DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application communication filed on 12/15/2023.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 1, 10 and 19 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-20 are directed towards methods (i.e., processes) for displaying items along a first axis and a second axis of a display device.
Therefore, claims 1-20 recite one of the enumerated statutory categories of eligible subject matter in 35 U.S.C. §101.
Claim 1 recites A computer-implemented method for displaying items along a first axis and a second axis of a display device, wherein the first axis is comprised of at least a first section and a second section, the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving a plurality of first data objects from a data store;
receiving a size of the display device for displaying first data items;
determining a number of first data items to be displayed in the first section;
determining a maximum first size for displaying one or more first items along the second axis in which scrolling along the second axis will not be necessary;
determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold;
in response to the determination that the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold, determining which portion of content from each first data object is to be displayed in each first data item;
and providing for display the first data items in the first section, wherein at least one of the receiving, determining, and providing for display are performed by one or more computing systems.
Claim 10 recites A computer-implemented method for displaying items along a first axis and a second axis of a display device, wherein the first axis is comprised of at least a first section and a second section, the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving a plurality of first data objects from a data store;
receiving a size of the display device for displaying first data items;
determining a number of first data items to be displayed in the first section; determining a maximum first size for displaying one or more first items along the second axis in which scrolling along the second axis will not be necessary;
determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold;
in response to the determination that the maximum first size does not exceed the first threshold, determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a second threshold;
and in response to the determination that the maximum first size exceeds a second threshold, providing for display the first data items in the first section, wherein at least one of the receiving, determining, and providing for display are performed by one or more computing systems.
Claim 19 recites A computer-implemented method for displaying items along a first axis and a second axis of a display device, wherein the first axis is comprised of at least a first section and a second section, the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving a plurality of first data objects from a data store;
receiving a size of the display device for displaying first data items;
determining a number of first data items to be displayed in the first section;
determining a maximum first size for displaying one or more first items along the second axis in which scrolling along the second axis will not be necessary;
determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold; in response to the determination that the maximum first size does not exceed the first threshold, determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a second threshold;
and in response to the determination that the maximum first size does not exceed the second threshold, determining an inverse of the maximum first size to represent that each of smallest allowable first data items on the display is represented on the display;
providing for display the smallest allowable first data items, wherein at least one of the receiving, determining, and providing for display are performed by one or more computing systems.
The bolded limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers an abstract idea, which includes a mental process because it recites concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). Any limitations not identified above is part of the abstract idea and deemed “additional elements”, are underlined.
Step 2A- Prong 1
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), then it falls within the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas. The independent claims recite methods for determining how to display items.
Specifically, independent claim 1 recites determining a number of first data items to be displayed in the first section;
determining a maximum first size for displaying one or more first items along the second axis in which scrolling along the second axis will not be necessary;
determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold;
in response to the determination that the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold, determining which portion of content from each first data object is to be displayed in each first data item;
Independent claim 10 recites determining a number of first data items to be displayed in the first section; determining a maximum first size for displaying one or more first items along the second axis in which scrolling along the second axis will not be necessary;
determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold;
in response to the determination that the maximum first size does not exceed the first threshold, determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a second threshold;
Independent claim 19 recites determining a number of first data items to be displayed in the first section;
determining a maximum first size for displaying one or more first items along the second axis in which scrolling along the second axis will not be necessary;
determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold; in response to the determination that the maximum first size does not exceed the first threshold, determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a second threshold;
and in response to the determination that the maximum first size does not exceed the second threshold, determining an inverse of the maximum first size to represent that each of smallest allowable first data items on the display is represented on the display;
These limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretations, cover performance of the limitations in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper. Therefore, these limitations are grouped within the “mental process” grouping (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) of abstract ideas. (see MPEP 2016.04(a)(2)(iii)). Accordingly, the independent claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A-Prong 2
The independent claims recite the combination of additional elements of 1) computer-implemented 2) computer systems 3) receiving a plurality of first data objects from a data store; 4) receiving a size of the display device for displaying first data items;
5) providing for display the first data items in the first section.
The independent claims merely use computer elements as tools to perform abstract ideas and generally link the use of judicial exception to a particular technological environment. The use of the computer elements as tools to implement the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not render the claim patent eligible because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The 1) computer-implemented 2) computer systems are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere generic computer component limitations to apply the exception using a general computer component or amounts to merely invoking a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment of field of use cannot provide a practical application. Specifically, the computer elements many be any number of hardware architectures including processors, user devices, storage devices, servers that function to perform data storage and processing (see instant specification Figure 1, paras. 20-22)
The additional elements of 3) receiving a plurality of first data objects from a data store; 4) receiving a size of the display device for displaying first data items; are merely data gathering steps or well-known pre-solution of insignificant extra-solution activity. (see MPEP 2106.05(g))
The additional element of 5) providing for display the first data items in the first section; is merely data outputting or well-known post-solution of insignificant extra-solution activity. (see MPEP 2106.05(g))
Integration into a practical application requires an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
As explained above, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and the additional limitations are not indicative of materializing into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The independent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using computer elements such as 1) computer-implemented 2) computer systems to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Generic computer elements
recited as performing generic computer functions that are well- understood, routine, or
conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept ("significantly more").
3) receiving a plurality of first data objects from a data store; 4) receiving a size of the display device for displaying first data items; 5) providing for display the first data items in the first section are considered well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. (Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); OJP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. V. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network and performing repetitive calculations); Bancorp Services V. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp's claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims."); See MPEP 2106.05(d) Here, the claim limitation of receiving a data objects and size of display information and displaying data is similar to the receiving, sending, and performing calculations stated above.
Therefore, the additional elements in the independent claims do not amount to significantly more than a judicial exception. Furthermore, there is no indication that the additional limitations alone or in combination improves the functioning of a computer or any other technology, improves another technology or technical field, or effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Remaining Claims
Claims 2-9, 11-18 and 20 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide as inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination.
The dependent claims add additional features including those that merely serve
to further narrow the abstract idea above including: receiving user input or data or outputting data as insignificant extra solution activity (4,5,6,7,8,13,14,15,16,17), computer implemented (2-9,11-18,20), are recited at a high level in the claims and in the spec and only amount to using a computer to aid in the mental process, especially as they are well known in the art (see MPEP 2106.05(f) section (2)). Applicant's inventive concept is using the computer as a tool to help display items without the need to scroll or with reduced amount of scrolling (see spec [0016). So the improvement seems to improve the abstract idea (determining how to display items more efficiently) verses an improvement in a technology or technological process. The improvement cannot come from the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The dependent claims included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "a third threshold" without reciting a “second threshold”. It is unclear if claim is missing a limitation. Examiner suggest to amend to “a second
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poston et al. (hereinafter “Poston”), U.S. Published Application No. 20150161806 A1 in view of Wulkan et al. (hereinafter “Wulkan”), U.S. Published Application No. 20090089662 A1.
Poston teaches A computer-implemented method for displaying items along a first axis and a second axis of a display device, wherein the first axis is comprised of at least a first section and a second section, the computer-implemented method comprising: (e.g., displaying data objects with attributes within a frame Examiner considers the data objects to be displayed along horizontal axis with first section within examination frame or within single pane and second section outside of examination frame as shown in Figure 1 or outside a pane (i.e., second section as shown in Figure 3)
receiving a plurality of first data objects from a data store; (e.g., receiving data objects from a database par. 28; The objects 104, 106, 108, 110 and 112 may be associated with attributes and/or metadata. Throughout this document, the terms metadata and attributes may be used interchangeably to mean the same thing. The attributes may include, for example, an object name, a status, a type of object, event information including an event count, an importance rating, an icon representation, and any other type of attribute that may be associated with data in a database.)
determining a number of first data items to be displayed in the first section; (e.g., determining a number of data objects to display within the examination frame of a single pane 102 without the need for scrolling par. 5; The examination frame is sized to fit within the single pane, where the subset of the objects displayed within the examination frame are sized larger than the objects outside of the examination frame. par. 45; The maximum size of the examination frame 113 may be limited based on a number of objects within the single pane 102. For example, the total number of objects may be counted and the count of the objects may be used to determine the largest number of objects that can be rendered within the examination frame 113 and still fit all of the objects within the single pane 102 without the need for any horizontal scrolling.)
determining a maximum first size for displaying one or more first items along the second axis in which scrolling along the second axis will not be necessary; (e.g., determining a size for a first pane 202 for displaying data objects without the need for any horizontal scrolling Examiner considers data objects to be along a horizontal axis (i.e., second axis) par. 49; The objects within the first pane 202 may be dynamically sized and spaced relative to one another to fit all of the objects in the first pane 202, without the need for horizontal scrolling. Par. 55; The size of the pane 202 may be dependent upon a total number of objects displayed within the pane 202 such that all of the objects are always displayed without the need for any horizontal scrolling.)
and providing for display the first data items in the first section, wherein at least one of the receiving, determining, and providing for display are performed by one or more computing systems. (e.g., computer system and display capable of providing display of display objects in examination frame (i.e., first section) par. 65; The computing device 502 may be operably connected to display 510. The display 510 may be understood to represent virtually any type of display, for example, a monitor, a touch screen monitor, or any other type of visual or auditory display. In this example, the display 510 may be the device on which the screenshots 100 of FIG. 1, 200 of FIG. 2, 300 of FIGS. 3 and 400 of FIG. 4 may be rendered.)
Poston fails to expressly teach
receiving a size of the display device for displaying first data items;
determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold;
in response to the determination that the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold, determining which portion of content from each first data object is to be displayed in each first data item;
However, Wulkan teaches
receiving a size of the display device for displaying first data items; (e.g., max size for displaying a first set of data in a tabular display par. 6; b. receiving a maximum size value of the tabular display;))
determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold; (e.g., determining if horizontal data (i.e., configurable width of data ) exceed available horizontal space (i.e., threshold) Examiner notes this limitation is a contingent limitation and does not require the maximum size to exceed a first threshold under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) see MPEP § 2111.04, subsection II Par. 6; dynamically splitting the horizontal data if the horizontal data exceeds the available horizontal space of the table control. Par. 23; Rows have been split and resized to fill the available width. As the width of the table is expanded, as soon as the table width is equal to or greater than the sum of the minimum sizes of all the columns, the rows are collapsed in reverse order of their split and resized to proportionately fill the available space.)
in response to the determination that the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold, determining which portion of content from each first data object is to be displayed in each first data item; (e.g., in response to the horizontal data exceeding the horizontal space, dynamically splitting the horizontal data (i.e., displaying content of a data object) par. 6; c. dynamically splitting the horizontal data if the horizontal data exceeds the available horizontal space of the table control.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify displayed data objects as taught by Poston based on a maximum size exceeding a threshold as taught by Wulkan with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of avoiding excessively compressed data displayed in tabular form. (see Wulkan; abstract; par. 3)
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Poston/Wulkan teaches wherein the maximum first size comprises a size of the display device along the second axis divided by the number of first data items. (e.g., displaying data objects based on a configurable size horizontally without the need to scroll Poston; par. 37; In some exemplary implementations, the configuration of the sizing and spacing of the objects may be configurable. In this manner, minimum and maximum sizes of objects may be set by a user. The number of objects in a particular dataset may determine a minimum and a maximum size for the objects based on the number of objects within the particular dataset. Thus, each dataset may have different minimum and maximum sizes because the number of objects may vary from one dataset to another dataset.)
Claim 3 depends on claim 1:
Poston/Wulkan teaches wherein the first threshold is associated with a smallest physical point on the display device. (e.g., available horizontal space threshold associated with configurable minimum size of tabular display Wulkan; par. 6; a. receiving a minimum size value of the tabular display par. 22; As the width of the table is reduced, any columns that are designated as dynamically resizable are proportionally reduced in size until they reach their minimum size. Once all the dynamically resizable columns have reached their minimum size, i.e., the column cannot be reduced any more, the rows are split at the first column, wrapping all other columns onto a sub-row, and resized to fill the available width.)
Claim 4 depends on claim 1:
Poston/Wulkan teaches further comprising: receiving a first input in the first section; modifying a size of the first item to a first size, wherein the first item is associated with the first input; and providing for display content within the first item of the first size in the first section. (e.g., input to move examination frame with a pane (i.e., first section) dynamically changes the size of data objects within the pane Poston; par. 43; The ability to move the examination frame 113 enables a monitor of the objects to move the examination frame 113 to an area of interest within the single pane in order to gain a more magnified view of particular objects and their associated attributes. Par. 44; As the examination frame 113 is moved within the single pane 102, the sizing and spacing of the objects outside of the examination frame also changes dynamically. As the examination frame 113 is moved, objects will enter and exit the examination frame 113. As the objects approach the moving examination frame 113, their size may increase. )
Claim 5 depends on claim 4:
Poston/Wulkan teaches further comprising: receiving a second input in the first section; modifying the first size of the first item to a second size, wherein the first item is associated with the second input; and providing for display content within the first item of the second size in the first section. (e.g., input to move examination frame with a pane (i.e., first section) dynamically changes the size of data objects within the pane Poston; par. 43; The ability to move the examination frame 113 enables a monitor of the objects to move the examination frame 113 to an area of interest within the single pane in order to gain a more magnified view of particular objects and their associated attributes. Par. 44; As the examination frame 113 is moved within the single pane 102, the sizing and spacing of the objects outside of the examination frame also changes dynamically. As the examination frame 113 is moved, objects will enter and exit the examination frame 113. As the objects approach the moving examination frame 113, their size may increase. )
Claim 6 depends on claim 1:
Poston teaches further comprising: receiving a plurality of second data objects from the data store; (e.g., receiving data objects from a database par. 28; The objects 104, 106, 108, 110 and 112 may be associated with attributes and/or metadata. Throughout this document, the terms metadata and attributes may be used interchangeably to mean the same thing. The attributes may include, for example, an object name, a status, a type of object, event information including an event count, an importance rating, an icon representation, and any other type of attribute that may be associated with data in a database.)
determining a number of second data items to be displayed in the second section; (e.g., determining a number of data objects to display within the a second pane without the need for scrolling Poston; par. 5; The examination frame is sized to fit within the single pane, where the subset of the objects displayed within the examination frame are sized larger than the objects outside of the examination frame. par. 45; The maximum size of the examination frame 113 may be limited based on a number of objects within the single pane 102. For example, the total number of objects may be counted and the count of the objects may be used to determine the largest number of objects that can be rendered within the examination frame 113 and still fit all of the objects within the single pane 102 without the need for any horizontal scrolling.)
determining a maximum second size for displaying one or more second items along the second axis in which scrolling along the second axis will not be necessary; (e.g., determining a size for a first pane 202 for displaying a second set of data objects without the need for any horizontal scrolling Examiner considers data objects to be along a horizontal axis (i.e., second axis) Poston; par. 49; The objects within the first pane 202 may be dynamically sized and spaced relative to one another to fit all of the objects in the first pane 202, without the need for horizontal scrolling. Par. 55; The size of the pane 202 may be dependent upon a total number of objects displayed within the pane 202 such that all of the objects are always displayed without the need for any horizontal scrolling.)
and providing for display the second data items in the second section. (e.g., computer system and display capable of providing display of a second set of display objects in second pane (i.e., second section) par. 65; The computing device 502 may be operably connected to display 510. The display 510 may be understood to represent virtually any type of display, for example, a monitor, a touch screen monitor, or any other type of visual or auditory display. In this example, the display 510 may be the device on which the screenshots 100 of FIG. 1, 200 of FIG. 2, 300 of FIGS. 3 and 400 of FIG. 4 may be rendered.)
Poston fails to expressly teach
receiving the size of the display device for displaying second data items;
determining whether the maximum second size exceeds a third threshold;
in response to the determination that the maximum second size exceeds the third threshold, determining which portion of content from each second data object is to be displayed in each second data item;
However, Wulkan teaches
receiving the size of the display device for displaying second data items; (e.g., max size for displaying a second set of data in a tabular display par. 6; b. receiving a maximum size value of the tabular display;))
determining whether the maximum second size exceeds a third threshold; (e.g., determining if horizontal data (i.e., configurable width of data ) exceed available horizontal space (i.e., configurable threshold based on size of tabular display) Examiner notes this limitation is a contingent limitation and does not require the maximum size to exceed a third threshold under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) see MPEP § 2111.04, subsection II Par. 6; dynamically splitting the horizontal data if the horizontal data exceeds the available horizontal space of the table control. Par. 23; Rows have been split and resized to fill the available width. As the width of the table is expanded, as soon as the table width is equal to or greater than the sum of the minimum sizes of all the columns, the rows are collapsed in reverse order of their split and resized to proportionately fill the available space.)
in response to the determination that the maximum second size exceeds the third threshold, determining which portion of content from each second data object is to be displayed in each second data item; (e.g., in response to the horizontal data exceeding the horizontal space, (i.e., configurable threshold based on size of tabular display) dynamically splitting the horizontal data (i.e., displaying a second set of data) par. 6; c. dynamically splitting the horizontal data if the horizontal data exceeds the available horizontal space of the table control.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify displayed data objects as taught by Poston based on a maximum size exceeding a threshold as taught by Wulkan with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of avoiding excessively compressed data displayed in tabular form. (see Wulkan; abstract; par. 3)
Claim 7 depends on claim 6:
Poston/Wulkan teaches further comprising: in response to the determination that the maximum second size does not exceed the third threshold, determining whether the maximum second size exceeds a fourth threshold; (e.g., determining if horizontal data (i.e., configurable width of data ) exceed available horizontal space (i.e., configurable threshold based on size of tabular display) Examiner notes this limitation is a contingent limitation and does not require the maximum size to exceed a third threshold under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) see MPEP § 2111.04, subsection II Wulkan; Par. 6; dynamically splitting the horizontal data if the horizontal data exceeds the available horizontal space of the table control. Par. 23; Rows have been split and resized to fill the available width. As the width of the table is expanded, as soon as the table width is equal to or greater than the sum of the minimum sizes of all the columns, the rows are collapsed in reverse order of their split and resized to proportionately fill the available space.)
and in response to the determination that the maximum second size exceeds the fourth threshold, providing for display the second data items in the second section. (e.g., in response to the horizontal data exceeding the horizontal space, (i.e., configurable threshold based on size of tabular display) dynamically splitting the horizontal data (i.e., displaying a second set of data) Examiner notes this limitation is based on a contingent limitation (i.e., determining whether the maximum second size exceeds a third threshold) and does not require the maximum size to exceed any threshold under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) see MPEP § 2111.04, subsection II Wulkan; par. 6; c. dynamically splitting the horizontal data if the horizontal data exceeds the available horizontal space of the table control.)
Claim 8 depends on claim 7:
Poston/Wulkan teaches further comprising: in response to the determination that the maximum second size does not exceed the fourth threshold, determining an inverse of the maximum second size to represent that each of smallest allowable second data items on the display is represented on the display; and providing for display the smallest allowable second data items. (e.g., available horizontal space threshold associated with configurable minimum size (i.e., smallest allowable display) of tabular display Examiner considers the recited inverse of the maximum second size to equate to a value that reads on the range of values used to set the user configurable tabular display Wulkan; par. 6; a. receiving a minimum size value of the tabular display par. 22; As the width of the table is reduced, any columns that are designated as dynamically resizable are proportionally reduced in size until they reach their minimum size. Once all the dynamically resizable columns have reached their minimum size, i.e., the column cannot be reduced any more, the rows are split at the first column, wrapping all other columns onto a sub-row, and resized to fill the available width.)
Claim 9 depends on claim 8:
Poston/Wulkan teaches wherein the smallest allowable second data item is associated with a number of the second data objects, and wherein the number comprises the inverse of the maximum second size. (e.g., available horizontal space threshold associated with configurable minimum size (i.e., smallest allowable display) of tabular display Examiner considers the recited inverse of the maximum second size to equate to a value that reads on the range of values used to set the user configurable tabular display Wulkan; par. 6; a. receiving a minimum size value of the tabular display par. 22; As the width of the table is reduced, any columns that are designated as dynamically resizable are proportionally reduced in size until they reach their minimum size. Once all the dynamically resizable columns have reached their minimum size, i.e., the column cannot be reduced any more, the rows are split at the first column, wrapping all other columns onto a sub-row, and resized to fill the available width.)
Independent claim 10:
Poston teaches A computer-implemented method for displaying items along a first axis and a second axis of a display device, wherein the first axis is comprised of at least a first section and a second section, the computer-implemented method comprising: (e.g., displaying data objects with attributes within a frame Examiner considers the data objects to be displayed along horizontal axis with first section within examination frame or within single pane and second section outside of examination frame as shown in Figure 1 or outside a pane (i.e., second section as shown in Figure 3)
receiving a plurality of first data objects from a data store; (e.g., receiving data objects from a database par. 28; The objects 104, 106, 108, 110 and 112 may be associated with attributes and/or metadata. Throughout this document, the terms metadata and attributes may be used interchangeably to mean the same thing. The attributes may include, for example, an object name, a status, a type of object, event information including an event count, an importance rating, an icon representation, and any other type of attribute that may be associated with data in a database.)
determining a number of first data items to be displayed in the first section; (e.g., determining a number of data objects to display within the examination frame of a single pane 102 without the need for scrolling par. 5; The examination frame is sized to fit within the single pane, where the subset of the objects displayed within the examination frame are sized larger than the objects outside of the examination frame. par. 45; The maximum size of the examination frame 113 may be limited based on a number of objects within the single pane 102. For example, the total number of objects may be counted and the count of the objects may be used to determine the largest number of objects that can be rendered within the examination frame 113 and still fit all of the objects within the single pane 102 without the need for any horizontal scrolling.)
determining a maximum first size for displaying one or more first items along the second axis in which scrolling along the second axis will not be necessary; (e.g., determining a size for a first pane 202 for displaying data objects without the need for any horizontal scrolling Examiner considers data objects to be along a horizontal axis (i.e., second axis) par. 49; The objects within the first pane 202 may be dynamically sized and spaced relative to one another to fit all of the objects in the first pane 202, without the need for horizontal scrolling. Par. 55; The size of the pane 202 may be dependent upon a total number of objects displayed within the pane 202 such that all of the objects are always displayed without the need for any horizontal scrolling.)
wherein at least one of the receiving, determining, and providing for display are performed by one or more computing systems. (e.g., computer system and display capable of providing display of display objects in examination frame (i.e., first section) par. 65; The computing device 502 may be operably connected to display 510. The display 510 may be understood to represent virtually any type of display, for example, a monitor, a touch screen monitor, or any other type of visual or auditory display. In this example, the display 510 may be the device on which the screenshots 100 of FIG. 1, 200 of FIG. 2, 300 of FIGS. 3 and 400 of FIG. 4 may be rendered.)
Poston fails to expressly teach
receiving a size of the display device for displaying first data items;
determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold;
in response to the determination that the maximum first size does not exceed the first threshold, determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a second threshold;
and in response to the determination that the maximum first size exceeds a second threshold, providing for display the first data items in the first section,
However, Wulkan teaches
receiving a size of the display device for displaying first data items; (e.g., max size for displaying items in a tabular display par. 6; b. receiving a maximum size value of the tabular display;))
determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold; (e.g., determining if horizontal data (i.e., configurable width of data ) exceed available horizontal space (i.e., threshold) Examiner notes this limitation is a contingent limitation and does not require the maximum size to exceed a first threshold under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) see MPEP § 2111.04, subsection II Par. 6; dynamically splitting the horizontal data if the horizontal data exceeds the available horizontal space of the table control. Par. 23; Rows have been split and resized to fill the available width. As the width of the table is expanded, as soon as the table width is equal to or greater than the sum of the minimum sizes of all the columns, the rows are collapsed in reverse order of their split and resized to proportionately fill the available space.)
in response to the determination that the maximum first size does not exceed the first threshold, determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a second threshold; (e.g., determining if horizontal data (i.e., configurable width of data ) exceed available horizontal space (i.e., configurable threshold based on size of tabular display) Examiner notes this limitation is a contingent limitation and does not require the maximum size to exceed a threshold under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) see MPEP § 2111.04, subsection II Wulkan; Par. 6; dynamically splitting the horizontal data if the horizontal data exceeds the available horizontal space of the table control. Par. 23; Rows have been split and resized to fill the available width. As the width of the table is expanded, as soon as the table width is equal to or greater than the sum of the minimum sizes of all the columns, the rows are collapsed in reverse order of their split and resized to proportionately fill the available space.)
and in response to the determination that the maximum first size exceeds a second threshold, providing for display the first data items in the first section, (e.g., in response to the horizontal data exceeding the horizontal space, dynamically splitting the horizontal data (i.e., displaying content of a data object) Wulkan par. 6; c. dynamically splitting the horizontal data if the horizontal data exceeds the available horizontal space of the table control.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify displayed data objects as taught by Poston based on a maximum size exceeding a threshold as taught by Wulkan with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of avoiding excessively compressed data displayed in tabular form. (see Wulkan; abstract; par. 3)
Claim 11 depends on claim 10:
Poston/Wulkan teaches wherein the maximum first size comprises a size of the display device along the second axis divided by the number of first data items. (e.g., displaying data objects based on a configurable size horizontally without the need to scroll Poston; par. 37; In some exemplary implementations, the configuration of the sizing and spacing of the objects may be configurable. In this manner, minimum and maximum sizes of objects may be set by a user. The number of objects in a particular dataset may determine a minimum and a maximum size for the objects based on the number of objects within the particular dataset. Thus, each dataset may have different minimum and maximum sizes because the number of objects may vary from one dataset to another dataset.)
Claim 12 depends on claim 10:
Poston/Wulkan teaches wherein first threshold is associated with a smallest physical point on the display device. (e.g., available horizontal space threshold associated with configurable minimum size of tabular display Wulkan; par. 6; a. receiving a minimum size value of the tabular display par. 22; As the width of the table is reduced, any columns that are designated as dynamically resizable are proportionally reduced in size until they reach their minimum size. Once all the dynamically resizable columns have reached their minimum size, i.e., the column cannot be reduced any more, the rows are split at the first column, wrapping all other columns onto a sub-row, and resized to fill the available width.)
Claim 13 depends on claim 10:
Poston/Wulkan teaches further comprising: receiving a first input in the first section; modifying a size of the first item to a first size, wherein the first item is associated with the first input; and providing for display content within the first item of the first size in the first section. (e.g., input to move examination frame with a pane (i.e., first section) dynamically changes the size of data objects within the pane Poston; par. 43; The ability to move the examination frame 113 enables a monitor of the objects to move the examination frame 113 to an area of interest within the single pane in order to gain a more magnified view of particular objects and their associated attributes. Par. 44; As the examination frame 113 is moved within the single pane 102, the sizing and spacing of the objects outside of the examination frame also changes dynamically. As the examination frame 113 is moved, objects will enter and exit the examination frame 113. As the objects approach the moving examination frame 113, their size may increase. )
Claim 14 depends on claim 13:
Poston/Wulkan teaches further comprising: receiving a second input in the first section; modifying the first size of the first item to a second size, wherein the first item is associated with the second input; and providing for display content within the first item of the second size in the first section. (e.g., input to move examination frame with a pane (i.e., first section) dynamically changes the size of data objects within the pane Poston; par. 43; The ability to move the examination frame 113 enables a monitor of the objects to move the examination frame 113 to an area of interest within the single pane in order to gain a more magnified view of particular objects and their associated attributes. Par. 44; As the examination frame 113 is moved within the single pane 102, the sizing and spacing of the objects outside of the examination frame also changes dynamically. As the examination frame 113 is moved, objects will enter and exit the examination frame 113. As the objects approach the moving examination frame 113, their size may increase. )
Claim 15 depends on claim 14:
Claim 15 is substantially encompassed in claim 6; therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 6 to reject claim 15.
Claim 16 depends on claim 15:
Claim 16 is substantially encompassed in claim 7; therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 7 to reject claim 16.
Claim 17 depends on claim 16:
Claim 17 is substantially encompassed in claim 8; therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 8 to reject claim 17.
Claim 18 depends on claim 17:
Claim 18 is substantially encompassed in claim 9; therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 9 to reject claim 18.
Independent claim 19:
Poston teaches A computer-implemented method for displaying items along a first axis and a second axis of a display device, wherein the first axis is comprised of at least a first section and a second section, the computer-implemented method comprising: (e.g., displaying data objects with attributes within a frame Examiner considers the data objects to be displayed along horizontal axis with first section within examination frame or within single pane and second section outside of examination frame as shown in Figure 1 or outside a pane (i.e., second section as shown in Figure 3)
receiving a plurality of first data objects from a data store; (e.g., receiving data objects from a database par. 28; The objects 104, 106, 108, 110 and 112 may be associated with attributes and/or metadata. Throughout this document, the terms metadata and attributes may be used interchangeably to mean the same thing. The attributes may include, for example, an object name, a status, a type of object, event information including an event count, an importance rating, an icon representation, and any other type of attribute that may be associated with data in a database.)
determining a number of first data items to be displayed in the first section; (e.g., determining a number of data objects to display within the examination frame of a single pane 102 without the need for scrolling par. 5; The examination frame is sized to fit within the single pane, where the subset of the objects displayed within the examination frame are sized larger than the objects outside of the examination frame. par. 45; The maximum size of the examination frame 113 may be limited based on a number of objects within the single pane 102. For example, the total number of objects may be counted and the count of the objects may be used to determine the largest number of objects that can be rendered within the examination frame 113 and still fit all of the objects within the single pane 102 without the need for any horizontal scrolling.)
determining a maximum first size for displaying one or more first items along the second axis in which scrolling along the second axis will not be necessary; (e.g., determining a size for a first pane 202 for displaying data objects without the need for any horizontal scrolling Examiner considers data objects to be along a horizontal axis (i.e., second axis) par. 49; The objects within the first pane 202 may be dynamically sized and spaced relative to one another to fit all of the objects in the first pane 202, without the need for horizontal scrolling. Par. 55; The size of the pane 202 may be dependent upon a total number of objects displayed within the pane 202 such that all of the objects are always displayed without the need for any horizontal scrolling.)
wherein at least one of the receiving, determining, and providing for display are performed by one or more computing systems. (e.g., computer system and display capable of providing display of display objects in examination frame (i.e., first section) par. 65; The computing device 502 may be operably connected to display 510. The display 510 may be understood to represent virtually any type of display, for example, a monitor, a touch screen monitor, or any other type of visual or auditory display. In this example, the display 510 may be the device on which the screenshots 100 of FIG. 1, 200 of FIG. 2, 300 of FIGS. 3 and 400 of FIG. 4 may be rendered.)
Poston fails to expressly teach
receiving a size of the display device for displaying first data items;
determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold;
in response to the determination that the maximum first size does not exceed the first threshold, determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a second threshold;
and in response to the determination that the maximum first size does not exceed the second threshold, determining an inverse of the maximum first size to represent that each of smallest allowable first data items on the display is represented on the display; providing for display the smallest allowable first data items,
However, Wulkan teaches
receiving a size of the display device for displaying first data items; (e.g., max size for displaying items in a tabular display par. 6; b. receiving a maximum size value of the tabular display;)
determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a first threshold; (e.g., determining if horizontal data (i.e., configurable width of data ) exceed available horizontal space (i.e., threshold) Examiner notes this limitation is a contingent limitation and does not require the maximum size to exceed a first threshold under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) see MPEP § 2111.04, subsection II Par. 6; dynamically splitting the horizontal data if the horizontal data exceeds the available horizontal space of the table control. Par. 23; Rows have been split and resized to fill the available width. As the width of the table is expanded, as soon as the table width is equal to or greater than the sum of the minimum sizes of all the columns, the rows are collapsed in reverse order of their split and resized to proportionately fill the available space.)
in response to the determination that the maximum first size does not exceed the first threshold, determining whether the maximum first size exceeds a second threshold; (e.g., determining if horizontal data (i.e., configurable width of data ) exceed available horizontal space (i.e., configurable threshold based on size of tabular display) Examiner notes this limitation is a contingent limitation and does not require the maximum size to exceed a threshold under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) see MPEP § 2111.04, subsection II Wulkan; Par. 6; dynamically splitting the horizontal data if the horizontal data exceeds the available horizontal space of the table control. Par. 23; Rows have been split and resized to fill the available width. As the width of the table is expanded, as soon as the table width is equal to or greater than the sum of the minimum sizes of all the columns, the rows are collapsed in reverse order of their split and resized to proportionately fill the available space.)
and in response to the determination that the maximum first size does not exceed the second threshold, determining an inverse of the maximum first size to represent that each of smallest allowable first data items on the display is represented on the display; providing for display the smallest allowable first data items, (e.g., available horizontal space threshold associated with configurable minimum size (i.e., smallest allowable display) of tabular display Examiner considers the recited inverse of the maximum second size to equate to a value that reads on the range of values used to set the user configurable tabular display Wulkan; par. 6; a. receiving a minimum size value of the tabular display par. 22; As the width of the table is reduced, any columns that are designated as dynamically resizable are proportionally reduced in size until they reach their minimum size. Once all the dynamically resizable columns have reached their minimum size, i.e., the column cannot be reduced any more, the rows are split at the first column, wrapping all other columns onto a sub-row, and resized to fill the available width.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify displayed data objects as taught by Poston based on a maximum size exceeding a threshold as taught by Wulkan with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of avoiding excessively compressed data displayed in tabular form. (see Wulkan; abstract; par. 3)
Claim 20 depends on claim 19:
Claim 20 is substantially encompassed in claim 9; therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 9 to reject claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20180267314 A1 SHIBASAKI; Ryota
Par. 103;In addition, according to the present embodiment, the display area setting unit 35 sets the display area 211 in correspondence to the amount of information of the monitoring target information 40, such that the monitoring target information 40 can be displayed without scrolling, in cases in which the amount of information of the monitoring target information 40 fits within the maximum area 212 that is set in advance. In addition, the display area setting unit 35 sets the display area 211 to be the same size as the maximum area 212 in cases in which the amount of information of the monitoring target information 40 does not fit within the maximum area 212.
US 20130222435 A1 CHOI; Jae-Young et al.
Par. 53; However, there may be a limit on the maximum size of the select list. The placement of the limit may reduce the likelihood of the size of the original list from continuing to decrease with an increase in the size of the select list so that it becomes difficult to read, thereby maintaining the original list to be larger than a reference size. For example, the size of the select list may not increase any more if the number of items in the select list exceeds a reference number while the size of the select list increases in proportion to the number of items in the select list. If a number of items included in the select list above a reference threshold, such that the select list cannot be displayed in a reference size, the control unit 30 may reduce the size of one or more items to include some or all of the items in the select list to display on the touch screen 20, or may display a scrollable select list on the touch screen while maintaining the size of the items of the select list to be larger than a reference size.
/HENRY ORR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172