This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 6/16/26.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al., US 2019/0281546, (“Lim”), in view of Jeon et al., US 2024/0187063, (“Jeon”) and Zeng et al., US 2021/0075691, (“Zeng”), and Lee et al., US 2025/0141515, (“Lee”), newly cited.
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches “A method of a terminal (see, e.g., Fig. 10, Mobile device (e.g., UE) Operation), comprising:
receiving, from a base station, information on a measurement period for at least one channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) and a reporting period (Fig. 10, step 1052; paragraph no. 0135, “As shown in FIG. 10 … the base station may operate to configure the timing of the CSI-RS transmissions, expected CSI reports and C-DRX periodicity to coordinate with the UE (1002). The base station may identify the timing of a first scheduled occurrence of a periodic (e.g. periodically transmitted or periodically scheduled) CSI report that is to be transmitted by the UE during the on-period of the UE (1004). For example, the base station may identify a time ‘x’ when a first CSI report is scheduled to be transmitted after the UE enters a C-DRX on-duration period. The base station may similarly identify the timing (for example, a time ‘y’) of the first periodic CSI-RS to be transmitted by the base station during the on-duration (1006)”; as best shown in Fig. 12, the base station implicitly configures the measurement period to the UE for an aperiodic CSI-RS occasion 1 during the early UE wake up period 1202 – the early UE wake up period 1202 is one example of a measurement period configured by the base station to the UE; as best shown in Fig. 12, the Periodic CSI Report 1 is transmitted at time “x” (1216) and the time “x” is a reporting period also implicitly configured by the base station to the UE; however, see below for an explicit teaching of a base station configuring a UE with a measurement period and a reporting period);
receiving the at least one CSI-RS during the measurement period (Fig. 10, step 1060; see Fig. 12 which shows the Aperiodic CSI-RS (Occasion 1) received during the early wake up period 1202 (“measurement period”) by the UE);
generating at least one measured CSI based on the at least one CSI-RS (Fig. 10, step 1060; the received CSI-RS is measured by the UE; see paragraph no. 0013, “If the timing of the transmission of the corresponding periodic CSI-RS falls outside the on-duration of the UE, the base station may assign and transmit an aperiodic CSI-RS to the UE at a point in time that coincides with the on-duration of the UE so that the UE may measure the CSI and transmit the periodic CSI report”);
transmitting the at least one measured CSI to the base station” (Fig. 12, Periodic CSI Report 1 is transmitted by the UE to the base station; see paragraph no. 0013, “If the timing of the transmission of the corresponding periodic CSI-RS falls outside the on-duration of the UE, the base station may assign and transmit an aperiodic CSI-RS to the UE at a point in time that coincides with the on-duration of the UE so that the UE may measure the CSI and transmit the periodic CSI report”).
While Lim implicitly teaches that the base station configures to the UE the “measurement period” and “reporting period,” Jeon teaches these limitations explicitly, see paragraph no. 0108, “The BS may perform channel estimation on the basis of the CSI received from the UE. At this time, in order to more accurately predict parameters required for channel estimation, the BS may configure CSI in a necessary scheme. The CSI configuration may include at least one of a CSI measurement configuration, a CSI reporting configuration, and a CSI-RS configuration. The BS may adaptively generate the CSI configuration according to a necessary channel estimation scheme and transmit the generated CSI configuration to the UE through RRC signaling.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Lim by incorporating the teachings of Jeon to enable the base station to control the timing of both the measurement of the transmitted CSI-RS and the reporting of the associated CSI report by the UE, thereby improving the channel estimation of the downlink channel in the network and to better control the bandwidth allocation among the UEs in the cell which are transmitting CSI reports. In addition, Jeon further suggests the modification since it discloses that the base station may configure CSI in a necessary scheme in order to more accurately predict parameters required for channel estimation (see paragraph no. 0108).
Lim does not teach but Zeng teaches “generating at least one predicted CSI through a CSI prediction model based on the at least one CSI-RS and the at least one CSI” and “transmitting the at least one predicted CSI to the base station” (see Fig. 3 which shows a first device 305-a (e.g., UE) receiving a CSI-RS from a second device 305-b (e.g., base station) at step 315 and using a neural network model (steps 320-330) to predict CSI based on the received CSI-RS and measured CSI. The UE then transmits the predicted CSI to the base station at step 335; see paragraph nos. 0043, 0044, 0045, 0087, 0088, 0102-0105 for support) as recited in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Lim and Jeon by incorporating the teachings of Zeng to enable a device (such as a UE) to predict a link level performance of a channel for communicating with another device (such as a base station) using a trained neural network, as suggested by Zeng in paragraph no. 0043.
Regarding the newly added claim limitation “including at least one prediction time point for which CSI is to be predicted” of claim 1, Lim does not teach but Lee teaches this limitation, see paragraph no. 0006, “a method of transmitting channel state information (CSI) by a user equipment (UE) is provided, including: receiving configuration information related to CSI prediction; and deriving predicted CSI for a second time point (i.e., a future time point) later than a first time point (i.e., a past time point) from CSI for the first time point, based on the configuration information” and paragraph nos. 0085, 0087, 0088, 0089, and 0091 which disclose that the UE may receive from the base station a CSI reporting configuration information message which includes one or more of a slot offset for RS/CSI in aperiodic or periodic reporting case, a CSI prediction period or a parameter indicating the prediction period which is time synchronization information for the UE and the BS to predict CSI at the same time (i.e., at the same future time point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Lim, Jeon, and Zeng by incorporating the teachings of Lee to facilitate CSI prediction to achieve a more accurate CSI for a rapidly changing channel by training on channel changes using a history of past CSI changes as well as environmental factors that may affect the channel to predict CSI at a point in the near future, as suggested by Lee in paragraph no. 0063.
Regarding independent claim 12, this independent claim is a corresponding apparatus (i.e. UE) claim of the method claim 1 and recites similar subject matter. As such, the rationale behind the above rejection of claim 1 applies with equal force to this independent claim and as further amplified below to highlight the minor differences between the claims. See Fig. 3 of Lim for the claimed structural elements of the claim.
Regarding independent claim 8, Lim teaches “A method of a base station (see, e.g., Fig. 10, Base Station Operation), comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal, information on a measurement period for at least one channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) and a reporting period (Fig. 10, step 1002; paragraph no. 0135, “As shown in FIG. 10 … the base station may operate to configure the timing of the CSI-RS transmissions, expected CSI reports and C-DRX periodicity to coordinate with the UE (1002). The base station may identify the timing of a first scheduled occurrence of a periodic (e.g. periodically transmitted or periodically scheduled) CSI report that is to be transmitted by the UE during the on-period of the UE (1004). For example, the base station may identify a time ‘x’ when a first CSI report is scheduled to be transmitted after the UE enters a C-DRX on-duration period. The base station may similarly identify the timing (for example, a time ‘y’) of the first periodic CSI-RS to be transmitted by the base station during the on-duration (1006)”; as best shown in Fig. 12, the base station implicitly configures the measurement period to the UE for an aperiodic CSI-RS occasion 1 during the early UE wake up period 1202 – the early UE wake up period 1202 is one example of a measurement period configured by the base station to the UE; as best shown in Fig. 12, the Periodic CSI Report 1 is transmitted at time “x” (1216) and the time “x” is a reporting period also implicitly configured by the base station to the UE; however, see below for an explicit teaching of a base station configuring a UE with a measurement period and a reporting period);
transmitting the at least one CSI-RS during the measurement period (Fig. 10, step 1010; see Fig. 12 which shows the Aperiodic CSI-RS (Occasion 1) transmitted during the early wake up period 1202 (“measurement period”) of the UE); and
receiving at least one measured CSI from the terminal” (Fig. 12, Periodic CSI Report 1 is transmitted by the UE to the base station; see paragraph no. 0013, “If the timing of the transmission of the corresponding periodic CSI-RS falls outside the on-duration of the UE, the base station may assign and transmit an aperiodic CSI-RS to the UE at a point in time that coincides with the on-duration of the UE so that the UE may measure the CSI and transmit the periodic CSI report”).
While Lim implicitly teaches that the base station configures to the UE the “measurement period” and “reporting period” of claim 8, Jeon teaches these limitations explicitly, see paragraph no. 0108, “The BS may perform channel estimation on the basis of the CSI received from the UE. At this time, in order to more accurately predict parameters required for channel estimation, the BS may configure CSI in a necessary scheme. The CSI configuration may include at least one of a CSI measurement configuration, a CSI reporting configuration, and a CSI-RS configuration. The BS may adaptively generate the CSI configuration according to a necessary channel estimation scheme and transmit the generated CSI configuration to the UE through RRC signaling.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Lim by incorporating the teachings of Jeon to enable the base station to control the timing of both the measurement of the transmitted CSI-RS and the reporting of the associated CSI report by the UE, thereby improving the channel estimation of the downlink channel in the network and to better control the bandwidth allocation among the UEs in the cell which are transmitting CSI reports. In addition, Jeon further suggests the modification since it discloses that the base station may configure CSI in a necessary scheme in order to more accurately predict parameters required for channel estimation (see paragraph no. 0108).
Lim does not teach but Zeng teaches “transmitting the at least one predicted CSI to the base station” (see Fig. 3 which shows a first device 305-a (e.g., UE) receiving a CSI-RS from a second device 305-b (e.g., base station) at step 315 and using a neural network model (steps 320-330) to predict CSI based on the received CSI-RS and measured CSI. The UE then transmits the predicted CSI to the base station at step 335; see paragraph nos. 0043, 0044, 0045, 0087, 0088, 0102-0105 for support) as recited in claim 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Lim and Jeon by incorporating the teachings of Zeng to enable a device (such as a UE) to predict a link level performance of a channel for communicating with another device (such as a base station) using a trained neural network, as suggested by Zeng in paragraph no. 0043.
Regarding the newly added claim limitation “including at least one prediction time point for which CSI is to be predicted” of claim 8, Lim does not teach but Lee teaches this limitation, see paragraph no. 0006, “a method of transmitting channel state information (CSI) by a user equipment (UE) is provided, including: receiving configuration information related to CSI prediction; and deriving predicted CSI for a second time point (i.e., a future time point) later than a first time point (i.e., a past time point) from CSI for the first time point, based on the configuration information” and paragraph nos. 0085, 0087, 0088, 0089, and 0091 which disclose that the UE may receive from the base station a CSI reporting configuration information message which includes one or more of a slot offset for RS/CSI in aperiodic or periodic reporting case, a CSI prediction period or a parameter indicating the prediction period which is time synchronization information for the UE and the BS to predict CSI at the same time (i.e., at the same future time point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Lim, Jeon, and Zeng by incorporating the teachings of Lee to facilitate CSI prediction to achieve a more accurate CSI for a rapidly changing channel by training on channel changes using a history of past CSI changes as well as environmental factors that may affect the channel to predict CSI at a point in the near future, as suggested by Lee in paragraph no. 0063.
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, Jeon, Zeng and Lee as applied to claims 1, 8, and 12 above, and further in view of Vitthaladevuni et al., US 2025/0392367, (“Qualcomm”).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 13, Lim does not teach but Qualcomm teaches “compressing at least one predicted channel quality indicator (CQI) included in the at least one predicted CSI through a compression model of the terminal” (paragraph no. 0089, “Some techniques described herein provide frequency domain compression of CQI, RI, and/or PMI, such as by using an artificial neural network model”; the compressed CQI is included in the predicted CSI, see Fig. 7, step 750).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Lim, Jeon, Zeng, and Lee by incorporating the teachings of Qualcomm to enable compression and decompression of CSI, in the frequency domain, using a model such as an artificial neural network model, as suggested by Qualcomm in paragraph no. 0089. In addition, Qualcomm further suggests the modification in the disclosure “compression in the frequency domain may be beneficial relative to compression in other domains (such as the time domain) because a scheduler often schedules communications at the sub-band granularity, so frequency domain compression may provide satisfactory compression results for sub-band granularity scheduling, among other benefits” as disclosed in paragraph no. 0091.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10-11, 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest “wherein the at least one predicted CQI includes a CQI bitmap indicating presence or absence of a CQI for a prediction time point in a time region.”
Claims 5-6 and 16-17 depend from claims 3 and 14, respectively.
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 15, the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest “wherein the compressing of the at least one predicted CQI comprises: compressing CQIs predicted for a plurality of time points, the plurality of time points being or being not consecutive.”
Claim 7 depends from claim 4.
Claim 18 depends from claim 15.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest “wherein the decompressing of the at least one predicted CQI comprises: receiving a portion of the predicted CQIs; and receiving a remaining portion of the predicted CQIs, excluding the portion of the predicted CQIs, from the terminal at an update time point set by the base station.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to each independent claim have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
To the extent that some of the arguments may not be considered moot, these arguments are address herein. Applicant argues, re claim 1, that Zeng does not teach using generated measured CSI itself as an input to the prediction model (see page 11 of the amendment) and further argues that claim 1 requires the CSI report set include both measured CSI and predicted CSI (see page 11).
These arguments are not persuasive. Zeng discloses that the neural network may receive current communications measurements (see paragraph no. 0087) and that the first device (i.e., terminal) may train the neural network based on one or more of … measurements (see paragraph no. 0088). These measurements include measurements of the reference signals transmitted by the base station (see Fig. 3) to generate measured CSI. The argument that claim 1 requires the CSI report set include both measured CSI and predicted CSI is also not persuasive since this is an argument against the references individually, and one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is the combination of the reference which teach or suggest that the CSI report set include both measured CSI and predicted CSI as required by claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON TAE C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414