DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/15/2023 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramappa et al. (US 20170374629 A1) in view of Taylor (US 20200084863 A1).
Consider claim 1, Ramappa discloses a method (read as the communication method of the communication system 100, figure 1, par [0021] and [0031]) comprising:
transmitting, by a computing device, one or more wireless advertisement signals at a first rate (read as an advertiser (ADV) transmits the advertisement data at a predetermined advertisement rate or a default advertisement rate, par [0021], [0035] and [0039]);
receiving, by the computing device, one or more wireless signals emitted from a remote device (read as receiving wireless messages from another device (i.e. admin scanner/SCN), the admin scanner sends a CONN_REQ or SCN_REQ message to the advertiser (ADV), and that the advertiser (ADV) operates in response to receiving the messages, par [0024], [0025], [0028] and [0037]);
determining, by the computing device, whether a distance satisfies a threshold distance; and responsive to determining the distance satisfies the threshold distance, transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals at a second rate greater than the first rate (read as the admin scanner transmits a request to the advertiser (ADV) to increase (i.e. greater than) the default advertisement rate when the distance between the ADV and the admin scanner is greater than or equal to a predetermined distance, par [0029]-[0030], [0032] and [0040]);
wherein the one or more wireless advertisement signals identify the computing device to the remote device (read as the advertiser (ADV) transmits BLE advertisement packets in the form of a connectable undirected advertising even (ADV_IND) message, and the advertisement/ADV_IND packets inherently identify the advertising device to scanning remote device as it is required for subsequent connection requests, par [0028]-[0029], [0032] and [0036]).
However, Ramappa discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose determining, by the computing device and based on the one or more wireless signals received from the remote device, the distance between the computing device and the remote device.
Nonetheless, Taylor advertising between BLE devices, comprises calculating the distance between two devices based on RSSIs of the receiving beacon signals and transmission of unique identifier between the devices using advertising packets (i.e. ADV_IND) in step 90, figure 4A, par [0044], [0046] and [0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Taylor into the teachings of Ramappa by substituting Taylor’s RSSI-based (based on receiving beacon signals) distance determination for Ramappa’s generalized proximity criteria to trigger higher advertisement rates when a remote device is within a proximity threshold, thereby improving discoverability while conserving power when farther away.
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses the claimed invention above and responsive to identification by the remote device and performing sequent connections (read as the advertiser (ADV) transmits BLE advertisement packets in the form of a connectable undirected advertising even (ADV_IND) message, and the advertisement/ADV_IND packets inherently identify the advertising device to scanning remote device as it is required for subsequent connection requests, par [0028]-[0029] of Ramappa, [0032] and [0036]; also the transmission of unique identifier between the devices using advertising packets (i.e. ADV_IND) in step 90, figure 4A, par [0061] of Taylor) but does not specifically disclose a subsequent connection request as receiving, by the computing device, a request for authentication information from the remote device to enable a protected function of the remote device.
Nonetheless, Taylor further discloses in responsive to identification by mobile device 22 (step 90 in figure 4A), performing, by the smart node 12, a few subsequent connection steps including perform a validation on the request to authenticate the requestor, performing the validation may include receiving or requesting authentication data from the requesting node, and processing the authentication data to determine if the requestor is authorized to access the system (steps 100 and 102 in figure 4B), par [0061]-[0063].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Taylor into the teachings of Ramappa, which modified by Taylor, by further modifying the system with authentication exchange to make the system more secure to protect functions/communications once proximity and identification are established.
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses determining the distance is within a range including the threshold distance for more than a predefined period of time; and responsive to determining the distance is within the range including the threshold distance for more than the predefined period of time, discontinuing transmission of the one or more wireless advertisement signals at the second rate and transmitting the one or more wireless advertisement signals at the first rate (read as the advertisement rate of the ADV 200 can be stopped or reduced (i.e. from greater/increased advertisement rate to default advertisement rate) if one or more predetermined criteria are met, such as a distance between the ADV 200 and the admin scanner 202 being less than a predetermined distance and after a predetermined amount of time has passed, par [0027], [0030] and [0037]).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses wherein the threshold distance is a first threshold distance, the method further comprising: determining the distance decreased to satisfy a second threshold distance less than the first threshold distance; and responsive to determining the distance decreased to satisfy the second threshold distance, increasing the second rate (read as the advertisement rate of the ADV 200 is based on the distance, the speed and the number or SCNs; when the distance is decreased to less than half of the predetermined distance (i.e. second threshold distance) but the both of the speed and number of SCNs increase to the point which negate the effect of distance decrease, the advertisement rate increases; additionally, in response to transmitting the CONN_RES message to the admin scanner 202, the ADV 200 transmits the advertisement data in the ADV_IND message to the admin scanner 202 or any other SCNs within communication range of the ADV 200 at a modified advertisement rate 304 that is greater than the advertisement rate 302a, par [0030], [0032] and [0037]).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses wherein the one or more wireless advertisement signals are transmitted with a first radio of the computing device and the one or more wireless signals are received with a second radio of the computing device (read as the transmitter of advertiser (ADV) for transmitting the advertisement data, and receiver of the advertiser for receiving the signals from the admin scanner, par [0035]-[0040] and [0057]).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses wherein the first radio is a lower power radio than the second radio (read as transmitter of Bluetooth (read as admin scanner controls the ADV to stop advertising (transmitter of advertiser (ADV) has no power usage), but the receiver of the advertiser is not stopped (still active and using power/energy) to receive signals from the admin scanner, par [0030] and [0037]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses the claimed invention above and the default advertisement rate (par [0031]-[0032]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the first rate has a transmission interval of between 1 second and 2 seconds
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system make the default advertisement rate (the first rate) has a transmission interval of between 1 second and 2 seconds, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 7 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses the claimed invention above and second rate to reduce a latency at which the remote device identifies the computing device relative to the first rate (read as greater/increased advertisement rate to reduce discovery time/latency, par [0028]-[0030] but does not specifically disclose wherein the second rate has a transmission interval of between 50 milliseconds and 700 milliseconds.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system make the greater/increased advertisement rate (the second rate) has a transmission interval of between 50 milliseconds and 700 milliseconds, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Consider claim 9, Ramappa discloses a computing device (read as the communication method of the communication system 100, figure 1, par [0021] and [0031]) comprising:
a memory that stores instructions; and one or more processors (read as the memory and processor, par [0056]) that execute the instructions to:
transmit one or more wireless advertisement signals at a first rate (read as an advertiser (ADV) transmits the advertisement data at a predetermined advertisement rate or a default advertisement rate, par [0021], [0035] and [0039]);
receive one or more wireless signals emitted from a remote device (read as receiving wireless messages from another device (i.e. admin scanner/SCN), the admin scanner sends a CONN_REQ or SCN_REQ message to the advertiser (ADV), and that the advertiser (ADV) operates in response to receiving the messages, par [0024], [0025], [0028] and [0037]);
determine whether the distance satisfies a threshold distance; and responsive to determining the distance satisfies the threshold distance, transmit the one or more wireless advertisement signals at a second rate greater than the first rate (read as the admin scanner transmits a request to the advertiser (ADV) to increase (i.e. greater than) the default advertisement rate when the distance between the ADV and the admin scanner is greater than or equal to a predetermined distance, par [0029]-[0030], [0032] and [0040]);
wherein the one or more wireless advertisement signals identify the computing device to the remote device (read as the advertiser (ADV) transmits BLE advertisement packets in the form of a connectable undirected advertising even (ADV_IND) message, and the advertisement/ADV_IND packets inherently identify the advertising device to scanning remote device as it is required for subsequent connection requests, par [0028]-[0029], [0032] and [0036]).
However, Ramappa discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose determining, by the computing device and based on the one or more wireless signals received from the remote device, the distance between the computing device and the remote device.
Nonetheless, Taylor advertising between BLE devices, comprises calculating the distance between two devices based on RSSIs of the receiving beacon signals and transmission of unique identifier between the devices using advertising packets (i.e. ADV_IND) in step 90, figure 4A, par [0044], [0046] and [0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Taylor into the teachings of Ramappa by substituting Taylor’s RSSI-based (based on receiving beacon signals) distance determination for Ramappa’s generalized proximity criteria to trigger higher advertisement rates when a remote device is within a proximity threshold, thereby improving discoverability while conserving power when farther away.
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 9 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses the claimed invention above and wherein the one or more processors (read as processor, par [0056] and [0058]) further execute the instructions to: responsive to identification by the remote device and performing sequent connections (read as the advertiser (ADV) transmits BLE advertisement packets in the form of a connectable undirected advertising even (ADV_IND) message, and the advertisement/ADV_IND packets inherently identify the advertising device to scanning remote device as it is required for subsequent connection requests, par [0028]-[0029] of Ramappa, [0032] and [0036]; also the transmission of unique identifier between the devices using advertising packets (i.e. ADV_IND) in step 90, figure 4A, par [0061] of Taylor) but does not specifically disclose a subsequent connection request as receiving, by the computing device, a request for authentication information from the remote device to enable a protected function of the remote device.
Nonetheless, Taylor further discloses in responsive to identification by mobile device 22 (step 90 in figure 4A), performing, by the smart node 12, a few subsequent connection steps including perform a validation on the request to authenticate the requestor, performing the validation may include receiving or requesting authentication data from the requesting node, and processing the authentication data to determine if the requestor is authorized to access the system (steps 100 and 102 in figure 4B), par [0061]-[0063].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Taylor into the teachings of Ramappa, which modified by Taylor, by further modifying the system with authentication exchange to make the system more secure to protect functions/communications once proximity and identification are established.
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 9 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses the claimed invention above and wherein the one or more processors (read as processor, par [0056] and [0058]) determine the distance is within a range including the threshold distance for more than a predefined period of time; and responsive to determining the distance is within the range including the threshold distance for more than the predefined period of time, discontinue transmission of the one or more wireless advertisement signals at the second rate and transmit the one or more wireless advertisement signals at the first rate (read as the advertisement rate of the ADV 200 can be stopped or reduced (i.e. from greater/increased advertisement rate to default advertisement rate) if one or more predetermined criteria are met, such as a distance between the ADV 200 and the admin scanner 202 being less than a predetermined distance and after a predetermined amount of time has passed, par [0027], [0030] and [0037]).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 9 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses wherein the threshold distance is a first threshold distance and the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: determine the distance decreased to satisfy a second threshold distance less than the first threshold distance; and responsive to determining the distance decreased to satisfy the second threshold distance, increase the second rate (read as the advertisement rate of the ADV 200 is based on the distance, the speed and the number or SCNs; when the distance is decreased to less than half of the predetermined distance (i.e. second threshold distance) but the both of the speed and number of SCNs increase to the point which negate the effect of distance decrease, the advertisement rate increases; additionally, in response to transmitting the CONN_RES message to the admin scanner 202, the ADV 200 transmits the advertisement data in the ADV_IND message to the admin scanner 202 or any other SCNs within communication range of the ADV 200 at a modified advertisement rate 304 that is greater than the advertisement rate 302a, par [0030], [0032] and [0037]).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 9 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses wherein the one or more wireless advertisement signals are transmitted with a first radio of the computing device and the one or more wireless signals are received with a second radio of the computing device (read as the transmitter of advertiser (ADV) for transmitting the advertisement data, and receiver of the advertiser for receiving the signals from the admin scanner, par [0035]-[0040] and [0057]).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 13 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses wherein the first radio is a lower power radio than the second radio (read as admin scanner controls the ADV to stop advertising (transmitter of advertiser (ADV) has no power usage), but the receiver of the advertiser is not stopped (still active and using power/energy) to receive signals from the admin scanner, par [0030] and [0037]).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 9 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses the claimed invention above and the default advertisement rate (par [0031]-[0032]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the first rate has a transmission interval of between 1 second and 2 seconds
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system make the default advertisement rate (the first rate) has a transmission interval of between 1 second and 2 seconds, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses the claimed invention above and second rate to reduce a latency at which the remote device identifies the computing device relative to the first rate (read as greater/increased advertisement rate to reduce discovery time/latency, par [0028]-[0030] but does not specifically disclose wherein the second rate has a transmission interval of between 50 milliseconds and 700 milliseconds.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system make the greater/increased advertisement rate (the second rate) has a transmission interval of between 50 milliseconds and 700 milliseconds, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Consider claim 17, Ramappa discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, that when executed by one or more processors of a computing system (read as the communication system 100 comprising the memory and processor, figure 1, par [0021], [0031], [0056], [0058] and [0060]), cause the one or more processors to:
transmit one or more wireless advertisement signals at a first rate (read as an advertiser (ADV) transmits the advertisement data at a predetermined advertisement rate or a default advertisement rate, par [0021], [0035] and [0039]);
receive one or more wireless signals emitted from a remote device (read as receiving wireless messages from another device (i.e. admin scanner/SCN), the admin scanner sends a CONN_REQ or SCN_REQ message to the advertiser (ADV), and that the advertiser (ADV) operates in response to receiving the messages, par [0024], [0025], [0028] and [0037]);
determine whether the distance satisfies a threshold distance; and responsive to determining the distance satisfies the threshold distance, transmit the one or more wireless advertisement signals at a second rate greater than the first rate (read as the admin scanner transmits a request to the advertiser (ADV) to increase (i.e. greater than) the default advertisement rate when the distance between the ADV and the admin scanner is greater than or equal to a predetermined distance, par [0029]-[0030], [0032] and [0040]);
wherein the one or more wireless advertisement signals identify the computing system to the remote device (read as the advertiser (ADV) transmits BLE advertisement packets in the form of a connectable undirected advertising even (ADV_IND) message, and the advertisement/ADV_IND packets inherently identify the advertising device to scanning remote device as it is required for subsequent connection requests, par [0028]-[0029], [0032] and [0036]).
However, Ramappa discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose determining, by the computing device and based on the one or more wireless signals received from the remote device, the distance between the computing device and the remote device.
Nonetheless, Taylor advertising between BLE devices, comprises calculating the distance between two devices based on RSSIs of the receiving beacon signals and transmission of unique identifier between the devices using advertising packets (i.e. ADV_IND) in step 90, figure 4A, par [0044], [0046] and [0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Taylor into the teachings of Ramappa by substituting Taylor’s RSSI-based (based on receiving beacon signals) distance determination for Ramappa’s generalized proximity criteria to trigger higher advertisement rates when a remote device is within a proximity threshold, thereby improving discoverability while conserving power when farther away.
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 17 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses the claimed invention above and wherein the one or more processors (read as processor, par [0056] and [0058]) further execute the instructions to: responsive to identification by the remote device and performing sequent connections (read as the advertiser (ADV) transmits BLE advertisement packets in the form of a connectable undirected advertising even (ADV_IND) message, and the advertisement/ADV_IND packets inherently identify the advertising device to scanning remote device as it is required for subsequent connection requests, par [0028]-[0029] of Ramappa, [0032] and [0036]; also the transmission of unique identifier between the devices using advertising packets (i.e. ADV_IND) in step 90, figure 4A, par [0061] of Taylor) but does not specifically disclose a subsequent connection request as receiving, by the computing device, a request for authentication information from the remote device to enable a protected function of the remote device.
Nonetheless, Taylor further discloses in responsive to identification by mobile device 22 (step 90 in figure 4A), performing, by the smart node 12, a few subsequent connection steps including perform a validation on the request to authenticate the requestor, performing the validation may include receiving or requesting authentication data from the requesting node, and processing the authentication data to determine if the requestor is authorized to access the system (steps 100 and 102 in figure 4B), par [0061]-[0063].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Taylor into the teachings of Ramappa, which modified by Taylor, by further modifying the system with authentication exchange to make the system more secure to protect functions/communications once proximity and identification are established.
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 17 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses the claimed invention above and wherein the one or more processors (read as processor, par [0056] and [0058]) further execute the instructions to: determine the distance is within a range including the threshold distance for more than a predefined period of time; and responsive to determining the distance is within the range including the threshold distance for more than the predefined period of time, discontinue transmission of the one or more wireless advertisement signals at the second rate and transmit the one or more wireless advertisement signals at the first rate (read as the advertisement rate of the ADV 200 can be stopped or reduced (i.e. from greater/increased advertisement rate to default advertisement rate) if one or more predetermined criteria are met, such as a distance between the ADV 200 and the admin scanner 202 being less than a predetermined distance and after a predetermined amount of time has passed, par [0027], [0030] and [0037]).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 17 above, Ramappa, as modified by Taylor, discloses wherein the threshold distance is a first threshold distance and the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: determine the distance decreased to satisfy a second threshold distance less than the first threshold distance; and responsive to determining the distance decreased to satisfy the second threshold distance, increase the second rate (read as the advertisement rate of the ADV 200 is based on the distance, the speed and the number or SCNs; when the distance is decreased to less than half of the predetermined distance (i.e. second threshold distance) but the both of the speed and number of SCNs increase to the point which negate the effect of distance decrease, the advertisement rate increases; additionally, in response to transmitting the CONN_RES message to the admin scanner 202, the ADV 200 transmits the advertisement data in the ADV_IND message to the admin scanner 202 or any other SCNs within communication range of the ADV 200 at a modified advertisement rate 304 that is greater than the advertisement rate 302a, par [0030], [0032] and [0037]).
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645