DETAILED ACTION
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 06/05/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-19 and 21-23 are presented for examination and claims 4, 12 and 20 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-19 and 21-23 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 13-19 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2022/0232503 A1) in view of Fu et al. (US 2021/0136697 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, a first control channel, the first control channel corresponding to a first shared channel (UE receives narrowband physical downlink control channel (NPDCCH) or NPDSCH “NB-IoT UE detects NPDCCH with DCI Format N0 ending in DL subframe n or receives an NPDSCH carrying a random-access response grant ending in DL subframe n” see Cheng: ¶[0303]; Fig.20); and
not monitoring, by the terminal device, a control channel candidate at any time unit between a first time unit and a second time unit (UE not monitoring NPDCCH between n unit (corresponding first time unit) and n+k unit (corresponding to second time unit) in UE DL “if the corresponding NPUSCH format 1 transmission starts from (the end of) n+k+KNTN DL subframe, the UE is not required to monitor NPDCCH in any subframe starting from DL subframe n+1 to DL subframe n+k−1” see Cheng: Fig.20; ¶[0303]);
wherein the first time unit is determined according to at least one of n, n+k and n+m, the second time unit is determined according to at least one of n, n+k and n+m, where n, k and m are positive integers (first time unit at n unit and second time unit at n+k) in UE DL see Cheng:Fig.20; ¶[0303]); n denotes a time unit where the first control channel ends, n+k denotes a time unit where transmission of the first shared channel starts, and n+m denotes a time unit where the transmission of the first shared channel ends, and wherein the second time unit is later than the first time unit (n unit where receiving NPDCCH at RAR grant, n+k represents “one interpretation is to read “the corresponding NPUSCH format 1 transmission starts from n+k” as “the corresponding NPUSCH format 1 transmission starts at the end of n+k DL subframe” and first time unit at n unit and second time unit at n+k) in UE DL see Cheng: Fig.20; ¶[0303]; ¶[0301]; ¶[0303]).
Cheng does not explicitly teaches wherein at least one first downlink time unit that overlaps wholly or partially with time unit determined based on the at least on of n, n+k and n+m is comprised in a downlink timing of the terminal device, the at least first downlink time unit comprising the first time unit.
However, Fu teaches the wherein at least one first downlink time unit that overlaps wholly or partially with time unit determined based on the at least on of n, n+k and n+m is comprised in a downlink timing of the terminal device, the at least first downlink time unit comprising the first time unit (DL time slot n overlap with BWP-2 and BWP 3 where DL time slot n, n+k and n+M in the active BWP transition and first DL timeslot n is the first time unit “Within a time slot, where an active BWP and gap are overlapped, or when the time interval between the active BWP and gap is less than t′ (t′ is a delay resulted from BWP switch)” see Fu: ¶[0818-0819]; Fig. 45; Fig.85-89; ¶[0812]) in order to enhance reporting channel state information (CSI) (see Fu: ¶[0040])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Cheng to include (or to use, etc.) the wherein at least one first downlink time unit that overlaps wholly or partially with time unit determined based on the at least on of n, n+k and n+m is comprised in a downlink timing of the terminal device, the at least first downlink time unit comprising the first time unit as taught by Fu in order to enhance reporting channel state information (CSI) (see Fu: ¶[0040]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Cheng taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Cheng further teaches wherein the at least one of n, n+k and n+m is a time unit based on an uplink timing of the terminal device, and the first time unit is determined based on the at least one of n, n+k and n+m (UE UL depend on n unit and n+k unit at UE DL see Cheng: Fig.20-Fig.24; ¶[0303]; ¶[0309])
Regarding claim 3, the modified Cheng taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Cheng further teaches wherein the at least one of n, n+k and n+m is a time unit based on the downlink timing of the terminal device, and the first time unit is determined based on the at least one of n, n+k and n+m (first time unit at unit n see Cheng: Fig.20).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Cheng taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Cheng further teaches wherein the at least one first downlink time unit is a plurality of first downlink time units and the first time unit is any one of the plurality of first downlink time units or an earliest first downlink time unit of the plurality of first downlink time units (first timing unit at n with NPDCCH with DCI format N0 see Cheng: Fig.15; ¶[0270]; Fig.20).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Cheng taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Cheng further teaches wherein the at least one of n, n+k and n+m is a time unit based on an uplink timing of the terminal device, and the second time unit is determined based on the at least one of n, n+k and n+m (Fig. 23 showing n, n+1 and n+N unit at UE UL see Cheng: Fig.23; ¶[0314]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Cheng taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Cheng further teaches wherein at least one second downlink time unit that overlaps wholly or partially with a time unit determined based on the at least one of n, n+k and n+m is comprised in the downlink timing of the terminal device comprises, the at least one second downlink time unit comprising the second time unit (unit n overlapping at n+1 at UE UL see Cheng: Fig.13-14; ¶[0262-0265])..
Regarding claim 8, the modified Cheng taught the method of claim 7 as described hereinabove. Cheng further teaches wherein the at least one second downlink time unit is a plurality of second downlink time units, and the second time unit is any one of the plurality of second downlink time units or a latest second downlink time unit of the plurality of second downlink time units (second timing unit such as n+1 or n+2 see Cheng: Fig.14; ¶[0265]; ¶[0267]).
Regarding claims 9-11 and 13-16, they are rejected for the same reasons as the wireless communication method of claims 1-3, and 5-8 as set forth hereinabove. Claims 9-11 and 13-16 recite a terminal device that performing the wireless communication method of claims 1-3 and 5-8 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claims 17-19 and 21-23, they are rejected for the same reasons as the wireless communication method of claims 1-3 and 5-7 as set forth hereinabove. Claims 17-19 and 21-23 recite a network device that performing vice versa direction respect to the wireless communication method of claims 1-3 and 5-7 as described hereinabove.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
August 6, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478