA that are greater than control ([0186]). However, instant claims do not recite a specific N-alkylamide or support of natural origin or their corresponding concentrations to distinguish over the thermoformed extrudate taught by Anastasiou. Please see MPEP 2145. Furthermore, MPEP 716.02(d) states: “Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.””
Therefore, the rejection of 05/06/26 is maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
An updated prior art search did not uncover references which teach the subject matter recited in claims 15-20. Therefore, claims 15-20 contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Claims 17-20 are allowable. Claims 15-16 are objected to. Claims 1-6 and 13 are rejected. Claims 7-12 and 14 are withdrawn.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARADHANA SASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615