DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 8-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a) On line 1 of claims 8-12, replace “method” with –“non-transitory computer-readable medium”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a) “an access point module …”, “a station module …”, and “a preferred BSSID module …” in claim 13;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 4-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Likar (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2018/0183662 A1), in view of Lai (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 20240030586 A1), and Chu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0048464 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Likar teaches a computer-implemented method in a Wi-Fi controller on a data communication network, for proactively assisting access point selection during fast BSS roaming over a wireless portion of the data communication network (Fig(s).1A-1B and 2), the method comprising:
connecting communicatively connecting the Wi-Fi controller (Fig(s).1A @ 110 and 1B @ 110) to a plurality of access points (Fig(s).1A @ 120A, 120B and 1B @ 120A, 120B),
wherein a current access point (Fig(s).1A @ 120A and 1B @ 120A) is wirelessly connected to a station for access to the data communication network (Fig(s).1A @ 130 and 1B @ 130);
receiving, at the Wi-Fi controller, an access point scan list and a station scan report from the plurality of access points (Fig(s).1A, 1B, 2, and 5A),
wherein the access point scan list identifies other access points within RF range, and associated BSSIDs and operating channels of the access points (read as neighbor list comprising of IEEE 802.11r (e.g.: fast BSS) parameters of one or more access point(s) (Paragraph [0054])), and
wherein the station scan report includes stations within RF range and associated values RSSI values relative to the stations (read as neighbor list comprising of IEEE 802.11r (e.g.: fast BSS) parameters received from one or more wireless station(s) (Paragraph(s) [0022] and [0048]));
generating, at the Wi-Fi controller (Fig(s).1A,1B, 2, and 8), a global station report based on the access point scan lists and the station scan reports from access points, and listing each station with respect to an RSSI value of each nearby access point from the plurality of access points (read as Network Policies, and Rules Engine (Fig.2 @ 240; Paragraph [0037]));
proactively determining, at the Wi-Fi controller, that an RSSI value for the specific station to at a least one preferred access point to be better than the current access point (read as “RSSI threshold for fast BSS transition”(Paragraph [0037])), and
in response, the Wi-Fi controller notifying the current access point and notifying the at least one preferred access point, about a proactive fast BSS transition (Fig(s).1A, 1B, and 2 @ 230 and 250), and
updating the global station report responsive to detecting that the specific station has completed BSS fast roaming from the current access point to the selected one of the at least one preferred access points. (read as “the cloud-based Wi-Fi controller 110 sends messages to update configuration to hand-off the wireless device 130 from the access point 120A to the access point 120B (interaction 507) and both the wireless station 130 and the access point 120A (interactions 508a,b).”(Fig.5C; Paragraph [0050]))
However, Likar fails to explicitly teach a Wi-Fi 6E station
wherein, in response to the notification, the current access point transmits a BTM-REQ (BSS Transition Management-Request) action frame to the specific station,
wherein the BTM-REQ action frame includes BSSIDs and respective operating channel information for the one or more preferred access points, and
wherein the specific station has not yet transmitted a BTM query frame to the current access point, and
wherein the specific Wi-Fi 6E station selects a target access point from the at least one preferred access points of the BTM-REQ action frame and an internal RSSI scan table comprising RSSI values with respect to the at least one preferred access points, and
the station transmits a BTM-RES frame to notify the current access point of upcoming BSS fast transition to a selected one of the at least one preferred access point;
Lai teaches a Wi-Fi 6E station (read as mobile information handling system(s)(Fig.2 @ 210,212, 214; Paragraph(s) [0036] and [0039]); For example, “Wireless communications across wireless local network 240 may be via standard protocols such as IEEE 802.11 Wi-Fi (e.g., Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz), IEEE 802.1lad WiGig, IEEE 802.15 WPAN, IEEE 802.11ax-2021, (e.g., Wi-Fi 6 and 6E, at 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz technologies), or emerging 5G small cell WWAN communications such as gNodeB, eNodeB, or similar wireless network protocols and access points.”(Paragraph [0036]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ wireless network protocols (e.g.: IEEE 802.11ax, 2021) as taught by Lai with the devices as taught by Likar for the purpose of improving hand-offs of wi-fi devices in a communication network.
However, Likar and Lai fail to explicitly teach wherein, in response to the notification, the current access point transmits a BTM-REQ (BSS Transition Management-Request) action frame to the specific station,
wherein the BTM-REQ action frame includes BSSIDs and respective operating channel information for the one or more preferred access points, and
wherein the specific station has not yet transmitted a BTM query frame to the current access point, and
wherein the specific station selects a target access point from the at least one preferred access points of the BTM-REQ action frame and an internal RSSI scan table comprising RSSI values with respect to the at least one preferred access points, and
the station transmits a BTM-RES frame to notify the current access point of upcoming BSS fast transition to a selected one of the at least one preferred access point;
Chu et al. teach a method wherein, in response to the notification, the current access point transmits a BTM-REQ (BSS Transition Management-Request) action frame to the specific station (read as “exchanging management frames between the non-AP device and the serving AP MLD to switch from the current serving AP MLD and the future serving AP MLD.”(Fig(s).5A-5B; Abstract) Further, Chu et al. teach a method “wherein the exchanged management frames are basic service set (BSS) transitions management (BTM) Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frames.”(Fig(s).5A-5B; Paragraph [0017])),
wherein the BTM-REQ action frame includes BSSIDs and respective operating channel information for the one or more preferred access points (read as BTM Request frame(s) with BSS Transition Candidate List Entries and reserved field(s) (Fig(s).5A @ 518, 5B @ 532, 6; Paragraph(s) [0018], [0060], and [0061]) For example, Chu et al. teach a method “wherein the BTM Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frames carry neighbor AP MLD information and neighbor AP MLD affiliation information regarding the AP MLD's affiliation with the roaming AP MLD and a roaming MLD MAC address.”(Paragraph [0018])), and
wherein the specific station (read as non-AP MLD (e.g.: STA MLD) (Fig(s).1-2)) has not yet transmitted a BTM query frame to the current access point (read as “When the non-AP MLD11 220 would like to request or provide the MLD transition candidate AP MLDs, e.g. when the RSSI of current serving AP MLD 22 204 becomes worse, it may transmit a BTM Query frame to the roaming AP MLD 2 200 through the serving AP MLD 22 204.”(Fig(s).1-2; Paragraph [0057])), and
wherein the specific station selects a target access point from the at least one preferred access points of the BTM-REQ action frame and an internal RSSI scan table comprising RSSI values (read as a bad RSSI for an AP MLD (Paragraph [004])) with respect to the at least one preferred access points (read as BTM-Request frame “After receiving the BTM Query frame, the serving AP MLD 22 204 on behalf of the roaming AP MLD2 200 will transmit BTM Request frame to the non-AP MLD11 220 to provide the candidate AP MLDs, in this example the new serving AP MLD21 202.” (Fig(s).1-2; Paragraph [0057])), and
the station transmits a BTM-RES frame to notify the current access point of upcoming BSS fast transition to a selected one of the at least one preferred access point (read as BTM Response frame(s) (Fig.4; Paragraph [0059]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and exchanging management frames (e.g.: BTM Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frame(s)) as taught by Chu et al. and wireless network protocols (e.g.: IEEE 802.11ax, 2021) as taught by Lai with the devices as taught by Likar for the purpose of enhancing management/control packets by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 7, Likar teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig.8 @ 810) in a Wi-Fi controller on a data communication network (Fig(s).2 and 8), for proactively assisting access point selection during fast BSS roaming over a wireless portion of the data communication network (Fig(s).1A, 1B, 2, and 8), the method comprising:
communicatively connecting the Wi-Fi controller (Fig(s).1A @ 110 and 1B @ 110) to a plurality of access points (Fig(s).1A @ 120A, 120B and 1B @ 120A, 120B),
wherein a current access point (Fig(s).1A @ 120A and 1B @ 120A) is wirelessly connected to a station for access to the data communication network (Fig(s).1A @ 130 and 1B @ 130);
receiving, at the Wi-Fi controller, an access point scan list and a station scan report from the plurality of access points (Fig(s).1A, 1B, 2, and 5A),
wherein the access point scan list identifies other access points within RF range, and associated BSSIDs and operating channels of the access points (read as neighbor list comprising of IEEE 802.11r (e.g.: fast BSS) parameters of one or more access point(s) (Paragraph [0054])), and
wherein the station scan report includes stations within RF range and associated values RSSI values relative to the stations (read as neighbor list comprising of IEEE 802.11r (e.g.: fast BSS) parameters received from one or more wireless station(s) (Paragraph(s) [0022] and [0048]));
generating, at the Wi-Fi controller (Fig(s).1A,1B, 2, and 8), a global station report based on the access point scan lists and the station scan reports from access points, and listing each station with respect to an RSSI value of each nearby access point from the plurality of access points (read as Network Policies, and Rules Engine (Fig.2 @ 240; Paragraph [0037]));
proactively determining, at the Wi-Fi controller, that an RSSI value for the specific station to at a least one preferred access point to be better than the current access point (read as “RSSI threshold for fast BSS transition”(Paragraph [0037])), and
in response, the Wi-Fi controller notifying the current access point and notifying the at least one preferred access point, about a proactive fast BSS transition (Fig(s).1A, 1B, and 2 @ 230 and 250), and
updating the global station report responsive to detecting that the specific station has completed BSS fast roaming from the current access point to the selected one of the at least one preferred access points. (read as “the cloud-based Wi-Fi controller 110 sends messages to update configuration to hand-off the wireless device 130 from the access point 120A to the access point 120B (interaction 507) and both the wireless station 130 and the access point 120A (interactions 508a,b).”(Fig.5C; Paragraph [0050]))
However, Likar fails to explicitly teach a Wi-Fi 6E station
wherein, in response to the notification, the current access point transmits a BTM-REQ (BSS Transition Management-Request) action frame to the specific station,
wherein the BTM-REQ action frame includes BSSIDs and respective operating channel information for the one or more preferred access points, and
wherein the specific station has not yet transmitted a BTM query frame to the current access point, and
wherein the specific Wi-Fi 6E station selects a target access point from the at least one preferred access points of the BTM-REQ action frame and an internal RSSI scan table comprising RSSI values with respect to the at least one preferred access points, and
the station transmits a BTM-RES frame to notify the current access point of upcoming BSS fast transition to a selected one of the at least one preferred access point;
Lai teaches a Wi-Fi 6E station (read as mobile information handling system(s)(Fig.2 @ 210,212, 214; Paragraph(s) [0036] and [0039]); For example, “Wireless communications across wireless local network 240 may be via standard protocols such as IEEE 802.11 Wi-Fi (e.g., Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz), IEEE 802.1lad WiGig, IEEE 802.15 WPAN, IEEE 802.11ax-2021, (e.g., Wi-Fi 6 and 6E, at 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz technologies), or emerging 5G small cell WWAN communications such as gNodeB, eNodeB, or similar wireless network protocols and access points.”(Paragraph [0036]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ wireless network protocols (e.g.: IEEE 802.11ax, 2021) as taught by Lai with the devices as taught by Likar for the purpose of improving hand-offs of wi-fi devices in a communication network.
However, Likar and Lai fail to explicitly teach wherein, in response to the notification, the current access point transmits a BTM-REQ (BSS Transition Management-Request) action frame to the specific station,
wherein the BTM-REQ action frame includes BSSIDs and respective operating channel information for the one or more preferred access points, and
wherein the specific station has not yet transmitted a BTM query frame to the current access point, and
wherein the specific station selects a target access point from the at least one preferred access points of the BTM-REQ action frame and an internal RSSI scan table comprising RSSI values with respect to the at least one preferred access points, and
the station transmits a BTM-RES frame to notify the current access point of upcoming BSS fast transition to a selected one of the at least one preferred access point;
Chu et al. teach a method wherein, in response to the notification, the current access point transmits a BTM-REQ (BSS Transition Management-Request) action frame to the specific station (read as “exchanging management frames between the non-AP device and the serving AP MLD to switch from the current serving AP MLD and the future serving AP MLD.”(Fig(s).5A-5B; Abstract) Further, Chu et al. teach a method “wherein the exchanged management frames are basic service set (BSS) transitions management (BTM) Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frames.”(Fig(s).5A-5B; Paragraph [0017])),
wherein the BTM-REQ action frame includes BSSIDs and respective operating channel information for the one or more preferred access points (read as BTM Request frame(s) with BSS Transition Candidate List Entries and reserved field(s) (Fig(s).5A @ 518, 5B @ 532, 6; Paragraph(s) [0018], [0060], and [0061]) For example, Chu et al. teach a method “wherein the BTM Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frames carry neighbor AP MLD information and neighbor AP MLD affiliation information regarding the AP MLD's affiliation with the roaming AP MLD and a roaming MLD MAC address.”(Paragraph [0018])), and
wherein the specific station (read as non-AP MLD (e.g.: STA MLD) (Fig(s).1-2)) has not yet transmitted a BTM query frame to the current access point (read as “When the non-AP MLD11 220 would like to request or provide the MLD transition candidate AP MLDs, e.g. when the RSSI of current serving AP MLD 22 204 becomes worse, it may transmit a BTM Query frame to the roaming AP MLD 2 200 through the serving AP MLD 22 204.”(Fig(s).1-2; Paragraph [0057])), and
wherein the specific station selects a target access point from the at least one preferred access points of the BTM-REQ action frame and an internal RSSI scan table comprising RSSI values (read as a bad RSSI for an AP MLD (Paragraph [0057])) with respect to the at least one preferred access points (read as BTM-Request frame “After receiving the BTM Query frame, the serving AP MLD 22 204 on behalf of the roaming AP MLD2 200 will transmit BTM Request frame to the non-AP MLD11 220 to provide the candidate AP MLDs, in this example the new serving AP MLD21 202.” (Fig(s).1-2; Paragraph [0057])), and
the station transmits a BTM-RES frame to notify the current access point of upcoming BSS fast transition to a selected one of the at least one preferred access point (read as BTM Response frame(s) (Fig.4; Paragraph [0059]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and exchanging management frames (e.g.: BTM Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frame(s)) as taught by Chu et al. and wireless network protocols (e.g.: IEEE 802.11ax, 2021) as taught by Lai with the devices as taught by Likar for the purpose of enhancing management/control packets by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 13, Likar teaches a Wi-Fi controller on a data communication network, for proactively assisting access point selection during fast BSS roaming over a wireless portion of the data communication network (Fig(s).1A-1B,2, and 8), the Wi-Fi controller comprising:
a processor (Fig.8 @ 820);
a network interface (Fig.8 @ 844) communicatively coupled to the processor (Fig.8 @ 820) and to a data communication network (Fig(s).1A-1B, 2, and 8); and
a memory (Fig.8 @ 810), communicatively coupled to the processor (Fig.8 @ 820) and storing:
an access point module (Fig.8 @ 844) to communicatively connecting the Wi-Fi controller (Fig(s).1A @ 110 and 1B @ 110) to a plurality of access points (Fig(s).1A @ 120A, 120B and 1B @ 120A, 120B),
wherein a current access point (Fig(s).1A @ 120A and 1B @ 120A) is wirelessly connected to a station for access to the data communication network (Fig(s).1A @ 130 and 1B @ 130);
wherein the access point module (Fig.8 @ 844) receives an access point scan list and a station scan report from the plurality of access points (Fig(s).1A, 1B, 2, and 5A),
wherein the access point scan list identifies other access points within RF range, and associated BSSIDs and operating channels of the access points (read as neighbor list comprising of IEEE 802.11r (e.g.: fast BSS) parameters of one or more access point(s) (Paragraph [0054])), and
wherein the station scan report includes stations within RF range and associated values RSSI values relative to the stations (read as neighbor list comprising of IEEE 802.11r (e.g.: fast BSS) parameters received from one or more wireless station(s) (Paragraph(s) [0022] and [0048]));
a station module (Fig(s).2 @ 240 and 8 @ 820) to generate a global station report based on the access point scan lists and the station scan reports from access points, and list each station with respect to an RSSI value of each nearby access point from the plurality of access points (read as Network Policies, and Rules Engine (Fig.2 @ 240; Paragraph [0037])); and
a preferred BSSID module (Fig(s).2 and 8 @ 820) to proactively determine that an RSSI value for the specific station to at a least one preferred access point to be better than the current access point (read as “RSSI threshold for fast BSS transition”(Paragraph [0037])), and
in response, notify the current access point and notify the at least one preferred access point, about a proactive fast BSS transition (Fig(s).1A, 1B, and 2 @ 230 and 250), and
wherein the station module (Fig(s).1A, 1B, 2, and 8) updates the global station report responsive to detecting that the specific station has completed BSS fast roaming from the current access point to the selected one of the at least one preferred access points. (read as “the cloud-based Wi-Fi controller 110 sends messages to update configuration to hand-off the wireless device 130 from the access point 120A to the access point 120B (interaction 507) and both the wireless station 130 and the access point 120A (interactions 508a,b).”(Fig.5C; Paragraph [0050]))
However, Likar fails to explicitly teach a Wi-Fi 6E station
wherein, in response to the notification, the current access point transmits a BTM-REQ (BSS Transition Management-Request) action frame to the specific station,
wherein the BTM-REQ action frame includes BSSIDs and respective operating channel information for the one or more preferred access points, and
wherein the specific station has not yet transmitted a BTM query frame to the current access point, and
wherein the specific station selects a target access point from the at least one preferred access points of the BTM-REQ action frame and an internal RSSI scan table comprising RSSI values with respect to the at least one preferred access points, and
the station transmits a BTM-RES frame to notify the current access point of upcoming BSS fast transition to a selected one of the at least one preferred access point;
Lai teaches a Wi-Fi 6E station (read as mobile information handling system(s)(Fig.2 @ 210,212, 214; Paragraph(s) [0036] and [0039]); For example, “Wireless communications across wireless local network 240 may be via standard protocols such as IEEE 802.11 Wi-Fi (e.g., Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz), IEEE 802.1lad WiGig, IEEE 802.15 WPAN, IEEE 802.11ax-2021, (e.g., Wi-Fi 6 and 6E, at 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz technologies), or emerging 5G small cell WWAN communications such as gNodeB, eNodeB, or similar wireless network protocols and access points.”(Paragraph [0036]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ wireless network protocols (e.g.: IEEE 802.11ax, 2021) as taught by Lai with the devices as taught by Likar for the purpose of improving hand-offs of wi-fi devices in a communication network.
However, Likar and Lai fail to explicitly teach wherein, in response to the notification, the current access point transmits a BTM-REQ (BSS Transition Management-Request) action frame to the specific station,
wherein the BTM-REQ action frame includes BSSIDs and respective operating channel information for the one or more preferred access points, and
wherein the specific station has not yet transmitted a BTM query frame to the current access point, and
wherein the specific station selects a target access point from the at least one preferred access points of the BTM-REQ action frame and an internal RSSI scan table comprising RSSI values with respect to the at least one preferred access points, and
the station transmits a BTM-RES frame to notify the current access point of upcoming BSS fast transition to a selected one of the at least one preferred access point;
Chu et al. teach a method wherein, in response to the notification, the current access point transmits a BTM-REQ (BSS Transition Management-Request) action frame to the specific station (read as “exchanging management frames between the non-AP device and the serving AP MLD to switch from the current serving AP MLD and the future serving AP MLD.”(Fig(s).5A-5B; Abstract) Further, Chu et al. teach a method “wherein the exchanged management frames are basic service set (BSS) transitions management (BTM) Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frames.”(Fig(s).3, 4, 5A-5B; Paragraph [0017])),
wherein the BTM-REQ action frame includes BSSIDs and respective operating channel information for the one or more preferred access points (read as BTM Request frame(s) with BSS Transition Candidate List Entries and reserved field(s) (Fig(s).5A @ 518, 5B @ 532, 6; Paragraph(s) [0018], [0060], and [0061]) For example, Chu et al. teach a method “wherein the BTM Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frames carry neighbor AP MLD information and neighbor AP MLD affiliation information regarding the AP MLD's affiliation with the roaming AP MLD and a roaming MLD MAC address.”(Paragraph [0018])), and
wherein the specific station (read as non-AP MLD (e.g.: STA MLD) (Fig(s).1-2)) has not yet transmitted a BTM query frame to the current access point (read as “When the non-AP MLD11 220 would like to request or provide the MLD transition candidate AP MLDs, e.g. when the RSSI of current serving AP MLD 22 204 becomes worse, it may transmit a BTM Query frame to the roaming AP MLD 2 200 through the serving AP MLD 22 204.”(Fig(s).1-2; Paragraph [0057])), and
wherein the specific station selects a target access point from the at least one preferred access points of the BTM-REQ action frame and an internal RSSI scan table comprising RSSI values (read as a bad RSSI for an AP MLD (Paragraph [004])) with respect to the at least one preferred access points (read as BTM-Request frame “After receiving the BTM Query frame, the serving AP MLD 22 204 on behalf of the roaming AP MLD2 200 will transmit BTM Request frame to the non-AP MLD11 220 to provide the candidate AP MLDs, in this example the new serving AP MLD21 202.” (Fig(s).1-2; Paragraph [0057])), and
the station transmits a BTM-RES frame to notify the current access point of upcoming BSS fast transition to a selected one of the at least one preferred access point (read as BTM Response frame(s) (Fig(s).1A, 1B; and 4; Paragraph [0059]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and exchanging management frames (e.g.: BTM Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frame(s)) as taught by Chu et al. and wireless network protocols (e.g.: IEEE 802.11ax, 2021) as taught by Lai with the devices as taught by Likar for the purpose of enhancing management/control packets by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, and as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, Likar teaches “A cloud-based Wi-Fi controller facilitates fast BSS transitions. IEEE 802.11r or other fast BSS transition parameters are transferred through the cloud from the wireless station, for pre-population in neighboring or nearby access points.”(Fig(s).1A, 1B, 2, and 8; Abstract)
Lai teaches “Wireless communications across wireless local network 240 may be via standard protocols such as IEEE 802.11 Wi-Fi (e.g., Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz), IEEE 802.1lad WiGig, IEEE 802.15 WPAN, IEEE 802.11ax-2021, (e.g., Wi-Fi 6 and 6E, at 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz technologies), or emerging 5G small cell WWAN communications such as gNodeB, eNodeB, or similar wireless network protocols and access points.”(Paragraph [0036])
However, Likar and Lai fail to explicitly teach wherein the BTM-REQ action frame comprises an imminent disassociation field set by the current access point to indicate an upcoming disassociation of the specific Wi-Fi 6E station from the current access point.
Chu et al. teach a method clearly shows and discloses a method wherein the BTM-REQ action frame comprises an imminent disassociation field set by the current access point to indicate an upcoming disassociation of the specific Wi-Fi 6E station from the current access point. (Fig(s).5A-5B)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and exchanging management frames (e.g.: BTM Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frame(s)) as taught by Chu et al. and wireless network protocols (e.g.: IEEE 802.11ax, 2021) as taught by Lai with the devices as taught by Likar for the purpose of enhancing management/control packets by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, and as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, Likar, as modified by Lai and Chu et al., teaches a method and non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig(s).1A, 1B, 2 and 8) wherein the specific Wi-Fi 6E station performs BSS fast roaming according to IEEE 802.11r. (read as IEEE 802.11r (Abstract))
Regarding claims 5 and 11, and as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, Likar, as modified by Lai and Chu et al., teaches a method and non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig(s).1A, 1B, 2 and 8) wherein the step of protectively determining a better RSSI value comprises comparing BSSID values between different access points from an individual instance of the global station report. (read as Network Policies, and Rules Engine (Fig.2 @ 240; Paragraph [0037]))
Regarding claims 6 and 12, and as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, Likar, as modified by Lai and Chu et al., teaches a method and non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig(s).1A, 1B, 2 and 8) wherein the step of protectively determining a better RSSI value comprises comparing RSSI values of the current access point over sequential instances of the global station report. (read as Network Policies, and Rules Engine (Fig.2 @ 240; Paragraph [0037]))
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Likar (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2018/0183662 A1), in view of Lai (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 20240030586 A1), Chu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0048464 A1), and Ding et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0180106 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, and as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, Likar teaches “A cloud-based Wi-Fi controller facilitates fast BSS transitions. IEEE 802.11r or other fast BSS transition parameters are transferred through the cloud from the wireless station, for pre-population in neighboring or nearby access points.”(Fig(s).1A, 1B, 2, and 8; Abstract)
Lai teaches “Wireless communications across wireless local network 240 may be via standard protocols such as IEEE 802.11 Wi-Fi (e.g., Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz), IEEE 802.1lad WiGig, IEEE 802.15 WPAN, IEEE 802.11ax-2021, (e.g., Wi-Fi 6 and 6E, at 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or 6 GHz technologies), or emerging 5G small cell WWAN communications such as gNodeB, eNodeB, or similar wireless network protocols and access points.”(Paragraph [0036])
Chu et al. teach a method “wherein the exchanged management frames are basic service set (BSS) transitions management (BTM) Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frames.”(Fig(s).3, 4, 5A-5B; Paragraph [0017]))
However, Likar, Lai, and Chu et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the access point transmits a BTM-REQ action frame according to IEEE 802.11v.
Ding et al. teach a method wherein the access point transmits a BTM-REQ action frame according to IEEE 802.11v.(read as “meanings and functions of the fields in the BTM query frame, the BTM request frame, and the BTM response frame, refer to related explanations in IEEE 802.11v. ”(Paragraph [0123]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for formatting frames (e.g.: BTM Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frame(s)) in IEEE 802.11v as taught by Ding et al. and the function for generating and exchanging management frames (e.g.: BTM Query, BTM Request, and BTM Response frame(s)) as taught by Chu et al. and wireless network protocols (e.g.: IEEE 802.11ax, 2021) as taught by Lai with the devices as taught by Likar for the purpose of enhancing management/control packets by devices in a communication network.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Katar et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0073739 A1) teach “techniques for performing basic service set (BSS) transition management (BTM) based load balancing for a non-AP multi-link device (non-AP MLD) by an access point (AP).”(Paragraph [0002])
Feland et al. (“Mobile Wi-Fi: Making Wi-Fi Work for Users on the Move”, August 2023) document teaches techniques for creating virtual basic service set (VBSS) for seamless roaming (page(s) 7-8)
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
February 17, 2026