DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 ends in “;” and not “.” For purpose of compact prosecution, examiner is interpreting claim 3 to end in a “.” Instead of “;”. Appropriate correction is required in response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajima (US 2007/0075891 A1) in view of Asghar et al (US 2019/0391254 A1).
Claim 1. Sajima discloses a golf ball launch monitor comprising:
a plurality of radar receive antennas [0008], [0032]-[0033], (Fig. 2);
a plurality of radar transmit antennas [0008], [0032]-[0033], (Fig. 2);
a processor coupled to the plurality of radar receive antennas and the plurality of radar transmit antennas (Fig. 1), wherein the processor is configured to process radar signals from the plurality of radar receive antennas to estimate one or more golf ball trajectory parameters [0026];
wherein the plurality of radar receive antennas and the plurality of radar transmit antennas are arranged in an array (Fig. 2).
Sajima does not but Asghar discloses wherein the processor is configured to process the radar signals from the radar receive antennas with a deep-learning program without pre-defined functional relationships between characteristics of the radar signals from the radar receive antennas and the golf ball trajectory parameters [0019]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Sajima with Asghar and would have been motivated to do so to improve the processing speed and efficiency of the systems.
Claim 2. Sajima and Asghar discloses the golf ball launch monitor of claim 1, wherein the plurality of receive antennas are arranged symmetrically around a longitudinal axis; Sajima [0030].
Claim 3. Sajima and Asghar discloses the golf ball launch monitor of claim 1 comprising: a continuous wave radar transmitter; and a frequency modulated continuous wave radar transmitter; Sajima [0094] or Asghar [0021].
Claim 4. Sajima and Asghar discloses the launch monitor of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to estimate a distance between a struck golf ball and the launch monitor based at least in part on the signals transmitted by the frequency modulated continuous wave radar transmitter; Sajima [0039] or Asghar (Fig. 7), [0085], [0101].
Claim 5. Sajima and Asghar discloses the launch monitor of claim 4, wherein the distance corresponds to a carry distance of the golf ball; Sajima [0039] or Asghar (Fig. 7), [0085], [0101].
Claim 6-9. Sajima and Asghar discloses the launch monitor of claim 1, and one of ordinary skilled in the art can recognize that the system of Sajima can comprise four radar receive antennas or two radar transmit antennas, wherein the four radar receive antennas are positioned symmetrically around a longitudinal axis, wherein the two radar transmit antennas are positioned non-symmetrically around the longitudinal axis as such configuration would increase the accuracy of measurements of the ball [0030]-[0032].
Claim 10. Sajima and Asghar discloses the launch monitor of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to estimate club speed and ball speed based at least in part on the signals transmitted by the continuous wave radar transmitter; Sajima [0094] or Asghar [0081].
Claim 12. Sajima and Asghar discloses the launch monitor of claim 3, wherein the continuous wave radar transmitter and the frequency modulated continuous wave radar transmitter are operated sequentially in a time division manner; Sajima [0056], [0095].
Claim 13. Sajima and Asghar discloses the launch monitor of claim 3, wherein the plurality of receivers are operated simultaneously to receive both the continuous wave transmitter Doppler signal and the frequency modulated continuous wave radar transmitter Doppler signal; Asghar [0017].
Claim 14. Sajima and Asghar discloses the launch monitor of claim 3, wherein the frequency modulated continuous wave radar transmitter is configured for linear modulation; Sajima [0095] or Asghar [0086].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajima and Asghar as applied above and further in view of Johnson et al (US 2016/0339320 A1).
Claim 11. Sajima and Asghar discloses the launch monitor of claim 3, but does not expressly disclose wherein the processor is configured to estimate golf ball spin rate and spin axis based at least in part on the signals transmitted by the continuous wave radar transmitter. Johnson discloses wherein the processor is configured to estimate golf ball spin rate and spin axis based at least in part on the signals transmitted by the continuous wave radar transmitter [0002]-[004]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sajima with Johnson and would have been motivated to do so to more accurately measure the spin rate of the golf ball.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,311,789 B2 and claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,844,990 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are claiming similar invention relating to at least a golf ball launch monitor comprising: a plurality of radar receive antennas; a plurality of radar transmit antennas; a processor coupled to the plurality of radar receive antennas and the plurality of radar transmit antennas, wherein the processor is configured to process radar signals from the plurality of radar receive antennas to estimate one or more golf ball trajectory parameters; wherein the plurality of radar receive antennas and the plurality of radar transmit antennas are arranged in an array; and, wherein the processor is configured to process the radar signals from the radar receive antennas with a deep-learning program without pre-defined functional relationships between characteristics of the radar signals from the radar receive antennas and the golf ball trajectory parameters.
Filing of New or Amended Claims
The examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the original disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims. See Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 263, 191 USPQ at 97 (“[T]he PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.”). However, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 (“Applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”). Please see MPEP 2163 (II) 3. (b)
Correspondence
/Seng H Lim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715