2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
CLAIM OBJECTION
5. Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Interpreting the claims in light of the specification, examiner finds the claimed invention is patentably distinct from the prior art of record. The prior art does not expressly teach or render obvious the invention as recited in the claim 7.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-11 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (Pub No. 2023/0288958) and further in view of Liou et al (Pub No. 2009/0310334).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al discloses an electronic device, comprising: a device housing (Fig. 5-6: Slidable phone housing); a blade assembly carrying a blade (Para. 78 & Fig. 8: blade assembly[Wingdings font/0xE0]roller 251) and a flexible display (Para. 61: flexible display 223) and slidably coupled to the device housing (Para. 81 & 67-68: Roller 251 & bar support 252 guiding the slide-in and slide-out operation with the housing); a translation mechanism operable to slide the blade assembly relative to the device housing between an extended position and a retracted position (Para. 67-70: Roller 251 & bar support 252 generate slide in state- a retracted position and slide out state- extended position); a first audio output device component mechanically coupled to the blade assembly (Para. 86 & Fig. 9A: Speaker-420 on the roller-251); and a second audio output device component mechanically coupled to a surface carried by the device housing (Para. 61 & Fig. 3: mobile device with another speaker-221 on the device surface) (Also see Para. 86 & Fig. 9A: another speaker-422).
Kim et al does not explicitly disclose translation of the blade assembly to the extended position causes the first audio output device component and the second audio output device component to axially align.
Liou et al discloses translation of the blade assembly to the extended position causes the first audio output device component and the second audio output device component to axially align (Fig. 1-2: Left and right speaker-20 on a movable blade. When move the blade assembly to extended position causes the 1st speaker and 2nd speaker to axially align[Wingdings font/0xE0]parallel position) & (Para. 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the speaker adjusting system with a display device of Liou’s disclosure with the sliding device having speakers, as taught by Kim. Doing so would have resulted in adjusting the speaker system efficiently within a display device to generate better sound projections for the users.
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al discloses wherein translation of the blade assembly to the retracted position causes the first audio output device component and the second audio output device component to axially misalign (Fig. 2 & 5 & 9A: Speaker-221 & Speaker-420 are not aligned when blade assembly to the retracted position & Para. 68 & 86).
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al discloses a third audio output device component mechanically coupled to the blade assembly, wherein translation of the blade assembly to the retracted position causes the second audio output device component and the third audio output device component to axially align (Fig. 3 & 9A: 2nd audio component-420 and the third audio component-422 to axially align).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al discloses translation of the blade assembly to the extended position causes the third audio output device component and the second audio output device component to axially misalign (Fig. 2 & 5 & 9A: Speaker-221 & Speaker-420 are not aligned when blade assembly to the extended position & Para. 68 & 86).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al discloses the translation mechanism is further operable to slide the blade assembly relative to the device housing to a peek position revealing an image capture device (Fig. 6A: Device peek position).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al discloses a fourth audio output device component mechanically coupled to the blade assembly; and a fifth audio output device component mechanically coupled to the surface carried by the device housing (Fig. 11C: Speaker-450 & 452 can be different speakers).
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al discloses translation of the blade assembly to the extended position causes: the third audio output device component and the fifth audio output device component to axially align; and the fourth audio output device component and the fifth audio output device component to axially misalign (Fig. 11C: Speaker-450 & 452 can be different speakers & Fig. 3: speaker-221. Speakers can be align or misalign based on the configuration of the device).
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al discloses translation of the blade assembly to the retracted position causes the fourth audio output device component and the fifth audio output device component to axially align (Fig. 11C: Speaker-450 & 452 can be different speakers and can be align).
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al discloses end of the blade assembly extends beyond an edge of the device housing when in the extended position and is coextensive with a minor surface of the device housing when in the retracted position (Fig. 4-5: housing retracted position blade assembly extends) & (Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Kim et al discloses an electronic device, comprising: a device housing (Fig. 5-6: Slidable phone housing); a blade assembly carrying a blade (Para. 78 & Fig. 8: blade assembly[Wingdings font/0xE0]roller 251) and a flexible display (Para. 61: flexible display 223) and slidably coupled to the device housing (Para. 81 & 67-68: Roller 251 & bar support 252 guiding the slide-in and slide-out operation with the housing); a translation mechanism operable to slide the blade assembly relative to the device housing between an extended position and a retracted position and a peek position (Para. 67-70: Roller 251 & bar support 252 generate slide in state- a retracted position and slide out state- extended position with peek position); a first audio output device component mechanically coupled to the blade assembly (Para. 86 & Fig. 9A: Speaker-420 on the roller-251); and a second audio output device component mechanically coupled to a surface carried by the device housing (Para. 61 & Fig. 3: mobile device with speaker-221 on the device surface) (Also see Para. 86 & Fig. 9A: another speaker-422).
Kim et al does not explicitly disclose translation of the blade assembly to the peek position causes the first audio output device component and the second audio output device component to axially align.
Liou et al discloses translation of the blade assembly to the peek position causes the first audio output device component and the second audio output device component to axially align (Fig. 1-2: Left and right speaker-20 on a movable blade. When move the blade assembly to extended peek position causes the 1st speaker and 2nd speaker to axially align[Wingdings font/0xE0]parallel position) & (Para. 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the speaker adjusting system with a display device of Liou’s disclosure with the sliding device having speakers, as taught by Kim. Doing so would have resulted in adjusting the speaker system efficiently within a display device to generate better sound projections for the users.
Regarding claim 18, Kim et al discloses wherein translation of the blade assembly to the retracted position causes the first audio output device component and the second audio output device component to axially misalign (Fig. 2 & 5 & 9A: Speaker-221 & Speaker-420 are not aligned when blade assembly to the retracted position & Para. 68 & 86).
Regarding claim 19, Kim et al discloses a third audio output device component mechanically coupled to the blade assembly; and a fourth audio output device component mechanically coupled to the surface (Fig. 9A: Audio output 422 & 420 & Fig. 3: Audio output-221).
Regarding claim 20, Kim et al discloses translation of the blade assembly to the retracted position causes the third audio output device component and the fourth audio output device component to axially align (Fig. 9A: Audio output 422 & 420).
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (Pub No. 2023/0288958), in view of Liou et al (Pub No. 2009/0310334) and further in view of Cho et al (Pub No. 2024/0121539).
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al is silent regarding an audio output device and a coil electrically coupled to the audio output device and responsive to an electrical signal from the audio output device to generate a magnetic field as a function of the electrical signal.
Cho et al discloses an audio output device and a coil electrically coupled to the audio output device and responsive to an electrical signal from the audio output device to generate a magnetic field as a function of the electrical signal (Para. 69: the speaker 310 include a voice coil for providing vibration to the diaphragm 314 and a magnet capable of forming a magnetic field in the speaker 310).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use magnetic coil speaker system in a device to produce higher quality output sound system for the device.
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (Pub No. 2023/0288958) and further in view of Winder et al (Pub No. 2013/0230202).
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al discloses a method in an electronic device, the method comprising translating, with a translation mechanism, a blade assembly that is slidably coupled to a device housing (Para. 81 & 67-68: Roller 251 & bar support 252 guiding the slide-in and slide-out operation with the housing) and moveable between an extended position and a retracted position to the extended position (Para. 67-70: Roller 251 & bar support 252 generate slide in state- a retracted position and slide out state- extended position).
Kim et al is silent regarding axially aligning a first permanent magnet fixedly positioned within the device housing with a second permanent magnet mechanically coupled to the blade assembly.
Widner et al discloses blade with speakers moveable between an extended position and a retracted position to the extended position (Fig. 1-2: speaker bar 100 with retractable members 110. Speakers moveable between an extended position and retracted position) & (Para. 19), thereby axially aligning a first permanent magnet fixedly positioned within the device housing with a second permanent magnet mechanically coupled to the blade assembly (Fig 3 & 5 & 6A: Magnet410-420 axially aligning and magnet mechanically connected the blade assembly of speaker device) & (Para. 19-21 & 27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the speaker extend and retract system of Widner’s disclosure with the speaker sliding system, as taught by Kim. Doing so would have resulted in adjusting the speaker device to produce better sound projections for the users.
Claims 13- 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (Pub No. 2023/0288958), in view of Winder et al (Pub No. 2013/0230202) and further in view of Yu (Pub No. 2023/0239623).
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al is silent regarding energizing a coil coupled to the first permanent magnet with an electrical audio signal, thereby causing displacement between the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet, the displacement delivering acoustic energy to an environment of the electronic device.
Yu discloses energizing a coil coupled to the first permanent magnet with an electrical audio signal (Fig. 1: Magnet-210 & 310 & Fig. 3: Coil-120), thereby causing displacement between the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet (Para. 7 & 27: Diaphragm vibrates to generate electromagnetic force between magnets), the displacement delivering acoustic energy to an environment of the electronic device (Para. 27 & 29: Magnet spaced apart and the micro-speaker 1000 of the present embodiment may include a sound emission outlet 235 that may be formed by removing one side of the upper yoke 230. Of course, as another embodiment, the sound emission outlet 235 may also be formed by removing one side of the lower yoke 330).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use magnetic force to generate acoustic energy to generate better quality sound signals.
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al is silent regarding translating, with the translation mechanism the blade assembly to the retracted position to cause the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet to axially misalign.
Widner et al discloses translating, with the translation mechanism, the blade assembly to the retracted position to cause the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet to axially misalign (Fig. 5 & 3: blade 450 at opening position on fig 3, first magnet and the second magnet-410/ 420 to axially misalign).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use magnetic attached system to configure the device differently.
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al is silent regarding the translating the blade assembly to the retracted position causes a third permanent magnet mechanically coupled to the blade assembly to 3xially align with the first permanent magnet.
Widner et al discloses the translating the blade assembly to the retracted position causes a third permanent magnet mechanically coupled to the blade assembly to axially align with the first permanent magnet (Fig. 5: Multiple magnet-410/ 420/430 to axially align).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use magnetic attached system to configure the device differently.
Regarding claim 16, Kim et al is silent regarding energizing the coil with another electrical audio signal, thereby causing other displacement between the first permanent magnet and the third permanent magnet, the other displacement delivering other acoustic energy to the environment of the electronic device.
Yu discloses energizing the coil with another electrical audio signal, thereby causing other displacement between the first permanent magnet and the third permanent magnet, the other displacement delivering other acoustic energy to the environment of the electronic device (Fig. 1: Magnet-210 & 310 & Fig. 3: Coil-120) & (Para. 7 & 27: Diaphragm vibrates to generate electromagnetic force between magnets & (Para. 27 & 29: Magnet spaced apart and the micro-speaker 1000 of the present embodiment may include a sound emission outlet 235 that may be formed by removing one side of the upper yoke 230. Of course, as another embodiment, the sound emission outlet 235 may also be formed by removing one side of the lower yoke 330).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use magnetic force to generate acoustic energy to generate better quality sound signals.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648