DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: AUTOMATED START UP CIRCUIT FOR CHARGING OUTPUT CAPACITORS OF CHARGE REGULATOR AND ACTIVATING A BATTERY, AND REPLACEMENT OF LEAD BATTERIES WITH LITHIUM BATTERIES.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FUKADA (US PG Pub 2013/0082645).
Regarding claim 1, FUKADA discloses an electric circuit arranged to be connected to at least one photovoltaic panel (3, Figs. 1 & 5), to at least one main battery (12, Figs. 1 & 5) and to a charge regulator (D1, Figs. 1 & 5), and comprising:
a first power supply component (comprising 4 and/or 5, Figs. 1 & 5) arranged to, at predefined intervals (it is noted that the instant specification discloses the “predefined intervals are… daily intervals”, see page 16, lines 4-5; ¶ 0044: a threshold-value current at which the contacts are connected (the relay is on) is set in the relay circuit constituting the power detection unit 4; the intervals are predefined based on the disclose threshold value, and can be interpreted as “daily intervals” such as when the photovoltaic panel output is sufficient to activate the first power supply component), generate a first voltage (¶ 0045: if the contacts in the power detection unit 4 are connected, the control power is supplied to the control ECU 10 and the control ECU 10 is activated (Step S03); the disclosure of “the control power is supplied” implies a voltage) from a photovoltaic energy which is produced by the at least one photovoltaic panel (¶ 0029: power detection unit 4 has a configuration in which the contacts are closed when power (current) equal to or greater than a predetermined value is supplied from the solar battery 3; ¶ 0048: power detection unit 4 is connected between the solar battery 3 and the charging control system 7, and detects the power output from the solar battery 3. The power detection unit 4 is operated when the power output from the solar battery 3 becomes equal to or greater than the predetermined value, and the power for activating the charging control system 7 is supplied. In this case, when the output power equal to or greater than the predetermined value is supplied from the solar battery 3 to the power detection unit 4, the power detection unit 4 is operated and the power for activation is supplied to the charging control system 7, thereby appropriately activating the charging control system 7);
a switching module (comprising at least 7 in Fig. 1; also shown as 33 in Figure 5) arranged to, when the first power supply component generates the first voltage, be powered by said first voltage (¶ 0045: see above) and apply, to the terminals of the at least one main battery and of the charge regulator, for a predefined duration (¶ 0064: If the start-up control of the control ECU 34 is executed, "timer (internal variable)" in the control ECU 34 is set to "0" (Step S23). The variable "timer" is used so as to prevent the output of the disconnection signal to the power relay unit 22 at the beginning of the start-up of the charging control system 33; ¶ 0066: When it is determined that the value of "timer" is greater than "timer1", the process progresses to Step S28. When it is determined that the value of "timer" is not greater than "timer1", the output of the disconnection signal is set to be off (Step S31); ¶ 0067: In Step S28, it is determined by the control ECU 34 whether or not the output power from the solar battery 3 is equal to or smaller than the threshold value. When it is determined that the output power from the solar battery 3 is equal to or smaller than the threshold value, the start-up control of the charging control system 7 is executed (Step S29), and the disconnection signal of the power relay unit 22 is on (Step S30). When it is determined that the output power of the solar battery 3 is not equal to or smaller than the threshold value, the processing of Step S31 is executed; ¶ 0071: If the charging control system 33 is activated, the above-described control is executed. Specifically, the control ECU 34 embedded in the charging control system 33 measures the output power from the solar battery 3, and determines whether or not the output power is equal to or smaller than the threshold value. When it is determined that the output power from the solar battery 3 is equal to or smaller than the threshold value, the control ECU 34 turns on (outputs) the disconnection signal to the power relay unit 22. Accordingly, since the contacts are opened in the power relay unit 22, and the contacts of the power supply unit 6 are opened, the supply of the control power to the charging control system 33 is stopped, such that charging of the batteries 12 and 13 is stopped and the operation of the entire charging control system 33 is stopped), a power supply voltage produced from the photovoltaic energy (¶ 0032: first DC-DC converter 8 is a portion which receives the output voltage of the solar battery 3 as an input, and steps up or down the output voltage to the voltage of the (lead battery) 12. Specifically, the first DC-DC converter 8 steps down the output voltage of the solar battery 3 from 42 V to 14 V, and supplies a charging current to the battery 12. A diode D1 for preventing the reverse flow of the current is connected between the first DC-DC converter 8 and the battery 12; ¶ 0065: Next, in the control ECU 34, the output power of the solar battery 3 is input and the power is measured (Step S24). The output voltage of the solar battery 3 is converted to the voltage of each of the batteries 12 and 13 in each of the DC-DC converters 8 and 9 (Step S25), and charging of the batteries 12 and 13 starts. "+1" is added to the value of "timer" (Step S26), and it is determined in the control ECU 34 whether or not the value of "timer" is greater than "timer 1" which is a fixed value (waiting time) (timer>timer1) (Step S27)).
Regarding claim 2, FUKADA discloses the first power supply component being powered by an input voltage produced by the at least one photovoltaic panel, the first power supply component being arranged to generate the first voltage when the input voltage is greater than a minimum threshold voltage of the first power supply component (¶ 0029, 0044-0048).
Regarding claim 3, FUKADA discloses the switching module comprises: a second power supply component arranged to be powered by the first voltage and to produce a second voltage (6, Fig 5; ¶ 0069-0070); a timer relay comprising a switch (22, Fig. 5) and arranged to be powered by the second voltage and to, when the second voltage moves from a zero value to a non-zero value, close the switch for the predefined duration to apply the power supply voltage at the terminals of the at least one main battery and of the charge regulator, then reopen the switch following the predefined duration (¶ 0063-0071).
Regarding claim 4, FUKADA discloses the power supply voltage being the first voltage (¶ 0031, 0071).
Regarding claim 6, FUKADA discloses an equipment comprising a casing and an electric circuit according to claim 1, the electric circuit being positioned in the casing (¶ 0026).
Regarding claim 7, FUKADA discloses a power supply device comprising at least one main battery (12, Figs. 1 & 5), a charge regulator (D1, Figs. 1 & 5), and an electric circuit according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUKADA.
Regarding claim 8, FUKADA discloses the power supply device as applied to claim 7, but fails to disclose the at least one main battery is a lithium battery.
Official notice is taken that lithium batteries were an old and known expedient in the art at the time of the invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the main battery is a lithium battery, since selection of a lithium battery would have been an obvious design choice for a skilled artisan, given the known benefits over other battery chemistries, e.g., in terms of cycle life, efficiency, and specific energy (power-to-weight ratio).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUKADA as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-7 above, and further in view of ZHANG (US PG Pub 2020/0227924).
Regarding claim 9, FUKADA discloses the electric circuit as applied to claim 1, and further discloses at least one battery (12, Figs. 1 & 5) positioned in a cabinet (¶ 0026), wherein a charge regulator is also positioned (D1, Figs. 1 & 5), and which is connected to at least one photovoltaic panel (3, Figs. 1 & 5), and integrating the electric circuit according to claim 1 in the cabinet, by connecting the electric circuit to the at least one photovoltaic panel, to the at least one main battery and to the charge regulator (¶ 0026-0027).
FUKADA fails to disclose a method for replacing at least one original battery, comprising the steps of: removing the at least one original battery from the cabinet; and replacing the at least one original battery with at least one main battery.
ZHANG discloses a method for replacing at least one original battery, comprising the steps of: removing the at least one original battery from the cabinet; and replacing the at least one original battery with at least one main battery (¶ 0027, 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the method for replacing at least one original battery with at least one main battery in order to provide a replacement battery that can provide significant advantages over the original battery, such as improvements in lifespan, efficiency, weight, and performance.
Regarding claim 10, FUKADA as modified by ZHANG teaches the at least one original battery is a lead battery and the at least one main battery is a lithium battery (ZHANG, ¶ 0027, 0031).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUKADA as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-7 above, and further in view of KUHN (US PG Pub 2003/0151221).
Regarding claim 11, FUKADA discloses the electric circuit as applied to claim 2, and further discloses a power supply method, implemented in the electric circuit according to claim 2, wherein the switching module comprises:
a second power supply component arranged to be powered by the first voltage and to produce a second voltage (6, Fig 5; ¶ 0069-0070);
a timer relay comprising a switch (22, Fig. 5) and arranged to be powered by the second voltage and to, when the second voltage moves from a zero value to a non-zero value, close the switch for the predefined duration to apply the power supply voltage at the terminals of the at least one main battery and of the charge regulator, then reopen the switch following the predefined duration (¶ 0063-0071),
the method comprising the steps of: energising a coil of the timer relay; if the input voltage is greater than the minimum threshold voltage of the first power supply component, de-energising the coil and thus closing the switch of the timer relay; applying the power supply voltage to the terminals of the at least one main battery and of the charge regulator; counting the predefined duration by a time delay component; when the time delay component has counted the predefined duration, opening the switch of the timer relay (¶ 0063-0071).
FUKADA fails to disclose energising the coil closes the switch of the timer relay.
However, one of ordinary skill would recognize the relay could be either “normally open/off” or “normally closed/on” and provide the same functionality. For example, KUHN discloses energising the coil closes the switch of the relay (¶ 0032). It would be obvious to apply the energizing of the coil to close the relay as disclosed in KUHN to the timer relay of FUKADA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include energising the coil closes the switch of the timer relay in order to provide a desired energy efficiency and operational logic based on the specific application’s required default state.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 5, the prior art teaches the electric circuit as applied to claim 3 but fails to disclose “a secondary battery and a third power supply component, the secondary battery being arranged to be charged by the first power supply component and therefore by the photovoltaic energy, the switch of the timer relay being mounted between the secondary battery and the third power supply component, the third power supply component being arranged to be powered by a secondary voltage at the terminals of the secondary battery when the switch is closed, the third power supply component thus being arranged to produce a third voltage which is the power supply voltage”. It would not have been obvious to modify the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 12/15/2025
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859