Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0226645 to Shaffer et al.
As to claims 1-4, Shaffer discloses a polyaspartate composition comprising asymmetric polyaspartate resins comprising the reaction product of 14.56 equivalents of 4,4-diamino dicyclohexylmethane, 0.6552 equivalents of 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate, and 13.91 equivalents of diethyl maleate (Example 1). Shaffer discloses reacting the polyaspartate resins with aliphatic polyisocyanates (Desmodur XP2140 or N-100, based on hexamethylene diisocyanate (0052).
As to claim 6, Shaffer discloses a ratio of primary amino group to 1,6-hexanediol acrylate and diethyl maleate of 14.56:0.6552+13.91 (1:1).
As to claim 7, Shaffer discloses a molar ratio of polyaspartic acid ester to polyisocyanate that ranges from 1.0:0.8 to 1.0:2.0.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 6 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0226645 to Shaffer et al.
As to claim 6, Shaffer discloses a polyaspartate composition comprising asymmetric polyaspartate resins comprising the reaction product of 14.56 equivalents of 4,4-diamino dicyclohexylmethane, 0.6552 equivalents of 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate, and 13.91 equivalents of diethyl maleate (Example 1). Shaffer discloses reacting the polyaspartate resins with aliphatic polyisocyanates (Desmodur XP2140 or N-100, based on hexamethylene diisocyanate (0052).
Shaffer further discloses isophorone diisocyanate as a suitable alternative to the HDI oligomers used in the examples (0031). At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known alternative (HDI) for another known alternative (IPDI) with the expectation that said substitution would provide the desired properties to the coating composition, such as protecting the coating from the elements (0007).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763