DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 03 March 2026 in response to the non-final office action mailed on 05 December 2025 has been considered. Claim(s) 1-20 and 22 is/are pending. Claim(s) 21 has/have been canceled. Claim(s) 22 has/have been added. Claim(s) 1-20 and 22 has/have been examined in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, it is unclear what “a first rail” and “a second rail” are referencing since the only “rails” mentioned in claims are the main rails.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, the claims recite the first extensions as having a first width and a second with and also wherein one has a length greater than the other. It is unclear from the disclosure what is meant by the “width”. The width is not described within the original disclosure and it is unclear if the width is different than the length. For purposes of the rejection, the claim is being examined as if the width and the length are directed to the same dimension since it is not clear how they would be different from what is taught by the figures and the disclosure.
Regarding claim 12, it is unclear how the interlocking elements have a cross-section comprising a mail rail having a plurality of interlocking elements. It appears that the amendment has a typo. For purposes of examination, the claim has been examined as if line 3, “a plurality of….a main rail having” has been deleted, so that the amended language is not repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0090370 A1 to Cope in view of US 2008/0006002 A1 to Strickland et al.
Regarding claim 1, Cope discloses an adjustable roof support system (Fig.6) for supporting a roof or a floor in a building (Fig.2) having at least one truss (20), the support system comprising: a plurality of interlocking elements segments (112, 114) each interlocking element segment having at least one fastener slot (slots shown in 112, 114, Fig.6) and a cross-section comprising a main rail (vertical portion of 112, 114, Fig.7) having a first extension (top flange of 112, 114, Fig.6 and 7) that defines a continuous first bearing surface with a first width (width of the top flange of 112, 114) configured to support a roof member or a floor member extending transversely to the interlocking element (Fig.2), and a second extension (bottom flange of 112, 114, Fig.7) having a second width (width of the bottom flange of 112, 114) configured to resist torsion and buckling (a flange extending perpendicular to the main rail will aid in resisting torsion and buckling), wherein the first extension and the second extension together define an interior channel (Fig.7) and an external periphery (rear surface of 112, 114), further wherein the plurality of interlocking elements segments comprises at least one female segment (114, Fig.6) and at least one male segment (112) and the exterior periphery of the at least one male segment fits within the interior channel of the at least one female segment (Fig.6 and 7) and the fastener slot of the at least one female segment aligns with fastener slot of the at least one male segment (Fig.6 and 7) when the male segment is situated within the female segment and the interlocking element has a first end (one end with attachment 195, Fig.6) and a second end (second end with attachment 195, Fig,6) and an assembled length (Fig.6); at least one fastener (190, Fig.7) configured to pass through the fastener slots of the male segment and the female segment when the male segment is situated within the female segment to secure the male segment from sliding relative to the female segment (Fig.6); and an attachment point (195, Fig.6; embodiments shown in Fig.3/4 and 5A/5B) coupled to at least one of the first end and the second end wherein the at least one attachment point is configured to secure the first end or the second end to the at least one truss (20, Fig.2).
Cope does not specifically disclose wherein the top extension of the element is longer than the bottom extension of the element, and further wherein the second width is less than the first width.
Strickland et al. discloses forming a c-shaped structural member having different shapes, C-shapes, and top and bottom flanges of different sizes (Fig.1, 15, 18, 45, 57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the extensions of the elements of Cope having different lengths as taught by Strickland so to provide a greater surface area on the top extension, thereby retaining the strength of the elements by providing both upper and lower extensions but also providing more upper surface area to support a roof or floor upon the trusses and the support system. The upper extension providing increased surface area will allow more surface to secure the above elements and further greater support area, thereby better distributing forces of the surface supported.
Regarding claim 2, Cope discloses wherein the assembled length is slidably adjustable (slots shown in Fig.6).
Regarding claim 3, Cope discloses wherein the at least one fastener slot is on the main rail (Fig.6 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Cope discloses wherein a first rail is smaller than a second rail allow the first rail to slide within the second rail (112 slides within 114).
Regarding claim 5, Cope discloses wherein the attachment point (195, Fig.6; alternate embodiment, Fig.5A/5B) comprises a horizontal member (156) coupled to a vertical member (154/140) that is coupled to the first end and/or the second end (coupled by holes 158; Fig.6)
Regarding claim 6, Cope discloses wherein the vertical member (154, 140) is coupled to an angle member (202, Fig.5A/5B) having at least one truss fastener (204, 208) coupled to it wherein the fastener is tightened against the at least one truss (Paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 7, Cope discloses further comprising a cross connector (130, Fig.6 and 8) and configured to secure one interlocking segment to another interlocking segment at an angle (Fig.6 and 8).
Regarding claim 8, Cope discloses wherein the angle is a perpendicular angle (130).
Regarding claim 9, Strickland also discloses wherein the top extension and the bottom extension have a vertical extension (22, Fig.1) substantially extending away from the top extension and the bottom extension.
Regarding claim 10, Cope discloses wherein the fasteners (190) are at least one of a bolt and/or nut (Paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 11, Cope discloses wherein the interlocking segments are composed of aluminum (Paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, Cope discloses a method of assembling an adjustable roof support system (Fig.2 and 6) on a structure having a first truss (20, Fig.2) and a second truss (other 20, Fig.2), the method comprising the acts of; providing an adjustable support system (Fig. 2 and 6) having a plurality of interlocking elements (110 including 112 and 114, Fig. 2 and 6) each interlocking element having at least one fastener slot (slots in 112 and 114, Fig.6 and 7) and a cross-section comprising a main rail (vertical portion of 112, 114, Fig.7) having a first extension (top flange of 112, 114, Fig.6 and 7) that defines a continuous first bearing surface with a first width (width of the top flange of 112, 114) configured to support a roof member or a floor member extending transversely to the interlocking element (Fig.2), and a second extension (bottom flange of 112, 114, Fig.7) having a second width (width of the bottom flange of 112, 114) configured to resist torsion and buckling (a flange extending perpendicular to the main rail will aid in resisting torsion and buckling) and defines an interior channel (Fig.7) and an external periphery (rear surface of 112, 114), further wherein the plurality of interlocking elements segments comprises at least one female segment (114, Fig.6) and at least one male segment (112) and the exterior periphery of the at least one male segment fits within the interior channel of the at least one female segment (Fig.6 and 7) and the fastener slot of the at least one female segment aligns with fastener slot of the at least one male segment (Fig.6 and 7) when the male segment is situated within the female segment and the interlocking element has a first end (one end with attachment 195, Fig.6) and a second end (second end with attachment 195, Fig,6) and an assembled length (Fig.6); at least one fastener (190, Fig.6 and 7) configured to pass through the fastener slots of the male segment and the female segment to secure the male segment from sliding relative to the female segment (Fig.6), and an attachment point (195; alternate embodiments of 195 shown in Fig.3/4 and 5A/5B) coupled to at least one of the first end and the second end (Fig.6) wherein the at least one attachment point is configured to secure the first end or the second end to the at least one truss (Fig.2; Paragraph [0035]); assembling a first rail by assembling a male segment with a female segment and slidably adjusting the assembled length of the first rail to extend between the first truss and the second truss (110, Fig. 2 and 6); assembling a second rail (other 110, Fig.2 and 6) by assembling at least one male segment with at least one female segment and slidably adjusting the assembled length of the second rail to extend between the first truss and the second truss (Fig.2 and 6) arranging the first rail a desired distance from the second rail (Fig. 2 and 6); coupling the first end of the first and second rails with the first truss and the second end of the first and second rails with the second truss (Fig.2; Paragraph [0035]); providing at least one cross rail (120, Fig.6) comprising at least one of the plurality of interlocking elements (formed from 122, 124), a first cross connector (130) and a second cross connector (other 130) that when assembled span the desired distance; and securing the first cross connector to the first rail and the second cross connector to the second rail (Fig. 2, 6, and 8).
Cope does not specifically disclose wherein the top extension of the element is longer than the bottom extension of the element, and further wherein the second width is less than the first width.
Strickland et al. discloses forming a c-shaped structural member having different shapes, C-shapes, and top and bottom flanges of different sizes (Fig.1, 15, 18, 45, 57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the extensions of the elements of Cope having different lengths as taught by Strickland so to provide a greater surface are on the top extension, thereby retaining the strength of the elements by providing both upper and lower extensions but also providing more upper surface area to support a roof or floor upon the trusses and the support system. The upper extension providing increased surface area will allow more surface to secure the above elements and further greater support area, thereby better distributing forces of the surface supported.
Regarding claim 13, Cope discloses wherein the first rail and the second rail is comprised of a single male segment and a single female segment (112, 114, Fig.6).
Regarding claim 14, Cope discloses further comprising the acts of: selecting a segment length for the male segment and the female segment from a plurality of segment lengths to allow the first rail and the second rail to stretch between the first truss and the second truss with a single male segment and a single female segment (Fig.2 and 6; the rails extend between trusses with a single male and a single female segment).
Regarding claim 15, Cope discloses wherein the male and female segments extend between trusses but Cope does not disclose the specific lengths of the male and female segments.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the lengths of the male and female segments to be a specific length that can be adjusted to accommodate truss spacings of multiple sizes, thereby eliminating the need to manufacture many different size rail elements.
Regarding claim 16, Cope discloses wherein the combined length of one of the at least one of the plurality of interlocking segments, the first cross connector and the second cross connector is the desired distance (Fig.2 and 6; the members 120 in addition to the cross connectors is the desired spacing between interlocking elements).
Regarding claim 17, Cope does not disclose the specific distances between interlocking elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have spaced the interlocking elements between 21 and 27 inches apart so to provide the structure with the desired amount of support from the support system. Spacing the interlocking elements too close together would not be effective nor would spacing the interlocking elements too far apart, therefore one of ordinary skill ion the art would want to optimize the distance between elements.
Regarding claim 18, Cope discloses further comprising securing at least one fastener in at least one of the fastener slots (190, Fig.6 and 7).
Regarding claim 19, Cope does not disclose wherein the at least one cross rail is one cross rail for every 25 inches of the distance between the first truss and the second truss.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have spaced the cross rails every 25 inches apart so to provide the structure with the desired amount of support from the support system. Spacing the cross rails too close together would not be effective nor would spacing the cross rails too far apart, therefore one of ordinary skill ion the art would want to optimize the distance between cross rails.
Regarding claim 20, Cope discloses wherein the interlocking segments are composed of aluminum (Paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 22, Cope discloses a support system for supporting a roof or a floor in a building having at least one truss, the support system comprising: a plurality of interlocking elements (112, 114), each interlocking element comprising :a main rail (vertical portion of 112, 114, Fig.7) having a top extension (top flange of 112, 114, Fig.6 and 7) that defines a continuous bearing surface with a first width (width of the top flange of 112, 114) configured to directly support a roof member or a floor member extending transversely to the interlocking element (Fig.2), and a bottom extension (bottom flange of 112, 114, Fig.7) having a second width (width of the bottom flange of 112, 114) and configured to resist torsion and buckling (a flange extending perpendicular to the main rail will aid in resisting torsion and buckling) without providing a primary bearing surface (first extension is used as the primary bearing surface), the top extension and the bottom extension together defining an interior channel (Fig.7) and an external periphery (rear surface of 112, 114); a female segment (114, Fig.6) having a female segment exterior surface (outer surface of 114), a female segment interior surface (interior surface of 114) that defines the interior channel, and at least one female segment fastener slot (slots in 114); and a male segment (112) having a male segment exterior surface (exterior of 112) that defines the external periphery and at least one male segment fastener slot (slots of 112), wherein the female segment fastener slot aligns with the at least one male segment fastener slot (Fig.6 and 7) when a portion of the male exterior surface of the male segment engages the female segment interior surface of the female segment (Fig. 6 and 7), and wherein the male segment is slidable within the female segment to define an assembled length of the interlocking element between a first interlocking element end and a second interlocking element end (Fig.6 and 7), at least one fastener (190, Fig.7) operable to pass through the female segment fastener slot and the male segment fastener slot to secure the male segment in a position relative to the female segment (Fig. 6 and 7), and an attachment point (195, Fig.6; embodiments shown in Fig.3/4 and 5A/5B) couplable to at least one of the first interlocking element end and the second interlocking element end, wherein the attachment point is operable to secure the first interlocking element end or the second interlocking element end to a truss (20, Fig.2), and at least one cross connector (120) couplable to the interlocking element, wherein the cross connector is operable to secure a first interlocking element to a second interlocking element at an angle (Fig.6).
Cope does not specifically disclose wherein the second width is less than the first width.
Strickland et al. discloses forming a c-shaped structural member having different shapes, C-shapes, and top and bottom flanges of different sizes (Fig.1, 15, 18, 45, 57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the extensions of the elements of Cope having different lengths as taught by Strickland so to provide a greater surface area on the top extension, thereby retaining the strength of the elements by providing both upper and lower extensions but also providing more upper surface area to support a roof or floor upon the trusses and the support system. The upper extension providing increased surface area will allow more surface to secure the above elements and further greater support area, thereby better distributing forces of the surface supported.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Strickland discloses structural members having different shapes and flange sizes for generic reasons of strength and weight, but does not to disclose providing torsional stiffness or rigidity. It is noted that Strickland does in fact disclose having different flange sizes on a structural member and although their disclosed reasoning may be different the outcome the result still provides resistance to torsion and buckling. Providing perpendicular flanges will resist torsion and buckling, and further will provide increased surface area on the main bearing surface. Even further, providing a second extension with smaller width will reduce material costs while providing resistance to torsion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635