DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 17 are amended. Claims 14 and 16 are canceled. Claims 21-24 are new. Claims 1-2, 7-9, 17, and 21-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the combination of Lee, Ben-Shachar, Yang, and Levy fails to teach a transceiver of the first device receives the periodic advertisements transmitted by the second device while the second broadcast stream is being transmitted, and that these periodic advertisements contain information to enable other devices to receive the second broadcast stream transmitted by the second device (Pg. 7, Para. 3).
Applicant further argues Ben-Shachar does not describe periodic advertisements, using the advertising events to determine drift, or transmitting advertising packets with information to enable other devices to receive the broadcast stream while a broadcast stream is active (Pg. 8, Para 1).
Applicant argues further that Yang does not teach transmitting or receiving broadcast streams or periodic advertisements or adjusting the timing of the BT link according to a broadcast stream or periodic advertisement (Pg. 8, Para. 2)
Additionally, applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine Yang with Lee and Ben-Shachar because Lee and Ben-Shachar are directed toward Bluetooth communication and Yang is directed toward interfacing between a wireless network base station and a Bluetooth device (Pg. 8, Para. 3).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Re. a. Lee teaches receiving, via the transceiver of the first device, a plurality of periodic advertisements transmitted from a second device while transmitting the first broadcast stream (Lee, [0259] As shown in FIG. 6, when audio streaming data generated periodically or regularly is transmitted according to the BLE mechanism, an advertisement and scanning procedure, a communication procedure, and a disconnection procedure have to be performed whenever the generated audio data is transmitted or received.
[0285] Furthermore, the isochronous channel may support the transmission and reception of shared audio, public audio, and broadcast audio as well as the transmission and reception of personal audio.)
Ben-Shachar [0029], [0060]),
wherein at least one of the plurality of periodic advertisements comprises information enabling other devices to receive second broadcast stream (Lee, [0326] As shown in FIGS. 12a and 12b, an advertisement PDU 1201 may include a header field of 16 bits and a Payload field having a size of 1-255 octets.
[0330] The field 1205 represents the Synclnfo field included in the Extended Header field of the extended advertisement message.
[0332] Referring to 1207, the server device transmits an advertisement message including the AUX_SYNC_IND packet for synchronization between the server device and the client device periodically at intervals of a predetermined value.) and
wherein the plurality of periodic advertisements are transmitted while the second broadcast stream is transmitted by the second device (Lee, [0382] More specifically, FIG. 18 illustrates an example of a method for multiplexing audio feedback information and audio data when a server device includes the audio feedback information and the audio data in the [Broadcast Isochronous Group] BIG and transmits them by using an advertisement message.
[0383] First, the server device may sequentially transmit a BIS including audio feedback information and a BIS including audio data 1810.
[0384] Second, the server device may interleave and transmit a BIS including audio feedback information and a BIS including audio data 1820.)
Re. b, c. b and c are rendered moot by the teaching of Lee.
Re. d. All of Lee, Ben-Shachar, and Yang are directed, at least in part, toward the transmission and reception over Bluetooth. Lee is concerned broadly with the synchronization of Bluetooth and Ben-Shachar teaches adjusting Bluetooth device clocks to prevent collisions. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to look to Yang because Yang teaches specifics of the clock corrections for avoiding collisions involving Bluetooth transmissions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teaching of Lee and Ben-Shachar with the teaching of Yang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 17, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0400096), Lee hereinafter, in view of Ben-Shachar (US 2017/0265101), Ben-Shachar hereinafter, further in view of Yang et al. (US 2009/0003307), Yang hereinafter, further in view of Levy et al. (US 2016/0234807), Levy hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1. A method for transmitting a broadcast stream (Lee, [0023]: Furthermore, in the present disclosure, a client device receiving audio data using Bluetooth Low Energy technology, comprising: a transmitter for transmitting a radio signal; a receiver for receiving a radio signal; and a processor functionally connected to the transmitter and the receiver, wherein the processor configured to: receive, from a server device, an advertisement message including channel information for receiving an extended advertisement message for providing an audio streaming service; receive, from the server device, the audio data and the audio feedback information through an isochronous channel; obtain, from a user, specific information related to whether to permit to provide the audio streaming service based on the audio feedback information; and decode the audio data when the specific information represents permission to provide the audio streaming service.), comprising:
transmitting, via a transceiver of a first device, a first broadcast stream that uses timing information based on a clock of the first device (Lee, Fig.2, [0076]: As shown in FIG. 2, the server device 110 includes a display unit 111, a user input interface 112, a power supply unit 113, a processor (or controller) 114, a memory unit 115, a Bluetooth interface 116, another interface 117, and a communication unit (or transmission/reception unit) 118.
[0147]: In some embodiments, the advertising procedure may be used to provide the periodic broadcast of user data to scanning devices which perform listening through an advertising channel.
[0185]: The master controls a timing of a connection event and the connection event refers to a time at which the master and the slave are synchronized.);
receiving, via the transceiver of the first device, a plurality of periodic advertisements transmitted from a second device while transmitting the first broadcast stream (Lee, [0259] As shown in FIG. 6, when audio streaming data generated periodically or regularly is transmitted according to the BLE mechanism, an advertisement and scanning procedure, a communication procedure, and a disconnection procedure have to be performed whenever the generated audio data is transmitted or received.
[0285] Furthermore, the isochronous channel may support the transmission and reception of shared audio, public audio, and broadcast audio as well as the transmission and reception of personal audio.)
wherein at least one of the plurality of periodic advertisements comprises information enabling other devices to receive second broadcast stream (Lee, [0326] As shown in FIGS. 12a and 12b, an advertisement PDU 1201 may include a header field of 16 bits and a Payload field having a size of 1-255 octets.
[0330] The field 1205 represents the Synclnfo field included in the Extended Header field of the extended advertisement message. The field may include a 13-bit Sync Packet Offset field, a 1-bit Offset Unit field, a 2-Octet Interval field, a 37-bit ChM field, a 3-bit SCA field, a 4-bit AA field, a 3-octet CRClnit field, and a 2-octet Event Counter field.
[0332] Referring to 1207, the server device transmits an advertisement message including the AUX_SYNC_IND packet for synchronization between the server device and the client device periodically at intervals of a predetermined value.) and
wherein the plurality of periodic advertisements are transmitted while the second broadcast stream is transmitted by the second device (Lee, [0382] More specifically, FIG. 18 illustrates an example of a method for multiplexing audio feedback information and audio data when a server device includes the audio feedback information and the audio data in the [Broadcast Isochronous Group] BIG and transmits them by using an advertisement message.
[0383] First, the server device may sequentially transmit a BIS including audio feedback information and a BIS including audio data 1810.
[0384] Second, the server device may interleave and transmit a BIS including audio feedback information and a BIS including audio data 1820.)
Yet, Lee does not explicitly teach receiving, via the transceiver of the first device, a plurality of periodic advertisements transmitted from a second device while transmitting the first broadcast stream to determine whether the first broadcast stream will temporally overlap with a second broadcast stream at a future time based on a drift of the second broadcast stream,
wherein at least one of the plurality of periodic advertisements comprises information enabling other devices to receive second broadcast stream and anti-collision data indicating that the second device is implementing a first notch offset to adjust the second broadcast stream,
wherein the drift is determined based on timing of the plurality of periodic advertisements, the second device configured to transmit the second broadcast stream, and
in response to determining that the first broadcast stream will temporally overlap with the second broadcast stream, adjusting the timing information related to the first broadcast stream in an attempt to prevent the temporal overlap of the first broadcast stream and the second broadcast stream,
wherein the adjusting of the timing information related to the first broadcast stream comprises shifting at least one transmission interval of the first broadcast stream according to a second notch offset,
wherein the second notch offset is determined based on the timing of the monitored plurality of periodic advertisements, the timing information related to the first broadcast stream, and the anti-collision data.
However, in the related art, Ben-Shachar teaches receiving, via the transceiver of the first device, a plurality of periodic advertisements transmitted from a second device while transmitting the first broadcast stream (Ben-Shachar, [0029]: They may also use advertising events to establish pair-wise bidirectional communication between two or more devices using data channels.)
to determine whether the first broadcast stream will temporally overlap with a second broadcast stream at a future time based on a drift of the second broadcast stream (Ben-Shachar, [0060]: The time of future collision events may then be predicted 305 by calculating timestamps of future events of both connections based on the drift rate determined for both piconets, and checking if and when these events overlap, as illustrated by FIGS. 4A-4C.),
wherein the drift is determined based on timing of the plurality of periodic advertisements (Ben-Shachar, [0059]: In order to calculate the future timestamps, the clock drift between the two piconets' time-bases may be learned by processing packet arrival time-stamps using a software or firmware based phase locked loop (PLL), for example.),
the second device configured to transmit the second broadcast stream (Ben-Shachar, [0030]: Within a connection event, the master and slave alternate sending data packets using the same data PHY channel.), and
in response to determining that the first broadcast stream will temporally overlap with the second broadcast stream (Ben-Shachar, [0054]: In general, this may be done by first determining that one or more of the periodic time slots of a first piconet to which the device (such as device E in FIG. 1) is connected (such as piconet 101 of FIG. 1) has or soon will collide with one or more of the periodic time slots of a second piconet (such as piconet 102 of FIG. 1) by processing time stamps for events on the first network and on the second network.),
adjusting the timing information related to the first broadcast stream in an attempt to prevent the temporal overlap of the first broadcast stream and the second broadcast stream (Ben-Shachar, [0051]: A partial solution to these cases may be 'master chasing slave' which is applicable only in the case in which the dual-piconet device is master of one of the piconets. And
[0054]: Then, either the periodic time slots in the first piconet or the periodic time slots on the second piconet may be shifted by a time shift amount to avoid a collision between the periodic time slots on the first piconet and the periodic time slots on the second piconet.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method and apparatus for receiving audio data by using Bluetooth technology of Lee with the avoidance of collisions and connection loss in network device serving multiple networks of Ben-Shachar. The resulting combination would prevent collisions between slots allocated to each connection when a Bluetooth or BLE serves two piconets simultaneously (Ben-Shachar, [0017]).
Neither Lee nor Ben-Shachar explicitly teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of periodic advertisements comprises information enabling other devices to receive second broadcast stream and anti-collision data indicating that the second device is implementing a first notch offset to adjust the second broadcast stream,
wherein the adjusting of the timing information related to the first broadcast stream comprises shifting at least one transmission interval of the first broadcast stream according to a second notch offset,
wherein the second notch offset is determined based on the timing of the monitored plurality of periodic advertisements, the timing information related to the first broadcast stream, and the anti-collision data.
However, in the related art, Yang teaches wherein the adjusting of the timing information related to the first broadcast stream comprises shifting at least one transmission interval of the first broadcast stream according to a second notch offset (Yang, [0038]: In some embodiments, BT device 126 operating as a slave device either advances or retards slave clock 127 in response to receipt of the BT transmission 312 from BT radio module 106. Predetermined step size 310 may be less than or equal to a maximum value that the BT device is permitted to adjust its slave clock.),
wherein the second notch offset is determined based on the timing of the monitored plurality of periodic advertisements, the timing information related to the first broadcast stream, and the anti-collision data (Yang, [0038]: In some embodiments, BT device 126 operating as a slave device either advances or retards slave clock 127 in response to receipt of the BT transmission 312 from BT radio module 106. Predetermined step size 310 may be less than or equal to a maximum value that the BT device is permitted to adjust its slave clock.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Lee as modified by the teaching of Ben-Shachar with the multi-radio wireless communication device method for synchronizing wireless network and Bluetooth communications. The resulting invention would further reduce packet loss resulting from collisions between transmissions and receptions of different transceivers (Yang, [0003]).
None of Lee, Ben-Shachar, or Yang explicitly teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of periodic advertisements comprises information enabling other devices to receive second broadcast stream and anti-collision data indicating that the second device is implementing a first notch offset to adjust the second broadcast stream,
However, in the related art, Levy teaches anti-collision data indicating that the second device is implementing a first notch offset to adjust the second broadcast stream (Levy, [0144-0145]: In some demonstrative embodiments, wireless communication unit 110 (FIG. 1) may transmit an information element indicating the time T.sub.4+Δt.sub.o at which wireless communication unit 110 (FIG. 1) is to switch to broadcast beacons according to beacon schedule 304. In some demonstrative embodiments, wireless communication unit 110 (FIG. 1) may transmit the information element for a predefined number of times prior to switching to broadcast beacons according to beacon schedule 304, e.g., as described above.
[The beacons of Levy function as the periodic advertising packets.]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Lee as modified by the teachings of Ben-Shachar and Yang with the beacon schedule information element of Levy. The resulting invention would provide for further reducing multiple collision events due to clock drift between two devices (Levy, [0079]).
Re. Claim 2, Lee in view of Ben-Shachar, Yang, and Levy teaches claim 1.
Yet, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the second broadcast stream uses timing information based on a clock of the second device.
However, in the related art, Ben-Shachar teaches the second broadcast stream uses timing information based on a clock of the second device (Ben-Shachar, [0044]: In many use-cases, one BT/BLE device serves simultaneously in two piconets, usually with two different master clocks, as illustrated by device E and device D in FIG. 1. In such 'multi-piconet' cases, the 'dual mode' device sharing the two piconets holds two time-base, one for each piconet.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method and apparatus for receiving audio data by using Bluetooth technology of Lee with the avoidance of collisions and connection loss in network device serving multiple networks of Ben-Shachar. The resulting combination would prevent collisions between slots allocated to each connection when a Bluetooth or BLE serves two piconets simultaneously (Ben-Shachar, [0017]).
Re. Claim 7, Lee in view of Ben-Shachar, Yang, and Levy teaches claim 1.
Neither Lee nor Ben-Shachar explicitly teaches the timing information related to the first broadcast stream is adjusted by adjusting the clock.
However, in the related art, Yang teaches wherein the timing information related to the first broadcast stream is adjusted by adjusting the clock (Yang, [0032] When first time difference 301 is less than or equal to second time difference 302 (i.e., d1 ≤ d2), BT radio module 106 may retard master clock signal 202 by predetermined step size 310 (i.e., Tstep) to shift BT slots 304 to achieve substantial synchronization of synchronization reference points 306 and a subsequent frame sync pulse 307.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Lee as modified by the teaching of Ben-Shachar with the multi-radio wireless communication device method for synchronizing wireless network and Bluetooth communications. The resulting invention would further reduce packet loss resulting from collisions between transmissions and receptions of different transceivers (Yang, [0003]).
Re. Claim 8, Lee in view of Ben-Shachar, Yang, and Levy teaches claim 1.
Lee further teaches the first broadcast stream and the second broadcast stream are isochronous streams (Lee, [0276]: An isochronous channel may be used to send and receive audio data to and from a single member, three of one or more coordinated members, or a plurality of members.).
Re. Claim 9, Lee in view of Ben-Shachar, Yang, and Levy teaches claim 8.
Lee further teaches wherein the first broadcast stream and the second broadcast stream are transmitted according to a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) Audio protocol (Lee, [0056]: The server device and the client device perform Bluetooth communication using a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) technology.).
Re. Claim 17. Claim 17 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1. It does not teach or further define on the limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons set for in claim 1.
Re. Claim 21. Claim 17 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 2. It does not teach or further define on the limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, claim 21 is rejected for similar reasons set for in claim 2.
Re. Claim 22. Claim 22 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 7. It does not teach or further define on the limitations recited in claim 7. Therefore, claim 22 is rejected for similar reasons set for in claim 7.
Re. Claim 23. Claim 23 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 8. It does not teach or further define on the limitations recited in claim 8. Therefore, claim 23 is rejected for similar reasons set for in claim 8.
Re. Claim 24. Claim 24 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 9. It does not teach or further define on the limitations recited in claim 9. Therefore, claim 24 is rejected for similar reasons set for in claim 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.H.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417