DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are non-elected.
Claims 8-20 have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 8-20 in the reply filed on 11/07/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LightMAN: A Lightweight Microchained Fabric for Assurance and Resilience Oriented Urban Air Mobility Networks by Xu et al (hereinafter Xu).
As per claim 8, Xu teaches:
A method for forming a lightweight blockchain fabric, comprising:
providing an urban air mobility (UAM) network, wherein the UAM network provides an on-demand automated transportation service (Xu: page 6: lines 254-256: A UAM network encompasses air traffic operations for manned and unmanned aircraft systems in a metropolitan area. The left part of Figure 1 shows a UAV application that provides on-demand, automated transportation services);
providing a lightweight blockchain module, wherein the lightweight blockchain module includes a first sub-system and a second sub-system, the first sub-system includes a lightweight consensus protocol that relies on a randomly selected consensus committee to achieve a low latency when committing transactions on a distributed ledger, and the second sub-system includes a hybrid on-chain and off-chain storage that improves efficiency and privacy- preservation (Xu: page 8: 3.2. Microchain Fabric for UAM Data Sharing 330 As right part of Figure 1 shows, microchain fabric consists of two sub-systems: i) a lightweight consensus protocol that relies on a randomly selected consensus committee to achieve low latency of committing transactions on the distributed ledger; ii) a hybrid on-chain and off-chain storage strategy that improves efficiency and privacy-preservation);
providing a machine learning (ML)-based anomaly detection module, wherein the ML- based anomaly detection module includes one or more trained ML-based attack detection models (Xu: page 3: lines 99-100: (2) A machine learning based anomaly detection (MLAD) method to monitor the UAM networks in real-time. Page 7: lines 288-289 and 318-321: Our objective is to develop machine learning (ML) based anomaly detection (MLAD) and Reinforcement Learning (RL) artificial agents can achieve a good level of performance and generality on diagnostic and prognostic. (iii) Deep Learning Based Detection: LightMAN applies DL techniques (e.g., L-CNN, RNN/LSTM, etc.) to characterize the dynamic state of the monitored system. With the trained model in place, the operator can conduct the detection and classification of potential attacks); and
forming the lightweight blockchain fabric that includes the UAM network, the lightweight blockchain module, and the ML-based anomaly detection module (Xu: page 6: lines 252-253: Figure 1 demonstrates the LightMAN architecture that consists of two sub-frameworks: i) UAM network; and ii) Microchain fabric. Page 3: lines 99-100: (2) A machine learning based anomaly detection (MLAD) method to monitor the UAM 99 networks in real-time. Page 13, lines 483-484 and 494-496: we illustrate a comprehensive system architecture, along with details on ML-based UAM monitoring and lightweight microchain implementation. This paper presents LightMAN which combines DL powered UAM security and a lightweight microchained fabric to support assurance and resilience oriented UAM networks.).
As per claim 9, Xu teaches:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the lightweight blockchain module acts as a security and trust networking infrastructure to provide decentralized security and privacy- preserving guarantees for UAM data (Xu: page 6: lines 269-270: The microchain fabric acts as a security and trust networking infrastructure to provide decentralized security and privacy preserving guarantees for UAM data).
As per claim 10, Xu teaches:
The method according to claim 8, wherein unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) data and flight logs are stored securely and distributively without relying on any centralized server (Xu: page 7: lines 276-278: microchain integrates a lightweight consensus protocol with a hybrid on-chain and off-chain storage to ensure UAV data and flight logs are stored securely and distributively without relying on any centralized server).
As per claim 11, Xu teaches:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the hybrid on-chain and off-chain storage includes distributed data storage (DDS) built on a swarm network (Xu: page 3: lines 91-92: our LightMAN allows encrypted data to be stored on a distributed data storage (DDS). Page 8: lines 353-357: The organization of on-chain and off-chain storage is illustrated by the upper right part of Figure 1. The Distributed Data Storage (DDS), which is built on a Swarm network, is used as off-chain storage).
As per claim 12, Xu teaches:
The method according to claim 11, wherein unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) data and flight logs are saved on the DDS and accessible by a swarm hash (Xu: page 8, lines 357-360: The UAV data and flight logs that require heterogeneous format and various sizes are saved on the DDS and they can be easily addressed by their swarm hash. As an optimal manner, each transaction only contains a swarm hash as a reference pointing to its raw data on the DDS).
As per claim 13, Xu teaches:
The method according to claim 12, wherein a transaction only includes the swarm hash as a reference pointing to corresponding raw data on the DDS (Xu: page 8, lines 357-360: As an optimal manner, each transaction only contains a swarm hash as a reference pointing to its raw data on the DDS).
As per claim 14, Xu teaches:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the one or more trained ML-based attack detection models include a long short-term memory (LSTM) model and/or an XceptionTime model (Xu: page 7: lines 318-321: (iii) Deep Learning Based Detection: LightMAN applies DL techniques (e.g., L-CNN, RNN/LSTM, etc.) to characterize the dynamic state of the monitored system. With the trained model in place, the operator can conduct the detection and classification of potential attacks).
As per claim 15, Xu teaches:
A method for forming a lightweight blockchain, comprising:
providing a first sub-system, wherein the first sub-system includes a lightweight consensus protocol that relies on a randomly selected consensus committee to achieve a low latency when committing transactions on a distributed ledger (Xu: page 8: 3.2. Microchain Fabric for UAM Data Sharing 330 As right part of Figure 1 shows, microchain fabric consists of two sub-systems: i) a lightweight consensus protocol that relies on a randomly selected consensus committee to achieve low latency of committing transactions on the distributed ledger);
providing a second sub-system, wherein the second sub-system includes a hybrid on-chain and off-chain storage that improves efficiency and privacy-preservation (Xu: page 8: 3.2. Microchain Fabric for UAM Data Sharing 330 As right part of Figure 1 shows, microchain fabric consists of two sub-systems: ii) a hybrid on-chain and off-chain storage strategy that improves efficiency and privacy-preservation), the hybrid on-chain and off-chain storage includes distributed data storage (DDS) built on a swarm network (Xu: page 3: lines 91-92: our LightMAN allows encrypted data to be stored on a distributed data storage (DDS). Page 8: lines 353-357: The organization of on-chain and off-chain storage is illustrated by the upper right part of Figure 1. The Distributed Data Storage (DDS), which is built on a Swarm network, is used as off-chain storage), the DDS is arranged to save unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) data and flight logs, and the UAV data and flight logs are accessible by a swarm hash (Xu: page 8, lines 357-360: The UAV data and flight logs that require heterogeneous format and various sizes are saved on the DDS and they can be easily addressed by their swarm hash. As an optimal manner, each transaction only contains a swarm hash as a reference pointing to its raw data on the DDS); and
forming the lightweight blockchain that includes the first and second sub-systems (Xu: page 2, lines 82-83: , this paper proposes LightMAN, a lightweight microchained fabric for data assurance and operation resilience oriented UAM networks. Page 8: lines 331: As right part of Figure 1 shows, microchain fabric consists of two sub-systems).
As per claim 16, Xu teaches:
The method according to claim 15, wherein a transaction only includes the swarm hash as a reference pointing to corresponding raw data on the DDS (Xu: page 8, lines 357-360: As an optimal manner, each transaction only contains a swarm hash as a reference pointing to its raw data on the DDS).
As per claim 17, Xu teaches:
The method according to claim 15, wherein a consensus mechanism runs on a predetermined small number of validators (Xu: page 10: lines 423-428:Fig. 4, committee size K represented by the number of validators. As microchain executes an efficient consensus protocol within a small consensus committee, it brings lower total latency).
As per claim 18, Xu teaches:
The method according to claim 15, wherein a structure of the lightweight blockchain includes a plurality of confirmed blocks and a plurality of finalized blocks and each of the plurality of confirmed blocks and the plurality of finalized blocks uses a prehash to point to a corresponding parent block and extend a chain (page 8: lines 346-356: The block proposal leverages an efficient Proof-of-Credit (PoC) algorithm, which allows the consensus committee to continuously publish blocks (confirmed blocks) containing transactions and extend main chain length. The block proposal process keeps running multiple rounds until the end of an epoch. Then a voting based chain finality protocol allows committee members to make agreement on a checkpointing block. As a result, temporary fork chains are pruned and these committed blocks are finalized on the unique main-chain. As the basic unit of on-chain data recorded on the distributed ledger, a block contains header information (e.g., previous block hash and block height) and orderly transactions).
As per claim 19, Xu teaches:
The method according to claim 15, wherein a chain height follows an increasing sequence of a plurality of finalized blocks (Xu: page 8: lines 354-356: As the basic unit of on-chain data recorded on the distributed ledger, a block contains header information (e.g., previous block hash and block height) and orderly transactions. It was well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that block height shows the number of blocks that have been added to a chain since the genesis block and the block height increases with each added block).
As per claim 20, Xu teaches:
The method according to claim 15, wherein a workflow of the lightweight blockchain includes an initialization step, a committee selection step, a block proposal step, a chain finality step, and a committee change step (Xu: page 8: lines 335-339: The core functionalities and work flows are briefly described as follows: The lifetime of a committee is defined as a Dynasty, and all nodes within the network use a random committee election mechanism to construct a new committee at the beginning of a new dynasty (committee selection step). Until the current dynasty’s lifetime is ending, committee members utilize an epoch randomness generation protocol to cooperatively propose a global random seed for next committee election. Given a synchronous network environment, operations of consensus processes are coordinated in sequential rounds called Epoch. The block proposal leverages an efficient Proof-of-Credit (PoC) algorithm, which allows the consensus committee to continuously publish blocks containing transactions and extend main chain length. The block proposal process keeps running multiple rounds until the end of an epoch (block proposal step). Then a voting based chain finality protocol allows committee members to make agreement on a checkpointing block. As a result, temporary fork chains are pruned and these committed blocks are finalized on the unique main-chain (chain finality step). Fig. 1 shows committee selection step, a block proposal step, chain finality step and a committee change step. An initialization step where all the systems are initialized before the workflow process is started is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20210209956 to Allouche et al: A secure system for control of at least one unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), includes a cloud service and a ground control station. The cloud service includes a cloud-based management service having processing circuitry configured to control communications between the cloud service, the ground control station and the at least one UAV, and control and monitor the at least one UAV by way of a corresponding at least one UAV client device. The UAV client device receives messages from the at least one UAV, sends commands to the at least one UAV, verifies the sender of each of the received messages, creates a new block for each received message and sent commands as new transactions, including performs a consensus algorithm for the new block, determines a consensus to validate the new block, and updates a blockchain with the validated new block.
Microchain: A Light Hierarchical Consensus Protocol for IoT Systems by Xu et al: While the large-scale Internet of Things (IoT) makes many new applications feasible, like Smart Cities, it also brings new concerns on data reliability, security, and privacy. The rapid evolution in blockchain technologies, which relied on a decentralized, immutable, and distributed ledger system for transaction data auditing, provides a prospective solution to address many issues for IoT security. The blockchain and smart contract enabled security mechanism for IoT applications have attracted increasing interests from both academia and industry. However, integrating cryptocurrency-oriented blockchain technologies into IoT systems meets tremendous challenges on scalability, storage capacity, security, and privacy. Particularly, the performance of blockchain networks significantly relies on the performance of consensus mechanisms, e.g., in terms of data confidentiality, transaction throughput, and network scalability. In this chapter, following an in-depth review of state-of-the-art blockchain networks, the key matrix of designing consensus mechanism for IoT networks are identified in terms of throughput, scalability, and security. To demonstrate a case study on designing scalable, lightweight blockchain protocols for IoT systems; a Microchain framework is introduced and a proof-of-concept prototype is implemented in a physical network environment. The experimental results verify the feasibility of integrating the Microchain into IoT systems.
MADHURI R. HERZOG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2438
/MADHURI R HERZOG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438