DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 6-7 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (2001/0050198) in view of Barrett (2015/0068834).
With respect to claim 1, An teaches a resonance-type silencer (Figure 3-4, #10 or Figure 7, #20) comprising: a housing (defined by housing of #10/20) having an air supply port (defined by port #11 or port of housing accommodating pipe #22) formed on one side, an air exhaust port (defined by port #12 or port of housing accommodating pipe #23) formed on the other side, and a chamber (S2/21) formed thereinside; an air supply pipe (15/22) connected to the air supply port; an air exhaust pipe (16/23) connected to the air exhaust port; a plurality of first noise canceling pipes (100, note in Figures 6A-B that the helicoil #100 forms two passages or pipes, constituting a plurality of pipes) disposed in the air supply pipe (15/22); a plurality of second noise canceling pipes (100) disposed in the air exhaust pipe (16/23), wherein the air supply pipe (15/22) and the air exhaust pipe (16/23) are configured to be connected to a middle of a plurality of compressor discharge portions (SP and DM, which are considered “compressor discharge portions” using the broadest reasonable interpretation “BRI”).
An fails to teach wherein each of the plurality of first and second noise canceling pipes are a plurality of first and second resonance pipes disposed in the respective air supply pipe and air exhaust pipe.
Barrett teaches a similar resonance-type silencer (Figure 8, #50A) comprising: a housing (10) having an air supply port (defined by port of housing connected within inlet pipe #12) formed on one side, an air exhaust port (defined by port of housing connected within outlet pipe #14) formed on the other side, and a chamber (defined by interior of #10) formed thereinside; an air supply pipe (12) connected to the air supply port; an air exhaust pipe (14) connected to the air exhaust port; a plurality of first noise canceling pipes in the form of first resonance pipes (16i/16J) provided in the air supply pipe (12); a plurality of second noise canceling pipes in the form of second resonance pipes (16C/16D, note [0089] stating that “different materials, lengths, shapes, different numbers of members (i.e. members 16), etc. can be used”) provided in the air exhaust pipe (14).
Because An teaches a helicoil insert #100 located within inlet and outlet pipes for dividing and rejoining the out of phase air flow streams with one another to accomplish noise cancellation (See An, [0062]), and Barrett alternatively teaches utilizing a plurality of resonance pipes within the inlet and outlet pipes for similarly accomplishing noise cancellation (See Barrett, [0089]); it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of, with the apparatus of Barrett so as to provide simple substitution of one know muffler inlet pipe and exhaust pipe noise cancelling structures for another, to provide the predictable result of the noise canceling resonance pipes of Barrett being suitable for use within the An muffler inlet and exhaust pipes. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (2007).
With respect to claim 2, An and Barrett teach wherein a longitudinal direction of each of the plurality of first and second the resonance pipe (when second resonance pipes #16C/D are shaped to be the same as first resonance pipes 16i/16J, see [0089]) and a longitudinal direction of the air supply pipe (An, #22; Barrett, #12) and the air exhaust pipe (An, #23; Barrett, #14) are arranged parallel to each other. As noted in the rejection of claim 1 above, Barrett teaches that “different materials, lengths, shapes, different numbers of members, etc. can be used (see [0089]).” In reading [0089], one of ordinary skill would understand it to be obvious that members #16 located in both the inlet and outlet pipes 12/14 could be shaped as pipes #16i/16J, as [0089] clearly states that the device is not limited to any particular configuration of member #16.
With respect to claim 3, Barrett teaches wherein an outer diameter of each of the plurality of first and second resonance pipes (16i/16J, 16C/D) is formed to be less than an inner diameter of the air supply pipe (12) and the air exhaust pipe (14), when combined.
With respect to claim 4, An and Barrett teach wherein an inner diameter of the housing (An, housing of #20; Barrett, #10) is formed to be greater than an inner diameter of each of the air supply pipe (An, #22 when combined with Barrett, #12) and the air exhaust pipe (An, #23 when combined with Barrett, #14).
With respect to claim 6, An and Barrett teach wherein an inner diameter of the housing (An, housing of #10) changes in a longitudinal direction.
With respect to claim 7, Barrett teaches wherein an inner diameter of the housing (An, housing of #20; Barrett, #10) is kept constant in a longitudinal direction.
With respect to claim 10, An and Barrett teach the resonance-type silencer of claim 1. Barrett further teaches wherein two resonance pipes (16i/16J, 16C/D) are disposed in the air supply pipe (12) or the air exhaust pipe (12), and further wherein the device is not limited to particular specifications in any way, and different numbers of members (i.e. #16) can be used ([0089]).
An and Barrett fail to explicitly teach wherein seven or more resonance pipes are disposed in the air supply pipe or the air exhaust pipe.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein seven or more resonance pipes are disposed in the air supply pipe or the air exhaust pipe, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, because Barrett recognizes that different numbers of member #16 can be used, it would obvious to one of ordinary skill to employ seven or more pipes #16.
With respect to claim 11, Barrett teaches wherein the plurality of the first and second resonance pipes (16i/16J and 16C/16D, when second resonance pipes #16C/16D are shaped to be the same as first resonance pipes 16i/16J, see [0089]) have the same inner diameter or outer diameter. As noted in the rejection of claim 1 above, Barrett teaches that “different materials, lengths, shapes, different numbers of members, etc. can be used (see [0089]).” In reading [0089], one of ordinary skill would understand it to be obvious that members #16 located in both the inlet and outlet pipes 12/14 could be shaped as pipes #16i/16J, as [0089] clearly states that the device is not limited to any particular configuration of member #16.
With respect to claim 12, An teaches wherein it is obvious that the air supply pipe (22) is connected to an upper end of one side of the housing (20), and the air exhaust pipe (23) is connected to a lower end of the other side of the housing (20), when the muffler is oriented such that the inlet pipe #2 is above the outlet pipe #23. One of ordinary skill would understand that the device could be oriented in any direction, including one where it is flipped 180˚ from the depiction in Figure 7.
With respect to claim 13, An teaches wherein the air supply pipe (15) and the air exhaust pipe (16) are formed at positions that do not overlap each other and are misaligned with respect to a longitudinal direction (defined by vertical direction in depiction of Figure 4) of the housing (10).
With respect to claim 14, Barrett teaches wherein each of the plurality of first and second resonance pipe (16i/16J and 16C/16D, when second resonance pipes #16C/16D are shaped to be the same as first resonance pipes 16i/16J, see [0089]) is open on both sides and has at least one resonance hole (defined by perforations – [0102]) formed on a side surface thereof. As noted in the rejection of claim 1 above, Barrett teaches that “different materials, lengths, shapes, different numbers of members, etc. can be used (see [0089]).” In reading [0089], one of ordinary skill would understand it to be obvious that members #16 located in both the inlet and outlet pipes 12/14 could be shaped as pipes #16i/16J, as [0089] clearly states that the device is not limited to any particular configuration of member #16.
With respect to claim 15, Barrett teaches wherein each first pipe of the plurality of first resonance pipes (each of #16i/16J) defines a plurality of first resonance holes (defined by perforations – [0102], clearly seen in Figure 8), the plurality of first resonance holes being arranged in a longitudinal direction of each of the plurality of first resonance pipes (longitudinal arrangement resonance holes clearly seen in Figure 8), and wherein each second pipe of the plurality of second resonance pipes (each of #16C/16D, when second resonance pipes #16C/16D are shaped to be the same as first resonance pipes 16i/16J, see [0089]) defines a plurality of second resonance holes (defined by perforations – [0102], clearly seen in Figure 8), the plurality of second resonance holes being arranged in a longitudinal direction of each of the plurality of second resonance pipes (longitudinal arrangement resonance holes clearly seen in Figure 8). As noted in the rejection of claim 1 above, Barrett teaches that “different materials, lengths, shapes, different numbers of members, etc. can be used (see [0089]).” In reading [0089], one of ordinary skill would understand it to be obvious that members #16 located in both the inlet and outlet pipes 12/14 could be shaped as pipes #16i/16J, as [0089] clearly states that the device is not limited to any particular configuration of member #16.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (2001/0050198) in view of Barrett (2015/0068834), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Sampoll (3,105,571).
With respect to claim 5, An and Barrett teach the resonance-type silencer of claim 4. An further teaches wherein an inner diameter of the housing (20) is formed to be greater than an inner diameter of each of the air supply pipe (22) and the air exhaust pipe (23), wherein the end walls (upper and lower walls of the housing in Figure 7) of the housing are depicted as a single unit.
An and Barrett fail to teach wherein the air supply pipe and the air exhaust pipe form a flange that extends along a circumference of an end portion connected to the housing and is coupled while shielding at least a portion of the air supply port and the air exhaust port.
Sampoll teaches a similar muffler device (Figures 1-2), wherein a similar wherein air supply pipe (27), air exhaust pipe (28) and housing (12) are formed such that wherein the air supply pipe (27) and the air exhaust pipe (28) each form a flange (22/24) that extends along a circumference of an end portion (end portion of respective pipes #27/28) connected to the housing (12) and is coupled while shielding at least a portion of the air supply port (opening through #12 accommodating #22/27) and the air exhaust port (opening through #12 accommodating #24/28).
Because An teaches that the muffler housing end walls and inlet/outlet pipes are attached to one another, and Sampoll teaches wherein it is known to form a muffler housing such that the air supply/inlet pipe and the air exhaust/outlet pipe form a flange that extends along a circumference of an end portion of the respective supply and exhaust pipes, and connected to the housing and is coupled while shielding at least a portion of the air supply port and the air exhaust port, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of An as modified, with the apparatus of Sampoll so as to provide simple substitution of one known method for assembling a muffler housing, end wall and inlet/outlet pipe for another, to provide the predictable result of successfully assembling the housing and pipe components of An, by forming and attaching the corresponding components in the same manner as taught by Sampoll. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An (2001/0050198) in view of Barrett (2015/0068834), as applied to claim 7 above in view of Mead (8,627,921).
With respect to claim 8, An and Barrett teach the resonance-type silencer of claim 4. An further teaches wherein an inner diameter of the housing (20) is constant along the longitudinal direction.
An and Barrett fail to teach wherein the housing includes an expansion portion whose inner diameter increases in the longitudinal direction and a reduction portion whose inner diameter decreases.
Mead teaches wherein it is known in a similar muffler device (Figure 1), to provide wherein an inner diameter of a housing (10) changes in a longitudinal direction (see tapered end sections), wherein the housing includes an expansion portion whose inner diameter increases (diameter increase from inlet #12 to expansion chamber first end #18) in the longitudinal direction and a reduction portion whose inner diameter decreases (diameter decrease from expansion chamber other end #20 to outlet #14), such that the tapered expansion and reduction portions function to make the flow of the gases more stable (Col. 2, Lines 23-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of An as modified, with the apparatus of Mead so as to provide the muffle housing with tapered expansion and reduction portions, such that, by having the tapering, the flow of the gases is more stable (Col. 2, Lines 23-26).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 10-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Examiner considers the combination of An, Barret, Sampoll and Mead to teach all of the limitations as claimed by Applicant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837