DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/01/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
3. Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiStasio (U.S PAT. 9,696,421) in view of (Gan et al. (U.S PAT. 9,357,556, hereinafter, “Gan”).
Consider claim 1, DiStasio teaches an apparatus comprising: a first radio arranged to receive a reflection comprising a signal reflected by a structure (Fig. 1, col. 2, lines 12-26); one or more memories (Fig. 3, a smart phone or a tablet computer, item 22); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (Fig. 3, a smart phone or a tablet computer, item 22), a combination of the one or more processors configured to: determine, based on the reflection, a position of the structure (col. 2, lines 12-26).
DiStasio does not explicitly show that set a first guard interval based on the position of the structure; and transmit a first message according to the first guard interval.
In the same field of endeavor, Gan teaches set a first guard interval based on the position of the structure; and transmit a first message according to the first guard interval (col. 6, lines 41-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use, set a first guard interval based on the position of the structure; and transmit a first message according to the first guard interval, as taught by Gan, in order for adjusting a guard period in a base station for a cellular wireless communication system.
Consider claim 2, DiStasio further teaches a second radio arranged to transmit the signal (Fig. 2, col. 2, lines 27-39).
Consider claim 3, DiStasio further teaches wherein the signal is an impulse (Fig. 2, col. 2, lines 27-39).
Consider claim 4, DiStasio further teaches wherein determining the position of the structure comprises determining a difference between a time when the signal was transmitted and a time when the reflection was received (col. 2, lines 40-46).
Consider claim 5, DiStasio further teaches wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to set a modulation based on the position of the structure, and wherein the first message is transmitted according to the modulation (col. 2, lines 40-46).
Consider claim 6, DiStasio further teaches wherein determining the position of the structure comprises determining a delay spread of the reflection (col. 2, lines 12-26).
Consider claim 7, DiStasio further teaches wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to set a multiple-input and multiple-output order based on the position of the structure, and wherein the first message is transmitted according to the multiple-input and multiple-output order (col. 2, lines 58-67).
Consider claim 9, the subject-matter of independent claim 9 relates to a method with features fully corresponding to the characteristics of claim 1. Therefore, the same argumentation presented in relation to claim 1 is, mutatis mutandis, of application to claim 9.
Consider claim 10, the previous rejections of claim 2 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 10.
Consider claim 11, the previous rejections of claim 3 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 11.
Consider claim 12, the previous rejections of claim 4 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 12.
Consider claim 13, the previous rejections of claim 5 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 13.
Consider claim 14, the previous rejections of claim 6 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 14.
Consider claim 15, the previous rejections of claim 7 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 15.
Consider claim 17, DiStasio teaches an access point comprising: a first radio arranged to transmit an impulse (Fig. 2, col. 2, lines 27-39); a second radio arranged to receive a reflection comprising the impulse reflected by a structure (Fig. 1, col. 2, lines 12-26); a combination of one or more processors configured to: determine, based on the reflection, a position of the structure (Fig. 1, col. 2, lines 12-26); determine a first position of a first device (col. 2, lines 12-26).
DiStasio does not explicitly show that set a first guard interval based on the position of the structure and the first position of the first device; and transmit a first message to the first device according to the first guard interval.
In the same field of endeavor, Gan teaches set a first guard interval based on the position of the structure and the first position of the first device (col. 6, lines 41-52); and transmit a first message to the first device according to the first guard interval (col. 6, lines 41-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use, set a first guard interval based on the position of the structure and the first position of the first device; and transmit a first message to the first device according to the first guard interval, as taught by Gan, in order for adjusting a guard period in a base station for a cellular wireless communication system.
Consider claim 18, the previous rejections of claim 4 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 18.
Consider claim 19, the previous rejections of claim 5 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 8, 16 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Consider claim 8, the prior arts made of record, alone or in combination, fail to clearly teach or fairly suggest wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to: determine a first position of a first device, wherein the first guard interval is set for the first device based on the position of the first device, and wherein the first message is transmitted to the first device; determine a second position of a second device, wherein the second position is different from the first position; set a second guard interval based on the position of the structure and the position of the second device; and transmit a second message to the second device according to the second guard interval, in combination with other limitations, as specified in the independent claim 1.
Consider claim 16, the prior arts made of record, alone or in combination, fail to clearly teach or fairly suggest determining a first position of a first device, wherein the first guard interval is set for the first device based on the position of the first device, and wherein the first message is transmitted to the first device; determining a second position of a second device, wherein the second position is different from the first position; setting a second guard interval based on the position of the structure and the position of the second device; and transmitting a second message to the second device according to the second guard interval, in combination with other limitations, as specified in the independent claim 9.
Consider claim 20, the prior arts made of record, alone or in combination, fail to clearly teach or fairly suggest wherein the combination of one or more processors is further configured to: determine a second position of a second device, wherein the second position is different from the first position; set a second guard interval based on the position of the structure and the position of the second device; and transmit a second message to the second device according to the second guard interval, in combination with other limitations, as specified in the independent claim 17.
Conclusion
5. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop_________ (Explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/TUAN H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649