DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on applications filed on 12/22/2022 (CHINA 202211659460.6).
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated 12/15/2023 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bassan-Eskenazi et al. (US 2014/0148195 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bassan teaches a method for data transmission, comprising:
receiving, by a gateway, a Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from a first Bluetooth tag (receiving, by the reader, the ranging signal and tag timing message from Tag and connection is Bluetooth see Bassan: Fig.15; ¶[0441-0443]; Fig.38; ¶[0097]; ¶[0293]), wherein the gateway does not receive command data of the first Bluetooth tag from a server before receiving the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from the first Bluetooth tag, the command data is used for transmitting data (data exchange receive or send data to/from the reader 133 after association step 118 (corresponding to specification step 818) see Bassan: Fig.2 step 133), and the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package is used to indicate that the Bluetooth tag is in an accessible state (if valid initiation signal and timing match and move to association phrase (corresponding to accessible state) “If a valid generic initiation signal is received, the tag moves to a faster periodic reception phase looking for a specific association command with its own ID (stage 816)” see Bassan: step 2 step 216-218 (corresponding to specification steps 816-818); ¶[0358]);
transmitting, by the gateway, a connection request message to the first Bluetooth tag according to the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from the first Bluetooth tag (transmitting, by the reader, WB ranging signal message 383 to Tag see Bassan: ¶[0833]); and
transmitting, by the gateway, the command data to the first Bluetooth tag when receiving a connection request acknowledgement message from the first Bluetooth tag, wherein the command data is obtained by the gateway from the server, after receiving the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from the first Bluetooth tag (Sphere initiation Step 140 after sphere parameter update sending ACK according to Index at 152 and back to step 120 standby, then data exchange at step 133 see Bassan: Fig.2 steps 140 and 133;¶[0364]; ¶[0372];¶[0837]; Fig.38).
Regarding claim 2, Bassan taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Bassan further comprising: receiving, by the gateway, a Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from at least one second Bluetooth tag when the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from the first Bluetooth tag is received by the gateway, wherein both the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from the first Bluetooth tag and the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from each of the at least one second Bluetooth tag comprise sleep countdown information (each Tag go thru a sphere initiation at step 140 and wakeup every L seconds on defined band and goes back to sleep at step 142 until next window see Bassan: Fig.3 step 142; ¶0378]; ¶[0381] ), the countdown information indicates a countdown time for triggering a corresponding Bluetooth tag to enter a sleep mode (If the sphere beacon is not detected the tag check the amount of consequent reception windows a beacon was not detected (stage 846) see Bassan: Fig.3 step 146; ¶[0382-0383]);
wherein said transmitting, by the gateway, the connection request message to the first Bluetooth tag according to the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from the first Bluetooth tag comprises:
transmitting, by the gateway, the connection request message to the first Bluetooth tag, when the countdown time duration indicated by the sleep countdown information corresponding to the first Bluetooth tag is less than a countdown time duration indicated by the sleep countdown information corresponding to each of the at least one second Bluetooth tag (each tag have number of defined P period at step 146, if exceed goes back to sleep until next window “If it exceeds a number (P) that was defined in the sphere initiation process, the tag identifies a tag lost event (stage 848). It logs all parameters (time, sphere parameters) and goes back to standby mode” see Bassan: Fig.3 step 146).
Regarding claim 3, Bassan taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Bassan further comprising: by the gateway, receiving Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package(s) from at least one second Bluetooth tag, and determining a signal strength value of the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from the first Bluetooth tag and a signal strength value of the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from each of the at least one second Bluetooth tag, when the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from the first Bluetooth tag is received by the gateway (reader tag connection based on Radio signal strength indication (RSSI) measurement “The second type of distance estimation process may be based upon received signal strength indication (RSSI) measurements of beacons transmitted from the wireless tags of the sub-set of wireless tags; and wherein the first type of distance estimation is based upon tome of flight measurements” see Bassan: ¶[0102]; ¶[0250-0263]);
wherein said transmitting, by the gateway, the connection request message to the first Bluetooth tag according to the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from the first Bluetooth tag comprises: transmitting, by the gateway, the connection request message to the first Bluetooth tag (transmitting, by the reader, WB ranging signal message 383 to Tag see Bassan: ¶[0833]), when the signal strength value corresponding to the first Bluetooth tag is greater than the signal strength value corresponding to each of the at least one second Bluetooth tag (generating a map for user device uses RSSI information of BLE beacons to perform communication between reader and Tags see Bassan: ¶[0766]).
Regarding claim 4, Bassan taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Bassan further teaches wherein before the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from the first Bluetooth tag is received by the gateway, the method further comprises: receiving, by the gateway, a wakeup command of the first Bluetooth tag from the server; and transmitting, by the gateway, a wakeup signal to the first Bluetooth tag according to the wakeup command of the first Bluetooth tag, wherein the wakeup signal is used to enable the Bluetooth tag to be awakened from a sleep state (If a valid wakeup signal is not detected stage 822 is followed by stage 820 and the tag gets back to sleep till the next reception window see Bassan Fig.2 step 120; ¶[0368]).
Regarding claim 5, Bassan taught the method according to claim 2 as described hereinabove. Bassan further teaches wherein before receiving the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package from the first Bluetooth tag and the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package(s) from the at least one second Bluetooth tag by the gateway, the method further comprises: receiving, by the gateway, a wakeup command of the first Bluetooth tag and a wakeup command of each of the at least one second Bluetooth tag from the server; and transmitting, by the gateway, a wakeup signal to the first Bluetooth tag according to the wakeup command of the first Bluetooth tag, and transmitting, by the gateway, a wakeup signal to each of the at least one second Bluetooth tag according to the wakeup command of each of the at least one second Bluetooth tag, wherein the wakeup signal is used to enable the Bluetooth tag to be awakened from a sleep state (each Tag are looking for wakeup signal at Fig.2 step 120 “If a valid wakeup signal is not detected stage 822 is followed by stage 820 and the tag gets back to sleep till the next reception window” see Bassan Fig.2 step 120; ¶[0368]).
Regarding claim 6, Bassan taught the method according to claim 1 as described hereinabove. Bassan further comprising: stopping transmitting the connection request message to the first Bluetooth tag by the gateway when receiving a Bluetooth-tag-inaccessible broadcast package from the first Bluetooth tag, wherein the Bluetooth-tag-inaccessible broadcast package is used to indicate that the Bluetooth tag is in an inaccessible state (if a wireless tag of the sphere did not respond to a predetermined number of sphere beacons corresponding to inaccessible state see Bassan: ¶[0800-0803]).
Regarding claim 7, Bassan teaches a method for data transmission, comprising:
broadcasting a Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package by a first Bluetooth tag after a wakeup signal is monitored by the first Bluetooth tag (receiving, by the reader, the ranging signal and tag timing message from Tag and wakeup received at Fig.2 step 122 and connection is Bluetooth see Bassan: Fig.15; ¶[0441-0443]; Fig.38; ¶[0097]; ¶[0293]), wherein the Bluetooth-tag-accessible broadcast package is used to indicate that the Bluetooth tag is in an accessible state (if valid initiation signal and timing match and move to association phrase (corresponding to accessible state) “If a valid generic initiation signal is received, the tag moves to a faster periodic reception phase looking for a specific association command with its own ID (stage 816)” see Bassan: step 2 step 216-218 (corresponding to specification steps 816-818); ¶[0358]);
receiving, by the first Bluetooth tag, a plurality of connection request messages from a plurality of gateways respectively (tags received connection from fixed readers 7 and mobile/software reader see Bassan: ¶[0833]);
transmitting a connection request acknowledgement message to a target gateway by the first Bluetooth tag, wherein the target gateway is a gateway corresponding to one of the plurality of connection request messages which is first received by the first Bluetooth tag (Sphere initiation Step 140 after sphere parameter update sending ACK according to Index at 152 and back to step 120 standby, then data exchange at step 133 see Bassan: Fig.2 steps 140 and 133;¶[0364]; ¶[0372];¶[0837]; Fig.38); and
receiving, by the first Bluetooth tag, command data from the target gateway, wherein the command data is used for transmitting data (data exchange receive or send data to/from the reader 133 after association step 118 (corresponding to specification step 818) see Bassan: Fig.2 step 133).
Regarding claim 8, Bassan taught the method according to claim 7 as described hereinabove. Bassan further teaches wherein after said transmitting, by the first Bluetooth tag, the connection request acknowledgement message to the target gateway, the method further comprises: broadcasting a Bluetooth-tag-inaccessible broadcast package by the first Bluetooth tag, wherein the Bluetooth-tag-inaccessible broadcast package is used to indicate that the Bluetooth tag is in an inaccessible state (if a wireless tag of the sphere did not respond to a predetermined number of sphere beacons corresponding to inaccessible state see Bassan: ¶[0800-0803]).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 9 recites a gateway that perform the same functionalities as method of claim 1 as described hereinabove.
Conclusion
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
January 6, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478