DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office Action is in response to the RCE filed on 03/13/2026. As per instant Amendment, Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended; Claims 7 and 15 were previously cancelled. Claims 1, 9, and 17 are independent Claims; Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16-20 have been examined and are pending. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, 13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (“Bhatt,” US 20220171856, published on 06/02/2022) in view of Oliphant et al. (“Oliphant,” US 10,021,124 B2, published on 07/10/2018).
Regarding Claim 1;
Bhatt discloses a method for managing software security, the method comprising:
receiving a software supply chain catalog associated with a software product including information of one or more registered software components (par 0036; analyze a manifest [i.e., software supply chain catalog] of the various software container images to assess the software container images; par 0019; the software container image includes one or more particular versions of a Linux software package or that the intended execution environment for the software container image includes one or more particular versions of Linux, and the one or more second criteria includes a requirement that a particular Linux capability, Linux security facility, or Linux rights flag is enabled during runtime of the software container);
initiating a vulnerability scan to the software product based on one or more scan parameters (par 0046; a determination is made of whether a software container image or its intended execution environment meets one or more first criteria required for execution of a software vulnerability based on a static scan of the software container image by static scanner; par 0048; if the one or more first criteria are met, the container engine instantiates the software container from the software container image with runtime monitoring);
performing the vulnerability scan to the software product using the software supply chain catalog to identify one or more security vulnerabilities using one or more scanners (par 0036; analyze a manifest of the various software container images to assess the software container images; par 0019; software container image includes one or more particular versions of a Linux software package; par 0046; assessing software containers for vulnerabilities. A determination is made of whether a software container image or its intended execution environment meets one or more first criteria required for execution of a software vulnerability based on a static scan of the software container image by static scanner);
determining a requirement associated with a first identified security vulnerability of the one or more identified security vulnerabilities (par 0041; the runtime monitor only looks to see if the one or more second criteria for a particular vulnerability is met if the static scan results database indicates that the one or more first criteria for the software vulnerability are met);
determining one or more actions corresponding to the one or more identified security vulnerabilities (par 0042; if the one or more first criteria and one or more second criteria for a particular software vulnerability are met by a software container and its corresponding container image, the risk score assessment engine determines a score that indicates a magnitude of a risk the software vulnerability poses for the software container, and provides a risk score notification based on the risk score); and
performing at least one of the one or more actions corresponding to the one or more identified security vulnerabilities (par 0042; if the one or more first criteria and one or more second criteria for a particular software vulnerability are met by a software container and its corresponding container image, the risk score assessment engine determines a score that indicates a magnitude of a risk the software vulnerability poses for the software container, and provides a risk score notification based on the risk score);
wherein the method is performed using one or more processors (par 0106; the computing device architecture used to implement the static scanner and risk assessment engine on a single computing device or on multiple computing devices. The computing device includes processing circuitry operatively connected to memory).
Bhatt discloses determining one or more actions as recited above, but do not explicitly disclose the one or more actions including at least one selected from a group consisting of a recall action, a suppression action, a patch action, and an upgrade action.
However, in an analogous art, Oliphant discloses multi-path remediation system/method that includes:
the one or more actions including at least one selected from a group consisting of a recall action, a suppression action, a patch action, and an upgrade action (Oliphant: Col 4, lines 55-61; upon a determination by security server that a connection attempt or other attack has occurred against a computer that is vulnerable, security server selects one or more remediation techniques from database that remediate the particular vulnerability; Col 13, lines 59-64; product architect can integrate functionalities listed in the previous section to enable the scanner to access the logic engine and platform, and then have the intelligence to determine if the machine has actual vulnerabilities, remediate them, and verify policy compliance; Col 14, lines 61-64; create a change request in the system, specifying what update/patch is applicable to what system or groups of systems by vulnerability. After approval of the request, they may automatically deploy and install the update/patch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Oliphant with the method/system of Bhatt to include the one or more actions including at least one selected from a group consisting of a recall action, a suppression action, a patch action, and an upgrade action. One would have been motivated to remediates that particular vulnerability. Each remediation technique has a remediation type are selected from the type group consisting of patch, policy setting, and configuration option (Oliphant: abstract).
Regarding Claim 2;
The combination of Bhatt and Oliphant disclose the meth
od of claim 1,
Bhatt discloses wherein at least one of the one or more identified security vulnerabilities is associated with one of the one or more registered software components (Bhatt: par 0046; assessing software containers for vulnerabilities. A determination is made of whether a software container image or its intended execution environment meets one or more first criteria required for execution of a software vulnerability based on a static scan of the software container image by static scanner; par 0048; if the one or more first criteria are met, the container engine instantiates the software container from the software container image with runtime monitoring. The runtime monitoring includes determining whether the software container meets the one or more second criteria required for execution of the software vulnerability; par 0049; Based on whether the one or more first criteria and one or more second criteria are met, a risk score is determined that indicates a magnitude of a risk the software vulnerability poses for the software container. A notification of the risk score is provided).
Regarding Claim 3;
The combination of Bhatt and Oliphant disclose the method of claim 1,
Bhatt discloses wherein the one or more scanners include at least one selected from a group consisting of a scanner of a container image, a scanner integrated with an instance of the software product, and a scanner of one or more software dependencies (Bhatt: par 0036; a static scanner is configured to perform static scanning using the static scan rulesets of the first software vulnerability database to determine whether the software container images or their intended execution environment meet the one or more first criteria for any of the software vulnerabilities. The static scanner use filenames, hash checks, and/or signature checks to identify files, for example, and/or may analyze a manifest of the various software container images to assess the software container images; par 0040; the runtime monitor look for things such as network access, specific port access, Linux capabilities, configured security for web applications, etc.; par 0046; a determination is made of whether a software container image or its intended execution environment meets one or more first criteria required for execution of a software vulnerability based on a static scan of the software container image by static scanner).
Regarding Claim 5;
The combination of Bhatt and Oliphant disclose the method of claim 1,
Bhatt discloses wherein the requirement is a first requirement, wherein the method further comprises: determining a second requirement associated with a second identified security vulnerability of the one or more identified security vulnerabilities (Bhatt: par 0040; the runtime monitor is configured to monitor runtime behavior of the software containers to determine if any of the software containers meet the one or more second criteria for any of the software vulnerabilities. The runtime monitor look for things such as network access, specific port access, Linux capabilities, configured security for web applications, etc.; par 0041; the runtime monitor only looks to see if the one or more second criteria for a particular vulnerability is met if the static scan results database indicates that the one or more first criteria for the software vulnerability are met; if the one or more first criteria and one or more second criteria for a particular software vulnerability are met by a software container and its corresponding container image, the risk score assessment engine determines a score that indicates a magnitude of a risk the software vulnerability poses for the software container, and provides a risk score notification based on the risk score); wherein the second requirement is different from the first requirement (Bhatt: par 0019; the one or more first criteria includes a requirement that the software container image includes one or more particular versions of a Linux software package or that the intended execution environment for the software container image includes one or more particular versions of Linux, and the one or more second criteria includes a requirement that a particular Linux capability, Linux security facility, or Linux rights flag is enabled during runtime of the software container).
Regarding Claim 8;
The combination of Bhatt and Oliphant disclose the method of claim 1,
Bhatt discloses receiving information associated with a second version of the software product; adding a first scanner to the one or more scanners based at least in part on the second version of the software product (Bhatt: par 0046; assessing software containers for vulnerabilities. A determination is made of whether a software container image or its intended execution environment meets one or more first criteria required for execution of a software vulnerability based on a static scan of the software container image by static scanner; par 0048; if the one or more first criteria are met, the container engine instantiates the software container from the software container image with runtime monitoring. The runtime monitoring includes determining whether the software container meets the one or more second criteria required for execution of the software vulnerability; par 0049; Based on whether the one or more first criteria and one or more second criteria are met, a risk score is determined that indicates a magnitude of a risk the software vulnerability poses for the software container. A notification of the risk score is provided).
Regarding Claim 9;
This Claim recites a system that perform the same steps as method of Claim 1, and has limitations that are similar to Claim 1, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10;
This Claim recites a system that perform the same steps as method of Claim 2, and has limitations that are similar to Claim 2, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 2.
Regarding Claim 11;
This Claim recites a system that perform the same steps as method of Claim 3, and has limitations that are similar to Claim 3, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 3.
Regarding Claim 13;
This Claim recites a system that perform the same steps as method of Claim 5, and has limitations that are similar to Claim 5, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 5.
Regarding Claim 16;
This Claim recites a system that perform the same steps as method of Claim 8, and has limitations that are similar to Claim 8, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 8.
Regarding Claim 17;
Bhatt discloses a method for managing software security, the method comprising (abstract: runtime monitoring, a risk score that indicates a magnitude of a risk the software vulnerability poses for the software container is determined, and a notification of the risk score is provided):
receiving a trigger to initiate a vulnerability scan (par 0040; The runtime monitor is configured to monitor runtime behavior of the software containers to determine if any of the software containers meet the one or more second criteria for any of the software vulnerabilities. The runtime monitor look for things such as network access, specific port access, Linux capabilities, configured security for web applications, etc.);
accessing a software supply chain catalog associated with a software product including information of one or more registered software components (par 0036; analyze a manifest [i.e., software supply chain catalog] of the various software container images to assess the software container images; par 0019; the software container image includes one or more particular versions of a Linux software package or that the intended execution environment for the software container image includes one or more particular versions of Linux, and the one or more second criteria includes a requirement that a particular Linux capability, Linux security facility, or Linux rights flag is enabled during runtime of the software container);
initiating the vulnerability scan to the software product based on one or more scan parameters (par 0046; a determination is made of whether a software container image or its intended execution environment meets one or more first criteria required for execution of a software vulnerability based on a static scan of the software container image by static scanner; par 0048; if the one or more first criteria are met, the container engine instantiates the software container from the software container image with runtime monitoring);
performing the vulnerability scan to the software product using the software supply chain catalog to identify one or more security vulnerabilities using one or more scanners (par 0036; analyze a manifest of the various software container images to assess the software container images; par 0019; software container image includes one or more particular versions of a Linux software package; par 0046; assessing software containers for vulnerabilities. A determination is made of whether a software container image or its intended execution environment meets one or more first criteria required for execution of a software vulnerability based on a static scan of the software container image by static scanner);
determining a requirement associated with a first identified security vulnerability of the one or more identified security vulnerabilities (par 0041; the runtime monitor only looks to see if the one or more second criteria for a particular vulnerability is met if the static scan results database indicates that the one or more first criteria for the software vulnerability are met);
determining one or more actions corresponding to the one or more identified security vulnerabilities (par 0042; if the one or more first criteria and one or more second criteria for a particular software vulnerability are met by a software container and its corresponding container image, the risk score assessment engine determines a score that indicates a magnitude of a risk the software vulnerability poses for the software container, and provides a risk score notification based on the risk score); and
performing at least one of the one or more actions corresponding to the one or more identified security vulnerabilities (par 0042; if the one or more first criteria and one or more second criteria for a particular software vulnerability are met by a software container and its corresponding container image, the risk score assessment engine determines a score that indicates a magnitude of a risk the software vulnerability poses for the software container, and provides a risk score notification based on the risk score);
wherein the method is performed using one or more processors (par 0106; the computing device architecture used to implement the static scanner and risk assessment engine on a single computing device or on multiple computing devices. The computing device includes processing circuitry operatively connected to memory).
Bhatt discloses determining one or more actions as recited above, but do not explicitly disclose the one or more actions including at least one selected from a group consisting of a recall action, a suppression action, a patch action, and an upgrade action.
However, in an analogous art, Oliphant discloses multi-path remediation system/method that includes:
the one or more actions including at least one selected from a group consisting of a recall action, a suppression action, a patch action, and an upgrade action (Oliphant: Col 4, lines 55-61; upon a determination by security server that a connection attempt or other attack has occurred against a computer that is vulnerable, security server selects one or more remediation techniques from database that remediate the particular vulnerability; Col 13, lines 59-64; product architect can integrate functionalities listed in the previous section to enable the scanner to access the logic engine and platform, and then have the intelligence to determine if the machine has actual vulnerabilities, remediate them, and verify policy compliance; Col 14, lines 61-64; create a change request in the system, specifying what update/patch is applicable to what system or groups of systems by vulnerability. After approval of the request, they may automatically deploy and install the update/patch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Oliphant with the method/system of Bhatt to include the one or more actions including at least one selected from a group consisting of a recall action, a suppression action, a patch action, and an upgrade action. One would have been motivated to remediates that particular vulnerability. Each remediation technique has a remediation type are selected from the type group consisting of patch, policy setting, and configuration option (Oliphant: abstract).
Regarding Claim 18;
This Claim recites a method that perform the same steps as method of Claim 2, and has limitations that are similar to Claim 2, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 2.
Regarding Claim 19;
The combination of Bhatt and Oliphant disclose the method of claim 17,
Bhatt discloses wherein the trigger includes at least one selected from a group consisting of a new version of the software product becoming available, a new deployment of the software product, a new security vulnerability being discovered, and a time associated with periodic scanning (Bhatt: par 0036; a static scanner is configured to perform static scanning using the static scan rulesets of the first software vulnerability database to determine whether the software container images or their intended execution environment meet the one or more first criteria for any of the software vulnerabilities. The static scanner use filenames, hash checks, and/or signature checks to identify files, for example, and/or may analyze a manifest of the various software container images to assess the software container images; par 0040; the runtime monitor look for things such as network access, specific port access, Linux capabilities, configured security for web applications, etc.; par 0046; a determination is made of whether a software container image or its intended execution environment meets one or more first criteria required for execution of a software vulnerability based on a static scan of the software container image by static scanner).
Claims 4, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (US 20220171856) in view of Oliphant et al. (“Oliphant,” US 10,021,124 B2, published on 07/10/2018), and further in view Bennett et al. (“Bennett,” US 20100275263, published on 10/28/2010).
Regarding Claim 4;
The combination of Bhatt and Oliphant disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Bhatt discloses looking up an assessment score associated with each security vulnerability of the one or more identified security vulnerabilities (Bhatt: par 0041; the runtime monitor only looks to see if the one or more second criteria for a particular vulnerability is met if the static scan results database indicates that the one or more first criteria for the software vulnerability are met; par 0042; if the one or more first criteria and one or more second criteria for a particular software vulnerability are met by a software container and its corresponding container image, the risk score assessment engine determines a score that indicates a magnitude of a risk the software vulnerability poses for the software container, and provides a risk score notification based on the risk score); wherein the determining a requirement associated with at least one security vulnerability of the one or more identified security vulnerabilities comprises determining the requirement based in part on an assessment associated with the first identified security vulnerability (Bhatt: par 0041; the runtime monitor only looks to see if the one or more second criteria for a particular vulnerability is met if the static scan results database indicates that the one or more first criteria for the software vulnerability are met; par 0042; if the one or more first criteria and one or more second criteria for a particular software vulnerability are met by a software container and its corresponding container image, the risk score assessment engine determines a score that indicates a magnitude of a risk the software vulnerability poses for the software container, and provides a risk score notification based on the risk score).
Bhatt discloses determining the requirement based in part on an assessment associated with the first identified security vulnerability as recited above, but do not explicitly disclose requirement based in part on an assessment score.
However, in an analogous art, Bennett discloses security management software system/method that includes:
requirement based in part on an assessment score (Bennett: par 0125; The what-if scenario can include any number of assets and any number of parameters to be inputted, edited, altered, modified, or changed by the user. Some examples of parameters than can be edited include maturity scores or assessment scores, likelihoods, impacts, classifications, costs, vulnerabilities, risks, regulatory requirements, threats, activities, and the like. The parameters can include information captured by any module of the system, information from sources external to the system, or both).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bennett with the method/system of Bhatt to include requirement based in part on an assessment score. One would have been motivated to create a what-if scenario by changing one or more baseline security measurements. The system generates interactive, animated graphs that compare the baseline security measurements against the what-if scenario (Bennett: abstract).
Regarding Claim 12;
This Claim recites a system that perform the same steps as method of Claim 4, and has limitations that are similar to Claim 4, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 4.
Regarding Claim 20;
This Claim recites a method that perform the same steps as method of Claim 4, and has limitations that are similar to Claim 4, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 4.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al. (US 20220171856) in view of Oliphant et al. (“Oliphant,” US 10,021,124 B2, published on 07/10/2018), and further in view Baker et al. (“Baker,” US 10,735,451, published on 08/04/2020).
Regarding Claim 6;
The combination of Bhatt and Oliphant disclose the method of claim 5,
Bhatt discloses wherein the second requirement is different from the first requirement (Bhatt: par 0019; the one or more first criteria includes a requirement that the software container image includes one or more particular versions of a Linux software package or that the intended execution environment for the software container image includes one or more particular versions of Linux, and the one or more second criteria includes a requirement that a particular Linux capability, Linux security facility, or Linux rights flag is enabled during runtime of the software container).
Bhatt discloses wherein the second requirement is different from the first requirement as recited above, but do not explicitly disclose different from the first requirement in a required time for an action to be taken.
However, in an analogous art, Baker discloses maintaining IT infrastructure security system/method that includes:
different from the first requirement in a required time for an action to be taken (Baker: Col 7, lines 41-53; regulation prescribe a 60 day time period from a particular triggering of a first vulnerability type to remediation, and a PCI regulation may prescribe a 30 day time period for remediation for a second vulnerability type. Thus, if a single system is found to have both types of vulnerabilities, a 30 day maximum remediation timeline may be prescribed such that the earlier deadline is assigned first and the enterprise's IT group that handles the second type of vulnerability may be assigned the remediation instead of or before a different team that is assigned responsibility for the first type of vulnerability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Baker with the method/system of Bhatt to include different from the first requirement in a required time for an action to be taken. One would have been motivated to detect vulnerabilities, and generating list of remediation tasks for the detected vulnerabilities (Baker: abstract).
Regarding Claim 14;
This Claim recites a system that perform the same steps as method of Claim 6, and has limitations that are similar to Claim 6, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 6.
Conclusion
/C.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439