Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17th April 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
========== ========== ==========
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 – 7, 10, 11, 12, 14 – 18, 20, 21, 23 – 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US 2020/0022161 A1).
Claim 1 (similarly Claim 21). Yang shows a user equipment (UE) (fig. 14: UE 120), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (fig. 14: memory 124); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (fig. 14: processor 122) to cause the UE to: receive control signaling comprising a configuration for an uplink control message ([0049]: the UE may receive a PDCCH/PDSCH and transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)/physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), as a general downlink/uplink signal transmission procedure wherein control information transmitted from the UE to the BS is referred to as uplink control information (UCI); fig. 5 and [0056] – [0059]: configurations); generate the uplink control message in accordance with the configuration and a first uplink control message format from a plurality of uplink control message formats (pg. 6 table 5; [0084] – [0089]: the PUSCH carries uplink data (e.g. UL-SCH transport block (UL-SCH TB)) and/or uplink control information (UCI)… when the transform precoding is not allowed (e.g. the transform precoding is disabled), the UE may transmit the PUSCH based on the CP-OFDM waveform and when the transform precoding is allowed (e.g. the transform precoding is enabled), the UE may transmit the PUSCH based on the CD-OFDM waveform or the DFT-s-OFDM waveform wherein PUSCH transmission may be dynamically scheduled by the UL grant in the DCI or semi-statically scheduled based on higher layer (e.g. RRC) signaling (and/or Layer 1 (L1) signaling (e.g. PDCCH)) (configured grant)), wherein the uplink control message comprises a demodulation reference signal that is frequency division multiplexed with uplink control information ([0086]: PUCCH format 2 carries UCI having a bit size larger than 2 bits, and the modulation symbols are transmitted through frequency division multiplexing (FDM) with the DMRS), and wherein the first uplink control message format is associated with a discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing waveform and a quantity of four or more orthogonal frequency division multiplex symbols ([0054]: the symbols may include an OFDM symbol (or a CP-OFDM symbol) and an SC-FDMA symbol (or a Discrete Fourier Transform-spread-OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM) symbol); [0348]: the PUCCH resource of the second format may last for four or more (e.g. 4 to 14) symbol duration); and transmit the uplink control message using the discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing waveform (fig. 12; [0346]: the UE may then transmit the first UCI and the second UCI in their corresponding PUCCH resources, and the eNB may receive the first UCI and the second UCI in the corresponding PUCCH resources).
Claim 3 (similarly claim 23). Yang shows the UE of claim 2, wherein the indication to switch comprises a dynamic indication ([0076]: DCI format 2_0 is used to deliver dynamic slot format information (e.g. dynamic SFI) to the UE; [0089]: PUSCH transmission may be dynamically scheduled by the UL grant in the DCI), a semi-static indication ([0282]: SR PUCCH resource in a slot, (semi-statically) configured for/indicated to the UE overlaps with two or more (semi-statically configured) CSI PUCCHs on the time axis), or a static indication (n/a).
Claim 4 (similarly claim 24). Yang shows the UE of claim 2, wherein the control signaling comprises a radio resource control signaling ([0153]: PUCCH resources to be used for UCI transmission in a PUCCH resource set may be configured by higher-layer signaling (e.g. RRC signaling)).
Claim 5 (similarly claim 25). Yang shows the UE of claim 1, wherein frequency division multiplexing the demodulation reference signal with the uplink control information is based at least in part on a type of demodulation sequence associated with the demodulation reference signal ([0086]: a Pseudo Noise (PN) sequence is used for the DMRS sequence).
Claim 6 (similarly claim 26). Yang shows the UE of claim 5, wherein the type of demodulation sequence is associated with a root index associated with the demodulation reference signal ([0086]: the DM-RS is positioned on symbol indexes #1, #4, #7 and #10 in a resource block given with a density of 1/3).
Claim 7 (similarly claim 27). Yang shows the UE of claim 1, wherein frequency division multiplexing the demodulation reference signal with the uplink control information is based at least in part on a demodulation reference signal density in a frequency domain ([0086]: PUCCH format 2 carries UCI having a bit size larger than 2 bits, and the modulation symbols are transmitted through frequency division multiplexing (FDM) with the DMRS which the DM-RS is positioned on symbol indexes #1, #4, #7 and #10 in a resource block given with a density of 1/3).
Claim 10. Yang shows the UE of claim 1, wherein a second uplink control message format of the plurality of uplink control message formats is associated with a cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing waveform ([0054]: the symbols may include an OFDM symbol (or a CP-OFDM symbol); [0089]: the PUSCH carries uplink data (e.g. UL-SCH transport block (UL-SCH TB)) and/or uplink control information (UCI), and is transmitted based on a Cyclic Prefix-Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform) and a quantity of two or fewer orthogonal frequency division multiplex symbols ([0129]: number of OFDM symbols in single PUCCH: 1 to X symbols (e.g. X=2)).
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim 11 (similarly Claim 28). Yang shows a network entity (fig. 14: eNB 110), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (fig. 14: memory 114); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (fig. 14: processor 112) to cause the network entity to: output control signaling comprising a configuration for an uplink control message ([0049]: the UE may receive a PDCCH/PDSCH (e.g. from the eNB) and transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)/physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), as a general downlink/uplink signal transmission procedure wherein control information transmitted from the UE to the BS is referred to as uplink control information (UCI); fig. 5 and [0056] – [0059]: configurations); obtain the uplink control message in accordance with the configuration and a first uplink control message format from a plurality of uplink control message formats (pg. 6 table 5; [0084] – [0089]: the PUSCH carries uplink data (e.g. UL-SCH transport block (UL-SCH TB)) and/or uplink control information (UCI)… when the transform precoding is not allowed (e.g. the transform precoding is disabled), the UE may transmit the PUSCH based on the CP-OFDM waveform and when the transform precoding is allowed (e.g. the transform precoding is enabled), the UE may transmit the PUSCH based on the CD-OFDM waveform or the DFT-s-OFDM waveform wherein PUSCH transmission may be dynamically scheduled by the UL grant in the DCI or semi-statically scheduled based on higher layer (e.g. RRC) signaling (and/or Layer 1 (L1) signaling (e.g. PDCCH)) (configured grant)), wherein the uplink control message comprises a demodulation reference signal that is frequency division multiplexed with uplink control information ([0086]: PUCCH format 2 carries UCI having a bit size larger than 2 bits, and the modulation symbols are transmitted through frequency division multiplexing (FDM) with the DMRS), and wherein the first uplink control message format is associated with a discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing waveform and a quantity of four or more orthogonal frequency division multiplex symbols ([0054]: the symbols may include an OFDM symbol (or a CP-OFDM symbol) and an SC-FDMA symbol (or a Discrete Fourier Transform-spread-OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM) symbol); [0348]: the PUCCH resource of the second format may last for four or more (e.g. 4 to 14) symbol duration); and decode the uplink control message based at least in part on the configuration (fig. 12; [0346]: an eNB may determine first UCI of a highest priority from among a plurality of UCIs… the eNB may receive the first UCI and the second UCI in the corresponding PUCCH resources).
Claim 12. the network entity of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output a downlink control message, the downlink control message comprising a demodulation reference signal frequency division multiplexed with downlink control information, wherein the downlink control message utilizes a discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing waveform.
Claim 14. Yang shows the network entity of claim 13, wherein the indication to switch comprises a dynamic indication ([0076]: DCI format 2_0 is used to deliver dynamic slot format information (e.g. dynamic SFI) to the UE; [0089]: PUSCH transmission may be dynamically scheduled by the UL grant in the DCI), a semi-static indication ([0282]: SR PUCCH resource in a slot, (semi-statically) configured for/indicated to the UE overlaps with two or more (semi-statically configured) CSI PUCCHs on the time axis), or a static indication (n/a).
Claim 15. Yang shows the network entity of claim 13, wherein the control signaling comprises a radio resource control signaling ([0153]: PUCCH resources to be used for UCI transmission in a PUCCH resource set may be configured by higher-layer signaling (e.g. RRC signaling)).
Claim 16. Yang shows the network entity of claim 11, wherein frequency division multiplexing the demodulation reference signal with the uplink control information is based at least in part on a type of demodulation sequence associated with the demodulation reference signal ([0086]: a Pseudo Noise (PN) sequence is used for the DMRS sequence).
Claim 17. Yang shows the network entity of claim 16, wherein the type of demodulation sequence is associated with a root index associated with the demodulation reference signal ([0086]: the DM-RS is positioned on symbol indexes #1, #4, #7 and #10 in a resource block given with a density of 1/3).
Claim 18. Yang shows the network entity of claim 11, wherein frequency division multiplexing the demodulation reference signal with the uplink control information is based at least in part on a demodulation reference signal density in a frequency domain ([0086]: PUCCH format 2 carries UCI having a bit size larger than 2 bits, and the modulation symbols are transmitted through frequency division multiplexing (FDM) with the DMRS which the DM-RS is positioned on symbol indexes #1, #4, #7 and #10 in a resource block given with a density of 1/3).
Claim 20 (similarly claim 30). Yang shows the network entity of claim 11, wherein a second uplink control message format of the plurality of uplink control message formats is associated with a cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing waveform ([0054]: the symbols may include an OFDM symbol (or a CP-OFDM symbol); [0089]: the PUSCH carries uplink data (e.g. UL-SCH transport block (UL-SCH TB)) and/or uplink control information (UCI), and is transmitted based on a Cyclic Prefix-Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform) and a quantity of two or fewer orthogonal frequency division multiplex symbols ([0129]: number of OFDM symbols in single PUCCH: 1 to X symbols (e.g. X=2)).
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 13 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al in view of Zheng et al (US 2024/0032034 A1).
Claim 2 (similarly claim 22). Yang shows the UE of claim 1; Yang does not very expressly describe wherein the control signaling comprises an indication to switch from time division multiplexing to frequency division multiplexing based at least in part on the first uplink control message format.Zheng teaches feature of an indication to switch from time division multiplexing to frequency division multiplexing based at least in part on an uplink control message format ([0086] – [0088]: the second information being used to indicate whether the terminal supports dynamic switching between the SFN transmission scheme and a first transmission scheme, where the first transmission scheme includes one or more of the following (a) frequency division multiplexing multi-TRP (MTRP) transmission scheme, (b) time division multiplexing multi-TRP transmission scheme).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the indication as taught by Zheng in the control signal of Yang to improve receiving performance of the UE.
Claim 13. Yang shows the network entity of claim 11; Yang does not very expressly describe wherein the control signaling comprises an indication to switch from time division multiplexing to frequency division multiplexing based at least in part on the first uplink control message format.Zheng teaches feature of an indication to switch from time division multiplexing to frequency division multiplexing based at least in part on an uplink control message format ([0086] – [0088]: the second information being used to indicate whether the terminal supports dynamic switching between the SFN transmission scheme and a first transmission scheme, where the first transmission scheme includes one or more of the following (a) frequency division multiplexing multi-TRP (MTRP) transmission scheme, (b) time division multiplexing multi-TRP transmission scheme).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the indication as taught by Zheng in the control signal of Yang to improve receiving performance of the UE.
---------- ---------- ----------
Claims 8, 19 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al in view of Si et al (US 2020/0366352 A1).
Claim 8. Yang shows the UE of claim 1; Yang does not very expressly describe wherein frequency division multiplexing the demodulation reference signal with the uplink control information is based at least in part on a quantity of demodulation reference signal symbols that are frequency division multiplexed with uplink control information in a slot.Si teaches feature of frequency division multiplexing the demodulation reference signal with uplink control information ([0018]: where NREPUSCH represents the quantity of REs available for the transmission of the UCI on the PUSCH, MscΦUCI (l) represents the quantity of REs available for the transmission of the UCI on an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol l, Nsymb,allPUSCH, represents the quantity of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH, and n represents the quantity of OFDM symbols occupied by a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) in the PUSCH). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Si in the signaling process of Yang to facilitate determining resource for transmission of each part of CSI on uplink channels.
Claim 19 (similarly claim 29). Yang shows the network entity of claim 11; Yang does not very expressly describe wherein frequency division multiplexing the demodulation reference signal with the uplink control information is based at least in part on a quantity of demodulation reference signal symbols that are frequency division multiplexed with uplink control information in a slot.Si teaches feature of frequency division multiplexing the demodulation reference signal with uplink control information ([0018]: where NREPUSCH represents the quantity of REs available for the transmission of the UCI on the PUSCH, MscΦUCI (l) represents the quantity of REs available for the transmission of the UCI on an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol l, Nsymb,allPUSCH, represents the quantity of OFDM symbols in the PUSCH, and n represents the quantity of OFDM symbols occupied by a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) in the PUSCH). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Si in the signaling process of Yang to facilitate determining resource for transmission of each part of CSI on uplink channels.
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al in view of Yoshioka et al (US 2022/0150023 A1).
Claim 9. Yang shows the UE of claim 1; Yang does not very expressly describe wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: generate a sidelink message comprising a demodulation reference signal frequency division multiplexed with sidelink control information; and transmit the sidelink message to a second UE.Yoshioka teaches features of generating a sidelink message comprising a demodulation reference signal frequency division multiplexed with sidelink control information ([0126]: when a sidelink control channel and a sidelink shared channel are to be frequency-division multiplexed, map a demodulation reference signal for the sidelink shared channel onto a symbol onto which a demodulation reference signal for the sidelink control channel is mapped); and transmit the sidelink message to a second UE ([0126]: transmitting unit configured to transmit the symbol onto which the demodulation reference signal for the sidelink control channel and the demodulation reference signal for the sidelink shared channel are mapped).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the sidelink message generation and transmission features as taught by Yoshioka in the UE of Yang to improve spectral efficiency and reduce latency in channels.
========== ========== ==========
Conclusion
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
1. Lee et al, US 2021/0297221 A1: a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) for sidelink communication, the WTRU is configured to receive a resource pool identity (ID); determine whether to include information related to demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) density for a sidelink transmission in sidelink control information (SCI) based on the resource pool ID; on a condition that the information related to DM-RS density is to be included in the SCI, transmit the SCI including the information related to DM-RS density, wherein the SCI is associated with a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); and transmit the sidelink transmission on the PSSCH with one or more DM-RSs at a first DM-RS density based on the information related to DM-RS density.
2. Shimezawa et al, US 2019/0182812 A1: a mobile device configured to perform communication with a base station device, including a wireless transmitting unit configured to transmit an uplink channel using a first signal waveform or a second signal waveform on the basis of control information notified by the base station device wherein the first signal waveform is a multicarrier signal, and the second signal waveform is a single carrier signal.
/XAVIER S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415 7th March 2026