DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
08/08/2025 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The office action is responding to the arguments filed on 01/28/2026. Claims 1
-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanteti et al. (US 20220244869 A1) in view of Bahirat et al. (US 20200167274 A1) and further in view of Tikoo et al. (US 20220075716 A1) and further in view of LEE et al. (US 20230342028 A1) hereinafter Kanteti and Bahirat and Tikoo and LEE.
6. Regarding claim 16, Kanteti teaches A method of operating A storage device which communicates with a host device, the method comprising: allocating a plurality of unit zone regions each having a corresponding unit zone region (UZR) index value; (“File system 124 can build and retain extent maps to manage these extents or block groups. In some embodiments, extent trees are intended to divide up the available storage of the memory device 130 into a number of flexible allocation policies. Each extent tree can own a section of the underlying memory device, and can be assigned to a collection of (or a single) tree roots, directories or index nodes (inodes). The manner in which file system 124 allocates and deallocates storage units (e.g., extents, block groups) can depend on whether the file system is a copy on write file system”) (paragraph [0045], line 10-14) (i.e. Fig 1 illustrates File system 124 can build and retain extent maps to manage these extents or block groups where extent trees are intended to divide up the available storage of the memory device 130 and each extent tree can be assigned to index nodes. In other words blocks are assigned with index in file system)
receiving a request indicating an allocation operation of a first zoned namespace and a second zoned namespace in compliance with a zoned namespace (ZNS) standard; (“Write request component 310 can enable the file system to analyze write requests and make determinations on how the write requests should be processed.”) (paragraph [0060], line 11-12)
(“write request component 310 can include a request identifying module 312, a data type determination module 314, and a zone association module 316”) (paragraph [0060], line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates Write request component 310 can enable the file system to analyze write requests and make determinations on how the write requests should be processed where write request component can include a request identifying module 312, a data type determination module 314, and a zone association module 316. In other words, write requests is handled by zone association module among other components to allocate zones in ZNS standard)
And performing, based on the request, the allocation operation of the first zoned namespace and the second zoned namespace comprising (see Fig 3, paragraph [0064], illustrates write request component 310 along with zone analysis component 320 analyzes write requests based on data associated to determine the zone allocation)
determining a first mapping ratio by dividing the first zone size of the first zoned namespace by the unit zone size based on the request, (see Fig 2, paragraph [0055], illustrates ZNS memory devices 130A-Z can be divided into one or more zones 232A-Z which can be done in different granularity of unit size)
determining a first maximum UZR index value of the first zoned namespace based on the request, wherein the first maximum UZR index value corresponds to a last unit zone region among unit zone regions corresponding to the first zoned namespace from among the plurality of unit zone regions; (“Each file system object can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can store a fragment, segment, or portion of the file system object. Each extent can be represented by a one or more numbers (e.g., number pair) and each of the numbers can be a location, position, address, other numeric value, or a combination thereof. In one example, each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). Representing an extent as a number pair can be more efficient then canonically storing every block number in the range”) (paragraph [0045], line 1-6) (i.e. Each file system 124 in Fig 1 can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). In other words, each extent in the file system can have pair of information one being an index and other being beginning and range of blocks)
determining a second maximum UZR index value of the second zoned namespace based on the request, wherein the second maximum UZR index value corresponds to a last unit zone region among unit zone regions corresponding to the second zoned namespace from among the plurality of unit zone regions; and
storing the first maximum UZR index value and the second maximum UZR index value in a zone metadata table of the storage device. (“Each file system object can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can store a fragment, segment, or portion of the file system object. Each extent can be represented by a one or more numbers (e.g., number pair) and each of the numbers can be a location, position, address, other numeric value, or a combination thereof. In one example, each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). Representing an extent as a number pair can be more efficient then canonically storing every block number in the range”) (paragraph [0045], line 1-6) (i.e. Each file system 124 in Fig 1 can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). In other words, each extent in the file system can have pair of information one being an index and other being beginning and range of blocks. Also, examiner considers it’s same for one or multiple zones)
Kanteti teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti does not explicitly teach wherein the first request includes a first zone size of the first zoned namespace and a second zone size of the second zoned namespace
On the other hand, Bahirat which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches wherein the first request includes a first zone size of the first zoned namespace and a second zone size of the second zoned namespace (see Fig 8 and 9, paragraph [0058], illustrates logic 150 may include requesting information from SSD 130 which may include zone sizes parameters for each application of the processor)
Both Kanteti and Bahirat relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. Also, Kanteti does not teach logic may include requesting information from SSD which may include zone sizes parameters for each application of the processor. On the other hand, Bahirat also teaches zone allocation and management and logic may include requesting information from SSD which may include zone sizes parameters for each application of the processor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti with Bahirat to specify zone allocation and management and logic may include requesting information from SSD which may include zone sizes parameters for each application of the processor improving cost and efficiency as mentioned in paragraph [0036].
Kanteti in view of Bahirat teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat combination does not explicitly teach determining a first mapping ratio by dividing the first zone size of the first zoned namespace by the unit zone size based on the request,
wherein the first mapping ratio indicates the number of unit zone regions mapped to each zone region of a plurality of zone regions of the first zoned namespace;
storing the first mapping ratio in a zone metadata table of the storage device
On the other hand, Tikoo which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches determining a first mapping ratio by dividing the first zone size of the first zoned namespace by the unit zone size based on the request (see Fig 1 and 9, paragraph [0051] and [0059], illustrates after receiving the command or request controller 123 may allocate memory location 112 where mapping table is stored in NVM and where NVM may be divided into fixed or unit size zones)
wherein the first mapping ratio indicates the number of unit zone regions mapped to each zone region of a plurality of zone regions of the first zoned namespace (see Fig 8 and 9, paragraph [0066] and [0068], illustrates controller 802 may map each zone to sub blocks 808 in different blocks or zones or may map two zones to one subblock where zones maybe equal or unit size zones. In other words, unit size zones may map to one subblock or different subblocks)
storing the first mapping ratio in a zone metadata table of the storage device (see Fig 9-11, paragraph [0066] and [0068], illustrates controller may create mapping table similar to metadata that maps one or two zones to one or more sub blocks which may be stored in NVM)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti with Bahirat for the reasons set forth above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat and Tikoo are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti – Bahirat combination teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. On the other hand, Tikoo also teaches zone allocation and management and after receiving the command or request controller 123 may allocate memory location 112 where mapping table is stored in NVM and where NVM may be divided into fixed or unit size zones and controller may map each zone to sub blocks 808 in different blocks or zones or may map two zones to one subblock where zones maybe equal or unit size zones and also controller may create mapping table similar to metadata that maps one or two zones to one or more sub blocks which may be stored in NVM. In other words, unit size zones may map to one subblock or different subblocks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat combination with Tikoo to specify NVM 110 may include a total of z LBAs that are divided into x equal or unit size zones with a range of n-m LBAs and also controller may map each zone to sub blocks 808 in different blocks or zones or may map two zones to one subblock where zones maybe equal or unit size zones improving the consistency of input/output (I/O) command latencies as mentioned in paragraph [0006].
Kanteti in view of Bahirat further in view of Tikoo teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo combination does not explicitly teach receiving a request from the host device, wherein the request comprises a zoned namespace allocation request to perform indicating an allocation operation of a first zoned namespace and a second zoned namespace in compliance with a zoned namespace (ZNS) standard,
On the other hand, LEE which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches receiving a request from the host device, wherein the request comprises a zoned namespace allocation request to perform indicating an allocation operation of a first zoned namespace and a second zoned namespace in compliance with a zoned namespace (ZNS) standard (see Fig 1, paragraph [0004] and [0025], illustrates zone manager 114 at the ZNS storage device 111 creates allocation request allocating storage resources in storage area 117 using Zoned Namespace (ZNS) standard)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti - Bahirat combination with Tikoo for the reasons set forth above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat, Tikoo and LEE are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti – Bahirat - Tikoo combination teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. On the other hand, LEE also teaches zone allocation and management and zone manager 114 at the ZNS storage device 111 creates allocation request allocating storage resources in storage area 117 using Zoned Namespace (ZNS) standard. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo combination with LEE to specify zone allocation and management and zone manager 114 at the ZNS storage device 111 creates allocation request allocating storage resources in storage area 117 using Zoned Namespace (ZNS) standard facilitating improvement of one or more of the storage device's allocation of resources to a zone as mentioned in paragraph [0007].
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO et al. (US 20180039417 A1) hereinafter KANNO.
Regarding claim 1, Kanteti teaches A method of operating A storage device, the method comprising: allocating a plurality of unit zone regions, (“FIG. 4 is a flow chart of a method 400 for file system store allocation based on zones of a memory device”) (paragraph [0048], line 7-8) (i.e. Fig 4 illustrates a method 400 for file system store allocation based on zones of a memory device)
each unit zone region having a unit zone size, wherein each unit zone region of the plurality of unit zone regions is mapped to at least one corresponding memory block among a plurality of memory blocks in the storage device, and wherein each unit zone region of the plurality of unit zone regions supports a sequential write in compliance with a zoned namespace (ZNS) standard; (“The b-tree file system can support changes the default device storage unit size (e.g., extent size) to the size of a zone so that the storage units are aligned with a zone”) (paragraph [0048], line 7-8)
(“File system 124 can divide allocated space into block groups which can be variable-sized allocation regions. The allocation regions can be used to store object metadata (e.g., extent tree node, inodes) and object data (e.g., file content, extents). A block group (BG) can be understood as a contiguous portion a file system object (e.g., a series of LBAs) that is allocated to a contiguous area of a memory device and is reserved for file system data of file system 124”) (paragraph [0044], line 1-4)
(“File system 124 can build and retain extent maps to manage these extents or block groups”) (paragraph [0045], line 10)
(“A zoned namespace (ZNS™) can be a sequential namespace that is defined by the NVM Express' (NVMe™) organization. A memory device that is configured with a zone namespace can be referred to as a zoned namespace memory device or a ZNS memory device and can implement the Zoned Namespace Command Set as defined by NVMe. In a zone namespace, the address space of each of the memory devices 130A-Z can be divided into one or more zones 232A-Z”) (paragraph [0055], line 1-4)
(i.e. Fig 1 illustrates File system 124 can divide allocated space into block groups which can be variable-sized allocation regions supporting storage unit size to the size of a zone so that the storage units are aligned with a zone where zones are mapped to a contiguous area of a memory device 140. Also, A zoned namespace (ZNS™) can be a sequential namespace that is defined by the NVM Express' (NVMe™) organization a and address space of each of the memory devices 130A-Z can be divided into one or more zones 232A-Z)
Kanteti teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti does not explicitly teach wherein the first request includes a first zone size of the first zoned namespace
On the other hand, Bahirat which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches wherein the first request includes a first zone size of the first zoned namespace (see Fig 8 and 9, paragraph [0058], illustrates logic 150 may include requesting information from SSD 130 which may include zone sizes parameters for each application of the processor)
Both Kanteti and Bahirat relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. Also, Kanteti does not teach logic may include requesting information from SSD which may include zone sizes parameters for each application of the processor. On the other hand, Bahirat also teaches zone allocation and management and logic may include requesting information from SSD which may include zone sizes parameters for each application of the processor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti with Bahirat to specify zone allocation and management and logic may include requesting information from SSD which may include zone sizes parameters for each application of the processor improving cost and efficiency as mentioned in paragraph [0036].
Kanteti in view of Bahirat teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat combination does not explicitly teach dividing the first zone size of the first zoned namespace by the unit zone size of the each unit zone region as a first mapping ratio,
wherein the first mapping ratio indicates the number of unit zone regions mapped to each zone region of a plurality of zone regions of the first zoned namespace; and
storing the first mapping ratio in a zone metadata table of the storage device
On the other hand, Tikoo which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches dividing the first zone size of the first zoned namespace by the unit zone size of the each unit zone region as a first mapping ratio (see Fig 1 and 9, paragraph [0051] and [0059], illustrates after receiving the command or request controller 123 may allocate memory location 112 where mapping table is stored in NVM and where NVM may be divided into fixed or unit size zones)
wherein the first mapping ratio indicates the number of unit zone regions mapped to each zone region of a plurality of zone regions of the first zoned namespace; and (see Fig 8 and 9, paragraph [0066] and [0068], illustrates controller 802 may map each zone to sub blocks 808 in different blocks or zones or may map two zones to one subblock where zones maybe equal or unit size zones. In other words, unit size zones may map to one subblock or different subblocks)
storing the first mapping ratio in a zone metadata table of the storage device
(see Fig 9-11, paragraph [0066] and [0068], illustrates controller may create mapping table similar to metadata that maps one or two zones to one or more sub blocks which may be stored in NVM)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti with Bahirat for the reasons set forth above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat and Tikoo are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti – Bahirat combination teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. On the other hand, Tikoo also teaches zone allocation and management and after receiving the command or request controller 123 may allocate memory location 112 where mapping table is stored in NVM and where NVM may be divided into fixed or unit size zones and controller may map each zone to sub blocks 808 in different blocks or zones or may map two zones to one subblock where zones maybe equal or unit size zones and also controller may create mapping table similar to metadata that maps one or two zones to one or more sub blocks which may be stored in NVM. In other words, unit size zones may map to one subblock or different subblocks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat combination with Tikoo to specify NVM 110 may include a total of z LBAs that are divided into x equal or unit size zones with a range of n-m LBAs and also controller may map each zone to sub blocks 808 in different blocks or zones or may map two zones to one subblock where zones maybe equal or unit size zones improving the consistency of input/output (I/O) command latencies as mentioned in paragraph [0006].
Kanteti in view of Bahirat further in view of Tikoo teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo combination does not explicitly teach receiving a first request from a host device, wherein the first request comprises a zoned namespace allocation request to perform an allocation operation of a first zoned namespace in compliance with the ZNS standard,
On the other hand, LEE which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches receiving a first request from a host device, wherein the first request comprises a zoned namespace allocation request to perform an allocation operation of a first zoned namespace in compliance with the ZNS standard (see Fig 1, paragraph [0004] and [0025], illustrates zone manager 114 at the ZNS storage device 111 creates allocation request allocating storage resources in storage area 117 using Zoned Namespace (ZNS) standard)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti - Bahirat combination with Tikoo for the reasons set forth above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat, Tikoo and LEE are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti – Bahirat - Tikoo combination teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. On the other hand, LEE also teaches zone allocation and management and zone manager 114 at the ZNS storage device 111 creates allocation request allocating storage resources in storage area 117 using Zoned Namespace (ZNS) standard. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo combination with LEE to specify zone allocation and management and zone manager 114 at the ZNS storage device 111 creates allocation request allocating storage resources in storage area 117 using Zoned Namespace (ZNS) standard facilitating improvement of one or more of the storage device's allocation of resources to a zone as mentioned in paragraph [0007].
Regarding claim 3, Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management in claim 1. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 1, wherein the unit zone size corresponds to one of: a memory block; a first number of memory blocks in compliance with an operating policy of the storage device; or a second number of memory blocks determined by the host device.
On the other hand, Kanteti which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the unit zone size corresponds to one of: a memory block; a first number of memory blocks in compliance with an operating policy of the storage device; or a second number of memory blocks determined by the host device. (“Characteristic data module 322 can enable the file system to receive and store zone characteristic data. The zone characteristic data can be received by file system 124 of host system 120 from a controller of the memory sub-system. The data received from the controller can be transformed, aggregated, filtered, sorted, organized, enhanced, supplemented, or modified before, during, or after it is stored as zone characteristic data 346 in main memory 223. Zone characteristic data 346 can be received when the host system 120 or memory sub-system 110 is powered on, initialized, communicated with, accessed, modified, or requested”) (paragraph [0065], line 1-6) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates Characteristic data module 322 can enable the file system to receive and store zone characteristic data where characteristic data can be received by file system 124 of host system 120 and it can be transformed, aggregated, filtered, sorted, organized, enhanced, supplemented, or modified before, during, or after it is stored as zone characteristic data 346 in main memory 223. In other words, zone characteristic data similar to unit zone size corresponds to memory 223 and host 120)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE combination with KANNO as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management in claim 1. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of unit zone regions has a corresponding UZR index value, and wherein the method further comprises: determining a first maximum UZR index value of the first zoned namespace based on the first request, wherein the first maximum UZR index value corresponds to a last unit zone region among unit zone regions corresponding to the first zoned namespace from among the plurality of unit zone regions; and
storing the first maximum UZR index value in the zone metadata table of the storage device.
On the other hand, Kanteti which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches The method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of unit zone regions has a corresponding UZR index value, and wherein the method further comprises: determining a first maximum UZR index value of the first zoned namespace based on the first request, wherein the first maximum UZR index value corresponds to a last unit zone region among unit zone regions corresponding to the first zoned namespace from among the plurality of unit zone regions; and
storing the first maximum UZR index value in the zone metadata table of the storage device. (“Each file system object can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can store a fragment, segment, or portion of the file system object. Each extent can be represented by a one or more numbers (e.g., number pair) and each of the numbers can be a location, position, address, other numeric value, or a combination thereof. In one example, each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). Representing an extent as a number pair can be more efficient then canonically storing every block number in the range”) (paragraph [0045], line 1-6) (i.e. Each file system 124 in Fig 1 can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). In other words, each extent in the file system can have pair of information one being an index and other being beginning and range of blocks)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE combination with KANNO as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management in claim 1. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 1, wherein the allocation operation includes an allocation operation of a second zoned namespace in compliance with the ZNS standard, and wherein a last zone region among zone regions of the first zoned namespace is logically sequential to a first zone region among zone regions of the second zoned namespace.
On the other hand, Kanteti which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the allocation operation includes an allocation operation of a second zoned namespace in compliance with the ZNS standard, and wherein a last zone region among zone regions of the first zoned namespace is logically sequential to a first zone region among zone regions of the second zoned namespace. (“A zoned namespace (ZNS™) can be a sequential namespace that is defined by the NVM Express' (NVMe™) organization”) (paragraph [0055], line 1-2)
(“When using a zone namespace, writes are performed sequentially”) (paragraph [0055], line 5) (i.e. zoned namespace (ZNS™) can be a sequential namespace that is defined by the NVM Express and when using a zone namespace, writes are performed sequentially)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE combination with KANNO as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 5.
Regarding claim 18, Kanteti teaches A storage device comprising: a command manager configured to: wherein the first request includes a first zone size of the first zoned namespace; and generate a second request indicating the allocation operation; (“The namespace can include the address space of one or more of the memory devices 130A-Z. A namespace is a quantity of non-volatile memory that can be formatted into blocks (e.g., logical or physical blocks). A controller for memory devices 130A-Z (e.g., controller 115 or 135) can support multiple namespaces that are referenced using namespace identification data”) (paragraph [0054], line 1-3) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates controller for memory devices 130A-Z (like controller 115 in Fig 1) can support multiple namespaces that are referenced using namespace identification data and A namespace is a quantity of non-volatile memory that can be formatted into blocks)
a zone manager configured to allocate a plurality of unit zone regions each having a unit zone size and a corresponding unit zone region (UZR) index value; a zone metadata table; and (“The computing system 100 includes a file system 124 in the host system 120 that is configured with file organization and storage allocation functionality discussed herein throughout the Figures. In some embodiments, the host system 120 includes at least a portion of the file organization and storage allocation functionality”) (paragraph [0036], line 1-3)
(“file system 124 can store the object metadata in an index node (e.g., inode) data structure and the index node data structure can have one or more pointers to the object data”) (paragraph [0042], line 3-4) (i.e. Fig 1 illustrates computing system 100 includes a file system 124 in the host system 120 that is configured with file organization and storage allocation functionality file system 124 can store the object metadata in an index node data structure can have one or more pointers to the object data)
a non-volatile memory device including a plurality of memory blocks corresponding to the plurality of unit zone regions, (“The namespace can include the address space of one or more of the memory devices 130A-Z. A namespace is a quantity of non-volatile memory that can be formatted into blocks”) (paragraph [0054], line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates memory devices 130A-Z can be a quantity of non-volatile memory that can be formatted into blocks)
determine a first maximum UZR index value corresponding to a last unit zone region among unit zone regions corresponding to the first zoned namespace, from among the plurality of unit zone regions, based on the second request; and
store the first maximum UZR index value in the zone metadata table. (“Each file system object can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can store a fragment, segment, or portion of the file system object. Each extent can be represented by a one or more numbers (e.g., number pair) and each of the numbers can be a location, position, address, other numeric value, or a combination thereof. In one example, each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). Representing an extent as a number pair can be more efficient then canonically storing every block number in the range”) (paragraph [0045], line 1-6) (i.e. Each file system 124 in Fig 1 can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). In other words, each extent in the file system can have pair of information one being an index and other being beginning and range of blocks)
Kanteti teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti does not explicitly teach wherein the first request includes a first zone size of the first zoned namespace
On the other hand, Bahirat which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches wherein the first request includes a first zone size of the first zoned namespace (see Fig 8 and 9, paragraph [0058], illustrates logic 150 may include requesting information from SSD 130 which may include zone sizes parameters for each application of the processor)
Both Kanteti and Bahirat relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. Also, Kanteti does not teach logic may include requesting information from SSD which may include zone sizes parameters for each application of the processor. On the other hand, Bahirat also teaches zone allocation and management and logic may include requesting information from SSD which may include zone sizes parameters for each application of the processor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti with Bahirat to specify zone allocation and management and logic may include requesting information from SSD which may include zone sizes parameters for each application of the processor improving cost and efficiency as mentioned in paragraph [0036].
Kanteti in view of Bahirat teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat combination does not explicitly teach wherein the zone manager is further configured to: perform, based on the second request, the allocation operation comprising: dividing the first zone size of the first zoned namespace by the unit zone size of the each unit zone region as a first mapping ratio,
wherein the first mapping ratio indicates the number of unit zone regions mapped to each zone region of a plurality of zone regions of the first zoned namespace; and
storing the first mapping ratio in the zone metadata table
On the other hand, Tikoo which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches wherein the zone manager is further configured to:perform, based on the second request, the allocation operation comprising: dividing the first zone size of the first zoned namespace by the unit zone size of the each unit zone region as a first mapping ratio (see Fig 1 and 9, paragraph [0051] and [0059], illustrates after receiving the command or request controller 123 may allocate memory location 112 where mapping table is stored in NVM and where NVM may be divided into fixed or unit size zones)
wherein the first mapping ratio indicates the number of unit zone regions mapped to each zone region of a plurality of zone regions of the first zoned namespace; and (see Fig 8 and 9, paragraph [0066] and [0068], illustrates controller 802 may map each zone to sub blocks 808 in different blocks or zones or may map two zones to one subblock where zones maybe equal or unit size zones. In other words, unit size zones may map to one subblock or different subblocks)
storing the first mapping ratio in the zone metadata table (see Fig 9-11, paragraph [0066] and [0068], illustrates controller may create mapping table similar to metadata that maps one or two zones to one or more sub blocks which may be stored in NVM)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti with Bahirat for the reasons set forth above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat and Tikoo are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti – Bahirat combination teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. On the other hand, Tikoo also teaches zone allocation and management and after receiving the command or request controller 123 may allocate memory location 112 where mapping table is stored in NVM and where NVM may be divided into fixed or unit size zones and controller may map each zone to sub blocks 808 in different blocks or zones or may map two zones to one subblock where zones maybe equal or unit size zones and also controller may create mapping table similar to metadata that maps one or two zones to one or more sub blocks which may be stored in NVM. In other words, unit size zones may map to one subblock or different subblocks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat combination with Tikoo to specify NVM 110 may include a total of z LBAs that are divided into x equal or unit size zones with a range of n-m LBAs and also controller may map each zone to sub blocks 808 in different blocks or zones or may map two zones to one subblock where zones maybe equal or unit size zones improving the consistency of input/output (I/O) command latencies as mentioned in paragraph [0006].
Kanteti in view of Bahirat further in view of Tikoo teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo combination does not explicitly teach receive a first request from a host device wherein the first request comprises a zoned namespace allocation request to perform an allocation operation of a first zoned namespace in compliance with a zoned namespace (ZNS) standard,
On the other hand, LEE which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches receive a first request from a host device wherein the first request comprises a zoned namespace allocation request to perform an allocation operation of a first zoned namespace in compliance with a zoned namespace (ZNS) standard, (see Fig 1, paragraph [0004] and [0025], illustrates zone manager 114 at the ZNS storage device 111 creates allocation request allocating storage resources in storage area 117 using Zoned Namespace (ZNS) standard)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti - Bahirat combination with Tikoo for the reasons set forth above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat, Tikoo and LEE are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti – Bahirat - Tikoo combination teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. On the other hand, LEE also teaches zone allocation and management and zone manager 114 at the ZNS storage device 111 creates allocation request allocating storage resources in storage area 117 using Zoned Namespace (ZNS) standard. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo combination with LEE to specify zone allocation and management and zone manager 114 at the ZNS storage device 111 creates allocation request allocating storage resources in storage area 117 using Zoned Namespace (ZNS) standard facilitating improvement of one or more of the storage device's allocation of resources to a zone as mentioned in paragraph [0007].
Claim(s) 2, 6-10,12-13,15,17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO and further in view of JEON et al. (US 20210263682 A1) hereinafter JEON.
Regarding claim 2, Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the zone metadata table includes: a namespace size table configured to store a first maximum unit zone region (UZR) index value corresponding to a last unit zone region among unit zone regions corresponding to the first zoned namespace from among the plurality of unit zone regions; (“Each of zones 232A-Z can correspond to a write pointer (WP) that identifies a location in the zone where a prior sequential write ended. The write pointer 233 can correspond to zone 232A and can point to a beginning of a block (e.g., first available block), an end of a block (e.g., last block written to), a location within a block, or other location”) (paragraph [0056], line 1-3)
(“write pointer 233 can be stored as metadata of a file system object”) (paragraph [0056], line 9) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates write pointer 233 can be stored as metadata of a file system object where write pointer can correspond to zone 232A and can point to a beginning and end of block information)
a zone size table configured to store the first mapping ratio; and (“zone characteristic data 346 can include data that includes or indicates characteristics related to storage quantities (e.g., quantity occupied, quantity available, size, capacity)”) (paragraph [0064], line 6-7) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates zone characteristic data 346 can include data that includes or indicates characteristics related to storage quantities which includes quantity occupied, quantity available, size, capacity. In other words, examiner considers these characteristics information includes same information as zone mapping information)
a zone state table configured to store a state and a write pointer of each of the plurality of unit zone regions. (“Each of zones 232A-Z can correspond to a write pointer (WP) that identifies a location in the zone”) (paragraph [0056], line 1) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates Each of zones 232A-Z can correspond to a write pointer (WP) that identifies a location in the zone in plurality of zones)
Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination does not explicitly teach the first mapping ratio
On the other hand, JEON which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches the first mapping ratio
(“the zone management circuitry 310 may set a compression ratio for the first zone (Zone 1), storing hot data, to 100% (i.e., compression is not performed), set a compression ratio of the second zone (Zone 2), storing normal data, to 75%, and set a compression ratio of the third zone (Zone 3), storing cold data, to 50%, but the example embodiments are not limited thereto and any compression ratio may be set for each of the zones”) (paragraph [0036], line 6-11)
(“a method of setting a compression method/decompression method may set various algorithms, such as a compression manner and/or compression algorithm, an encryption manner and/or algorithm, or a data compression unit (e.g., unit size of compression)”) (paragraph [0036], line 13-15) (i.e. Fig 2 and 3 illustrate zone management circuitry 310 may set a zone compression ratio for different zones for zone allocation and compression method may set various algorithms such as unit size of compression)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE combination with KANNO for the reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat, Tikoo, LEE, KANNO and JEON are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination teaches zone allocation and management. On the other hand, JEON also teaches zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE – KANNO combination with JEON to specify zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size providing a method for compression and storing data in zones as mentioned in paragraph [0007].
Regarding claim 6, Kanteti teaches The method of claim 5, wherein each of the plurality of unit zone regions has a corresponding UZR index value, and (“The b-tree file system can support changes the default device storage unit size (e.g., extent size) to the size of a zone so that the storage units are aligned with a zone. The allocation of blocks within a block group can involve allocating sequential blocks from the beginning of the block group and an allocation pointer can be added to block groups as an allocation hint”) (paragraph [0048], line 7-9) (i.e. b-tree file system can support storage unit size to the size of a zone so that the storage units are aligned with a zone where an allocation pointer can be added to block groups as an allocation hint. In other words, pointer can work as index for the unit size of the zone)
wherein the method further comprises: by dividing a second zone size of the second zoned namespace by the unit zone size, based on the first request; (“Space determination module 324 can determine whether the available storage space in a zone is sufficient or insufficient for a storage unit (e.g., 4 KB, 1 MB, 1 GB chunk)”) (paragraph [0066], line 1-3)
(“space determination module can communicate a size (e.g., storage unit size, block group size) with the memory sub-system 110 and receive a response indicating whether the zone has sufficient storage space”) (paragraph [0067], line 9-11)
(“Zone selection module 326 can select different zones based on the different types of data and a first set of zones (e.g., one or more zones) can be selected for the first portion and a second set of zones (e.g., one or more zones) can be selected for the second portion”) (paragraph [0069], line 8-10) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates Space determination module 324 can determine whether the available storage space in a zone is sufficient or insufficient for a storage unit and can communicate a size (e.g., storage unit size, block group size) with the memory sub-system 110. In other words, determining unit size compared to total storage size to make sure available storage space in a zone. Also, Zone selection module 326 can select different zones based on the different types of data where a first set of zones can be selected for the first portion and a second set of zones can be selected for the second portion)
storing in the zone metadata table of the storage device; (“write requests 342 can include file system data that has different types of data. A first portion of the file system data can have a first data type (e.g., file data) and a second portion of the file system data can have a different data type (e.g., file metadata)”) (paragraph [0067], line 9-11)
(“The allocation regions can be used to store object metadata”) (paragraph [0044], line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates write requests 342 can include file system data that has different types of data where A first portion of the file system data can have file data and a second portion of the file system data can have a metadata to be stored in allocation regions)
determining a second maximum UZR index value of the second zoned namespace based on the first request, wherein the second maximum UZR index value corresponds to a last unit zone region among unit zone regions corresponding to the second zoned namespace from among the plurality of unit zone regions; and
storing the second maximum UZR index value in the zone metadata table of the storage device. (“Each file system object can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can store a fragment, segment, or portion of the file system object. Each extent can be represented by a one or more numbers (e.g., number pair) and each of the numbers can be a location, position, address, other numeric value, or a combination thereof. In one example, each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). Representing an extent as a number pair can be more efficient then canonically storing every block number in the range”) (paragraph [0045], line 1-6) (i.e. Each file system 124 in Fig 1 can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). In other words, each extent in the file system can have pair of information one being an index and other being beginning and range of blocks. Also, examiner considers it’s same for one or multiple zones)
Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination does not explicitly teach a second mapping ratio
the second mapping ratio
On the other hand, JEON which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches
a second mapping ratio
the second mapping ratio
(“the zone management circuitry 310 may set a compression ratio for the first zone (Zone 1), storing hot data, to 100% (i.e., compression is not performed), set a compression ratio of the second zone (Zone 2), storing normal data, to 75%, and set a compression ratio of the third zone (Zone 3), storing cold data, to 50%, but the example embodiments are not limited thereto and any compression ratio may be set for each of the zones”) (paragraph [0036], line 6-11)
(“a method of setting a compression method/decompression method may set various algorithms, such as a compression manner and/or compression algorithm, an encryption manner and/or algorithm, or a data compression unit (e.g., unit size of compression)”) (paragraph [0036], line 13-15) (i.e. Fig 2 and 3 illustrate zone management circuitry 310 may set a zone compression ratio for different zones for zone allocation and compression method may set various algorithms such as unit size of compression)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE combination with KANNO for the reasons set forth in claim 5 above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat, Tikoo LEE, KANNO and JEON are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. On the other hand, JEON also teaches zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination with JEON to specify zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size providing a method for compression and storing data in zones as mentioned in paragraph [0007].
Regarding claim 7, Kanteti teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: after storing the first mapping ratio, receiving a second request indicating a first user operation of the first zoned namespace from the host device, wherein the first user operation indicates a state transition operation, a read operation, a write operation, or a metadata read operation of the first zoned namespace; and
performing the first user operation, based on the second request. (“At operation 535, the processing logic determines whether there is an available zone that has sufficient storage space. If there is not, at operation 550, the processing logic performs legacy storage unit allocation (e.g., traditional block group allocation), to include garbage collection, block fragmentation, random writes, and the like”) (paragraph [0092], line 3-6)
(“At operation 535, the processing logic determines there is a second zone that is available for new allocations. At operation 560, the processing logic allocates the second storage unit to the second zone. At operation 565, the processing logic assigns a file system object identifier (e.g., stream ID) that is associated with the second zone to the second storage unit”) (paragraph [0095], line 5-8) (i.e. Fig 5 illustrates in step 535 the processing logic determines whether there is an available zone that has sufficient storage space and if not at operation 550, the processing logic performs legacy storage unit allocation (e.g., traditional block group allocation), to include garbage collection, block fragmentation, random writes, and the like. Also in operation 565, the processing logic assigns a file system object identifier (e.g., stream ID) that is associated with the second zone to the second storage unit. In other words, the processing logic determines the allocation transitions based on availability and assigns a file system object identifier to show state transition)
Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination does not explicitly teach the first mapping ratio
On the other hand, JEON which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches
(“the zone management circuitry 310 may set a compression ratio for the first zone (Zone 1), storing hot data, to 100% (i.e., compression is not performed), set a compression ratio of the second zone (Zone 2), storing normal data, to 75%, and set a compression ratio of the third zone (Zone 3), storing cold data, to 50%, but the example embodiments are not limited thereto and any compression ratio may be set for each of the zones”) (paragraph [0036], line 6-11)
(“a method of setting a compression method/decompression method may set various algorithms, such as a compression manner and/or compression algorithm, an encryption manner and/or algorithm, or a data compression unit (e.g., unit size of compression)”) (paragraph [0036], line 13-15) (i.e. Fig 2 and 3 illustrate zone management circuitry 310 may set a zone compression ratio for different zones for zone allocation and compression method may set various algorithms such as unit size of compression)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE combination with KANNO for the reasons set forth in claim 5 above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat, Tikoo LEE, KANNO and JEON are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. On the other hand, JEON also teaches zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination with JEON to specify zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size providing a method for compression and storing data in zones as mentioned in paragraph [0007].
Regarding claim 8, Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management in claim 7. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO - JEON combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 7, wherein the first user operation indicates the state transition operation or the write operation of a target zone region among zone regions of the first zoned namespace,
wherein the performing of the first user operation based on the second request includes: updating the zone metadata table such that a write pointer or a state of each of unit zone regions corresponding to the target zone region is changed, and
wherein the state complies with the ZNS standard.
On the other hand, Kanteti which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches The method of claim 7, wherein the first user operation indicates the state transition operation or the write operation of a target zone region among zone regions of the first zoned namespace, (“When using a zone namespace, writes are performed sequentially starting from the beginning of a zone and can be performed at a larger granularity (e.g., 64 kilobytes) and the zone can be inaccessible for the duration of the write operation”) (paragraph [0055], line 5-6) (i.e. using a zone namespace writes are performed sequentially starting from the beginning of a zone and zone can be inaccessible for the duration of the write operation. In other words, write operation is performed in a target zone and during operation zone is inaccessible)
wherein the performing of the first user operation based on the second request includes: updating the zone metadata table such that a write pointer or a state of each of unit zone regions corresponding to the target zone region is changed, and
wherein the state complies with the ZNS standard. (“file system data 224 discussed above and can include or be associated with one or more attributes (e.g., linked with metadata). The attributes can be updated as the write request is processed and can include attributes based on time (e.g., incoming time stamps), size (e.g., write sizes), state (e.g., received, processing, applied), data type (e.g., type of data to be stored), zone (e.g., zone associated with the data), other attribute, or a combination thereof”) (paragraph [0060], line 8-11)
(“the memory sub-system can be a Solid State Drive (SSD) and the zones can be zones that comply with Zoned Namespaces (ZNS)”) (paragraph [0081], line 8-9) (i.e. file system data 224 can include one or more attributes where attributes can be updated as the write request is processed and can include attributes based on time, size, state, data type, zone and other attribute or a combination thereof and also memory sub-system can be a Solid State Drive (SSD) and the zones can be zones that comply with Zoned Namespaces (ZNS))
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination with JEON as set forth in claim 7 is equally applicable to claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management in claim 7. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO - JEON combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 7, wherein the first user operation indicates the metadata read operation of a target zone region among zone regions of the first zoned namespace, and wherein the performing of the first user operation based on the second request includes: obtaining first metadata of unit zone regions corresponding to the target zone region from among the plurality of unit zone regions from the zone metadata table;
determining second metadata of the target zone region, based on the first metadata; and providing the second metadata to the host device.
On the other hand, Kanteti which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches The method of claim 7, wherein the first user operation indicates the metadata read operation of a target zone region among zone regions of the first zoned namespace, and wherein the performing of the first user operation based on the second request includes: obtaining first metadata of unit zone regions corresponding to the target zone region from among the plurality of unit zone regions from the zone metadata table;
determining second metadata of the target zone region, based on the first metadata; and providing the second metadata to the host device. (“at operation 540, the processing logic accesses, within the storage unit metadata, a write pointer associated with the zone associated with the file system unit. Further, at operation 545, the processing logic allocates, within the zone, a contiguous range of physical addresses”) (paragraph [0090], line 2-5)
(“An indirect association can add identification data of the file system object to the metadata of storage unit, zone, or a combination thereof”) (paragraph [0091], line 3-4)
(“the method 500 is performed by the host system 120 (e.g., via execution of file system 124) of FIGS. 1-2”) (paragraph [0087], line 7-8)
(i.e. Fig 5 illustrates method 500 which is performed by host 120 where at operation 540 the processing logic accesses within the storage unit metadata, write pointer associated with the zone and then an indirect association can add identification data of the file system object to the metadata of storage unit. In other words host file system 124 can access metadata and add or update identification data of the file system)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination with JEON as set forth in claim 7 is equally applicable to claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management in claim 9. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO - JEON combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 9, wherein the first metadata includes first write pointers respectively corresponding to the unit zone regions corresponding to the target zone region, wherein the second metadata includes a second write pointer of the target zone region, and
wherein the determining of the second metadata of the target zone region based on the first metadata includes: determining that the second write pointer of the target zone region is a sum of the first write pointers of the unit zone regions corresponding to the target zone region.
On the other hand, Kanteti which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches The method of claim 9, wherein the first metadata includes first write pointers respectively corresponding to the unit zone regions corresponding to the target zone region, wherein the second metadata includes a second write pointer of the target zone region, and (“write pointer 233 can be stored as metadata of a file system object (e.g., metadata of a file system block group) and be used for sequential writes”) (paragraph [0056], line 9-10) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates write pointer 233 can be stored as metadata of a file system object. In other words,)
wherein the determining of the second metadata of the target zone region based on the first metadata includes: determining that the second write pointer of the target zone region is a sum of the first write pointers of the unit zone regions corresponding to the target zone region. (“space determination module 324 can determine whether there is sufficient space in a zone based on a write pointer of the zone and can compare a location of the write pointer to an end location of the zone”) (paragraph [0067], line 2-4) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates space determination module 324 can determine whether there is sufficient space in a zone based on a write pointer of the zone and can compare a location of the write pointer to an end location of the zone. In other words, space determination module can essentially calculate from write pointer to an end location to find next write pointer to determine sufficient space)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination with JEON as set forth in claim 7 is equally applicable to claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Kanteti teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: after storing, receiving a third request indicating a reallocation operation of the first zoned namespace in compliance with the ZNS standard from the host device; (“the file system uses zones for file/data structure management and storage allocation within memory devices of ZNS-managed memory devices”) (paragraph [0017], line 5-6) (i.e. file system 124 (Fig 1) uses zones for file/data structure management and storage allocation within memory devices of ZNS-managed or standard memory devices)
determining by dividing a third zone size of the first zoned namespace by the unit zone size, based on the third request; and
updating the third mapping ratio in the zone metadata table of the storage device. (“Each file system object can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can store a fragment, segment, or portion of the file system object. Each extent can be represented by a one or more numbers (e.g., number pair) and each of the numbers can be a location, position, address, other numeric value, or a combination thereof. In one example, each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). Representing an extent as a number pair can be more efficient then canonically storing every block number in the range”) (paragraph [0045], line 1-6) (i.e. Each file system 124 in Fig 1 can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). In other words, each extent in the file system can have pair of information one being an index and other being beginning and range of blocks. Also, examiner considers it’s same for one or multiple zones)
Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination does not explicitly teach the first mapping ratio
a third mapping ratio
On the other hand, JEON which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches
(“the zone management circuitry 310 may set a compression ratio for the first zone (Zone 1), storing hot data, to 100% (i.e., compression is not performed), set a compression ratio of the second zone (Zone 2), storing normal data, to 75%, and set a compression ratio of the third zone (Zone 3), storing cold data, to 50%, but the example embodiments are not limited thereto and any compression ratio may be set for each of the zones”) (paragraph [0036], line 6-11)
(“a method of setting a compression method/decompression method may set various algorithms, such as a compression manner and/or compression algorithm, an encryption manner and/or algorithm, or a data compression unit (e.g., unit size of compression)”) (paragraph [0036], line 13-15) (i.e. Fig 2 and 3 illustrate zone management circuitry 310 may set a zone compression ratio for different zones for zone allocation and compression method may set various algorithms such as unit size of compression)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE combination with KANNO for the reasons set forth in claim 5 above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat, Tikoo, LEE, KANNO and JEON are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. On the other hand, JEON also teaches zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination with JEON to specify zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size providing a method for compression and storing data in zones as mentioned in paragraph [0007].
Regarding claim 13, Kanteti teaches The method of claim 12, wherein the updating of the third mapping ratio in the zone metadata table of the storage device includes: searching the zone metadata table for the first mapping ratio by using a ZNS index value corresponding to the first zoned namespace; (“The B-tree can be a self-balancing tree data structure that maintains sorted data and allows searches, sequential access, insertions, and deletions in logarithmic time. The B-tree can be similar to a binary search tree (e.g., binary tree) and can enable nodes with more than two children. The b-tree file system can involve block management that can group blocks into block groups and each block group (e.g., storage unit 226) can be composed of one or more device extents”) (paragraph [0048], line 2-5) (i.e. B-tree file system (Fig 1) which contains metadata can be similar to a binary search tree which can involve block management that can group blocks into block groups and each block group)
determining whether the third mapping ratio coincides with the first mapping ratio; and in response to determining that the third mapping ratio does not coincide with the first mapping ratio, updating the zone metadata table such that the first mapping ratio is changed to the third mapping ratio. (“Zone selection module 326 can access data of one of the other modules and can select one or more zones based on the previously associated zones (or lack thereof), data type matching, sufficiency of storage space, data striping, other aspect, or a combination thereof. Zone selection module 326 can select the same zones that are associated with the file system data 224 as discussed above in regards to the zone association module 316 or can select different zones”) (paragraph [0068], line 2-5) (i.e. Zone selection module 326 in Fig 3 can select the same zones that are associated with the file system data 224 or can select different zones based on the previously associated zones (or lack thereof), data type matching, sufficiency of storage space, data striping, other aspect, or a combination thereof. In other words, based on searching or matching, Zone selection module can select same or different zone)
Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination does not explicitly teach the first mapping ratio
a third mapping ratio
On the other hand, JEON which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches
(“the zone management circuitry 310 may set a compression ratio for the first zone (Zone 1), storing hot data, to 100% (i.e., compression is not performed), set a compression ratio of the second zone (Zone 2), storing normal data, to 75%, and set a compression ratio of the third zone (Zone 3), storing cold data, to 50%, but the example embodiments are not limited thereto and any compression ratio may be set for each of the zones”) (paragraph [0036], line 6-11)
(“a method of setting a compression method/decompression method may set various algorithms, such as a compression manner and/or compression algorithm, an encryption manner and/or algorithm, or a data compression unit (e.g., unit size of compression)”) (paragraph [0036], line 13-15) (i.e. Fig 2 and 3 illustrate zone management circuitry 310 may set a zone compression ratio for different zones for zone allocation and compression method may set various algorithms such as unit size of compression)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination with JEON as set forth in claim 12 is equally applicable to claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, Kanteti teaches The method of claim 12, further comprising: after updating the third mapping ratio, receiving a fourth request indicating a second user operation of the first zoned namespace from the host device, wherein the second user operation indicates a state transition operation, a read operation, a write operation, or a metadata read operation of the first zoned namespace; and
performing the second user operation, based on the fourth request. (“At operation 535, the processing logic determines whether there is an available zone that has sufficient storage space. If there is not, at operation 550, the processing logic performs legacy storage unit allocation (e.g., traditional block group allocation), to include garbage collection, block fragmentation, random writes, and the like”) (paragraph [0092], line 3-6)
(“At operation 535, the processing logic determines there is a second zone that is available for new allocations. At operation 560, the processing logic allocates the second storage unit to the second zone. At operation 565, the processing logic assigns a file system object identifier (e.g., stream ID) that is associated with the second zone to the second storage unit”) (paragraph [0095], line 5-8) (i.e. Fig 5 illustrates in step 535 the processing logic determines whether there is an available zone that has sufficient storage space and if not at operation 550, the processing logic performs legacy storage unit allocation (e.g., traditional block group allocation), to include garbage collection, block fragmentation, random writes, and the like. Also in operation 565, the processing logic assigns a file system object identifier (e.g., stream ID) that is associated with the second zone to the second storage unit. In other words, the processing logic determines the allocation transitions based on availability and assigns a file system object identifier to show state transition and examiner considers multiple requests doing same operation)
Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination does not explicitly teach a third mapping ratio
On the other hand, JEON which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches
(“the zone management circuitry 310 may set a compression ratio for the first zone (Zone 1), storing hot data, to 100% (i.e., compression is not performed), set a compression ratio of the second zone (Zone 2), storing normal data, to 75%, and set a compression ratio of the third zone (Zone 3), storing cold data, to 50%, but the example embodiments are not limited thereto and any compression ratio may be set for each of the zones”) (paragraph [0036], line 6-11)
(“a method of setting a compression method/decompression method may set various algorithms, such as a compression manner and/or compression algorithm, an encryption manner and/or algorithm, or a data compression unit (e.g., unit size of compression)”) (paragraph [0036], line 13-15) (i.e. Fig 2 and 3 illustrate zone management circuitry 310 may set a zone compression ratio for different zones for zone allocation and compression method may set various algorithms such as unit size of compression)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination with JEON as set forth in claim 12 is equally applicable to claim 15.
Regarding claim 19, Kanteti teaches The storage device of claim 18, wherein the allocation operation includes an allocation operation of a second zoned namespace in compliance with the ZNS standard, and wherein the zone manager is further configured to: determine a second mapping ratio by dividing a second zone size of the second zoned namespace by the unit zone size, based on the second request; (“Space determination module 324 can determine whether the available storage space in a zone is sufficient or insufficient for a storage unit (e.g., 4 KB, 1 MB, 1 GB chunk)”) (paragraph [0066], line 1-3)
(“space determination module can communicate a size (e.g., storage unit size, block group size) with the memory sub-system 110 and receive a response indicating whether the zone has sufficient storage space”) (paragraph [0067], line 9-11)
(“Zone selection module 326 can select different zones based on the different types of data and a first set of zones (e.g., one or more zones) can be selected for the first portion and a second set of zones (e.g., one or more zones) can be selected for the second portion”) (paragraph [0069], line 8-10) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates Space determination module 324 can determine whether the available storage space in a zone is sufficient or insufficient for a storage unit and can communicate a size (e.g., storage unit size, block group size) with the memory sub-system 110. In other words, determining unit size compared to total storage size to make sure available storage space in a zone. Also, Zone selection module 326 can select different zones based on the different types of data where a first set of zones can be selected for the first portion and a second set of zones can be selected for the second portion)
store the second mapping ratio in the zone metadata table; (“write requests 342 can include file system data that has different types of data. A first portion of the file system data can have a first data type (e.g., file data) and a second portion of the file system data can have a different data type (e.g., file metadata)”) (paragraph [0067], line 9-11)
(“The allocation regions can be used to store object metadata”) (paragraph [0044], line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates write requests 342 can include file system data that has different types of data where A first portion of the file system data can have file data and a second portion of the file system data can have a metadata to be stored in allocation regions)
determine a second maximum UZR index value corresponding to a last unit zone region among unit zone regions corresponding to the second zoned namespace, from among the plurality of unit zone regions, based on the second request; and
store the second maximum UZR index value in the zone metadata table. (“Each file system object can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can store a fragment, segment, or portion of the file system object. Each extent can be represented by a one or more numbers (e.g., number pair) and each of the numbers can be a location, position, address, other numeric value, or a combination thereof. In one example, each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). Representing an extent as a number pair can be more efficient then canonically storing every block number in the range”) (paragraph [0045], line 1-6) (i.e. Each file system 124 in Fig 1 can consist of zero or more extents and each extent can be represented by a pair of numbers that represent a range (e.g., beginning and end of a range of blocks). In other words, each extent in the file system can have pair of information one being an index and other being beginning and range of blocks. Also, examiner considers it’s same for one or multiple zones)
Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination does not explicitly teach a second mapping ratio
On the other hand, JEON which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches
(“the zone management circuitry 310 may set a compression ratio for the first zone (Zone 1), storing hot data, to 100% (i.e., compression is not performed), set a compression ratio of the second zone (Zone 2), storing normal data, to 75%, and set a compression ratio of the third zone (Zone 3), storing cold data, to 50%, but the example embodiments are not limited thereto and any compression ratio may be set for each of the zones”) (paragraph [0036], line 6-11)
(“a method of setting a compression method/decompression method may set various algorithms, such as a compression manner and/or compression algorithm, an encryption manner and/or algorithm, or a data compression unit (e.g., unit size of compression)”) (paragraph [0036], line 13-15) (i.e. Fig 2 and 3 illustrate zone management circuitry 310 may set a zone compression ratio for different zones for zone allocation and compression method may set various algorithms such as unit size of compression)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE combination with KANNO for the reasons set forth in claim 18 above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat, Tikoo, LEE, KANNO and JEON are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. On the other hand, JEON also teaches zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination with JEON to specify zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size providing a method for compression and storing data in zones as mentioned in paragraph [0007].
Regarding claim 20, Kanteti teaches The storage device of claim 18, wherein the zone metadata table includes: a namespace size table configured to store the first maximum UZR index value; (“Each of zones 232A-Z can correspond to a write pointer (WP) that identifies a location in the zone where a prior sequential write ended. The write pointer 233 can correspond to zone 232A and can point to a beginning of a block (e.g., first available block), an end of a block (e.g., last block written to), a location within a block, or other location”) (paragraph [0056], line 1-3)
(“write pointer 233 can be stored as metadata of a file system object”) (paragraph [0056], line 9) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates write pointer 233 can be stored as metadata of a file system object where write pointer can correspond to zone 232A and can point to a beginning and end of block information)
a zone size table configured to store the first mapping ratio; and (“zone characteristic data 346 can include data that includes or indicates characteristics related to storage quantities (e.g., quantity occupied, quantity available, size, capacity)”) (paragraph [0064], line 6-7) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates zone characteristic data 346 can include data that includes or indicates characteristics related to storage quantities which includes quantity occupied, quantity available, size, capacity. In other words, examiner considers these characteristics information includes same information as zone mapping information)
a zone state table configured to store a state and a write pointer of each of the plurality of unit zone regions. (“Each of zones 232A-Z can correspond to a write pointer (WP) that identifies a location in the zone”) (paragraph [0056], line 1) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates Each of zones 232A-Z can correspond to a write pointer (WP) that identifies a location in the zone in plurality of zones)
Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination does not explicitly teach a first mapping ratio
On the other hand, JEON which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches
(“the zone management circuitry 310 may set a compression ratio for the first zone (Zone 1), storing hot data, to 100% (i.e., compression is not performed), set a compression ratio of the second zone (Zone 2), storing normal data, to 75%, and set a compression ratio of the third zone (Zone 3), storing cold data, to 50%, but the example embodiments are not limited thereto and any compression ratio may be set for each of the zones”) (paragraph [0036], line 6-11)
(“a method of setting a compression method/decompression method may set various algorithms, such as a compression manner and/or compression algorithm, an encryption manner and/or algorithm, or a data compression unit (e.g., unit size of compression)”) (paragraph [0036], line 13-15) (i.e. Fig 2 and 3 illustrate zone management circuitry 310 may set a zone compression ratio for different zones for zone allocation and compression method may set various algorithms such as unit size of compression)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE combination with KANNO for the reasons set forth in claim 18 above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat, Tikoo, LEE, KANNO and JEON are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. On the other hand, JEON also teaches zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination with JEON to specify zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size providing a method for compression and storing data in zones as mentioned in paragraph [0007].
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of JEON
Regarding claim 17, Kanteti teaches The method of claim 16, wherein each of zone regions of the first zoned namespace has a first zone size,
wherein each of zone regions of the second zoned namespace has a second zone size, and wherein the method further comprises: (“Space determination module 324 can determine whether the available storage space in a zone is sufficient or insufficient for a storage unit (e.g., 4 KB, 1 MB, 1 GB chunk)”) (paragraph [0066], line 1-3)
(“space determination module can communicate a size (e.g., storage unit size, block group size) with the memory sub-system 110 and receive a response indicating whether the zone has sufficient storage space”) (paragraph [0067], line 9-11) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates Space determination module 324 can determine whether the available storage space in a zone is sufficient or insufficient for a storage unit and can communicate a size (e.g., storage unit size, block group size) with the memory sub-system 110. In other words, determining unit size compared to total storage size to make sure available storage space in a zone)
storing the first mapping ratio in the zone metadata table of the storage device; (“write requests 342 can include file system data that has different types of data. A first portion of the file system data can have a first data type (e.g., file data) and a second portion of the file system data can have a different data type (e.g., file metadata)”) (paragraph [0067], line 9-11)
(“The allocation regions can be used to store object metadata”) (paragraph [0044], line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates write requests 342 can include file system data that has different types of data where A first portion of the file system data can have file data and a second portion of the file system data can have a metadata to be stored in allocation regions)
determining by dividing the second zone size of the second zoned namespace by the unit zone size, based on the request; and (“Space determination module 324 can determine whether the available storage space in a zone is sufficient or insufficient for a storage unit (e.g., 4 KB, 1 MB, 1 GB chunk)”) (paragraph [0066], line 1-3)
(“space determination module can communicate a size (e.g., storage unit size, block group size) with the memory sub-system 110 and receive a response indicating whether the zone has sufficient storage space”) (paragraph [0067], line 9-11)
(“Zone selection module 326 can select different zones based on the different types of data and a first set of zones (e.g., one or more zones) can be selected for the first portion and a second set of zones (e.g., one or more zones) can be selected for the second portion”) (paragraph [0069], line 8-10) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates Space determination module 324 can determine whether the available storage space in a zone is sufficient or insufficient for a storage unit and can communicate a size (e.g., storage unit size, block group size) with the memory sub-system 110. In other words, determining unit size compared to total storage size to make sure available storage space in a zone. Also, Zone selection module 326 can select different zones based on the different types of data where a first set of zones can be selected for the first portion and a second set of zones can be selected for the second portion)
storing the second mapping ratio in the zone metadata table of the storage device. (“write requests 342 can include file system data that has different types of data. A first portion of the file system data can have a first data type (e.g., file data) and a second portion of the file system data can have a different data type (e.g., file metadata)”) (paragraph [0067], line 9-11)
(“The allocation regions can be used to store object metadata”) (paragraph [0044], line 1-2) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates write requests 342 can include file system data that has different types of data where A first portion of the file system data can have file data and a second portion of the file system data can have a metadata to be stored in allocation regions)
Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE teaches zone allocation and management. However, Kanteti - Bahirat – Tikoo - LEE combination does not explicitly teach a first mapping ratio
a second mapping ratio
On the other hand, JEON which also relates to zone allocation and management teaches
a first mapping ratio
a second mapping ratio
(“the zone management circuitry 310 may set a compression ratio for the first zone (Zone 1), storing hot data, to 100% (i.e., compression is not performed), set a compression ratio of the second zone (Zone 2), storing normal data, to 75%, and set a compression ratio of the third zone (Zone 3), storing cold data, to 50%, but the example embodiments are not limited thereto and any compression ratio may be set for each of the zones”) (paragraph [0036], line 6-11)
(“a method of setting a compression method/decompression method may set various algorithms, such as a compression manner and/or compression algorithm, an encryption manner and/or algorithm, or a data compression unit (e.g., unit size of compression)”) (paragraph [0036], line 13-15) (i.e. Fig 2 and 3 illustrate zone management circuitry 310 may set a zone compression ratio for different zones for zone allocation and compression method may set various algorithms such as unit size of compression)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE combination with KANNO for the reasons set forth in claim 18 above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat, Tikoo, LEE and JEON are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE combination teaches zone allocation and management using zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard. On the other hand, JEON also teaches zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE combination with JEON to specify zone allocation and management and zone allocation using zone ratio algorithm by unit size providing a method for compression and storing data in zones as mentioned in paragraph [0007].
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO and further in view of JEON and further in view of JIN et al. (US 20210318820 A1) hereinafter JIN.
Regarding claim 11, Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO and further in view of JEON teaches The method of claim 9, wherein the first metadata includes first states respectively corresponding to the unit zone regions corresponding to the target zone region, the first states complying with the ZNS standard, wherein the second metadata includes a second state of the target zone region, the second states complying with the ZNS standard, and (“A zoned namespace (ZNS™) can be a sequential namespace that is defined by the NVM Express' (NVMe™) organization. A memory device that is configured with a zone namespace can be referred to as a zoned namespace memory device or a ZNS memory device and can implement the Zoned Namespace Command Set as defined by NVMe. In a zone namespace, the address space of each of the memory devices 130A-Z can be divided into one or more zones 232A-Z”) (paragraph [0055], line 1-4) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates memory devices 130A-Z can be divided into one or more zones 232A-Z in zoned namespace (ZNS™) standard)
Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO and further in view of JEON teaches zone allocation and management in claim 9. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE – KANNO - JEON combination does not explicitly teach wherein the determining of the second metadata of the target zone region based on the first metadata includes:
determining whether an open state is present in the first states; and determining that the second state is the open state, in response to determining that the open state is present in the first states.
On the other hand, JIN which also relates to zone allocation and management, teaches wherein the determining of the second metadata of the target zone region based on the first metadata includes:
determining whether an open state is present in the first states; and determining that the second state is the open state, in response to determining that the open state is present in the first states. (“the migrator 205 may allocate or open a ZNS corresponding to the length of the write data in the data zone 1203 shown in FIG. 2 when all the segments of the write data are buffered in the allocated sub buffer zone and thus the allocated sub buffer zone is closed. Then, the migrator 205 may migrate the segments of the write data that have been buffered in the closed sub buffer zone to the ZNS. When the write data is fully migrated in segment units to the ZNS, the migrator 205 may switch the ZNS into a close state”) (paragraph [0064], line 1-5)
(“When a large number of ZNSs having large capacity are in an open state”) (paragraph [0066], line 1) (i.e. Fig 4 illustrates migrator 205 may allocate or open a ZNS corresponding to the length of the write data in the data zone 1203 shown in FIG. 2 when the write data is fully migrated in segment units to the ZNS, the migrator 205 may switch the ZNS into a close state and when a large number of ZNSs having large capacity then switches in an open state)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE – KANNO with JEON for the reasons set forth in claim 12 above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat, Tikoo, LEE, KANNO, JEON and JIN are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE – KANNO - JEON combination teaches zone allocation and management with metadata pointing to zone allocation. Also, Kanteti – Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE – KANNO - JEON combination does not teach metadata information with open or close state of zone allocation. On the other hand, JIN also teaches zone allocation and management and metadata information with open or close state of zone allocation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti – Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE – KANNO – JEON combination with JIN to specify zone allocation and management with metadata pointing to zone allocation and metadata information with open or close state of zone allocation providing a method capable of flexibly writing data depending on a workload of the host as mentioned in paragraph [0008].
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO and further in view of JEON and further in view of Williams et al. (US 20210271394 A1) hereinafter Williams.
Regarding claim 14, Kanteti in view of Bahirat and further in view of Tikoo and further in view of LEE and further in view of KANNO and further in view of JEON teaches zone allocation and management of claim 12. However, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO - JEON combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 12, wherein the reallocation operation of the first zoned namespace includes an operation of decreasing the first zoned namespace and an operation of adding a third zoned namespace, wherein a first logical size of the first zoned namespace before the reallocation operation is identical to a sum of a second logical size of the first zoned namespace thus decreased and a third logical size of the third zoned namespace, and
wherein the method further comprises: determining a third maximum UZR index value corresponding to the first zoned namespace thus decreased, based on the third request;
determining a fourth maximum UZR index value corresponding to the third zoned namespace, based on the third request; and
updating the zone metadata table of the storage device such that a previous UZR index value of the first zoned namespace before the reallocation operation is changed to the third maximum UZR index value and the fourth maximum UZR index value.
On the other hand, Williams which also relates to zone allocation and management, teaches The method of claim 12, wherein the reallocation operation of the first zoned namespace includes an operation of decreasing the first zoned namespace and an operation of adding a third zoned namespace, wherein a first logical size of the first zoned namespace before the reallocation operation is identical to a sum of a second logical size of the first zoned namespace thus decreased and a third logical size of the third zoned namespace, and (“The storage unit (e.g., DS unit 420) can dynamically allocate new zones and un-allocate old zones of one or more memory devices to maintain a fixed number of active zones and/or a number of active zones that is determined to be optimal. The number of zones and/or the zones selected in the subset can be determined based on zone allocation parameters and/or zone reallocation parameters, which can be based on I/O request frequency, memory and/or processing requirements, I/O speed requirements, and/or other zone allocation and/or reallocation requirements”) (paragraph [0084], line 1-5) (i.e. Fig 4 illustrates The storage unit 420 can dynamically allocate new zones and un-allocate old zones of one or more memory devices based on zone allocation parameters and/or zone reallocation parameters and/or reallocation requirements)
wherein the method further comprises: determining a third maximum UZR index value corresponding to the first zoned namespace thus decreased, based on the third request;
determining a fourth maximum UZR index value corresponding to the third zoned namespace, based on the third request; and
updating the zone metadata table of the storage device such that a previous UZR index value of the first zoned namespace before the reallocation operation is changed to the third maximum UZR index value and the fourth maximum UZR index value. (“However, the DSN also stores data that is generated internally by applications running processes within the DSN. One such example is a temporary copy of a data object that the DSN generates internally. Another such example is a container index, which is a specialized namespace used to store data defining a configuration state of all buckets in a DSN memory”) (paragraph [0089], line 2-5)
(“the system is aware that certain types of internal data are updated with relatively high frequency. For example, a temporary copy of a data object might be deleted within less than a minute of being stored. In another example, a container index might be updated daily, and a leasable index might be updated every few minutes”) (paragraph [0089], line 11-12) (i.e. Fig 4 illustrates a container index, which is a specialized namespace used to store data defining a configuration state of all buckets in a DSN memory and container index might be updated daily)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO combination with JEON for the reasons set forth in claim 12 above. In addition, Kanteti, Bahirat, Tikoo, LEE, KANNO, JEON and Williams are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to zone allocation and management. Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO - JEON combination teaches zone allocation and management with metadata pointing to zone allocation. Also, Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO - JEON combination does not teach dynamically allocate new zones and un-allocate old zones of one or more memory devices based on zone allocation parameters. On the other hand, Williams also teaches zone allocation and management and dynamically allocate new zones and un-allocate old zones of one or more memory devices based on zone allocation parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Kanteti - Bahirat - Tikoo - LEE - KANNO - JEON combination with Williams to specify zone allocation and management and dynamically allocate new zones and un-allocate old zones of one or more memory devices based on zone allocation parameters providing a method for storing and moving data in particular zones in a dispersed storage network in paragraph [0001].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/15/2026 have been fully considered but they
are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is claim 1, 16 and 18 mapping by primary and secondary references in page 2 of the response: Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to recite "receiving a first request from a host device, wherein the first request comprises a zoned namespace allocation request to perform an allocation operation of a first zoned namespace in compliance with the ZNS standard
In summary, applicant argued that primary reference and secondary
references do not teach amended limitation request from host device may include allocation request to perform allocation based on ZNS standard. The amendment necessitates adding another secondary reference LEE in this regard. For further clarification examiner cites portion from LEE. Also, for applicant’s understanding examiner would like to explain the teachings of LEE and examiner’s interpretation in more detail here. See Fig 1, paragraph [0004] and [0025], LEE teaches zone manager 114 at the ZNS storage device 111 creates allocation request allocating storage resources in storage area 117 using Zoned Namespace (ZNS) standard. The cited portion clearly teaches zone manager may create allocation request allocating storage resources using ZNS standard. Thus, the rejection of amended claim 1, 16 and 18 is maintained.
Applicant’s second argument is claim 1, 16 and 18 mapping by primary and secondary references in page 2 of the response: claim 1 further recites "dividing the first zone size of the first zoned namespace by the unit zone size of the each unit zone region as a first mapping ratio, wherein the first mapping ratio indicates the number of unit zone regions mapped to each zone region of a plurality of zone regions of the first zoned namespace; and storing the first mapping ratio in a zone metadata table of the storage device" (emphasis added). Independent claims 16 and 18 recite features similar but not identical to independent claim 1
In summary, applicant argued that primary and secondary references do not teach limitations dividing each first zone size into unit zone size where each unit zone region may map to plurality of zone regions and store the map data into metadata. Examiner respectfully disagrees. For further clarification examiner cites portion from Tikoo. Also, for applicant’s understanding examiner would like to explain the teachings of Tikoo and examiner’s interpretation in more detail here. See Fig 1 and 9, paragraph [0051] and [0059], Tikoo teaches after receiving the command or request controller 123 may allocate memory location 112 where mapping table is stored in NVM and where NVM may be divided into fixed or unit size zones. Also see Fig 8 and 9, paragraph [0066] and [0068], Tikoo teaches controller 802 may map each zone to sub blocks 808 in different blocks or zones or may map two zones to one subblock where zones maybe equal or unit size zones. In other words, unit size zones may map to one subblock or different subblocks. Also see Fig 9-11, paragraph [0066] and [0068], Tikoo teaches controller may create mapping table similar to metadata that maps one or two zones to one or more sub blocks which may be stored in NVM. The cited portion clearly teaches NVM may be divided into fixed or unit size zones where unit size zones may map to one subblock or different subblocks and map data may be stored in NVM. Thus, the rejection of amended claim 1, 16 and 18 is maintained.
Conclusion
/S.K.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132