DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
08/15/2025 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The office action is responding to the arguments filed on 08/15/2025. Claims 1-
20 are pending. Amendments for claim interpretation is accepted and withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4,9-13,15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20190179698 A1) in view of ESAKA et al. (US 20210223962 A1) hereinafter Liu and ESAKA.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches A storage device to reduce increases to a program erase cycle count associated with a physical block by forming super blocks of varying sizes, the storage device comprises: (“the device 110 is a storage device”) (paragraph [0034] line 1)
(“The controller can select no more than one physical block from each of the planes and combine the selected physical blocks to obtain a super block based on the block information of the physical blocks in the planes, according to one or more strategies, e.g., based on erase count”) (paragraph [0057] line 1-3) (i.e. Fig 1 and 2A illustrate a storage device 110 can combine the selected physical blocks to obtain a super block of varying sizes based on the block information of the physical blocks in the planes or based on erase count. In other words, storage device can form super blocks based on many information including erase count)
a memory device including at least one die divided into physical blocks; and (“the memory includes x dies from Die#0 to Die#x−1. Die#0 includes i planes from Plane#0 to Plane#i−1, and each of the planes includes m+1 physical blocks”) (paragraph [0049] line 1-3) (i.e. Fig 2A illustrates Dies 0-2 includes planes and each plane includes m+1 physical blocks)
a controller to identify characteristics of data to be stored on the memory device, select physical blocks from the at least one die to be used in forming a super block, optimize a super block configuration based on data characteristics, align a super block size with the data characteristics, and form the super block with at least one physical block, (“The device controller 112 can categorize data according to its characteristics (e.g., hot/cold, system/cache, and/or data/metadata), as noted above, and scatter data by the characteristics when programming a super page to gather data with the same characteristics in a same physical block”) (paragraph [0049] line 1-3) (i.e. Fig 1 illustrates device controller 112 can categorize data according to its characteristics and scatter data by the characteristics when programming a super page to gather data with the same characteristics in a same physical block. In other words, device controller selects a super page or super blocks to store or program data based on data characteristics)
the characteristics of the data includes a mode of use of the data, (“the controller can allocate a first super page including SLC pages and MLC pages, and allocate a second super page including no SLC page but MLC pages. In some cases, the controller can use LM program method to combine 2 SLC blocks in the same plane for equal page number as other MLC block (2 bit per cell) within a super block”) (paragraph [0112] line 7-10) (i.e. Fig 12A and 12B illustrate controller can allocate a first super page including SLC pages and MLC pages where program method can be SLC mode or MLC mode. In other words, controller can allocate super page data based on programming mode)
to reduce data relocation on the super block and reduce increases to the program erase cycle count associated with a physical block (“Compared to binding physical blocks in a super block for management, the techniques can improve reclaim efficiency, reduce data migration, reduce erase counts of the physical blocks”) (paragraph [0014] line 9-10) (i.e. The technique of data management in a super block may improve efficiency, reduce data migration, reduce erase counts of the physical blocks. In other words, technique of data management in a super block may improve in reducing data relocation and program erase count).
Liu teaches storage device flexible super block formation for
optimization. However, Liu does not appear to specifically teach wherein the super block size corresponds with the size of data, and the controller fills the super block with the data and closes the super block without padding the super block
On the other hand, ESAKA which also relates to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization appears to specifically teach wherein the super block size corresponds with the size of data, and the controller fills the super block with the data and (see Fig 2, paragraph [0083], illustrates write command includes logical address of write data, size of write data and data pointer indicative of location for flash memory 5)
closes the super block without padding the super block (see Fig 2, 3, paragraph [0180], illustrates when a block is filled controller 4 allocates another block in 202 region as destination block without adding anything to the block)
Both Liu and ESAKA relate to storage device flexible super block formation for
optimization. Liu teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization
based on data characteristics. On the other hand, ESAKA also teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and write command includes logical address of write data, size of write data and data pointer indicative of location for flash memory and when a block is filled controller allocates another block as destination block without adding anything to the block. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Liu with ESAKA to specify storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and write command includes logical address of write data, size of write data and data pointer indicative of location for flash memory and when a block is filled controller allocates another block as destination block without adding anything to the block providing write operation of the second operation includes an operation for writing, in response to receiving a first request from the host, first write data to the second block, the first write data being data among write data associated with one or more write requests received from the host for one first block of the plurality of first blocks as mentioned in paragraph [0030].
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 1. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller determines the data characteristics from a standard host command
On the other hand, Liu which also relates to storage device flexible super block
formation for optimization teaches The storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller determines the data characteristics from a standard host command. (“data is categorized according to system or cache. In some cases, a hint can be obtained from one or more parameters of a command, e.g., from the host device 120”) (paragraph [0044] line 1-2) (i.e. data is categorized according to system and a hint can be obtained from one or more parameters of a command from host device. In other words, data characteristics can be obtained from host command)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Liu with ESAKA as
set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 4.
Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 1. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The storage device of claim 1, wherein in configuring the super block, the controller combines physical blocks with at least one of a similar bit error rate and program-erase-cycle
On the other hand, Liu which also relates to storage device flexible super block
formation for optimization teaches The storage device of claim 1, wherein in configuring the super block, the controller combines physical blocks with at least one of a similar bit error rate and program-erase-cycle. (“The controller can select no more than one physical block from each of the planes and combine the selected physical blocks to obtain a super block based on the block information of the physical blocks in the planes, according to one or more strategies, e.g., based on erase count,”) (paragraph [0057] line 1-3)
(“Erase count is related to P/E (program/erase) cycles of the single block. When erase count is beyond a threshold, the single block can be considered to be an urgent block or a bad block that has worn out”) (paragraph [0065] line 1-3) (i.e. controller can select no more than one physical block from each of the planes and combine the selected physical blocks to obtain a super block based on the block information of the physical blocks in the planes and the block information being erase count or P/E cycle, bad block or error block)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Liu with ESAKA as
set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 1. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller stores super block configuration information in a non-volatile memory
On the other hand, Liu which also relates to storage device flexible super block
formation for optimization teaches The storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller stores super block configuration information in a non-volatile memory. (“an example block information table 400 of a plane in a memory. The memory can be the memory 116 of FIG. 1, and the plane can be any plane in FIG. 1”) (paragraph [0062] line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 4A illustrates block information table 400 of a plane is stored in a memory which can be memory 116 in Fig 1 and memory 116 is nonvolatile memory)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Liu with ESAKA as
set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 1. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller forms the super block to include multiple physical blocks and to account for die parallelism for higher performance data
On the other hand, Liu which also relates to storage device flexible super block
formation for optimization teaches The storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller forms the super block to include multiple physical blocks and to account for die parallelism for higher performance data. (“the techniques can improve reclaim efficiency, reduce data migration, reduce erase counts of the physical blocks, and solve performance and lifetime degrading problems caused by unnecessary copying. The techniques can operate multiple physical blocks in a super block simultaneously and gain a maximum bandwidth for data throughput”) (paragraph [0062] line 9-12) (i.e. block management techniques may improve reclaim efficiency, reduce data migration, reduce erase counts of the physical blocks, and solve performance, may also operate multiple physical blocks in a super block simultaneously to gain a maximum bandwidth for data throughput)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Liu with ESAKA as
set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 1. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The storage device of claim 1, wherein the super block size is the same as a physical block size
On the other hand, Liu which also relates to storage device flexible super block
formation for optimization teaches The storage device of claim 1, wherein the super block size is the same as a physical block size. (“Thus, super block 204 has less blocks than super block 202 and has a smaller bandwidth. Super block 206 includes only one physical block”) (paragraph [0050] line 6-7) (i.e. Fig 2A illustrates super block can be of various sizes and super block 206 includes only one physical block. In other words, in this case super block is same size as physical block)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Liu with ESAKA as
set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches A method for reducing increases to a program erase cycle count associated with a physical block by forming super blocks of varying size in a storage device, the storage device includes a controller to execute the method comprising: (“a method can be performed by a memory controller coupled to a non-volatile memory, and the method can include the above-described actions performed by the memory controller”) (paragraph [0013] line 2-3)
(“The controller can select no more than one physical block from each of the planes and combine the selected physical blocks to obtain a super block based on the block information of the physical blocks in the planes, according to one or more strategies, e.g., based on erase count”) (paragraph [0057] line 1-3) (i.e. Fig 1 and 2A illustrate a method performed by controller of storage device 110 can combine the selected physical blocks to obtain a super block of varying sizes based on the block information of the physical blocks in the planes or based on erase count. In other words, storage device can form super blocks based on many information including erase count)
identifying characteristics of data to be stored on a memory device; selecting physical blocks from at least one die on the memory device to be used in forming a super block; optimizing a super block configuration based on data characteristics; and aligning a super block size with the data characteristics; and forming the super block with at least one physical block, (“The device controller 112 can categorize data according to its characteristics (e.g., hot/cold, system/cache, and/or data/metadata), as noted above, and scatter data by the characteristics when programming a super page to gather data with the same characteristics in a same physical block”) (paragraph [0049] line 1-3) (i.e. Fig 1 illustrates device controller 112 can categorize data according to its characteristics and scatter data by the characteristics when programming a super page to gather data with the same characteristics in a same physical block. In other words, device controller selects a super page or super blocks to store or program data based on data characteristics)
the characteristics of the data includes a mode of use of the data, (“the controller can allocate a first super page including SLC pages and MLC pages, and allocate a second super page including no SLC page but MLC pages. In some cases, the controller can use LM program method to combine 2 SLC blocks in the same plane for equal page number as other MLC block (2 bit per cell) within a super block”) (paragraph [0112] line 7-10) (i.e. Fig 12A and 12B illustrate controller can allocate a first super page including SLC pages and MLC pages where program method can be SLC mode or MLC mode. In other words, controller can allocate super page data based on programming mode)
to reduce data relocation on the super block and reduce increases to the program erase cycle count associated with a physical block (“Compared to binding physical blocks in a super block for management, the techniques can improve reclaim efficiency, reduce data migration, reduce erase counts of the physical blocks”) (paragraph [0014] line 9-10) (i.e. The technique of data management in a super block may improve efficiency, reduce data migration, reduce erase counts of the physical blocks. In other words, technique of data management in a super block may improve in reducing data relocation and program erase count)
Liu teaches storage device flexible super block formation for
optimization. However, Liu does not appear to specifically teach wherein the super block size corresponds with the size of data, and the controller fills the super block with the data and closes the super block without padding the super block
On the other hand, ESAKA which also relates to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization appears to specifically teach wherein the super block size corresponds with the size of data, and the controller fills the super block with the data and (see Fig 2, paragraph [0083], illustrates write command includes logical address of write data, size of write data and data pointer indicative of location for flash memory 5)
closes the super block without padding the super block (see Fig 2, 3, paragraph [0180], illustrates when a block is filled controller 4 allocates another block in 202 region as destination block without adding anything to the block)
Both Liu and ESAKA relate to storage device flexible super block formation for
optimization. Liu teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization
based on data characteristics. On the other hand, ESAKA also teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and write command includes logical address of write data, size of write data and data pointer indicative of location for flash memory and when a block is filled controller allocates another block as destination block without adding anything to the block. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Liu with ESAKA to specify storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and write command includes logical address of write data, size of write data and data pointer indicative of location for flash memory and when a block is filled controller allocates another block as destination block without adding anything to the block providing write operation of the second operation includes an operation for writing, in response to receiving a first request from the host, first write data to the second block, the first write data being data among write data associated with one or more write requests received from the host for one first block of the plurality of first blocks as mentioned in paragraph [0030].
Regarding claim 15, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 13. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 13, further comprising determining the data characteristics from a standard host command
On the other hand, Liu which also relates to storage device flexible super block
formation for optimization teaches The method of claim 13, further comprising determining the data characteristics from a standard host command. (“data is categorized according to system or cache. In some cases, a hint can be obtained from one or more parameters of a command, e.g., from the host device 120”) (paragraph [0044] line 1-2) (i.e. data is categorized according to system and a hint can be obtained from one or more parameters of a command from host device. In other words, data characteristics can be obtained from host command)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Liu with ESAKA as
set forth in claim 13 is equally applicable to claim 15.
Regarding claim 18, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 13. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 13, wherein forming the super block comprises combining physical blocks with at least one of a similar bit error rate and program- erase-cycle
On the other hand, Liu which also relates to storage device flexible super block
formation for optimization teaches The method of claim 13, wherein forming the super block comprises combining physical blocks with at least one of a similar bit error rate and program- erase-cycle. (“The controller can select no more than one physical block from each of the planes and combine the selected physical blocks to obtain a super block based on the block information of the physical blocks in the planes, according to one or more strategies, e.g., based on erase count,”) (paragraph [0057] line 1-3)
(“Erase count is related to P/E (program/erase) cycles of the single block. When erase count is beyond a threshold, the single block can be considered to be an urgent block or a bad block that has worn out”) (paragraph [0065] line 1-3) (i.e. controller can select no more than one physical block from each of the planes and combine the selected physical blocks to obtain a super block based on the block information of the physical blocks in the planes and the block information being erase count or P/E cycle, bad block or error block)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Liu with ESAKA as
set forth in claim 13 is equally applicable to claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 13. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 13, further comprising storing super block configuration information in a non-volatile memory
On the other hand, Liu which also relates to storage device flexible super block
formation for optimization teaches The method of claim 13, further comprising storing super block configuration information in a non-volatile memory. (“an example block information table 400 of a plane in a memory. The memory can be the memory 116 of FIG. 1, and the plane can be any plane in FIG. 1”) (paragraph [0062] line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 4A illustrates block information table 400 of a plane is stored in a memory which can be memory 116 in Fig 1 and memory 116 is nonvolatile memory)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Liu with ESAKA as
set forth in claim 13 is equally applicable to claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches A method for reducing increases to a program erase cycle count associated with a physical block by forming super blocks of varying size in a storage device, the storage device includes a controller to execute the method comprising: (“a method can be performed by a memory controller coupled to a non-volatile memory, and the method can include the above-described actions performed by the memory controller”) (paragraph [0013] line 2-3)
(“The controller can select no more than one physical block from each of the planes and combine the selected physical blocks to obtain a super block based on the block information of the physical blocks in the planes, according to one or more strategies, e.g., based on erase count”) (paragraph [0057] line 1-3) (i.e. Fig 1 and 2A illustrate a method performed by controller of storage device 110 can combine the selected physical blocks to obtain a super block of varying sizes based on the block information of the physical blocks in the planes or based on erase count. In other words, storage device can form super blocks based on many information including erase count)
identifying characteristics of data to be stored on a memory device; selecting physical blocks from the at least one die on the memory device to be used in forming a super block; optimizing a super block configuration based on data characteristics; and aligning a super block size with the data characteristics; and forming the super block with multiple physical blocks to account for die parallelism for higher performance data, (“The device controller 112 can categorize data according to its characteristics (e.g., hot/cold, system/cache, and/or data/metadata), as noted above, and scatter data by the characteristics when programming a super page to gather data with the same characteristics in a same physical block”) (paragraph [0049] line 1-3) (i.e. Fig 1 illustrates device controller 112 can categorize data according to its characteristics and scatter data by the characteristics when programming a super page to gather data with the same characteristics in a same physical block. In other words, device controller selects a super page or super blocks to store or program data based on data characteristics)
the characteristics of the data includes a mode of use of the data, (“the controller can allocate a first super page including SLC pages and MLC pages, and allocate a second super page including no SLC page but MLC pages. In some cases, the controller can use LM program method to combine 2 SLC blocks in the same plane for equal page number as other MLC block (2 bit per cell) within a super block”) (paragraph [0112] line 7-10) (i.e. Fig 12A and 12B illustrate controller can allocate a first super page including SLC pages and MLC pages where program method can be SLC mode or MLC mode. In other words, controller can allocate super page data based on programming mode)
to reduce data relocation on the super block and reduce increases to the program erase cycle count associated with a physical block (“Compared to binding physical blocks in a super block for management, the techniques can improve reclaim efficiency, reduce data migration, reduce erase counts of the physical blocks”) (paragraph [0014] line 9-10) (i.e. The technique of data management in a super block may improve efficiency, reduce data migration, reduce erase counts of the physical blocks. In other words, technique of data management in a super block may improve in reducing data relocation and program erase count).
Liu teaches storage device flexible super block formation for
optimization. However, Liu does not appear to specifically teach wherein the super block size corresponds with the size of data, and the controller fills the super block with the data and closes the super block without padding the super block
On the other hand, ESAKA which also relates to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization appears to specifically teach wherein the super block size corresponds with the size of data, and the controller fills the super block with the data and (see Fig 2, paragraph [0083], illustrates write command includes logical address of write data, size of write data and data pointer indicative of location for flash memory 5)
closes the super block without padding the super block (see Fig 2, 3, paragraph [0180], illustrates when a block is filled controller 4 allocates another block in 202 region as destination block without adding anything to the block)
Both Liu and ESAKA relate to storage device flexible super block formation for
optimization. Liu teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization
based on data characteristics. On the other hand, ESAKA also teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and write command includes logical address of write data, size of write data and data pointer indicative of location for flash memory and when a block is filled controller allocates another block as destination block without adding anything to the block. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Liu with ESAKA to specify storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and write command includes logical address of write data, size of write data and data pointer indicative of location for flash memory and when a block is filled controller allocates another block as destination block without adding anything to the block providing write operation of the second operation includes an operation for writing, in response to receiving a first request from the host, first write data to the second block, the first write data being data among write data associated with one or more write requests received from the host for one first block of the plurality of first blocks as mentioned in paragraph [0030].
Claim(s) 2-3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Liu in view of ESAKA and further in view of Cui et al. (US 20220011936 A1) hereinafter Cui.
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 1. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller receives the data characteristics from a host through a standard protocol.
On the other hand, Cui which also relates to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization appears to specifically teach The storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller receives the data characteristics from a host through a standard protocol. (“The instructions 624 can further be transmitted or received over a communications network 626 using a transmission medium via the network interface device 620 utilizing any one of a number of transfer protocols (e.g., frame relay, internet protocol (IP), transmission control protocol (TCP), user datagram protocol (UDP), hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP), etc.).”) (paragraph [0066] line 1-3) (i.e. Fig 6 illustrates instructions 624 can further be transmitted or received over a communications network 626 using a transmission medium via the network interface device 620 utilizing any one of a number of transfer protocols. In other words, data characteristics instructions are transmitted via network interface device utilizing transfer protocols)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Liu with ESAKA for the reasons set forth in claim 1
above. In addition, Liu, ESAKA and Cui are considered analogous arts, because
they all relate to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization. Liu – ESAKA combination teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization based on data characteristics. On the other hand, Cui also teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and data characteristics instructions being transmitted via network interface device utilizing transfer protocols. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Liu – ESAKA combination with Cui to specify storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and data characteristics instructions being transmitted via network interface device utilizing transfer protocols providing performance which maybe hampered by a host interface and not NAND array bandwidth, such as in Serial Advanced Technology Attachment (SATA), Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe), or Non-Volatile Memory Express (NVMe) host interfaces as mentioned in paragraph [0027].
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 2. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The storage device of claim 2, wherein the data characteristics include at least one of a mode of use for the data including a performance intensive mode and a data storage mode and an overall size of the data.
On the other hand, Liu which also relates to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization appears to specifically teach The storage device of claim 2, wherein the data characteristics include at least one of a mode of use for the data including a performance intensive mode and a data storage mode and an overall size of the data. (“categorizing data according to its characteristics (e.g., hot/cold, system/cache, data/metadata) and scattering data by its characteristics when programming a super page to gather data with the same (or similar) characteristics in the same physical blocks. Compared to binding physical blocks in a super block for management, the techniques can improve reclaim efficiency, reduce data migration, reduce erase counts of the physical blocks, and solve performance and lifetime degrading problems caused by unnecessary copying”) (paragraph [0014] line 7-11)
(“An MLC block can store more data than an SLC block and can be used to store data stream from a sequential write demand”) (paragraph [0080] line 4-5)
(i.e. categorizing or selecting data according to its characteristics and scattering or aligning data by its characteristics when programming a super page where techniques may include reduce data migration, reduce erase counts, solve performance, reduce unnecessary copying etc. Also, MLC block can store more data so when data size is important, controller can align MLC block for storage)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Liu – ESAKA combination with Cui as set forth in claim 2 is equally applicable to claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches wherein the data characteristics include at least one of a mode of use for the data including a performance intensive mode and a data storage mode and an overall size of the data. (“categorizing data according to its characteristics (e.g., hot/cold, system/cache, data/metadata) and scattering data by its characteristics when programming a super page to gather data with the same (or similar) characteristics in the same physical blocks. Compared to binding physical blocks in a super block for management, the techniques can improve reclaim efficiency, reduce data migration, reduce erase counts of the physical blocks, and solve performance and lifetime degrading problems caused by unnecessary copying”) (paragraph [0014] line 7-11)
(“An MLC block can store more data than an SLC block and can be used to store data stream from a sequential write demand”) (paragraph [0080] line 4-5)
(i.e. categorizing or selecting data according to its characteristics and scattering or aligning data by its characteristics when programming a super page where techniques may include reduce data migration, reduce erase counts, solve performance, reduce unnecessary copying etc. Also, MLC block can store more data so when data size is important, controller can align MLC block for storage)
Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 13, further comprising receiving the data characteristics from a host through a standard protocol,
On the other hand, Cui which also relates to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization appears to specifically teach The method of claim 13, further comprising receiving the data characteristics from a host through a standard protocol, (“The instructions 624 can further be transmitted or received over a communications network 626 using a transmission medium via the network interface device 620 utilizing any one of a number of transfer protocols (e.g., frame relay, internet protocol (IP), transmission control protocol (TCP), user datagram protocol (UDP), hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP), etc.).”) (paragraph [0066] line 1-3) (i.e. Fig 6 illustrates instructions 624 can further be transmitted or received over a communications network 626 using a transmission medium via the network interface device 620 utilizing any one of a number of transfer protocols. In other words, data characteristics instructions are transmitted via network interface device utilizing transfer protocols)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Liu with ESAKA for the reasons set forth in claim 1
above. In addition, Liu, ESAKA and Cui are considered analogous arts, because
they all relate to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization. Liu – ESAKA combination teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization based on data characteristics. On the other hand, Cui also teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and data characteristics instructions being transmitted via network interface device utilizing transfer protocols. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Liu – ESAKA combination with Cui to specify storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and data characteristics instructions being transmitted via network interface device utilizing transfer protocols providing performance which may be hampered by a host interface and not NAND array bandwidth, such as in Serial Advanced Technology Attachment (SATA), Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe), or Non-Volatile Memory Express (NVMe) host interfaces as mentioned in paragraph [0027].
Claim(s) 5-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Liu in view of ESAKA and further in view of KANNO et al. (US 20230022741 A1) hereinafter KANNO.
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 4. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The storage device of claim 4, wherein the controller uses a namespace identifier in a multi-namespace environment and a formatted sector size for a namespace to obtain the data characteristics.
On the other hand, KANNO which also relates to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization appears to specifically teach The storage device of claim 4, wherein the controller uses a namespace identifier in a multi-namespace environment and a formatted sector size for a namespace to obtain the data characteristics. (“the controller 4 of the flash storage device 3 receives the write command, the controller 4 encrypts the write data associated with the write command with the physical address included in the write command and an encryption key corresponding to the namespace ID included in the write command”) (paragraph [0138] line 1-3) (i.e. Fig 11 step S11 illustrates controller 4 of the flash storage device 3 in Fig 2 receives the write command and controller encrypts the write data associated with the write command with the physical address included in the write command and an encryption key corresponding to the namespace ID included in the write command. In other words, controller uses namespace ID with data for data characteristics)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Liu with ESAKA for the reasons set forth in claim 1
above. In addition, Liu, ESAKA and KANNO are considered analogous arts, because
they all relate to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization. Liu – ESAKA combination teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization based on data characteristics. On the other hand, KANNO also teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and controller using namespace ID with data for data characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Liu – ESAKA combination with KANNO to specify storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and controller using namespace ID with data for data characteristics providing encryption of the data with the physical address and encryption key being selected from a plurality of keys and writing the encrypted data to physical storage location as mentioned in paragraph [0028].
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 4. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The storage device of claim 4, wherein the controller configures the super block for at least one namespace with a same logical block address formatting.
On the other hand, KANNO which also relates to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization appears to specifically teach The storage device of claim 4, wherein the controller configures the super block for at least one namespace with a same logical block address formatting. (“The plural regions may be implemented by plural namespaces. Each of the namespaces is a region (storage region) in the NAND flash memory 5, and a logical address space (LBA range) is allocated to each of the namespaces”) (paragraph [0070] line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates Super block regions in the NAND flash memory 5 are configured as namespaces for each region and a logical address space (LBA range) is allocated to each of the namespaces. In other words, super block regions are configured for namespace allocated with a logical address)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Liu with ESAKA for the reasons set forth in claim 1
above. In addition, Liu, ESAKA and KANNO are considered analogous arts, because
they all relate to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization. Liu – ESAKA combination teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization based on data characteristics. On the other hand, KANNO also teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and super block regions being configured for namespace allocated with a logical address. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Liu – ESAKA combination with KANNO to specify storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and super block regions being configured for namespace allocated with a logical address providing encryption of the data with the physical address and encryption key being selected from a plurality of keys and writing the encrypted data to physical storage location as mentioned in paragraph [0028].
Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 4. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The storage device of claim 4, wherein the controller configures the super block with a controller identifier, wherein the controller uses the controller identifier in determining an optimal number and types of physical blocks to include in the super block.
On the other hand, KANNO which also relates to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization appears to specifically teach The storage device of claim 4, wherein the controller configures the super block with a controller identifier, wherein the controller uses the controller identifier in determining an optimal number and types of physical blocks to include in the super block. (“The write operation control unit 21 receives from the host 2 a write request (write command) designating a physical address indicative of a physical storage location in the NAND flash memory 5 to which data is to be written. As explained above, the physical address includes a block address indicative of a block to which the data is to be written, and the in-block physical address (block offset) indicative of a location (physical storage location) in the block, to which the data is to be written. The block address is a block identifier designating a block to which the data is to be written. Various numbers that can uniquely identify any one of the blocks included in the NAND flash memory 5 can be used as the block address”) (paragraph [0065] line 1-6) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates controller 4 receives write command from host 2 designating a physical address indicative of a physical storage location in the NAND flash memory 5 to which data is to be written and physical address includes a block address identifier indicative of designating a block to which the data is to be written where various numbers which can uniquely identify any one of the blocks included in the NAND flash memory)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Liu with ESAKA for the reasons set forth in claim 1
above. In addition, Liu, ESAKA and KANNO are considered analogous arts, because
they all relate to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization. Liu – ESAKA combination teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization based on data characteristics. On the other hand, KANNO also teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and physical address including a block address identifier indicative of designating a block to which the data to be written which can uniquely identify any one of the blocks included in the NAND flash memory. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Liu – ESAKA combination with KANNO to specify storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and physical address including a block address identifier indicative of designating a block to which the data to be written which can uniquely identify any one of the blocks included in the NAND flash memory providing encryption of the data with the physical address and encryption key being selected from a plurality of keys and writing the encrypted data to physical storage location as mentioned in paragraph [0028].
Regarding claim 16, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 15. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 15, further comprising using a namespace identifier in a multi-namespace environment and a formatted sector size for a namespace to obtain the data characteristics and
configuring the super block for at least one namespace with a same logical block address formatting.
On the other hand, KANNO which also relates to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization appears to specifically teach The method of claim 15, further comprising using a namespace identifier in a multi-namespace environment and a formatted sector size for a namespace to obtain the data characteristics and (“the controller 4 of the flash storage device 3 receives the write command, the controller 4 encrypts the write data associated with the write command with the physical address included in the write command and an encryption key corresponding to the namespace ID included in the write command”) (paragraph [0138] line 1-3) (i.e. Fig 11 step S11 illustrates controller 4 of the flash storage device 3 in Fig 2 receives the write command and controller encrypts the write data associated with the write command with the physical address included in the write command and an encryption key corresponding to the namespace ID included in the write command. In other words, controller uses namespace ID with data for data characteristics)
configuring the super block for at least one namespace with a same logical block address formatting. (“The plural regions may be implemented by plural namespaces. Each of the namespaces is a region (storage region) in the NAND flash memory 5, and a logical address space (LBA range) is allocated to each of the namespaces”) (paragraph [0070] line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates Super block regions in the NAND flash memory 5 are configured as namespaces for each region and a logical address space (LBA range) is allocated to each of the namespaces. In other words, super block regions are configured for namespace allocated with a logical address)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Liu with ESAKA for the reasons set forth in claim 1
above. In addition, Liu, ESAKA and KANNO are considered analogous arts, because
they all relate to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization. Liu – ESAKA combination teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization based on data characteristics. On the other hand, KANNO also teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and controller using namespace ID with data for data characteristics and super block regions being configured for namespace allocated with a logical address. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Liu – ESAKA combination with KANNO to specify storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and controller using namespace ID with data for data characteristics and super block regions being configured for namespace allocated with a logical address providing encryption of the data with the physical address and encryption key being selected from a plurality of keys and writing the encrypted data to physical storage location as mentioned in paragraph [0028].
Regarding claim 17, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 15. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 15, further comprising configuring the super block with a controller identifier and using the controller identifier in determining an optimal number and types of physical blocks to include in the super block.
On the other hand, KANNO which also relates to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization appears to specifically teach The method of claim 15, further comprising configuring the super block with a controller identifier and using the controller identifier in determining an optimal number and types of physical blocks to include in the super block. (“The write operation control unit 21 receives from the host 2 a write request (write command) designating a physical address indicative of a physical storage location in the NAND flash memory 5 to which data is to be written. As explained above, the physical address includes a block address indicative of a block to which the data is to be written, and the in-block physical address (block offset) indicative of a location (physical storage location) in the block, to which the data is to be written. The block address is a block identifier designating a block to which the data is to be written. Various numbers that can uniquely identify any one of the blocks included in the NAND flash memory 5 can be used as the block address”) (paragraph [0065] line 1-6) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates controller 4 receives write command from host 2 designating a physical address indicative of a physical storage location in the NAND flash memory 5 to which data is to be written and physical address includes a block address identifier indicative designating a block to which the data is to be written where various numbers which can uniquely identify any one of the blocks included in the NAND flash memory)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Liu with ESAKA for the reasons set forth in claim 1
above. In addition, Liu, ESAKA and KANNO are considered analogous arts, because
they all relate to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization. Liu – ESAKA combination teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization based on data characteristics. On the other hand, KANNO also teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and physical address including a block address identifier indicative of designating a block to which the data to be written which can uniquely identify any one of the blocks included in the NAND flash memory. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Liu – ESAKA combination with KANNO to specify storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and physical address including a block address identifier indicative of designating a block to which the data to be written which can uniquely identify any one of the blocks included in the NAND flash memory providing encryption of the data with the physical address and encryption key being selected from a plurality of keys and writing the encrypted data to physical storage location as mentioned in paragraph [0028].
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of ESAKA and further in view of Khmelnitsky et al. (US 20130073789 A1) hereinafter Khmelnitsky.
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of ESAKA teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization in claim 1. However, Liu - ESAKA combination does not explicitly teach The storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller makes interdependent decisions based on dynamic configuration of the super block.
On the other hand, Khmelnitsky which also relates to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization appears to specifically teach The storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller makes interdependent decisions based on dynamic configuration of the super block. (“VFL 222 can manage one or more physical elements of NVM 220”) (paragraph [0034] line 1)
(“VFL (e.g., VFL 222 of FIG. 2) may keep track of super blocks or stripes in a NVM. Moreover, when a particular block of NVM 300 is determined to be a bad block (e.g., one or more programming failures have been detected in the block), the VFL can dynamically adjust the size of the associated super block”) (paragraph [0063] line 1-6) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates VFL which manages NVM 220 may keep track of super blocks and dynamically adjust the size of the associated super block. In other words, VFL as controller which manages NVM may independently and dynamically adjust the size of the associated super block)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Liu with ESAKA for the reasons set forth in claim 1
above. In addition, Liu, ESAKA and Khmelnitsky are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to storage device flexible super block formation for optimization. Liu – ESAKA combination teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization based on data characteristics. On the other hand, Khmelnitsky also teaches storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and controller managing NVM which may independently and dynamically adjust the size of the associated super block. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Liu – ESAKA combination with Khmelnitsky to specify storage device flexible super block formation for optimization and controller managing NVM which may independently and dynamically adjust the size of the associated super block providing a method where size of a block TOC can be concurrently recalculated and increased only if necessary. The rate at which a block TOC increases in size can be dependent on one or more characteristics of the NVM as mentioned in paragraph [0014].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they
are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first and second argument is claim 1,13 and 20 amendment mapping by primary reference and secondary reference in page 2 and of the response: As Applicant submitted in a previous response, Liu fails to teach or suggest that the size of its super blocks is aligned with the data characteristics, wherein the super block size corresponds with the size of data, and wherein the controller fills the super block with the data and closes the super block without padding the super block. The Office Action therefore cited ESAKA to cure the deficiencies of Liu
And secondary reference ESAKA in page 3 of the response: Applicant submits that although the storage device may know the size of the data in each write command, as disclosed in ESAKA, ESAKA presumably uses the data size to determine a physical address on the memory device where the data is to be stored and maps the LBA to the physical address in a mapping table, as is done in a conventional storage device. There is no teaching or suggestion in ESAKA that the size of its super blocks (i.e., the QLC block) is aligned
with the data characteristics in a write command, wherein the super block size corresponds with the size of data, and wherein the controller fills the super block with the data and closes the super block without padding the super block, as recited in the pending claims. Instead ESAKA merely writes incoming host data associated with one or more write commands to the QLC destination block until the QLC destination block becomes full and when a first QLC destination block full, ESAKA opens a second QLC destination block and writes to that block until it becomes full
In summary, applicant argued that both Liu and ESAKA do not teach super block size corresponding to data size characteristics. The argument is moot and examiner respectfully disagrees. For further clarification examiner cites portions from ESAKA. Also, for applicant’s understanding examiner would like to explain the teachings of ESAKA and examiner’s interpretation in more detail here. See Fig 14, paragraph [0194], ESAKA teaches flash management unit 21 transfers write data having a size corresponding to the capacity of the QLC block from the write buffer 51 of the host 2 to the internal buffer 161 where flash management unit writes write data which has a size corresponding to capacity of QLC block. The cited portions clearly teach ESAKA discloses flash management unit writes write data which has a data size characteristic corresponding to block size or capacity. So, while Liu discloses blocks are allocated based on data characteristics but does not explicitly teach data size and ESAKA discloses flash management unit writes write data which has a size corresponding to capacity of QLC block. Thus, the rejection of amended claims 1,13 and 20 as anticipated by as obvious over Liu in view of ESAKA is maintained.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.K.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132