DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ‘track system’, ‘rollers’, ‘ground engaging wheels’ and ‘vehicle’ in claim 1; ‘heim joint’ and ‘anti-rotation arm’ in claim 2; the ‘caliper bolt holes’ in claim 3; the ‘track system’, ‘rollers’, ‘ground engaging wheels’, ‘vehicle’ and ‘caliper bolt holes’ in claim 4; ‘heim joint’ and ‘anti-rotation arm’ in claim 5; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show how the bracket is installed in relation to the other described and claimed features of the utility vehicle (the drawings fail to show any of the elements that the bracket is connected to; caliper, heim joint, anti-rotation arm, track system etc as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: “helm” should be “heim” and “configured stabilize” is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kohler et al. (US 2025/0304162).
With respect to claim 1, Kohler et al. discloses an apparatus comprising: a track system (100) having a track configured to rotate on rollers (140A-140C); a knuckle bracket (253) coupled to the track system (through elements 230, 235, 255) and configured to mount to caliper bolt holes (holes element 252A extend through) that support mounting of ground engaging wheels (210) of a vehicle. (Figs. 8, 15-18, paragraphs 143-150.)
With respect to claim 4, Kohler et al. discloses a system comprising: a vehicle having caliper bolt holes (holes element 252A extend through) that support mounting of ground engaging wheels (210); a track system (100) having a track configured to rotate on rollers (140A-140C); and a knuckle bracket (253) configured to mount to caliper bolt holes (holes element 252A extend through). (Figs. 8, 15-18, paragraphs 143-150.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohler et al. in view of Gee et al. (GB 2 397 811 A).
With respect to claims 2 and 5, Kohler et al. discloses the knuckle bracket includes an anti-rotation arm (258; paragraph 150) configured stabilize the track system during movement of the track but is silent regarding a heim joint. Gee et al. teaches of using heim joints (elements 7, 9, 13 or 15) configured to stabilize the track system during movement of the track (claim 1). (Figs. 3-4, pages 7-8.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Gee et al. into the invention of Kohler et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide an improved and integrated means for transmitting steering movement to at least one wheel of a motor vehicle that is movable longitudinally and laterally of the vehicle, such movement being controlled by elements which also constitute part of the suspension of the wheel. (Page 2, lines 11-16.)
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohler et al. in view of Johnston et al. (US 2,002,474).
With respect to claims 3 and 6, Kohler et al. discloses the knuckle bracket (230, 235, 255, 253) is configured to mount with the caliper bolt holes (holes element 252A extend through) but does not specifically show a flush mounting. Wager teaches as a general proposition to mount elements (38, 50) flush with one another. (Figs. 1, 4, page 2.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the structure as described in Johnston et al. into the invention of Kohler et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide improved and sturdy connection. (Page 1, col. 1, lines 5-14.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited on the PTO-892 form disclose similar features of the claimed invention.
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614