DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111 in response to a Non-Final Office Action. Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, and 11 have been amended; No claims have been added; claims 16-20 canceled. Claims 1-15 are subject to examination.
Acknowledgement is made to this application's amendment to claim 16 to obviate the previous objection. Since claim 16-20 has been canceled, the previous objection to claim 16 is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, 6, and 11 recite “in a case that Automatic Neighbor Relations (ANR) is disabled and NR Cell Global Identity (NCGI) measurement is not configured; wherein the measurement report does not comprise a measurement of a NR cell of NCGI measurement”. The specification does not provide description of these negative limitations, for example "disabling ANR" and "not configuring NCGI measurement". In fact, specification does not describe ANR or NCGI. Taking these factors into account, undue experimentation would be required by one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the full scope of claim 1, 6, and 11. Thus, claim 1, 6, and 11 are not enabled by the disclosure.
Claim(s) 2-5, 7-10, and 12-15 are also rejected because they are dependent upon rejected claim 1, 6, and 11 as set forth above and include limitations of the clams 1, 6, and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 6, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAE (BAE hereafter) (US 20220312524 A1) in view of Wang et al. (Wang hereafter) (US 20220015029 A1).
Regarding claim 1, claim 6, and claim 11, BAE teaches, A stationing method, applicable to an electronic device, comprising:
sending a measurement report of a measured new radio (NR) cell to a long-term evolution (LTE) base station in a case that Automatic Neighbor Relations (ANR) is disabled and NR Cell Global Identity (NCGI) measurement is not configured; wherein the measurement report does not comprise a measurement of a NR cell of NCGI measurement (BAE; Event B1: Inter RAT neighbour becomes better than threshold, Par. 0124; The LTE network 340 may transmit information related to the measurement configuration to the electronic device 101 in operation 604, and the information related to the measurement configuration may include B1 event information ... the electronic device 101 may transmit a measurement report (MR) to the LTE network 340, Par. 0134-0135 [Note that BAE doesn’t require ANR or NCGI measurement]);
searching, if redirection information sent by the LTE base station based on the measurement report is received, for a target NR cell corresponding to a cell frequency in the redirection information (BAE; when the measurement report is suitable for a condition of handover or redirection to the 5G network 350, the LTE network 340 may perform handover or redirection to the 5G network 350 from the LTE network 340 in operation 608, Par. 0136) ; and
initiating, a registration request on the target NR cell, wherein the registration request is used for the electronic device to station on the target NR cell (BAE; The electronic device 101 may perform handover or redirection to the 5G network 350 from the LTE network 340, Par. 0136; The electronic device 101 may be registered in the 5G network 350 (for example, gNB 351/5GC 532) by the redirection or handover in operation 1010, Par. 0158).
Although BAE teaches registering with SA NR cell in Fig. 12, but BAE fail to explicitly teach,
resolving a system message of the target NR cell; and
initiating, if tracking area (TA) information is resolved from the system message of the target NR cell, a registration request.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches,
resolving a system message of the target NR cell (Wang; A user equipment (UE) may attempt to select a respective cell to connect to a network (e.g., a fourth generation (4G) network, a fifth generation (5G) network, or the like) based on system information received from a base station associated with the respective cell, Par. 0005); and
initiating, if tracking area (TA) information is resolved from the system message of the target NR cell, a registration request (Wang; The system information may include one or multiple parameters (e.g., subcarrier offset information, tracking area code (TAC) information, etc.) that the UE may use to determine whether the respective cell is configured as an SA cell or an NSA cell … The UE may thereby avoid attempting to camp on NSA cells, Par. 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of BAE to include the use of TAC as taught by Wang in order to register to SA NR cell (Wang; Par. 0040).
Specifically for claim 6, BAE teaches, An electronic device, comprising a processor and a memory storing a program or an instruction that is capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the electronic device to perform (BAE; the electronic device 101, Par. 0134).
Specifically for claim 11, BAE teaches, A non-transitory readable storage medium storing a program or an instruction, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform (BAE; the electronic device 101, Par. 0134).
Claim 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAE- Wang and in further view of ZHU et al. (ZHU hereafter) (WO 2021217634 A1).
Regarding claim 2, claim 7, and claim 12, BAE- Wang teaches, The method according to claim 1, The electronic device according to claim 6, and The non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 11 respectively,
wherein the measurement report comprises signal strength of the target NR cell (BAE; the electronic device 101 may measure at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, an RSSI, or an SINR corresponding to at least one of an inter-frequency, an intra-frequency, or an inter-RAT on the basis of the measurement configuration, Par. 0110; When redirection is configured, the LTE network 340 receiving the MR in operation 1006 may release a connection with the LTE network 340 by transmitting an RRC release message including “redirectedCarrier1fo;nr-r15” to the electronic device 101 in operation 1008-1, Par. 0158).
BAE- Wang fail to explicitly teach,
if there are a plurality of target NR cells corresponding to cell frequencies in the redirection information, the searching for a target NR cell corresponding to a cell frequency in the redirection information comprises:
searching for the target NR cells in descending order according to signal strength of the target NR cells.
However, in the same field of endeavor, ZHU teaches,
if there are a plurality of target NR cells corresponding to cell frequencies in the redirection information (ZHU; a cell redirection list may provide the UE with a listing of cells and/or frequencies bands, Par. 0072), the searching for a target NR cell corresponding to a cell frequency in the redirection information comprises:
searching for the target NR cells in descending order according to signal strength of the target NR cells (ZHU; a UE may also determine at step 530 and/or step 540 whether a candidate cell is associated with a signal strength that meets or exceeds a threshold value ... selecting a cell based on a threshold value, Par. 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of BAE- Wang to include the use of threshold as taught by ZHU in order to select a cell (ZHU; Par. 0073).
Regarding claim 4, claim 9, and claim 14, BAE- Wang teaches, The method according to claim 1, The electronic device according to claim 6, and The non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 11 respectively,
wherein the method further comprises:
sending a connection request to the base station if no TA information is resolved from a system message of any target NR cell, to establish a connection to the base station; wherein the LTE base station is a base station corresponding to an cell on which the electronic device stations (Wang; if the cell 110-b is configured as an NSA cell, the cell 110-b may not be configured to transmit a SIB1 (or some other type of SIB or system information) for the cell 110-b to the UE 115-a for camping on the cell 110-b, and the UE 115-a may refrain from camping on the cell 110-b. In another example, the UE 115-a may attempt to camp on a cell 110, such as the cell 110-a if the UE 115-a determines that the cell 110-a is configured as an SA cell, Par. 0077).
Although Wang teaches not camping to NSA cell, but BAE- Wang fail to explicitly teach,
LTE cell on which the electronic device stations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, ZHU teaches,
LTE cell on which the electronic device stations (ZHU; if a UE determines at step 530 that no cell in the cell redirection list is a 5G-anchor cell ... connect to or camp on any LTE cell 503, Par. 0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of BAE- Wang to include the use of LTE cell as taught by ZHU in order to fall back (ZHU; Par. 0075).
Claim 3, 8, and 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAE- Wang and in further view of MANN et al. (MANN hereafter) (US 20170181043 A1).
Regarding claim 3, claim 8, and claim 13, BAE- Wang teaches, The method according to claim 1, The electronic device according to claim 6, and The non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 11 respectively, wherein the method further comprises:
the resolved system message does not comprise a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1), or no TA information is resolved from a SIB1 in the system message (Wang; if the cell 110-b is configured as an NSA cell, the cell 110-b may not be configured to transmit a SIB1 (or some other type of SIB or system information) for the cell 110-b to the UE 115-a for camping on the cell 110-b, Par. 0077).
BAE- Wang fail to explicitly teach,
starting a first timer if the redirection information is received; and
sending a connection request to the LTE base station if the first timer reaches a first preset value, to establish a connection to the LTE base station.
However, in the same field of endeavor, MANN teaches,
starting a first timer if the redirection information is received (MANN; Fig. 4A; The CSFB timer 410 commences when the CSFB redirection from the LTE is triggered in 316, Par. 0055); and
sending a connection request to the LTE base station if the first timer reaches a first preset value, to establish a connection to the LTE base station (MANN; The CSFB timer 410 is configured to allow for the CSFB search process in FIG. 3A-3B, but if no suitable cell can be found within a reasonable amount of time, the CSFB timer is configured to abort the CSFB search process and redirect the UE back to LTE in order to resume data services).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of BAE- Wang to include the use of timer as taught by MANN in order to conduct cell search process to execute redirection command (MANN; Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B).
Claim 5, 10, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAE- Wang and in further view of KWAK et al. (KWAK hereafter) (US 20220167225 A1).
Regarding claim 5, claim 10, and claim 15, BAE- Wang teaches, The method according to claim 1, The electronic device according to claim 6, and The non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 11,
wherein after resolving a system message of the target NR cell, the method further comprises:
determining, if no TA information is resolved from the system message of the target NR cell, that the target NR cell is an NSA cell (Wang; if the cell 110-b is configured as an NSA cell, the cell 110-b may not be configured to transmit a SIB1 (or some other type of SIB or system information) for the cell 110-b to the UE 115-a for camping on the cell 110-b, Par. 0077); and
sending a target measurement report to the LTE base station if measurement configuration information from the LTE base station is received (BAE; The LTE network 340 may transmit information related to the measurement configuration to the electronic device 101 in operation 604, and the information related to the measurement configuration may include B1 event information ... the electronic device 101 may transmit a measurement report (MR) to the LTE network 340, Par. 0134-0135).
BAE- Wang fail to explicitly teach,
wherein the target measurement report does not comprise a measurement report of the NSA cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor, KWAK teaches,
wherein the target measurement report does not comprise a measurement report of the NSA cell (KWAK; When the condition associated with the SA mode is not satisfied (operation 405—No), the electronic device 101 may refrain from performing a measurement of at least one second frequency not satisfying the condition in operation 409, Par. 0085).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of BAE- Wang to include the use of measurement condition as taught by KWAK in order to exclude NSA measurements on the report (KWAK; Par. 0085).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARMIN CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416