DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments received September 19, 2025 have been fully considered. With regard to 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103, Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not disclose [see applicant argument pages 7-11]. This language corresponds to the newly amended language of claims 1-5, 7-18 and 19, specifically to independent claims.
As such, these have been considered but they are directed to newly amended language, which is addressed below. See the rejection below for how the art on record in view of the newly amended language as well as the examiner's interpretation of the cited art in view of the presented claim set. Furthermore, in response to applicant argument, the rejection is modified and all pending claims are rejected under 35 USC § 103. In addition, the system of Cleary teaches fixed position mount camera with a wide angle lens and the camera can be repositioning according event detection. While applicant argument referencing the claimed invention “stationary camera or repositioning” to applicant specification (para. 0031 appears a typo, the correct para. appears 0033), however the claimed invention is broader compare applicant argument or the cited art, as such, the examiner stands with the rejection. Applicant argument in regarding to art of Siminoff, the examiner stands with the rejection since the claimed invention “in response to a repositioning of the stationary camera” consider under art of Cleary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleary et al. US 2007/0035627 as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of Siminoff US 2018/0176512.
In regarding to claim 1 Cleary teaches:
1. A method of area monitoring, comprising: generating a first image data with a stationary camera having a first field-of-view;
[0052] FIG. 2 is a drawing of an exemplary detection camera device 200 implemented in accordance with the present invention and using methods of the present invention. Exemplary detection camera device 200 may be any of the detection camera devices (102, 104, 106, 108) of the exemplary system 100 of FIG. 1. Exemplary detection camera device 200 includes a camera housing 202 and a fixed position mount 204. The fixed position mount 204 allows the camera housing 202 to be oriented to a selected rotary azimuth direction setting and tilt angle with respect to the horizontal plane and secured. In some embodiments, the fixed position mount 204 also includes a vertical adjustment, e.g., a retracting pole, which can be used to set the height to a selected altitude, and then secure the setting. The settings of the fixed position mount 204 are selected to obtain a selected field of view for detection corresponding to the camera's surveillance coverage area.
[0053] The camera housing 202 includes a camera 206, an electronic processing and control module 208, a network interface 210, and a power module 212. The camera 206, e.g., a visible spectrum camera, includes a wide angle lens 214 and an imager device 216. The wide angle lens 214 may be set for a fixed focal point. The imager device 216 may be, e.g., a charge coupled device (CCD) array and corresponding control and interface electronics. The imager device 216 receives a light image and converts the image into an electrical signal representation. The output signal 218 from the imager device 216 is forwarded to the electronic signal and processing control module 208.
Cleary, 0052-0053 and Figs. 1-2, emphasis added
defining a first activity zone at a first area within the first image data,
[0100] The sequence of FIGS. 10, 11 and 12 illustrates steps described above with respect to the drawing of FIG. 7. FIG. 10 shows an exemplary moving target 1000, e.g., an intruder, which has entered the surveillance detection field of view of detection camera 1 704, which detects the target 1000 identifies an approximate region of the target as indicated by boundary box 1002 and determines an approximate location, e.g., in 3D GPS coordinates, represented by point 1004. The target location information is forwarded to the tracking camera device 720, e.g., either via a centralized control system unit or directly. FIG. 11 shows that tracking camera device 720 has been position, e.g., rotary and tilt, and zoom controlled to focus in on the target performing a target confirmation and obtaining a more precise position 3D GPS position fix 1104 and obtaining higher resolution image data as indicated by the small box 1106 centered on target 1000. Dashed lines 1102 indicate that the coverage range of view of the tracking camera device is now smaller than the range of coverage of the detection camera device 704. Since the target has been confirmed, alerts are now sent to a guard interface unit. Video image information is now sent to the guard interface unit from the tracking camera device 720, and in some embodiments, also from the detection camera device 704. Just previously, the detection camera device 704 and the tracking camera device 720 had not been transmitting video image information. FIG. 12 illustrates that target 1200 has moved as indicated by arrow 1202 and the tracking camera device 720 has readjusted rotary and/or tilt camera pointing control angles and readjusted focus setting to keep the target in view as indicated by the location of dashed lines 1204 and box 1206, which is different from the location of dashed lines 1102 and box 1106 in FIG. 11.
Cleary, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13, emphasis added
however, Cleary fails to explicitly teach but Siminoff teaches: wherein defining the activity zone further comprises a user defining polygon end points within the first image data and defining one or more responses to at least one triggering event occurring within the activity zone;
[0366] Some of the present embodiments provide advantageous motion detection processes and techniques. For example, during an initial setup process, or at any time after the A/V recording and communication device 2202 has been set up, the user may designate one or more zones within the field of view of the camera as motion zones of interest. For example, and using FIG. 35A as a reference, when configuring the camera 134's motion detection, a configuration process may present the user with a visual representation of the field of view 400 of the camera 134. For example, an application executing on the user's client device 800, such as a smartphone, may show a live view from the camera 134 of the user's A/V recording and communication device 2202 on the display 806 of the user's client device 114/800 (FIGS. 1 and 32). The configuration process may prompt the user to designate one or more motion zones of interest 402 by selecting areas on the display 806 of the user's client device 800. For example, the user may draw one or more polygons 404, 406, 408 on the display 806 to designate the motion zone(s) of interest 402. If the display 806 of the user's client device 800 is a touchscreen, the user may designate the motion zone(s) 402 by tracing the polygon(s) 404, 406, 408 on the display 806 with his or her finger. The configuration process may enable the user to designate motion zone(s) 402 having any shape and/or number of sides. For example, the motion zone(s) 402 may be regular polygons such as the square 404, rectangle 406, and hexagon 408 shown in FIG. 35A, or any other type of regular polygon such as circles, pentagons, octagons, decagons, etc., or any type of irregular polygons. The configuration process may allow the user to designate any number of motion zones 402, such as one zone 402, two motion zones 402, three motion zones 402, etc. When all desired motion zones 402 have been created, the configuration process may prompt the user to save the motion zones 402, after which the created motion zones 402 may be sent from the user's client device 800 to a device in the network, such as a server 118/900C (FIGS. 1 and 33), and to the user's A/V recording and communication device 2202 via the user's network 110 (FIG. 1).
Siminoff, 0348, 0366, emphasis added.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Siminoff with the system of Cleary in order wherein defining the activity zone further comprises a user defining polygon end points within the first image data and defining one or more responses to at least one triggering event occurring within the activity zone, as such, the one or more A/V recording and communication devices on the exterior of a home, such as a doorbell unit at the entrance to the home, acts as a powerful deterrent against would-be burglars..—Abstract
furthermore, Cleary teaches: in response to a repositioning of the stationary camera resulting in a change in the stationary camera’s field-of-view, generating a second image data with the stationary camera having a second field-of view that differs at least in-part from the first field-of-view;
[0100] The sequence of FIGS. 10, 11 and 12 illustrates steps described above with respect to the drawing of FIG. 7. FIG. 10 shows an exemplary moving target 1000, e.g., an intruder, which has entered the surveillance detection field of view of detection camera 1 704, which detects the target 1000 identifies an approximate region of the target as indicated by boundary box 1002 and determines an approximate location, e.g., in 3D GPS coordinates, represented by point 1004. The target location information is forwarded to the tracking camera device 720, e.g., either via a centralized control system unit or directly. FIG. 11 shows that tracking camera device 720 has been position, e.g., rotary and tilt, and zoom controlled to focus in on the target performing a target confirmation and obtaining a more precise position 3D GPS position fix 1104 and obtaining higher resolution image data as indicated by the small box 1106 centered on target 1000. Dashed lines 1102 indicate that the coverage range of view of the tracking camera device is now smaller than the range of coverage of the detection camera device 704. Since the target has been confirmed, alerts are now sent to a guard interface unit. Video image information is now sent to the guard interface unit from the tracking camera device 720, and in some embodiments, also from the detection camera device 704. Just previously, the detection camera device 704 and the tracking camera device 720 had not been transmitting video image information. FIG. 12 illustrates that target 1200 has moved as indicated by arrow 1202 and the tracking camera device 720 has readjusted rotary and/or tilt camera pointing control angles and readjusted focus setting to keep the target in view as indicated by the location of dashed lines 1204 and box 1206, which is different from the location of dashed lines 1102 and box 1106 in FIG. 11.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0107 and Figs. 10-13, emphasis added
modifying the first activity zone to be at a second area within the second image data that corresponds to the first area within the first image data;
[0100] The sequence of FIGS. 10, 11 and 12 illustrates steps described above with respect to the drawing of FIG. 7. FIG. 10 shows an exemplary moving target 1000, e.g., an intruder, which has entered the surveillance detection field of view of detection camera 1 704, which detects the target 1000 identifies an approximate region of the target as indicated by boundary box 1002 and determines an approximate location, e.g., in 3D GPS coordinates, represented by point 1004. The target location information is forwarded to the tracking camera device 720, e.g., either via a centralized control system unit or directly. FIG. 11 shows that tracking camera device 720 has been position, e.g., rotary and tilt, and zoom controlled to focus in on the target performing a target confirmation and obtaining a more precise position 3D GPS position fix 1104 and obtaining higher resolution image data as indicated by the small box 1106 centered on target 1000. Dashed lines 1102 indicate that the coverage range of view of the tracking camera device is now smaller than the range of coverage of the detection camera device 704. Since the target has been confirmed, alerts are now sent to a guard interface unit. Video image information is now sent to the guard interface unit from the tracking camera device 720, and in some embodiments, also from the detection camera device 704. Just previously, the detection camera device 704 and the tracking camera device 720 had not been transmitting video image information. FIG. 12 illustrates that target 1200 has moved as indicated by arrow 1202 and the tracking camera device 720 has readjusted rotary and/or tilt camera pointing control angles and readjusted focus setting to keep the target in view as indicated by the location of dashed lines 1204 and box 1206, which is different from the location of dashed lines 1102 and box 1106 in FIG. 11.
Cleary, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13, emphasis added
and, responding to a triggering event occurring within the first activity zone of the second area.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
Note: The motivation that was applied to claim 1 above, applies equally as well to claims 2-5 and 7-17 as presented blow.
In regarding to claim 2 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
2. The method of claim 1, furthermore, Cleary teaches comprising a plurality of activity zones including the first activity zone and at least one additional activity zone within the first image data,
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
wherein each activity zone within the plurality of activity zones is configured to be modified from the corresponding first area within the first image data to the corresponding second area within the second image data.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 3 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
3. The method of claim 2, furthermore, Cleary teaches comprising the repositioning the camera from a first position corresponding to the first field-of-view to a second position corresponding to the second field-of-view.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 4 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
4. The method of claim 3, furthermore, Cleary teaches wherein the repositioning of the camera includes at least one of horizontal panning, vertical tilting, rotation and combinations thereof.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 5 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
5. The method of claim 2, furthermore, Cleary teaches comprising digitally scanning the camera view between the first field-of-view and the second field-of-view, wherein the first field-of-view and the second field-of-view are each a subset of a third field-of-view.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 7 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
7. The method of claim 6, furthermore, Siminoff teaches wherein modifying the activity zone further comprises providing the first and second image data to a computer vision system and positioning polygon end points within the second image data that correspond to the user defined polygon end points within the first image data.
Siminoff, 0348, 0366
In regarding to claim 8 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
8. The method of claim 7, furthermore, Cleary teaches wherein the computer vision system applies one or more techniques selected from a group comprising image classification, edge detection, object detection, object tracking, and segmentation.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 9 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
9. The method of claim 2, furthermore, Cleary teaches wherein the triggering event is selected from a group comprising detecting motion, detecting sound, identifying a person, identifying an animal, identifying a vehicle, identifying a parcel, or a combination thereof.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 10 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
10. The method of claim 9, furthermore, Cleary teaches wherein the response is selected from a group comprising generating an audio alert, generating a video alert, recording the second image data, generating an audio recording, masking a portion of the second image data, masking a portion of the audio recording.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 11 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
11. The method of claim 2, furthermore, Cleary teaches comprising of sending an alert to a user indicating the modification of the activity zone having occurred.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 12 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
12. The method of claim 11, furthermore, Cleary teaches comprising of prompting the user to verify accuracy of the modification of the activity zone.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 13 Cleary teaches:
13. A method of area monitoring, comprising: generating a first image data with a stationary camera having a first field-of-view;
[0052] FIG. 2 is a drawing of an exemplary detection camera device 200 implemented in accordance with the present invention and using methods of the present invention. Exemplary detection camera device 200 may be any of the detection camera devices (102, 104, 106, 108) of the exemplary system 100 of FIG. 1. Exemplary detection camera device 200 includes a camera housing 202 and a fixed position mount 204. The fixed position mount 204 allows the camera housing 202 to be oriented to a selected rotary azimuth direction setting and tilt angle with respect to the horizontal plane and secured. In some embodiments, the fixed position mount 204 also includes a vertical adjustment, e.g., a retracting pole, which can be used to set the height to a selected altitude, and then secure the setting. The settings of the fixed position mount 204 are selected to obtain a selected field of view for detection corresponding to the camera's surveillance coverage area.
[0053] The camera housing 202 includes a camera 206, an electronic processing and control module 208, a network interface 210, and a power module 212. The camera 206, e.g., a visible spectrum camera, includes a wide angle lens 214 and an imager device 216. The wide angle lens 214 may be set for a fixed focal point. The imager device 216 may be, e.g., a charge coupled device (CCD) array and corresponding control and interface electronics. The imager device 216 receives a light image and converts the image into an electrical signal representation. The output signal 218 from the imager device 216 is forwarded to the electronic signal and processing control module 208.
Cleary, 0052-0053 and Figs. 1-2, emphasis added
defining a plurality of activity zones within the first image data,
[0100] The sequence of FIGS. 10, 11 and 12 illustrates steps described above with respect to the drawing of FIG. 7. FIG. 10 shows an exemplary moving target 1000, e.g., an intruder, which has entered the surveillance detection field of view of detection camera 1 704, which detects the target 1000 identifies an approximate region of the target as indicated by boundary box 1002 and determines an approximate location, e.g., in 3D GPS coordinates, represented by point 1004. The target location information is forwarded to the tracking camera device 720, e.g., either via a centralized control system unit or directly. FIG. 11 shows that tracking camera device 720 has been position, e.g., rotary and tilt, and zoom controlled to focus in on the target performing a target confirmation and obtaining a more precise position 3D GPS position fix 1104 and obtaining higher resolution image data as indicated by the small box 1106 centered on target 1000. Dashed lines 1102 indicate that the coverage range of view of the tracking camera device is now smaller than the range of coverage of the detection camera device 704. Since the target has been confirmed, alerts are now sent to a guard interface unit. Video image information is now sent to the guard interface unit from the tracking camera device 720, and in some embodiments, also from the detection camera device 704. Just previously, the detection camera device 704 and the tracking camera device 720 had not been transmitting video image information. FIG. 12 illustrates that target 1200 has moved as indicated by arrow 1202 and the tracking camera device 720 has readjusted rotary and/or tilt camera pointing control angles and readjusted focus setting to keep the target in view as indicated by the location of dashed lines 1204 and box 1206, which is different from the location of dashed lines 1102 and box 1106 in FIG. 11.
Cleary, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13, emphasis added
However, Cleary fails to explicitly teach but Siminoff teaches:
wherein each activity zone within the plurality of activity zones is defined by polygon end points of the corresponding activity zone within the first image data;
[0366] Some of the present embodiments provide advantageous motion detection processes and techniques. For example, during an initial setup process, or at any time after the A/V recording and communication device 2202 has been set up, the user may designate one or more zones within the field of view of the camera as motion zones of interest. For example, and using FIG. 35A as a reference, when configuring the camera 134's motion detection, a configuration process may present the user with a visual representation of the field of view 400 of the camera 134. For example, an application executing on the user's client device 800, such as a smartphone, may show a live view from the camera 134 of the user's A/V recording and communication device 2202 on the display 806 of the user's client device 114/800 (FIGS. 1 and 32). The configuration process may prompt the user to designate one or more motion zones of interest 402 by selecting areas on the display 806 of the user's client device 800. For example, the user may draw one or more polygons 404, 406, 408 on the display 806 to designate the motion zone(s) of interest 402. If the display 806 of the user's client device 800 is a touchscreen, the user may designate the motion zone(s) 402 by tracing the polygon(s) 404, 406, 408 on the display 806 with his or her finger. The configuration process may enable the user to designate motion zone(s) 402 having any shape and/or number of sides. For example, the motion zone(s) 402 may be regular polygons such as the square 404, rectangle 406, and hexagon 408 shown in FIG. 35A, or any other type of regular polygon such as circles, pentagons, octagons, decagons, etc., or any type of irregular polygons. The configuration process may allow the user to designate any number of motion zones 402, such as one zone 402, two motion zones 402, three motion zones 402, etc. When all desired motion zones 402 have been created, the configuration process may prompt the user to save the motion zones 402, after which the created motion zones 402 may be sent from the user's client device 800 to a device in the network, such as a server 118/900C (FIGS. 1 and 33), and to the user's A/V recording and communication device 2202 via the user's network 110 (FIG. 1).
Siminoff, 0348, 0366, emphasis added.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Siminoff with the system of Cleary in order wherein defining the activity zone further comprises a user defining polygon end points within the first image data and defining one or more responses to at least one triggering event occurring within the activity zone, as such, the one or more A/V recording and communication devices on the exterior of a home, such as a doorbell unit at the entrance to the home, acts as a powerful deterrent against would-be burglars..--Abstract
Furthermore, Cleary teaches: defining one or more response to at least one triggering event occurring within the first activity zone; in response to a repositioning of the stationary camera resulting in a change in the stationary camera’s field-of-view,
[0100] The sequence of FIGS. 10, 11 and 12 illustrates steps described above with respect to the drawing of FIG. 7. FIG. 10 shows an exemplary moving target 1000, e.g., an intruder, which has entered the surveillance detection field of view of detection camera 1 704, which detects the target 1000 identifies an approximate region of the target as indicated by boundary box 1002 and determines an approximate location, e.g., in 3D GPS coordinates, represented by point 1004. The target location information is forwarded to the tracking camera device 720, e.g., either via a centralized control system unit or directly. FIG. 11 shows that tracking camera device 720 has been position, e.g., rotary and tilt, and zoom controlled to focus in on the target performing a target confirmation and obtaining a more precise position 3D GPS position fix 1104 and obtaining higher resolution image data as indicated by the small box 1106 centered on target 1000. Dashed lines 1102 indicate that the coverage range of view of the tracking camera device is now smaller than the range of coverage of the detection camera device 704. Since the target has been confirmed, alerts are now sent to a guard interface unit. Video image information is now sent to the guard interface unit from the tracking camera device 720, and in some embodiments, also from the detection camera device 704. Just previously, the detection camera device 704 and the tracking camera device 720 had not been transmitting video image information. FIG. 12 illustrates that target 1200 has moved as indicated by arrow 1202 and the tracking camera device 720 has readjusted rotary and/or tilt camera pointing control angles and readjusted focus setting to keep the target in view as indicated by the location of dashed lines 1204 and box 1206, which is different from the location of dashed lines 1102 and box 1106 in FIG. 11.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0107 and Figs. 10-13, emphasis added
generating a second image data with the camera having a second field-of view that differs at least in-part from the first field-of-view;
[0107] In step 822, a tracking module included in the camera device is operated to track and follow the moving detected target object, the tracking and following including the reception and processing of additional images. The tracking processes vary depending upon whether the smart camera device is a detection camera device or a tracking camera device. For example, a detection camera device may track by performing operations including recognizing that a target is moving between different pixels within it set field of view, the different pixels associated with different locations. A tracking camera device, which includes a controllably positioned camera may zoom in--zoom out, readjust rotary and tilt as the target moves, e.g., attempting to follow the target and keep the target centered in its field of view.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13, emphasis added
at a computer vision system identifying a difference between the first image data and the second image data,
[0107] In step 822, a tracking module included in the camera device is operated to track and follow the moving detected target object, the tracking and following including the reception and processing of additional images. The tracking processes vary depending upon whether the smart camera device is a detection camera device or a tracking camera device. For example, a detection camera device may track by performing operations including recognizing that a target is moving between different pixels within it set field of view, the different pixels associated with different locations. A tracking camera device, which includes a controllably positioned camera may zoom in--zoom out, readjust rotary and tilt as the target moves, e.g., attempting to follow the target and keep the target centered in its field of view.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13, emphasis added
wherein the computer vision system applies one or more techniques selected from a group comprising image classification, edge detection, object detection, object tracking,
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
Furthermore, Siminoff teaches: and segmentation; in response to identifying the difference between the first image data and the second image data positioning polygon end points within the second image data that correspond to the user defined polygon end points within the first image data
Siminoff, 0348, 0366-0367 and Fig. 35B
Furthermore, Cleary teaches: as to define each activity zone to be at a second area within the second image data that corresponds to the first area within the first image data;
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
and, responding to a triggering event occurring within at least one of the activity zones of the second area.
Cleary, 0100-0101, 0106-0107 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 14 Cleary teaches:
14. An electronic monitoring system, comprising: a stationary camera having a first field-of-view and operating to generate a first image data;
[0052] FIG. 2 is a drawing of an exemplary detection camera device 200 implemented in accordance with the present invention and using methods of the present invention. Exemplary detection camera device 200 may be any of the detection camera devices (102, 104, 106, 108) of the exemplary system 100 of FIG. 1. Exemplary detection camera device 200 includes a camera housing 202 and a fixed position mount 204. The fixed position mount 204 allows the camera housing 202 to be oriented to a selected rotary azimuth direction setting and tilt angle with respect to the horizontal plane and secured. In some embodiments, the fixed position mount 204 also includes a vertical adjustment, e.g., a retracting pole, which can be used to set the height to a selected altitude, and then secure the setting. The settings of the fixed position mount 204 are selected to obtain a selected field of view for detection corresponding to the camera's surveillance coverage area.
[0053] The camera housing 202 includes a camera 206, an electronic processing and control module 208, a network interface 210, and a power module 212. The camera 206, e.g., a visible spectrum camera, includes a wide angle lens 214 and an imager device 216. The wide angle lens 214 may be set for a fixed focal point. The imager device 216 may be, e.g., a charge coupled device (CCD) array and corresponding control and interface electronics. The imager device 216 receives a light image and converts the image into an electrical signal representation. The output signal 218 from the imager device 216 is forwarded to the electronic signal and processing control module 208.
Cleary, 0052-0053 and Figs. 1-2, emphasis added
a user device configured to receive the first image data and define an activity zone at a first area within the first image data;
[0100] The sequence of FIGS. 10, 11 and 12 illustrates steps described above with respect to the drawing of FIG. 7. FIG. 10 shows an exemplary moving target 1000, e.g., an intruder, which has entered the surveillance detection field of view of detection camera 1 704, which detects the target 1000 identifies an approximate region of the target as indicated by boundary box 1002 and determines an approximate location, e.g., in 3D GPS coordinates, represented by point 1004. The target location information is forwarded to the tracking camera device 720, e.g., either via a centralized control system unit or directly. FIG. 11 shows that tracking camera device 720 has been position, e.g., rotary and tilt, and zoom controlled to focus in on the target performing a target confirmation and obtaining a more precise position 3D GPS position fix 1104 and obtaining higher resolution image data as indicated by the small box 1106 centered on target 1000. Dashed lines 1102 indicate that the coverage range of view of the tracking camera device is now smaller than the range of coverage of the detection camera device 704. Since the target has been confirmed, alerts are now sent to a guard interface unit. Video image information is now sent to the guard interface unit from the tracking camera device 720, and in some embodiments, also from the detection camera device 704. Just previously, the detection camera device 704 and the tracking camera device 720 had not been transmitting video image information. FIG. 12 illustrates that target 1200 has moved as indicated by arrow 1202 and the tracking camera device 720 has readjusted rotary and/or tilt camera pointing control angles and readjusted focus setting to keep the target in view as indicated by the location of dashed lines 1204 and box 1206, which is different from the location of dashed lines 1102 and box 1106 in FIG. 11.
Cleary, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13, emphasis added
In response to a repositioning of the stationary camera resulting in a change in the stationary camera’s field-of-view, the stationary camera having a second field-of view that differs at least in-part from the first field-of-view and generating a second image data;
Cleary, 0052-0053, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13
an electronic processor executing a stored program and receiving the image data from the camera to: modifying the activity zone to be at a second area within the second image data that corresponds to the first area within the first image data,
Cleary, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13
wherein the stored program includes a computer vision system configured to apply one or more techniques selected from a group comprising image classification, edge detection, object detection, object tracking,
Cleary, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13
However, Cleary fails to explicitly teach but Siminoff teaches:
and segmentation to identify a difference between the first image data and the second image data and in response position polygon end points within the second image data that correspond to the user defined polygon end points within the first image data
[0366] Some of the present embodiments provide advantageous motion detection processes and techniques. For example, during an initial setup process, or at any time after the A/V recording and communication device 2202 has been set up, the user may designate one or more zones within the field of view of the camera as motion zones of interest. For example, and using FIG. 35A as a reference, when configuring the camera 134's motion detection, a configuration process may present the user with a visual representation of the field of view 400 of the camera 134. For example, an application executing on the user's client device 800, such as a smartphone, may show a live view from the camera 134 of the user's A/V recording and communication device 2202 on the display 806 of the user's client device 114/800 (FIGS. 1 and 32). The configuration process may prompt the user to designate one or more motion zones of interest 402 by selecting areas on the display 806 of the user's client device 800. For example, the user may draw one or more polygons 404, 406, 408 on the display 806 to designate the motion zone(s) of interest 402. If the display 806 of the user's client device 800 is a touchscreen, the user may designate the motion zone(s) 402 by tracing the polygon(s) 404, 406, 408 on the display 806 with his or her finger. The configuration process may enable the user to designate motion zone(s) 402 having any shape and/or number of sides. For example, the motion zone(s) 402 may be regular polygons such as the square 404, rectangle 406, and hexagon 408 shown in FIG. 35A, or any other type of regular polygon such as circles, pentagons, octagons, decagons, etc., or any type of irregular polygons. The configuration process may allow the user to designate any number of motion zones 402, such as one zone 402, two motion zones 402, three motion zones 402, etc. When all desired motion zones 402 have been created, the configuration process may prompt the user to save the motion zones 402, after which the created motion zones 402 may be sent from the user's client device 800 to a device in the network, such as a server 118/900C (FIGS. 1 and 33), and to the user's A/V recording and communication device 2202 via the user's network 110 (FIG. 1).
Siminoff, 0348, 0366, emphasis added.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Siminoff with the system of Cleary in order wherein defining the activity zone further comprises a user defining polygon end points within the first image data and defining one or more responses to at least one triggering event occurring within the activity zone, as such, the one or more A/V recording and communication devices on the exterior of a home, such as a doorbell unit at the entrance to the home, acts as a powerful deterrent against would-be burglars..--Abstract
Furthermore, Cleary teaches: as to define the activity zone to be at a second area within the second image data that corresponds to the first area within the first image data;
Cleary, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13
and, generate a response to a triggering event occurring within the activity zone of the second area.
Cleary, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 15 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
15. The system of claim 14, furthermore, Siminoff teaches wherein defining the activity zone at the first area comprises the user placement of polygon end points of the activity zone within the first image data.
Siminoff, 0348, 0366 and Fig. 35B
In regarding to claim 16 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
16. The system of claim 14, furthermore, Cleary teaches: wherein the triggering event is selected from a group comprising detecting motion, detecting sound, identifying a person, identifying an animal, identifying a vehicle, identifying a parcel, or a combination thereof.
Cleary, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 17 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
17. The system of claim 14, furthermore, Cleary teaches: wherein the response is selected from a group comprising generating an audio alert at the user device, generating a video alert at the user device, recording the second image data, generating an audio recording, masking a portion of the second image data, masking a portion of the audio recording.
Cleary, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 18 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
18. The system of claim 14, furthermore, Cleary teaches: wherein the user device is configured receive an alert indicating the modification of the activity zone.
Cleary, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13
In regarding to claim 19 Cleary and Siminoff teaches:
19. The system of claim 18, furthermore, Cleary teaches: wherein the user device is configured to verify accuracy of the modification of the activity zone.
Cleary, 0100-0101 and Figs. 10-13
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Takahashi US 2019/0238786
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL T TEKLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481