DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 1-28-2026 has been entered.
2. Claims 1 - 20 are pending. Claims 1, 11, 18 have been amended. Claims 1, 11, 18 are independent. This application was filed on 12-15-2023.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 1-28-2026, with respect to the rejection(s) under Beuch in view of Vaswani and further in view of Kalsi have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Beuch in view of Vaswani and further in view of Kalsi and Sun.
A. Applicant argues on page 7 of Remarks: ... "using the first unique number or the second unique number as a unique searching key...." ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kalsi discloses the capability for the assignment of a first unique number or identifier associated with objects within a first database. Kalsi discloses the capability for the assignment of a second unique number or identifier associated with objects within a second database. Kalsi discloses locating a particular object based upon a unique number or identifier (searching index, identifier with a table). (see Kalsi paragraph [0024]: In accordance with some implementations, a first unique identifier 202 of a local file 106A on a client machine 110 is associated with a second unique identifier 206 of a content item 106 maintained at the CMS repository 104. The first unique identifier 202 is stored in a local database 204. A local client synchronization application executing at the client machine 110 synchronizes and tracks the synchronization changes between the local file 106A and the content item 106 at the CMS repository 104 via the local database 204, by associating the first unique identifier 202 of the local file 106A with the second unique identifier 206 of the content item 106. ... In one example consistent with the current subject matter, the local database can include a table listing first unique identifiers 202 of one or more local files 106A at the client machine 110 and second unique identifiers 206 corresponding to the one or more content items 106 at the CMS repository 104 to which the one or more local files 106A are to be synchronized.)
Beuch discloses the usage of two tables for data storage. (see Beuch paragraph [0023]: identifying temporal data and generating context data, the streams engine 104 identifies whether the backend database is a temporal database. The temporal database 106 is a database comprised of temporal tables (e.g., a base table and history tables). Data is stored in the base table and as new data is stored in the base table, wherein the data previously stored in the base table is moved to a history table.)
B. Applicant argues on page 7 of Remarks: ... recording/record the first unique number in an implicit column of the current table and the second unique number in an implicit column of the historical table ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sun discloses the utilization of implicit column technology to store numbers such as first unique numbers and second unique numbers, (see Sun paragraph [0018]: generating new implicit column to store each LOB. Implicit data means a value of any data type, stored in one column and row intersection whose meaning can only be understood by relating that value to another value in another column and row intersection. Thus, an implicit column in a database is a column that relates to a column (values) at another location,; paragraph [0021]: provide an approach to generating an implicit column structure to store LOBs and to enable queries to access this implicit structure rather than LOB columns (e.g., LOB table space), to improve query performance.)
And, Kalsi discloses wherein the capability for the assignment of a first unique number or identifier associated with objects within a first database as stated above. Kalsi discloses the capability for the assignment of a second unique number or identifier associated with objects within a second database as stated above. Kalsi discloses locating a particular object based upon a unique number or identifier as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1 - 5, 7, 8, 11 - 15, 18 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beuch et al. (US PGPUB No. 20200242122) in view of Vaswani et al. (US PGPUB No. 20190236168) and further in view of Kalsi et al. (US PGPUB No. 20150356111) and Sun et al. (US PGPUB No. 20250086181).
Regarding Claims 1, 11, Beuch discloses a method for providing a tamper-resistant database management system and a non-transitory computer-readable medium, the method comprising the following:
Beuch discloses for a) storing data in a temporal table, wherein the temporal table comprises a current table and a historical table for storing the data; and d) a temporal table. (see Beuch paragraph [0023]: identifying temporal data and generating context data, the streams engine 104 identifies whether the backend database is a temporal database. The temporal database 106 is a database comprised of temporal tables (e.g., a base table and history tables). Data is stored in the base table and as new data is stored in the base table, wherein the data previously stored in the base table is moved to a history table.)
Beuch does not specifically disclose for a) a secure processing enclave; a database management system, and for d) executing an operation provided in a database query language (DQL) statement for the stored data in the temporal table, and for e) executing operation on the stored data.
However, Vaswani discloses:
a secure processing enclave; a database management system. (see Vaswani paragraph [0007]: instructions which allow a secure enclave to be created. However, other mechanisms for creating enclaves can be used, such as AMD® Secure Encrypted Virtualization (SEV). The code and data for a particular process may be stored and/or processed within an enclave. Data and processing within the enclave is protected from other processes that may be being executed within the computer system, helping to ensure its confidentiality and integrity. Enclaves typically provide an enclave quoting mechanism which enables a user to verify that a process is actually operating inside a valid enclave and also the state of the enclave (e.g. the actual process that is within the enclave).)
wherein executing the operation comprises:
d) executing an operation provided in a database query language (DQL) statement for at least one of the stored data, and e) executing the operation on the at least one of the stored data. (see Vaswani paragraph [0024]: The query engine and the transaction manager are configured to be executed within one or more memory enclaves of a host computer system separately from the operating system and the components implementing database administration functionality; paragraph [0046]: the query engine 220 comprises a query parser 222, a query optimizer (or planner) 224 and an execution engine 226. The query parser 222 allows the query engine to receive queries that are to be performed on the database system 200 expressed in a high-level query language, such as SQL. The query parser 222 analyses queries expressed in the high-level query language to determine their meaning. The query optimizer (or planner) 224 uses the output from the query parser 222 to determine how the query should be performed on the database system 200. That is to say, the query optimizer 224 determines a set of actions which should be performed on the database system 200 in order to carry out the query.; (execute the query operation))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Beuch for a) a secure processing enclave; a database management system, and for d) executing an operation provided in a database query language (DQL) statement for the stored data in the temporal table, and for e) executing operation on the stored data as taught by Vaswani. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Vaswani for the enhanced security of a system that enables the implementation of additional security techniques such as secure enclaves for data processing within a network environment. (see Vaswani paragraph [0024])
Furthermore, Beuch discloses for b) assigning the stored data in the current table a unique number and the historical table a unique number. (see Beuch paragraph [0023]: identifying temporal data and generating context data, the streams engine 104 identifies whether the backend database is a temporal database. The temporal database 106 is a database comprised of temporal tables (e.g., a base table and history tables). Data is stored in the base table and as new data is stored in the base table, the data previously stored in the base table is moved to a history table.; paragraph [0025]: monitors the temporal database 106 as temporal data records are added to the temporal database 106. As described above, the new temporal data records are stored in the base table, and any previously stored data records are moved to the history table.)
And, Beuch discloses for e) using the unique number for searching of the storage data in locating the at least one of the stored data in at least one of the current table or the historical table. (see Beuch paragraph [0019]: the streams engine can receive a query from a stream application regarding temporal data stored in the temporal database. Upon receiving the request, the streams engine can retrieve the requested temporal data from the temporal database and send the temporal data to the stream application.; paragraph [0027]: the temporal data analyzer 202 includes a temporal database identifier 204, a temporal data identifier 206, a context data module 208, a temporal data record module 210, a data deposit module 212, a reliability factor module 214, a pattern recognition module 216, and a stream priority module 218.; paragraph [0028]: The temporal database identifier 204 identifies whether the backend database is a temporal database 106. In cases where a temporal database 106 is identified, the temporal data identified by the temporal data identifier 206 can be stored in the temporal database 106 as a temporal data record. As a result, by storing temporal data in a temporal database 106, there can be a more complete picture associated with the data stream when temporal data is requested by a stream application.)
Beuch-Vaswani does not specifically disclose for b) assigning stored data in current table a first unique number and assigning stored data in historical table a second unique number, and for e) using first unique number or second unique number as a unique key for locating stored data in at least one of the current table or the historical table based on first unique number or second unique number.
However, Kalsi discloses for b) assigning the stored data in the current table a first unique number and assigning the stored data in the historical table a second unique number. (see Kalsi paragraph [0024]: In accordance with some implementations, a first unique identifier 202 of a local file 106A on a client machine 110 is associated with a second unique identifier 206 of a content item 106 maintained at the CMS repository 104. The first unique identifier 202 is stored in a local database 204. A local client synchronization application executing at the client machine 110 synchronizes and tracks the synchronization changes between the local file 106A and the content item 106 at the CMS repository 104 via the local database 204, by associating the first unique identifier 202 of the local file 106A with the second unique identifier 206 of the content item 106. ... In one example consistent with the current subject matter, the local database can include a table listing first unique identifiers 202 of one or more local files 106A at the client machine 110 and second unique identifiers 206 corresponding to the one or more content items 106 at the CMS repository 104 to which the one or more local files 106A are to be synchronized.)
And, Kalsi discloses for e) using the first unique number or the second unique number as a unique key for locating the at least one of the stored data in at least one of the current table or the historical table based on the first unique number or the second unique number. (see Kalsi paragraph [0024]: In accordance with some implementations, a first unique identifier 202 of a local file 106A on a client machine 110 is associated with a second unique identifier 206 of a content item 106 maintained at the CMS repository 104. The first unique identifier 202 is stored in a local database 204. A local client synchronization application executing at the client machine 110 synchronizes and tracks the synchronization changes between the local file 106A and the content item 106 at the CMS repository 104 via the local database 204, by associating the first unique identifier 202 of the local file 106A with the second unique identifier 206 of the content item 106. ... In one example consistent with the current subject matter, the local database can include a table listing first unique identifiers 202 of one or more local files 106A at the client machine 110 and second unique identifiers 206 corresponding to the one or more content items 106 at the CMS repository 104 to which the one or more local files 106A are to be synchronized.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Beuch-Vaswani for b) assigning stored data in current table a first unique number and assigning stored data in historical table a second unique number, and for e) using first unique number or second unique number as a unique key for locating the stored data in at least one of the current table or the historical table based on first unique number or second unique number as taught by Kalsi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Kalsi for the flexibility of a system that enables identifiers within a local database and a historical database to be utilized for location objects within the databases. see Kalsi paragraph [0024])
Furthermore, Kalsi discloses wherein the stored data in the current table is assigned a first unique number and the stored data in the historical table is assigned a second unique number as stated above.
Beuch-Vaswani-Kalsi does not specifically disclose for d) recording the first unique number in an implicit column of the current table and the second unique number in an implicit column of the historical table.
However, Sun discloses for d) recording the first unique number in an implicit column of the current table and the second unique number in an implicit column of the historical table. (see Sun paragraph [0018]: generating new implicit column to store each LOB. Implicit data means a value of any data type, stored in one column and row intersection whose meaning can only be understood by relating that value to another value in another column and row intersection. Thus, an implicit column in a database is a column that relates to a column (values) at another location,; paragraph [0021]: provide an approach to generating an implicit column structure to store LOBs and to enable queries to access this implicit structure rather than LOB columns (e.g., LOB table space), to improve query performance.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Beuch-Vaswani-Kalsi for d) recording the first unique number in an implicit column of the current table and the second unique number in an implicit column of the historical table as taught by Sun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Sun for the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple data structures such as implicit columns in the processing of data within a network connected environment. (see Sun paragraph [0018])
Furthermore, for Claim 11, a non-transitory computer-readable medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, upon execution, cause one or more processors to perform operations. (see Beuch paragraph [0071]: These computer readable program instructions may be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions/acts specified in the flowchart and/or block diagram block or blocks.)
Regarding Claims 2, 12, Beuch-Vaswani-Kalsi-Sun discloses the method according to claim 1 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11.
Beuch does not specifically disclose operation includes at least one of erase, select, fetch, or hide.
However, Vaswani discloses wherein the operation includes at least one of erase, select, fetch, or hide. (see Vaswani paragraph [0024]: The query engine and the transaction manager are configured to be executed within one or more memory enclaves of a host computer system separately from the operating system and the components implementing database administration functionality; paragraph [0046]: the query engine 220 comprises a query parser 222, a query optimizer (or planner) 224 and an execution engine 226. The query parser 222 allows the query engine to receive queries that are to be performed on the database system 200 expressed in a high-level query language, such as SQL. The query parser 222 analyses queries expressed in the high-level query language to determine their meaning. The query optimizer (or planner) 224 uses the output from the query parser 222 to determine how the query should be performed on the database system 200. That is to say, the query optimizer 224 determines a set of actions which should be performed on the database system 200 in order to carry out the query.; (execute select operation, analogous to query))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Beuch for operation includes at least one of erase, select, fetch, or hide as taught by Vaswani. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Vaswani for the enhanced security of a system that enables the implementation of additional security techniques such as secure enclaves for data processing within a network environment. (see Vaswani paragraph [0024])
Regarding Claims 3, 14, Beuch-Vaswani-Kalsi-Sun discloses the method according to claim 1 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11, including a temporal table. (see Beuch paragraph [0023]: identifying temporal data and generating context data, the streams engine 104 identifies whether the backend database is a temporal database. The temporal database 106 is a database comprised of temporal tables (e.g., a base table and history tables). Data is stored in the base table and as new data is stored in the base table, the data previously stored in the base table is moved to a history table.; paragraph [0025]: monitors the temporal database 106 as temporal data records are added to the temporal database 106. As described above, the new temporal data records are stored in the base table, and any previously stored data records are moved to the history table.)
Beuch does not specifically disclose access to and/or modification of the stored data in is restricted to a designated user.
However, Vaswani discloses wherein access to and/or modification of the stored data in the temporal table is restricted to a designated user. (see Vaswani paragraph [0071]: The access control module 290 uses the public keys 330 to authenticate requests that are received (or issued) by users to the database system to determine whether the user that issued each request is authorized to access the database system 200 using an authentication scheme which requires the user 330 to be in possession of the private key in the public-private key pair 320. Such an authentication scheme could be based on a challenge-response type of authentication scheme or may simply involve the signing of a hash of the request package by the user 330 using their private key.; (authentication restricts access to a designated user))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Beuch for access to and/or modification of the stored data is restricted to a designated user as taught by Vaswani. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Vaswani for the enhanced security of a system that enables the implementation of additional security techniques such as secure enclaves for data processing within a network environment. (see Vaswani paragraph [0024])
Regarding Claims 4, 13, Beuch-Vaswani-Kalsi-Sun discloses the method according to claim 1 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11, further comprising creating an audit table for recording any changes to the at least one of the stored data in the temporal table, wherein the recording of changes includes recording at least a value of the unique number and meta data associated with the changes to the at least one stored data. (see Beuch paragraph [0022]: The context data can include the object from which the temporal data is identified (e.g., a clock), the location of the temporal object (e.g., the clock is on a table next to a door) based on frame analysis, as well as metadata from the video data stream to identify, for example, a time stamp of when the video data stream recorded the temporal data and GPS coordinates indicating where the video data stream is recorded.; paragraph [0032]: The temporal data record module 210 generates a temporal data record for each temporal data identified in the data stream by the temporal data identifier 206 (changes in database). The temporal data record includes the identified temporal data and corresponding context data.; paragraph [0033]: The data deposit module 212 stores temporal data records and corresponding reliability factors in a temporal database. Each temporal data record can be stored as a new row in the temporal database.; (selected: timestamp))
Kalsi discloses wherein recording at least a value of the first unique number, the second unique number as stated above.
Regarding Claim 5, Beuch-Vaswani-Kalsi-Sun discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the meta data includes one or more of a type of the executed operation, executor of the operation, a number of rows that are subject the operation, or a timestamp. (see Beuch paragraph [0022]: The context data can include the object from which the temporal data is identified (e.g., a clock), the location of the temporal object (e.g., the clock is on a table next to a door) based on frame analysis, as well as metadata from the video data stream to identify, for example, a time stamp of when the video data stream recorded the temporal data and GPS coordinates indicating where the video data stream is recorded.; (selected: timestamp))
Regarding Claim 7, Beuch-Vaswani-Kalsi-Sun discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the historical table stores obsolete data and the current table stores current data. (see Beuch paragraph [0054]: the temporal data record and corresponding reliability factor is stored in a new row of the base table. In other cases, if there is a temporal data record already in a row of the base table, such data record is replaced and moved to a history table. At step 516, a pattern is identified in the temporal data or reliability factors stored in the temporal database, based on monitoring the temporal database.; (previously current data is update or changed to old data in history table))
Regarding Claims 8, 15, 20, Beuch-Vaswani-Kalsi-Sun discloses the method according to claim 3 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 14 and the database management system of claim 18, including a temporal table. (see Beuch paragraph [0023]: identifying temporal data and generating context data, the streams engine 104 identifies whether the backend database is a temporal database. The temporal database 106 is a database comprised of temporal tables (e.g., a base table and history tables). Data is stored in the base table and as new data is stored in the base table, the data previously stored in the base table is moved to a history table.; paragraph [0025]: monitors the temporal database 106 as temporal data records are added to the temporal database 106. As described above, the new temporal data records are stored in the base table, and any previously stored data records are moved to the history table.)
Beuch does not specifically disclose access to and/or modification of stored data in the table is performed by verifying a user as being the designated user, wherein the verifying includes verification of a signature.
However, Vaswani discloses wherein the access to and/or the modification of the stored data in the temporal table is performed by verifying a user as being the designated user, wherein the verifying includes verification of a signature. (see Vaswani paragraph [0071]: The access control module 290 uses the public keys 330 to authenticate requests that are received (or issued) by users to the database system to determine whether the user that issued each request is authorized to access the database system 200 using an authentication scheme which requires the user 330 to be in possession of the private key in the public-private key pair 320. Such an authentication scheme could be based on a challenge-response type of authentication scheme or may simply involve the signing of a hash (signing, signature utilized for verification) of the request package by the user 330 using their private key.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Beuch for access to and/or modification of stored data in the table is performed by verifying a user as being the designated user, wherein the verifying includes verification of a signature as taught by Vaswani. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Vaswani for the enhanced security of a system that enables the implementation of additional security techniques such as secure enclaves for data processing within a network environment. (see Vaswani paragraph [0024])
Regarding Claim 18, Beuch discloses a tamper-resistant database management system comprising the following:
a) a processor configured to execute instructions; a memory device. (see Beuch paragraph [0071]: These computer readable program instructions may be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer (including a memory), special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions/acts specified in the flowchart and/or block diagram block or blocks.)
Furthermore, Beuch discloses for c) a temporal table. (see Beuch paragraph [0023]: identifying temporal data and generating context data, the streams engine 104 identifies whether the backend database is a temporal database. The temporal database 106 is a database comprised of temporal tables (e.g., a base table and history tables). Data is stored in the base table and as new data is stored in the base table, wherein the data previously stored in the base table is moved to a history table.)
Beuch does not specifically disclose for d) execute an operation provided in a database query language (DQL) statement for the stored data, and for e) executing operation on the stored data, and wherein the tamper-resistant database management system is provided in a secure processing enclave.
However, Vaswani discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions, which when executed, cause the processor to:
d) execute an operation provided in a database query language (DQL) statement for at least one of the stored data, (see Vaswani paragraph [0024]: The query engine and the transaction manager are configured to be executed within one or more memory enclaves of a host computer system separately from the operating system and the components implementing database administration functionality; paragraph [0046]: the query engine 220 comprises a query parser 222, a query optimizer (or planner) 224 and an execution engine 226. The query parser 222 allows the query engine to receive queries that are to be performed on the database system 200 expressed in a high-level query language, such as SQL. The query parser 222 analyses queries expressed in the high-level query language to determine their meaning. The query optimizer (or planner) 224 uses the output from the query parser 222 to determine how the query should be performed on the database system 200. That is to say, the query optimizer 224 determines a set of actions which should be performed on the database system 200 in order to carry out the query.; (execute the query operation))
wherein the executing the operation comprises:
f) executing the operation on the at least one of the stored data, and wherein the tamper-resistant database management system is provided in a secure processing enclave. (see Vaswani paragraph [0007]: instructions which allow a secure enclave to be created. However, other mechanisms for creating enclaves can be used, such as AMD® Secure Encrypted Virtualization (SEV). The code and data for a particular process may be stored and/or processed within an enclave. Data and processing within the enclave is protected from other processes that may be being executed within the computer system, helping to ensure its confidentiality and integrity. Enclaves typically provide an enclave quoting mechanism which enables a user to verify that a process is actually operating inside a valid enclave and also the state of the enclave (e.g. the actual process that is within the enclave).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Beuch for c) execute an operation provided in a database query language (DQL) statement for the stored data, and for f) executing operation on the stored data, and wherein the tamper-resistant database management system is provided in a secure processing enclave as taught by Vaswani. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Vaswani for the enhanced security of a system that enables the implementation of additional security techniques such as secure enclaves for data processing within a network environment. (see Vaswani paragraph [0024])
Furthermore, Beuch discloses for b) a temporal table for storing data, wherein the temporal table comprises a current table and a historical table for storing the data. (see Beuch paragraph [0027]: the temporal data analyzer 202 includes a temporal database identifier 204, a temporal data identifier 206, a context data module 208, a temporal data record module 210, a data deposit module 212, a reliability factor module 214, a pattern recognition module 216, and a stream priority module 218.; paragraph [0028]: The temporal database identifier 204 identifies whether the backend database is a temporal database 106. In cases where a temporal database 106 is identified, the temporal data identified by the temporal data identifier 206 can be stored in the temporal database 106 as a temporal data record. As a result, by storing temporal data in a temporal database 106, there can be a more complete picture associated with the data stream when temporal data is requested by a stream application.)
And, Beuch discloses for e) using the unique number as a searching key for targeted searching of the stored data locating the at least one of the stored data in at least one of the current table or the historical table. (see Beuch paragraph [0019]: the streams engine can receive a query from a stream application regarding temporal data stored in the temporal database. Upon receiving the request, the streams engine can retrieve the requested temporal data from the temporal database and send the temporal data to the stream application.; paragraph [0027]: the temporal data analyzer 202 includes a temporal database identifier 204, a temporal data identifier 206, a context data module 208, a temporal data record module 210, a data deposit module 212, a reliability factor module 214, a pattern recognition module 216, and a stream priority module 218.; paragraph [0028]: The temporal database identifier 204 identifies whether the backend database is a temporal database 106. In cases where a temporal database 106 is identified, the temporal data identified by the temporal data identifier 206 can be stored in the temporal database 106 as a temporal data record. As a result, by storing temporal data in a temporal database 106, there can be a more complete picture associated with the data stream when temporal data is requested by a stream application.)
Beuch does not specifically disclose for b) assigning stored data in current table a first unique number and assigning stored data in historical table a second unique number, and for e) using first unique number or second unique number as a unique key for locating the stored data in at least one of the current table or the historical table based on first unique number or second unique number.
However, Kalsi discloses for b) wherein the stored data in the current table is assigned a first unique number and the stored data in the historical table is assigned a second unique number. (see Kalsi paragraph [0024]: In accordance with some implementations, a first unique identifier 202 of a local file 106A on a client machine 110 is associated with a second unique identifier 206 of a content item 106 maintained at the CMS repository 104. The first unique identifier 202 is stored in a local database 204. A local client synchronization application executing at the client machine 110 synchronizes and tracks the synchronization changes between the local file 106A and the content item 106 at the CMS repository 104 via the local database 204, by associating the first unique identifier 202 of the local file 106A with the second unique identifier 206 of the content item 106. ... In one example consistent with the current subject matter, the local database can include a table listing first unique identifiers 202 of one or more local files 106A at the client machine 110 and second unique identifiers 206 corresponding to the one or more content items 106 at the CMS repository 104 to which the one or more local files 106A are to be synchronized.)
And, Kalsi discloses for e) using the first unique number or the second unique number as a unique searching key for locating the at least one of the stored data in at least one of the current table or the historical table based on the first unique number or the second unique number. (see Kalsi paragraph [0024]: In accordance with some implementations, a first unique identifier 202 of a local file 106A on a client machine 110 is associated with a second unique identifier 206 of a content item 106 maintained at the CMS repository 104. The first unique identifier 202 is stored in a local database 204. A local client synchronization application executing at the client machine 110 synchronizes and tracks the synchronization changes between the local file 106A and the content item 106 at the CMS repository 104 via the local database 204, by associating the first unique identifier 202 of the local file 106A with the second unique identifier 206 of the content item 106. ... In one example consistent with the current subject matter, the local database can include a table listing first unique identifiers 202 of one or more local files 106A at the client machine 110 and second unique identifiers 206 corresponding to the one or more content items 106 at the CMS repository 104 to which the one or more local files 106A are to be synchronized.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Beuch for b) assigning stored data in current table a first unique number and assigning stored data in historical table a second unique number, and for e) using first unique number or second unique number as a unique key for locating the stored data in at least one of the current table or the historical table based on first unique number or second unique number as taught by Kalsi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Kalsi for the flexibility of a system that enables identifiers within a local database and a historical database to be utilized for location objects within the databases. (see Kalsi paragraph [0024])
Furthermore, Kalsi discloses wherein the stored data in the current table is assigned a first unique number and the stored data in the historical table is assigned a second unique number as stated above.
Beuch-Kalsi does not specifically disclose for d) recording the first unique number in an implicit column of the current table and the second unique number in an implicit column of the historical table.
However, Sun discloses:
d) recording the first unique number in an implicit column of the current table and the second unique number in an implicit column of the historical table. (see Sun paragraph [0018]: generating new implicit column to store each LOB. Implicit data means a value of any data type, stored in one column and row intersection whose meaning can only be understood by relating that value to another value in another column and row intersection. Thus, an implicit column in a database is a column that relates to a column (values) at another location,; paragraph [0021]: provide an approach to generating an implicit column structure to store LOBs and to enable queries to access this implicit structure rather than LOB columns (e.g., LOB table space), to improve query performance.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Beuch-Kalsi for d) recording the first unique number in an implicit column of the current table and the second unique number in an implicit column of the historical table as taught by Sun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Sun for the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of multiple data structures such as implicit columns in the processing of data within a network connected environment. (see Sun paragraph [0018])
Regarding Claim 19, Beuch-Vaswani-Kalsi-Sun discloses the database management system of claim 18, wherein the secure processing enclave further includes an audit table for recording any changes to the at least one of the stored data in the temporal table, wherein the audit table includes at least a value of the unique number and meta data associated with the changes to the at least one of the stored data. (see Beuch paragraph [0054]: the temporal data record and corresponding reliability factor is stored in a new row of the base table. In other cases, if there is a temporal data record already in a row of the base table, such data record is replaced and moved to a history table. At step 516, a pattern is identified in the temporal data or reliability factors stored in the temporal database, based on monitoring the temporal database.; (previously current data is updated or changed to old data in history table))
Kalsi discloses wherein includes at least a value of the first unique number, the second unique number as stated above.
6. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beuch in view Vaswani and further in view of Kalsi and Sun and Graham (US Patent No. 8,332,740).
Regarding Claim 6, Beuch-Vaswani-Kalsi-Sun discloses the method according to claim 1.
Beuch does not specifically disclose a unique number is a serial number that is assigned sequentially to data stored.
However, Graham discloses wherein the unique numbers are serial numbers that are assigned sequentially to the data stored in both the current table and the historical table. (see Graham col 16, lines 17-35: In various embodiments, the intangible may contain a unique identifier ISID or GSIN (e.g., a serial number, worldwide identification number) and/or vanity identifier for that intangible. The unique identifier for the intangible may be a simple sequentially assigned serial number or may be any other desirable unique identifier. The user may assign the ISID or GSIN or the system may do so automatically. By using a sequentially assigned serial number,)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Beuch for a unique number is a serial number that is assigned sequentially to data stored as taught by Graham. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Graham for the flexibility of a system that enables multiple of types of digital parameters such as a serial number to be utilized as identification type parameters. (see Graham col 16, lines 17-35)
Kalsi discloses wherein the first unique number and the second unique number as stated above.
7. Claims 9, 10, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beuch in view Vaswani and further in view of Kalsi and Sun and Maheshwari et al. (US PGPUB No. 20220197900).
Regarding Claims 9, 16, Beuch-Vaswani-Kalsi-Sun discloses the method according to claim 1 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11.
Beuch does not specifically disclose the DQL statement includes a “not greater than” predicate, the “not greater than” predicate being an erase operation.
However, Maheshwari discloses wherein the DQL statement includes a “not greater than” predicate, the “not greater than” predicate being an erase operation. (see Maheshwari paragraph [0047]: ML engine 122 includes tokenizer 124, which receives a set of queries or query expressions as input and automatically extracts a set of query tokens. A query token may be a data object, such as a string value, that identifies one or more words of a query text. For example, a query token may correspond to a database command (e.g., a SELECT, UPDATE, INSERT INTO, DELETE, CREATE TABLE, or other SQL statement), a clause (e.g., WHERE, FROM, FOR, etc.), a predicate (e.g., specified conditions that may be evaluated to true, false, or unknown), and/or a reference to a database object (e.g., a table, view, or database schema name); (predicate: “not greater than” mapping to erase operation))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Beuch for the DQL statement includes a “not greater than” predicate, the “not greater than” predicate being an erase operation as taught by Maheshwari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Maheshwari for the flexibility of a system that enables multiple types of parameters utilized in the processing of database information. (see Maheshwari paragraph [0047])
Regarding Claims 10, 17, Beuch-Vaswani-Kalsi-Sun discloses the method according to claim 1 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11.
Beuch does not specifically disclose the DQL statement includes an “equal” predicate, the “equal” predicate being a hide operation.
However, Maheshwari discloses wherein the DQL statement includes an “equal” predicate, the “equal” predicate being a hide operation. (see Maheshwari paragraph [0047]: ML engine 122 includes tokenizer 124, which receives a set of queries or query expressions as input and automatically extracts a set of query tokens. A query token may be a data object, such as a string value, that identifies one or more words of a query text. For example, a query token may correspond to a database command (e.g., a SELECT, UPDATE, INSERT INTO, DELETE, CREATE TABLE, or other SQL statement), a clause (e.g., WHERE, FROM, FOR, etc.), a predicate (e.g., specified conditions that may be evaluated to true, false, or unknown), and/or a reference to a database object (e.g., a table, view, or database schema name); (predicate: “equal” mapping to hide operation))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Beuch for the DQL statement includes an “equal” predicate, the “equal” predicate being a hide operation as taught by Maheshwari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Maheshwari for the flexibility of a system that enables multiple types of parameters utilized in the processing of database information. (see Maheshwari paragraph [0047])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CJ/
January 26, 2026
/KHOI V LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436