DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 21-37 are directed to an invention and/or species that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the new claims (see in particular claim 21 and 30, from which all of the other new claims depend) are drawn to cells, links, and tubes of the lattice matrix that are present only in non-elected inventions/embodiments. That is, the tubular portions are distinct from the cells and related to a non-elected subcombination, while the details of the cells, links, etc. are specific to the cushion and/or lattice matrix (reference numbers 10, 14) present only in the non-elected embodiment of Group I.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 21-37 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention and/or species. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maloney et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0237634).
Regarding claim 18, Maloney discloses a seat for supporting a user in an upright seated position in a vehicle, the seat comprising: a frame having a lower portion and an upright back portion (at least inherent/internal even if not clearly shown; see paragraph 19); and an upright cushioned component (30) supported by the upright back portion of the frame, the cushioned component having a forwardly-facing outer side that is configured to support a user in an upright seated position (see figures), and including a porous lattice matrix formed by an additive process (see paragraph 4, 21, 26, 28 etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney in view of Yang (US Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0116057) and optionally Skrbis et al. (US Patent Number 11299079). Maloney discloses a seat as explained above but does not disclose sound equipment. Yang discloses a related device including a source of sound comprising at least one of an induction of an internal combustion engine or an exhaust system of an internal combustion engine (at least the exhaust system is discussed throughout); and at least one tubular sound passageway (100 for instance) having an opening at a vehicle seat (see at least paragraphs 23 and 24) whereby sound entering from the source of sound enters a lower opening (at 120), and the sound is transmitted through the tubular sound passageway and exits at an upper opening at the seat (this would be the general arrangement; see citations above). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a sound arrangement as taught by Yang in Maloney’s device because this could improve user experience and comfort. Note that while the combination would appear to provide the components arranged as claimed (i.e. with portions of the tube in the matrix and a polymer matrix), even if this were not clear, changes in shape and arrangement of components as well as material selection require only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the arrangement as claimed based on normal variation to improve manufacture, packaging, and user comfort. Additionally, such arrangements are known as shown by Skrbis who discloses a related device including a cushioned component including at least one tubular sound passageway (46, 56, 60, etc.) that is integrally formed with a porous lattice matrix, the at least one tubular sound passageway having an upper opening (at 58 and/or 62 for instance) on an outer side of the cushioned component, a lower opening (at 47 for instance) on a lower portion of the cushioned component, and a central portion (of 46 and/or 56) extending through the porous lattice matrix between the upper and lower openings, whereby sound entering the lower opening is transmitted through the tubular sound passageway and exits at the upper opening (the device would function in this manner); and the tubular sound passageway and the porous lattice matrix comprise a homogenous one-piece polymer structure (they are viewed as such at least in that they are a homogenous unit apparently made of polymer; see the description of an elastic, resilient material as well as disclosure of the use of polymer more generally elsewhere). Accordingly, if the combination as described did not clearly provide the arrangement as claimed, it would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a tube arrangement as taught by Skrbis in Maloney’s device as previously modified because this could improve manufacture, packaging, and user comfort.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney. Maloney discloses a seat as explained above including the porous lattice matrix includes at least one horizontally extending tubular portion (at 168), but may not clearly disclose a plurality of tubes in a single matrix. Duplication and rearrangement of components requires only routine skill in the art however, and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of tubes as claimed based on normal variation to improve performance and comfort for various users.
Double Patenting
Claims 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/541404 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to provide the elements arranged as claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636