DETAILED ACTION
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 06/03/2026.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro et al. (US 2025/0048187 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0052236 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fujishiro teaches a device (UE 100 see Fujishiro: Fig.2) , comprising:
a wireless communications interface to communicate a plurality of data packets to a network device (UE 100 includes receiver 110 and transmitter 120 communicate traffic information with gNB 200 see Fujishiro: Fig.2 and Fig.6); and
one or more processors (Controller 130 see Fujishiro: Fig.2) to:
generate the plurality of data packets according to a timing characteristic of the plurality of data packets (UE generate XR assistance information according to traffic information from upper layer and traffic information includes time difference and traffic pattern “In step S11, the UE 100 transmits the XR assistance information including the traffic information to the gNB 200” see Fujishiro: ¶[0087-0088]; ¶[0094]; ¶[0097]);
provide an indication of the timing characteristic to the network device (UE provide traffic information including time difference between the CG configuration and actual packet arrive time and indicating traffic model type see Fujishiro: ¶[0097]; ¶[0119]); receive a communication rate from the network device (UE100 receive configuration information (includes a bit rate) from gNB 200 see Fujishiro: Fig.6; ¶[0101]; ¶[0094]); and
cause the wireless communications interface to communicate the plurality of data packets to the network device according to the communication rate (applying the configuration information (such as bit rate) “In step S14, the UE 100 applies the configuration information” see Fujishiro: ¶[0101]).
Fujishiro does not explicitly teaches the communication rate comprising at least one of a prioritized bit rate or a guaranteed bit rate (GBR).
However, Zhang teaches the communication rate comprising at least one of a prioritized bit rate or a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) (the QCI for defining the priority of traffic includes resource type: Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) or Non-Guaranteed Bit Rate (Non-GBR)) and Priority Level see Zhang: ¶[0040], tables 1-2) in order to support quality of service (QoS) under different traffic types (See Zhang: ¶[0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Fujishiro to include (or to use, etc.) the communication rate comprising at least one of a prioritized bit rate or a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) as taught by Zhang in order to support quality of service (QoS) under different traffic types (See Zhang: ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Fujishiro taught the device of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Fujishiro further teaches wherein the plurality of data packets are representative of video frames, and the timing characteristic corresponds to a compression of the video frames being intra-frame compression or inter-frame compression (first and second stream are I frame or P frame and those frames are intra frame or interframe see Fujishiro: ¶[0062-0065]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Fujishiro taught the device of claim 2 as described hereinabove. Fujishiro further teaches wherein the one or more processors are to generate the indication based at least on the inter-frame compression having a greater data usage than the inter-frame compression (indication of traffic pattern on burst interval “The transmission period and/or the reception period may indicate a duration of one burst or a burst interval” see Fujishiro: ¶[0094]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Fujishiro taught the device of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Fujishiro further teaches wherein the timing characteristic corresponds to the plurality of data packets being representative of periodic data (traffic information include number of transmission bits per burst and traffic pattern see Fujishiro: ¶[0092]; ¶[0094]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Fujishiro taught the device of claim 4 as described hereinabove. Fujishiro further teaches wherein the one or more processors are to generate a user assistance information (UAI) signal comprising the indication of the timing characteristic and transmit the UAI signal to the network device to provide the indication of the timing characteristic to the network device (UE100 providing XR assistant information to gNB 200 include traffic information see Fujishiro: Fig.6; ¶[0087]; ¶[0094]; ¶[0097]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Fujishiro taught the device of claim 5 as described hereinabove. Fujishiro further teaches wherein the one or more processors are to communicate the indication to the network device using radio resource control (RRC) signaling (The UE 100 may include the XR assistance information in the RRC message to transmit to the gNB 200 see Fujishiro: ¶[0088]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Fujishiro taught the device of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Fujishiro further teaches wherein the one or more processors are to: communicate the indication of the timing characteristic to the network device, using at least one of an uplink control information (UCI) signal or a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signal (using MAC CE to transmit XR assistance information “The UE 100 may include the XR assistance information in the MAC CE instead of the RRC message to transmit, or may include the XR assistance information in a PDCP Control Protocol Data Unit (PDU) to transmit” see Fujishiro: ¶[0088]), responsive to a determination that the timing characteristic corresponds to at least one of the plurality of data packets being aperiodic or being receiver-triggered (gNB may request UE to notify the gNB of the XR assistance information see Fujishiro: ¶[0087]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Fujishiro taught the device of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Fujishiro further teaches wherein the plurality of data packets form a data burst (data communication in a transmission burst period “The transmission period and/or the reception period may indicate a duration of one burst or a burst interval” see Fujishiro: ¶[0094]).
Regarding claim 9, Fujishiro teaches a system, comprising:
a first device (UE100 see Fujishiro: Fig.2), comprising:
one or more first processors to generate a plurality of data packets according to a timing characteristic of the plurality of data packets (UE generate XR assistance information according to traffic information from upper layer and traffic information include time difference and traffic pattern “In step S11, the UE 100 transmits the XR assistance information including the traffic information to the gNB 200” see Fujishiro: ¶[0087-0088]; ¶[0094]; ¶[0097]); and
a second device (gNB 200 see Fujishiro: Fig.3), comprising: one or more second processors to:
receive an indication of the timing characteristic from the first device (In step S12, the gNB 200 performs configuration for the UE 100 based on the XR assistance information include traffic information (time difference and traffic pattern) see Fujishiro: Fig.6; ¶[0099]); and
transmit, to the first device, according to the indication of the timing characteristic (In step S13, the gNB 200 transmits the configuration information to the UE 100. The gNB 200 may include the configuration information in an RRC message see Fujishiro: Fig.6 step s13; ¶[0100]), a communication rate for communication of the plurality of data packets from the first device to the second device (UE100 receive configuration information (includes a bit rate) from gNB 200 see Fujishiro: Fig.6; ¶[0101]; ¶[0094]).
Fujishiro does not explicitly teaches the communication rate comprising at least one of a prioritized bit rate or a guaranteed bit rate (GBR).
However, Zhang teaches the communication rate comprising at least one of a prioritized bit rate or a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) (the QCI for defining the priority of traffic includes resource type: Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) or Non-Guaranteed Bit Rate (Non-GBR)) and Priority Level see Zhang: ¶[0040], tables 1-2) in order to support quality of service (QoS) under different traffic types (See Zhang: ¶[0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Fujishiro to include (or to use, etc.) the communication rate comprising at least one of a prioritized bit rate or a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) as taught by Zhang in order to support quality of service (QoS) under different traffic types (See Zhang: ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is rejected same reason as the device of claim 2 set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected same reason as the device of claim 3 set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected same reason as the device of claim 4 set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected same reason as the device of claim 5 set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected same reason as the device of claim 7 set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected same reason as the device of claim 1 set forth hereinabove. Claim 15 teaches a method that perform the same functionalities as the device of claim 1 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected same reason as the device of claims 2-3 set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected same reason as the device of claim 4 set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected same reason as the device of claim 5 set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected same reason as the device of claim 7 set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected same reason as the device of claim 8 set forth hereinabove.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
August 5, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478