DETAILED ACTION
Request of Continued Examination
This action is in response to applicant’s Request of Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 07/15/2026 on amendments/arguments filed on 07/15/2026. Claims 2, 10 and 18 have been canceled. Claims 1, 9 and 17 have been amended. Currently, claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, 19 and 20 are pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claims 1, 9 and 17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledvina et al. (US 20190297457 A1) in view of Lang et al. (US 20200383056 A1), and in further view of Foster et al. (US 20190039570 A1).
Consider claim 1, Ledvina discloses a method comprising (read as the pairing and authentication method performed by a mobile device and a vehicle, par [0047]):
transmitting, by a computing device, one or more wireless advertisement signals at a first rate (read as the mobile device (i.e. computing device) transmitting a wireless BTLE advertisement signal at its own rate (i.e. a first rate), which the vehicle detects during a scan,, par [0048]);
receiving, by the computing device, one or more wireless signals emitted from a remote device (read as vehicle (i.e. remote device) RF antennas 401-403 sending wireless signals to mobile device 410, whose RF antennas receive and measure the vehicle signals; figures 4 and 8, par [0044] and [0082])
determining, by the computing device and based on a signal strength of the one or more wireless signals received from the remote device, a distance between the computing device and the remote device (read as mobile device 410 determining its distance from vehicle RF antennas 401-403 using RSSI, which is the signal strength of the received vehicle signals; RF antennas 401-403 are on vehicle 420, thus the determined distance is between the mobile device and the vehicle, figure 4, par [0044]);
determining, by the computing device, whether the distance satisfies a threshold distance (read as mobile device using RF signals that indicate the measured distance to determine whether the mobile device has reached a location within a threshold distance; figure 7, par [0074]); and
prior to establishing a connection with the remote device, transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals, wherein the one or more wireless advertisement signals identify the computing device to the remote device (read a mobile device transmitting a BTLE advertisement or beacon signal that the vehicle detects during a scan to begin pairing or localization; further discloses advertisement detection and establishment of a BTLE connection as separate localization triggers, so the localization triggered by the advertisement is available before the connection is established; the vehicle detects the advertisement from the mobile device to initiate pairing or localization which identifies the advertising mobile device to the vehicle for discovery, par [0048] and [0128]); and
subsequent to transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals, receiving, by the computing device, a random value from the remote device (read as the advertisement from the mobile device would cause pairing and that authentication follows pairing; the mobile device receiving and analyzing the signal transmitted by vehicle that contains a random value, encrypting the random value and returning it so the vehicle authenticates the mobile device, par [0047]-[0048] and [0126]-[0127]).
However, Ledvina discloses the claimed invention above with BTLE advertisement signal at its own rate and distance determination by the mobile device that includes the threshold distance (par [0044], [0048] and [0074]) but does not specifically disclose transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals at a first rate and responsive to determining the distance satisfies the threshold distance, transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals at a second rate greater the first rate.
Nonetheless, Lang discloses dynamic advertisement rate control, which access control 16 advertising at a nominal slow rate of once every five seconds and changing the advertiser to a fast rate of 32 times a second when mobile device 12 move within a predetermined distance; the scan require and response exchange does not require an active connection, so the fast advertisements occur before an active connection, figures 7-9 and [0055]-[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lang into the teachings of Ledvina, to configure Ledvina’s mobile device BTLE advertiser using Lang’s nominal to fast advertisement rate control technique, in order to reduce the vehicle discovery and connection delay near the vehicle without continuously operating the mobile advertiser at the first rate (see par [0004] and [0057] of Lang).
However. Ledvina, as modified by Lang, discloses the claimed invention above with authentication (par [0047]-[0048] and [0126]-[0127]) but does not specifically disclose a request for authentication information from the remote device to enable a protected function of the remote device.
Nonetheless, Foster discloses a vehicle authentication request sequence, in which vehicle 102 requesting biometric authentication information from mobile computing device 104; after mobile computing device 104 sends its second communication, it receives from vehicle 102 a notification requesting fingerprint authorization and the response is required before vehicle operation or is used to grant vehicle access, which are protected vehicle functions, figure 4, par [0057], [0075] and [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Foster into the teachings of Ledvina, which modified Lang, to configure vehicle authentication process using Foster’s vehicle authentication request technique, in order to reduce unauthorized vehicle access or operation by confirming the user carrying the mobile device before enabling those protected functions (see par [0003] and [0029 of Foster).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Ledvina, as modified by Lang and Foster, discloses wherein the one or more wireless advertisement signals are transmitted with a first radio of the computing device and the one or more wireless signals are received with a second radio of the computing device (read as a Bluetooth transmitter radio of the wireless circuity 1308 for transmitting the BTLE advertisement signal to the vehicle, and a separate UWB component receiver radio of the wireless circuity 130 for receiving the signals from the vehicle, par [0044]-[0049] and [0053]-[0054]).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, Ledvina, as modified by Lang and Foster, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first radio is a lower power radio than the second radio.
Nonetheless, Foster discloses using a Bluetooth LE hardware device in a first low power pass and switch to a higher power UWB hardware device in a second pass to improve accuracy, par [0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Foster into the teachings of Ledvina, which modified Lang and Foster, to configure Ledvina’s Bluetooth LE advertisement component/transmitter and UWB ranging components using Foster’s lower power Bluetooth LE and higher power UWB allocation technique, in order to reduce power consumption during recurring Bluetooth LE advertisement operation while retaining high-accuracy UWB ranging when needed for vehicle access (see par [0034] of Foster).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Ledvina, as modified by Lang and Foster, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first rate has a transmission interval of between 1 second and 2 seconds.
Nonetheless, Lang further discloses selectable advertisement rates/modes at one advertisement per second and one advertisement every two seconds; the advertisement rate is an adjustable operating parameter and identifies the associated trade-off between connection response and battery use, par [0003]-[0004] and [0049]-[0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lang into the teachings of Ledvina, which modified Lang and Foster, to configure Ledvina’s BTLE advertiser using Lang’s selectable advertisement rates/modes of one advertisement per second and one advertisement every two seconds, in order to balance the vehicle’s wait for the next advertisement against energy consumed by recurring advertisement transmission (see par [0049]-[0050] of Lang).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 7 above, Ledvina, as modified by Lang and Foster, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second rate has a transmission interval of between 50 milliseconds and 700 milliseconds to reduce a latency at which the remote device identifies the computing device relative to the first rate.
Nonetheless, Lang discloses the fast mode of four (4) advertisement per second, corresponding to a 250 millisecond transmission interval within 50 milliseconds and 700 milliseconds; the advertisement rate controls the listener’s wait for the next advertisement and the time required to connect, so the 250 millisecond intervale reduces the wait for the advertisement detection and connection relative to the one or two second first interval/rate, par [0003]-[0004], [0049]-[0050] and [0057].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lang into the teachings of Ledvina, which modified Lang and Foster, to configure second advertisement rate using Lang’s four advertisement per second technique, in order to shorten the vehicle’s wait for the next advertisement identifying the mobile device and reduce discovery latency relative to the first rate (see par [0004], [0050] and [0057] of Lang).
Consider claim 9, Ledvina discloses a computing device (read as the mobile device, par [0047] and [0132]) comprising:
a memory that stores instructions; and one or more processors that execute the instructions to (read as one or more processors 1318 communicate with computer-readable medium 1302 via a controller 1320, computer-readable medium 1302 can be any device or medium that can store code and/or data for use by one or more processors 1318, medium 1302 can include a memory hierarchy, including cache, main memory and secondary memory, figure 13, par [0136]):
transmit one or more wireless advertisement signals at a first rate (read as the mobile device (i.e. computing device) transmitting a wireless BTLE advertisement signal at its own rate (i.e. a first rate), which the vehicle detects during a scan,, par [0048]);
receive one or more wireless signals emitted from a remote device (read as vehicle (i.e. remote device) RF antennas 401-403 sending wireless signals to mobile device 410, whose RF antennas receive and measure the vehicle signals; figures 4 and 8, par [0044] and [0082])
determine based on a signal strength of the one or more wireless signals received from the remote device, a distance between the computing device and the remote device (read as mobile device 410 determining its distance from vehicle RF antennas 401-403 using RSSI, which is the signal strength of the received vehicle signals; RF antennas 401-403 are on vehicle 420, thus the determined distance is between the mobile device and the vehicle, figure 4, par [0044]);
determine whether the distance satisfies a threshold distance (read as mobile device using RF signals that indicate the measured distance to determine whether the mobile device has reached a location within a threshold distance; figure 7, par [0074]); and
prior to establishing a connection with the remote device, transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals, wherein the one or more wireless advertisement signals identify the computing device to the remote device (read a mobile device transmitting a BTLE advertisement or beacon signal that the vehicle detects during a scan to begin pairing or localization; further discloses advertisement detection and establishment of a BTLE connection as separate localization triggers, so the localization triggered by the advertisement is available before the connection is established; the vehicle detects the advertisement from the mobile device to initiate pairing or localization which identifies the advertising mobile device to the vehicle for discovery, par [0048] and [0128]); and
subsequent to transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals, receiving, by the computing device, a random value from the remote device (read as the advertisement from the mobile device would cause pairing and that authentication follows pairing; the mobile device receiving and analyzing the signal transmitted by vehicle that contains a random value, encrypting the random value and returning it so the vehicle authenticates the mobile device, par [0047]-[0048] and [0126]-[0127]).
However, Ledvina discloses the claimed invention above with BTLE advertisement signal at its own rate and distance determination by the mobile device that includes the threshold distance (par [0044], [0048] and [0074]) but does not specifically disclose transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals at a first rate and responsive to determining the distance satisfies the threshold distance, transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals at a second rate greater the first rate.
Nonetheless, Lang discloses dynamic advertisement rate control, which access control 16 advertising at a nominal slow rate of once every five seconds and changing the advertiser to a fast rate of 32 times a second when mobile device 12 move within a predetermined distance; the scan require and response exchange does not require an active connection, so the fast advertisements occur before an active connection, figures 7-9 and [0055]-[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lang into the teachings of Ledvina, to configure Ledvina’s mobile device BTLE advertiser using Lang’s nominal to fast advertisement rate control technique, in order to reduce the vehicle discovery and connection delay near the vehicle without continuously operating the mobile advertiser at the first rate (see par [0004] and [0057] of Lang).
However. Ledvina, as modified by Lang, discloses the claimed invention above with authentication (par [0047]-[0048] and [0126]-[0127]) but does not specifically disclose a request for authentication information from the remote device to enable a protected function of the remote device.
Nonetheless, Foster discloses a vehicle authentication request sequence, in which vehicle 102 requesting biometric authentication information from mobile computing device 104; after mobile computing device 104 sends its second communication, it receives from vehicle 102 a notification requesting fingerprint authorization and the response is required before vehicle operation or is used to grant vehicle access, which are protected vehicle functions, figure 4, par [0057], [0075] and [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Foster into the teachings of Ledvina, which modified Lang, to configure vehicle authentication process using Foster’s vehicle authentication request technique, in order to reduce unauthorized vehicle access or operation by confirming the user carrying the mobile device before enabling those protected functions (see par [0003] and [0029 of Foster).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 9 above, Ledvina, as modified by Lang and Foster, discloses wherein the one or more wireless advertisement signals are transmitted with a first radio of the computing device and the one or more wireless signals are received with a second radio of the computing device (read as a Bluetooth transmitter radio of the wireless circuity 1308 for transmitting the BTLE advertisement signal to the vehicle, and a separate UWB component receiver radio of the wireless circuity 130 for receiving the signals from the vehicle, par [0044]-[0049] and [0053]-[0054]).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 13 above, Ledvina, as modified by Lang and Foster, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first radio is a lower power radio than the second radio.
Nonetheless, Foster discloses using a Bluetooth LE hardware device in a first low power pass and switch to a higher power UWB hardware device in a second pass to improve accuracy, par [0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Foster into the teachings of Ledvina, which modified Lang and Foster, to configure Ledvina’s Bluetooth LE advertisement component/transmitter and UWB ranging components using Foster’s lower power Bluetooth LE and higher power UWB allocation technique, in order to reduce power consumption during recurring Bluetooth LE advertisement operation while retaining high-accuracy UWB ranging when needed for vehicle access (see par [0034] of Foster).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 9 above, Ledvina, as modified by Lang and Foster, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first rate has a transmission interval of between 1 second and 2 seconds.
Nonetheless, Lang further discloses selectable advertisement rates/modes at one advertisement per second and one advertisement every two seconds; the advertisement rate is an adjustable operating parameter and identifies the associated trade-off between connection response and battery use, par [0003]-[0004] and [0049]-[0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lang into the teachings of Ledvina, which modified Lang and Foster, to configure Ledvina’s BTLE advertiser using Lang’s selectable advertisement rates/modes of one advertisement per second and one advertisement every two seconds, in order to balance the vehicle’s wait for the next advertisement against energy consumed by recurring advertisement transmission (see par [0049]-[0050] of Lang).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Ledvina, as modified by Lang and Foster, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second rate has a transmission interval of between 50 milliseconds and 700 milliseconds to reduce a latency at which the remote device identifies the computing device relative to the first rate.
Nonetheless, Lang discloses the fast mode of four (4) advertisement per second, corresponding to a 250 millisecond transmission interval within 50 milliseconds and 700 milliseconds; the advertisement rate controls the listener’s wait for the next advertisement and the time required to connect, so the 250 millisecond intervale reduces the wait for the advertisement detection and connection relative to the one or two second first interval/rate, par [0003]-[0004], [0049]-[0050] and [0057].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lang into the teachings of Ledvina, which modified Lang and Foster, to configure second advertisement rate using Lang’s four advertisement per second technique, in order to shorten the vehicle’s wait for the next advertisement identifying the mobile device and reduce discovery latency relative to the first rate (see par [0004], [0050] and [0057] of Lang).
Consider claim 17, Ledvina discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, that when executed by one or more processors of a computing system, cause the one or more processors to (read as one or more processors 1318 communicate with computer-readable medium 1302 via a controller 1320, computer-readable medium 1302 can be any device or medium that can store code and/or data for use by one or more processors 1318, medium 1302 can include a memory hierarchy, including cache, main memory and secondary memory, figure 13, par [0136]):
transmit one or more wireless advertisement signals at a first rate (read as the mobile device (i.e. computing device) transmitting a wireless BTLE advertisement signal at its own rate (i.e. a first rate), which the vehicle detects during a scan,, par [0048]);
receive one or more wireless signals emitted from a remote device (read as vehicle (i.e. remote device) RF antennas 401-403 sending wireless signals to mobile device 410, whose RF antennas receive and measure the vehicle signals; figures 4 and 8, par [0044] and [0082])
determine based on a signal strength of the one or more wireless signals received from the remote device, a distance between the computing device and the remote device (read as mobile device 410 determining its distance from vehicle RF antennas 401-403 using RSSI, which is the signal strength of the received vehicle signals; RF antennas 401-403 are on vehicle 420, thus the determined distance is between the mobile device and the vehicle, figure 4, par [0044]);
determine whether the distance satisfies a threshold distance (read as mobile device using RF signals that indicate the measured distance to determine whether the mobile device has reached a location within a threshold distance; figure 7, par [0074]); and
prior to establishing a connection with the remote device, transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals, wherein the one or more wireless advertisement signals identify the computing device to the remote device (read a mobile device transmitting a BTLE advertisement or beacon signal that the vehicle detects during a scan to begin pairing or localization; further discloses advertisement detection and establishment of a BTLE connection as separate localization triggers, so the localization triggered by the advertisement is available before the connection is established; the vehicle detects the advertisement from the mobile device to initiate pairing or localization which identifies the advertising mobile device to the vehicle for discovery, par [0048] and [0128]); and
subsequent to transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals, receiving, by the computing device, a random value from the remote device (read as the advertisement from the mobile device would cause pairing and that authentication follows pairing; the mobile device receiving and analyzing the signal transmitted by vehicle that contains a random value, encrypting the random value and returning it so the vehicle authenticates the mobile device, par [0047]-[0048] and [0126]-[0127]).
However, Ledvina discloses the claimed invention above with BTLE advertisement signal at its own rate and distance determination by the mobile device that includes the threshold distance (par [0044], [0048] and [0074]) but does not specifically disclose transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals at a first rate and responsive to determining the distance satisfies the threshold distance, transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals at a second rate greater the first rate.
Nonetheless, Lang discloses dynamic advertisement rate control, which access control 16 advertising at a nominal slow rate of once every five seconds and changing the advertiser to a fast rate of 32 times a second when mobile device 12 move within a predetermined distance; the scan require and response exchange does not require an active connection, so the fast advertisements occur before an active connection, figures 7-9 and [0055]-[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lang into the teachings of Ledvina, to configure Ledvina’s mobile device BTLE advertiser using Lang’s nominal to fast advertisement rate control technique, in order to reduce the vehicle discovery and connection delay near the vehicle without continuously operating the mobile advertiser at the first rate (see par [0004] and [0057] of Lang).
However. Ledvina, as modified by Lang, discloses the claimed invention above with authentication (par [0047]-[0048] and [0126]-[0127]) but does not specifically disclose a request for authentication information from the remote device to enable a protected function of the remote device.
Nonetheless, Foster discloses a vehicle authentication request sequence, in which vehicle 102 requesting biometric authentication information from mobile computing device 104; after mobile computing device 104 sends its second communication, it receives from vehicle 102 a notification requesting fingerprint authorization and the response is required before vehicle operation or is used to grant vehicle access, which are protected vehicle functions, figure 4, par [0057], [0075] and [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Foster into the teachings of Ledvina, which modified Lang, to configure vehicle authentication process using Foster’s vehicle authentication request technique, in order to reduce unauthorized vehicle access or operation by confirming the user carrying the mobile device before enabling those protected functions (see par [0003] and [0029 of Foster).
Claims 3, 4, 11, 12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledvina et al. (US 20190297457 A1) in view of Lang et al. (US 20200383056 A1), and in further view of Foster et al. (US 20190039570 A1), and in further view of Ramappa et al. (US 20170374629 A1).
Consider claims 3, 11 and 19, as applied to claims 1, 9 and 17 respectively above, Ledvina, as modified by Lang and Foster, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose determining the distance is within a range including the threshold distance for more than a predefined period of time; and responsive to determining the distance is within the range including the threshold distance for more than the predefined period of time, discontinuing transmission of the one or more wireless advertisement signals at the second rate and transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals at the first rate.
Nonetheless, Ramappa discloses an advertising technique, in which the advertisement rate of the ADV 200 can be stopped or reduced (i.e. from greater/increased advertisement rate to default advertisement rate) if one or more predetermined criteria are met, such as a distance between the ADV 200 and the admin scanner 202 being less than a predetermined distance and after a predetermined amount of time has passed, par [0027], [0030] and [0037].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ramappa into the teachings of Ledvina, to configure the mobile device BTLE advertiser using Ramappa’s advertising technique with predetermined amount of time, in order to reduce unnecessary power consumption by avoiding continued higher rate advertising when prolonged proximity indicates that no immediate vehicle access operation is intended.
Consider claims 4, 12 and 20, as applied to claims 1, 9 and 17 respectively above, Ledvina, as modified by Lang and Foster, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose with wherein the threshold distance is a first threshold distance, the method further comprising: determining the distance decreased to satisfy a second threshold distance less than the first threshold distance; and responsive to determining the distance decreased to satisfy the second threshold distance, increasing the second rate.
Nonetheless, Ramappa discloses an advertising technique, in which the advertisement rate of the ADV 200 is based on the distance, the speed and the number or SCNs; when the distance is decreased to less than half of the predetermined distance (i.e. second threshold distance) but the both of the speed and number of SCNs increase to the point which negate the effect of distance decrease, the advertisement rate increases; additionally, in response to transmitting the CONN_RES message to the admin scanner 202, the ADV 200 transmits the advertisement data in the ADV_IND message to the admin scanner 202 or any other SCNs within communication range of the ADV 200 at a modified advertisement rate 304 that is greater than the advertisement rate 302a, par [0030], [0032] and [0037].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ramappa into the teachings of Ledvina, to configure the mobile device BTLE advertiser using Ramappa’s advertising technique with variable advertising rate based on distance, in order to reduce the vehicle discovery and connection delay when the mobile device moves closer to the vehicle (see par [0004] and [0057] of Lang).
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645