DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 13 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN on 12/28/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN20221175064.0 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN213182818U; pub. May 11, 2021) in view of Peng et al. (CN 116171914 A; prio. Dec. 27, 2022) and further in view of Zeevi (US 2017/0336381 A1; pub. Nov. 23, 2017).
Regarding claim 1, Yan et al. disclose: A water quality early warning system for aquaponics based on fish behavior analysis, comprising: a monitoring chamber configured to house a target water body and a target fish (fig. 1), wherein a detection module is provided in a center of the monitoring chamber (para. [0005]), and the target water body and the target fish are located outside the detection module (para. [0005]); an infrared transceiver, the infrared transceiver module comprise respective an infrared transmitting module and an infrared receiving module (para. [0014]); each of the infrared transmitting module is configured to transmit infrared light to the monitoring chamber (para. [0014]), and each of the infrared receiving module is configured to generate an induced current based on the infrared light reflected by the monitoring chamber or the target fish (obvious in light of the teachings of para. [0014], Infrared (IR) detectors primarily convert detected IR radiation into an electrical signal that is initially a current, which is subsequently converted and amplified into a voltage signal for processing); a signal driving and collecting board connected to the infrared transceiver, and configured to drive the infrared transmitting module to transmit the infrared light, collect induced current generated by the infrared receiving module, and generate a voltage according to the induced current (obvious in light of the teachings of para. [0014], Infrared (IR) detectors primarily convert detected IR radiation into an electrical signal that is initially a current, which is subsequently converted and amplified into a voltage signal for processing); and a processor connected to the signal driving and collecting board, and configured to continuously acquire the voltage when the target fish is in the target water body (para. [0005]), calculate motion parameters of the target fish according to the voltage, wherein the motion parameters comprise: a motion speed (para. [0005]), a motion acceleration, a depth of the fish, a residence time, and a cumulative motion distance; and the cumulative motion distance is a total motion distance of the target fish within a predetermined recording time (para. [0005]-[0006])
Yan et al. are silent: a target zebrafish, an infrared transceiver array, wherein the infrared transceiver array comprises a plurality of infrared transceiver modules, and the plurality of infrared transceiver modules are arranged in M rows and N columns and are equally spaced on the detection module; the infrared transceiver modules comprise respective infrared transmitting modules and infrared receiving modules; each of the infrared transmitting modules is configured to transmit infrared light to the monitoring chamber, and each of the infrared receiving modules is configured to generate an induced current based on the infrared light reflected by the monitoring chamber or the target zebrafish; wherein M is greater than or equal to 5, and N is greater than or equal to 12; wherein M is greater than or equal to 5, and N is greater than or equal to 12; and generate a voltage matrix in M rows and N columns according to the induced currents, and perform an early warning on a water quality of the target water body according to the motion parameters; wherein the motion parameters comprise: a motion speed, a motion acceleration, a depth of the fish, a residence time, and a cumulative motion distance; and the cumulative motion distance is a total motion distance of the target fish within a predetermined recording time.
In a similar field of endeavor Peng et al. disclose: an infrared transceiver array, wherein the infrared transceiver array comprises a plurality of infrared transceiver modules, and the plurality of infrared transceiver modules are arranged in M rows and N columns and are equally spaced on the detection module; the infrared transceiver modules comprise respective infrared transmitting modules and infrared receiving modules; each of the infrared transmitting modules is configured to transmit infrared light to the monitoring chamber, and each of the infrared receiving modules is configured to generate an induced current based on the infrared light reflected by the monitoring chamber or the target fish (para. [0036] teaches multiple parallel infrared transceivers, a transceiver is known in the art to be composed of a transmitter and a receiver) and generate a voltage matrix in M rows and N columns according to the induced currents (obvious in view of the transceivers of para. [0036]); motivated by the benefits for an improved fish monitoring system (Peng et al. para. [0022]).
In light of the benefits for an improved fish monitoring system as taught by Peng et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yan et al. with the teachings of Peng et al. to have M is greater than or equal to 5, and N is greater than or equal to 12; wherein M is greater than or equal to 5, and N is greater than or equal to 12.
Peng et al. are silent about: a target zebrafish, perform an early warning on a water quality of the target water body according to the motion parameters; wherein the motion parameters comprise: a motion speed, a motion acceleration, a depth of the fish, a residence time, and a cumulative motion distance; and the cumulative motion distance is a total motion distance of the target fish within a predetermined recording time.
In a similar field of endeavor Zeevi discloses: perform an early warning on a water quality of the target water body according to the motion parameters; wherein the motion parameters comprise: a motion speed, a motion acceleration, a depth of the fish, a residence time, and a cumulative motion distance; and the cumulative motion distance is a total motion distance of the target fish within a predetermined recording time (para. [0029], [0032]) motivated by the benefits for improved water quality (Zeevi para. [0012]-[0013]).
In light of the benefits for improved water quality as taught by Zeevi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yan et al. and Peng et al. with the teachings of Zeevi.
The combined references are silent about: a target zebrafish. However, one would reasonably expect the technique of Yan et al., which applies generally to fish, to have positive results applied to zebrafish, which, as a subset of fish, are generally similar to other fish.
Regarding claim 5, Yan et al., Peng et al. and Zeevi disclose: A water quality early warning method for aquaponics based on zebrafish behavior analysis, wherein the water quality early warning method is applied to the water quality early warning system according to claim 1, and comprises: continuously acquiring the voltage matrix when the target zebrafish is in the target water body, wherein the voltage matrix is generated by the signal driving and collecting board based on the induced currents generated by the infrared receiving modules in the infrared transceiver array; calculating the motion parameters of the target zebrafish according to the voltage matrix, wherein the motion parameters comprise: the motion speed, the motion acceleration, the depth of the zebrafish, the residence time, and the cumulative motion distance; and the cumulative motion distance is the total motion distance of the target zebrafish within the predetermined recording time; and performing the early warning on the water quality of the target water body according to the motion parameters (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Yan et al., Peng et al. and Zeevi disclose: the calculating the motion parameters of the target zebrafish according to the voltage matrix comprises: calculating position information of the target zebrafish in the monitoring chamber according to the voltage matrix; calculating a motion trajectory of the target zebrafish according to the position information; and calculating the motion parameters of the target zebrafish according to the motion trajectory (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Claims 2, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN213182818U; pub. May 11, 2021) in view of Peng et al. (CN 116171914 A; prio. Dec. 27, 2022) in view of Zeevi (US 2017/0336381 A1; pub. Nov. 23, 2017) and further in view of Sarpeshkar et al. (US 2009/0163784 A1; pub. Jun. 25, 2009).
Regarding claim 2, the combined references are silent about: the signal driving and collecting board comprises:
an oscillation circuit configured to generate a square wave with a predetermined frequency; a power amplification circuit array connected to the oscillation circuit and the infrared transmitting modules, and configured to perform power amplification on the square wave and then drive the infrared transmitting modules to transmit the infrared light;
an I/V conversion circuit array connected to the infrared receiving modules, and configured to collect the induced currents generated by the infrared receiving modules, and then convert the induced currents into corresponding voltage signals; and a low-pass filter array connected to the I/V conversion circuit array and configured to filter the voltage signals to obtain the voltage matrix.
In a similar field of endeavor Sarpeshkar et al. disclose:
the signal driving and collecting board comprises:
an oscillation circuit (fig.1 item 60) configured to generate a square wave with a predetermined frequency;
a power amplification (fig.1 items 22 & 24) circuit array connected to the oscillation circuit and the infrared transmitting modules, and configured to perform power amplification on the square wave and then drive the infrared transmitting modules to transmit the infrared light;
an I/V conversion circuit array (claim 18) connected to the infrared receiving modules, and configured to collect the induced currents generated by the infrared receiving modules, and then convert the induced currents into corresponding voltage signals;
and a low-pass filter array (fig.1 items 70) connected to the I/V conversion circuit array and configured to filter the voltage signals to obtain the voltage matrix motivated by the benefits for a cost-effective device (Sarpeshkar et al. para. [0010]).
In light of the benefits for a cost-effective device as taught by Sarpeshkar et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yan et al., Peng et al. and Zeevi with the teachings of Sarpeshkar et al.
Regarding claim 11, Yan et al., Peng et al., Zeevi and Sarpeshkar et al. disclose: the signal driving and collecting board comprises: an oscillation circuit configured to generate a square wave with a predetermined frequency; a power amplification circuit array connected to the oscillation circuit and the infrared transmitting modules, and configured to perform power amplification on the square wave and then drive the infrared transmitting modules to transmit the infrared light; an I/V conversion circuit array connected to the infrared receiving modules, and configured to collect the induced currents generated by the infrared receiving modules, and then convert the induced currents into corresponding voltage signals; and a low-pass filter array connected to the I/V conversion circuit array and configured to filter the voltage signals to obtain the voltage matrix (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 2).
Claims 3, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN213182818U; pub. May 11, 2021) in view of Peng et al. (CN 116171914 A; prio. Dec. 27, 2022) in view of Zeevi (US 2017/0336381 A1; pub. Nov. 23, 2017) and further in view of Klotz (US 2003/0163937 A1; pub. Sep. 4, 2003).
Regarding claim 3, the combined references are silent about: the monitoring chamber is a cylindrical monitoring chamber made of a transparent material, and the detection module is a cylindrical detection module that is in a same height and coaxial with the monitoring chamber.
In a similar field of endeavor Klotz discloses: the monitoring chamber is a cylindrical monitoring chamber (para. [0034] teaches a half-cylindrical tank, but the tank can be of any shape) made of a transparent material (fig.1 item 20 is transparent), and the detection module is a cylindrical detection module that is in a same height and coaxial with the monitoring chamber (para. [0035]) motivated by the benefits for a 360-degree viewing angle.
In light of the benefits for a 360-degree viewing angle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yan et al., Peng et al. and Zeevi with the teachings of Klotz.
Regarding claim 12, Yan et al., Peng et al., Zeevi and Klotz disclose: the monitoring chamber is a cylindrical monitoring chamber made of a transparent material, and the detection module is a cylindrical detection module that is in a same height and coaxial with the monitoring chamber (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-10, 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: M is 5 and N is 12; the infrared transceiver modules are equidistantly distributed at 5 different depths of the detection module, and 12 infrared transceiver modules are distributed at each depth at a same angle.
Regarding claim 7, the prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: the calculating the position information of the target zebrafish in the monitoring chamber according to the voltage matrix comprises: comparing elements in the voltage matrix to obtain a maximum voltage, and determining a row number and a column number where the maximum voltage is located; calculating a horizontal distance between the target zebrafish and the center of the monitoring chamber according to the maximum voltage; and calculating the position information of the target zebrafish in the monitoring chamber according to the row number, the column number, and the horizontal distance.
Claim 8 would be allowable on the same basis as claim 7 for dependency reasons.
Regarding claim 9, the prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: the performing the early warning on the water quality of the target water body according to the motion parameters comprises: determining whether the motion speed is less than a predetermined speed or whether the motion acceleration is less than a predetermined acceleration to obtain a first determination result; if the first determination result is NO, issuing an early warning of a sudden pollution of the water quality; if the first determination result is YES, determining whether the depth of the zebrafish is greater than a first predetermined depth to obtain a second determination result; if the second determination result is NO, determining whether the residence time is less than a first predetermined time to obtain a third determination result; if the third determination result is NO, issuing an early warning of a serious pollution of the water quality; if the third determination result is YES, determining whether the residence time is less than a second predetermined time to obtain a fourth determination result, wherein the second predetermined time is less than the first predetermined time; if the fourth determination result is NO, issuing an early warning of hypoxia of the water body; if the fourth determination result is YES or the second determination result is YES, determining whether the depth of the zebrafish is less than a second predetermined depth to obtain a fifth determination result, wherein the second predetermined depth is greater than the first predetermined depth; if the fifth determination result is NO, determining whether the residence time is less than the second predetermined time to obtain a sixth determination result; if the sixth determination result is NO, issuing an early warning of an excessively low temperature of the water body; if the sixth determination result is YES or the fifth determination result is YES, determining whether a recording time is greater than the predetermined recording time to obtain a seventh determination result; if the seventh determination result is NO, updating the recording time and returning to the step of "continuously acquiring the voltage matrix when the target zebrafish is in the target water body"; if the seventh determination result is YES, determining whether the cumulative motion distance is greater than a first predetermined distance to obtain an eighth determination result; if the eighth determination result is NO, issuing an early warning of a disease of the zebrafish; if the eighth determination result is YES, determining whether the cumulative motion distance is less than a second predetermined distance to obtain a ninth determination result, wherein the second predetermined distance is greater than the first predetermined distance; if the ninth determination result is NO, issuing an early warning of a potential pollution of the water quality; and if the ninth determination result is YES, resetting the recording time and returning to the step of "continuously acquiring the voltage matrix when the target zebrafish is in the target water body".
Claim 10 would be allowable on the same basis as claim 9 for dependency reasons.
Regarding claim 13, the prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: M is 5 and N is 12; the infrared transceiver modules are equidistantly distributed at 5 different depths of the detection module, and 12 infrared transceiver modules are distributed at each depth at a same angle.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884