DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 26 May 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, and 10 remain pending in the application. Claims 2, 6, and 9 have been canceled. No new claim(s) have been added.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 19 September 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202311215261.0 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 December 2023 was considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN210974835 (machine translation) of Wang in view of CN114590783 (machine translation) of Xu, further in view of CN11230075 (machine translation) of Shao further in view of the combination of JP2000129372 (machine translation) of Yamamura and WO2017093165 (machine translation) of Lecomte, still further in view of US10696576 of Prabhu.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses zone induction melting equipment in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Wang discloses a zone melting device arranged on top of a case, Para[0052], equivalent to the claimed first base cabinet. Wang teaches a transparent side plate surrounding the outside of the assembly convenient for observing the smelting situation, Para[0059]. This is equivalent to the claimed glass cover. Wang also teaches a heat dissipation hole is also opened on the side plate, which can be on the transparent plate or on the galvanized plate, which is not limited here, Para[0059]. This is equivalent to the claimed ventilator. Wang discloses a controller, Para[0012], and a touch display system, Para[0017]. This is equivalent to the claimed screen holder and control and monitoring system. Wang teaches a clamping base, Para[0033], a clamping assembly, Para[009], a heating system, Para[0010], and a cooling system, Para[0015]. Wang teaches a water-cooling circulation system, Para[0015], a quartz glass tube, Para[0050], and a heating coil, Para[0010], considered equivalent to the claimed induction heater. Wang teaches that when the sliding drive assembly drives the heat-resistant tube to move up and down, the rotating drive assembly drives the heat-resistant tube to rotate at the same time, so that the melting is more uniform, Para[0067]. While Wang teaches metal powder in a closed tube, a test bar is not specifically disclosed. Wang does not teach a ring magnetic stirrer, or infrared thermometers. Wang does not teach a lifting device to change the inclination angle of the melting device.
Xu discloses a zone melting device and method for preparing high-purity tellurium through targeted eddy current reinforced zone melting in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Xu teaches that the zone melting device further comprises an inclination adjustment assembly for adjusting the inclination angle of the closed pipe, the inclination adjustment assembly comprises a top plate, and a lower part of the top plate is provided with a tilt adjustment component for adjusting the inclination of the top plate. Angled hydraulic lifting system (such as hydraulic four-column lifting system), the top plate is provided with a support, and the closed pipe is connected to the top plate through the support, Para[0015]. Xu discloses that the safe inclination angle of the graphite boat is 0-45°. Within this angle, the fixed groove can tightly fix the graphite boat, and the melt is smelted in the targeted eddy current strengthening area. will not overflow during the process, Para[0034]. This is identical to the claimed range. Xu also teaches that an inclination adjustment component and a magnetic turbine generator, which can precisely adjust the inclination of the quartz tube, accelerate the removal of impurities under the superposition of gravity assistance and turbine strengthening, realize the targeted enrichment of impurity metals and improve the purification efficiency of tellurium, Para[0055]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the inclination adjustment assembly taught by Xu to the zone melting device disclosed by Wang in order to adjust the inclination of the melting device at a safe inclination angle to smelt the test piece in the eddy current strengthening area and accelerate the removal of impurities under the superposition of gravity assistance and turbine strengthening, realize the targeted enrichment of impurity metals and improve the purification efficiency of the metal.
Shao teaches high-purity zinc cast ingot production technology in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Shao discloses zinc ingots, considered equivalent to the claimed to-be-purified test bar. Shao teaches that its main purpose is to prepare compound semiconductor materials, reducing agents, and the electronics industry, Para[0004]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a zinc ingot taught by Shao in place of the closed tube with powder taught by Wang in order to prepare compound semiconductor materials, and reducing agents for the electronic industry.
Yamamura teaches a method and device for refining Gallium in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Yamamura teaches that here, the stirring can be applied by a magnetic field, and it is particularly preferable that the stirring be applied by a magnetic field so that a circumferential swirling flow is generated in the liquid phase, Para[0009].
Lecomte teaches cold crucible furnace heated by two electromagnetic inductors have a device forming a magnetic flux concentrator, use of the furnace for melting a mixture of metals and oxides representing corium in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Lecomte teaches a magnetic concentration ring, Para[0062]. Lecomte discloses that this ring makes it possible to reinforce the results of the magnetic concentrator, Para[0116].
Therefore, based on the teachings of Yamamura and Lecomte, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a magnetic ring stirrer in the zone melting device disclosed by Wang in order to achieve circumferential swirling flow and to reinforce the results of the magnetic concentrator.
Prabhu teaches basalt processing via electric induction heating and melting in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Prabhu teaches that a temperature measurement device such as a non-contact pyrometer monitors the temperature at the surface of the molten basalt batch in furnace, Para[0019]. Non-contact pyrometers are considered equivalent to the claimed infrared thermometers. Therefore, based on the teachings of Prabhu, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include infrared thermometers in the zone melting device taught by Wang in order to monitor the temperature of the molten metal.
Thus, Wang in view of Xu further in view of Shao, the combination of Yamamura and Lecomte, and Prabhu covers all limitations of claim 1.
Claim 3 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the number of the clamp is two, and two clamps are connected with a first adjustable support and a second adjustable support, respectively; a bottom of the first adjustable support is fixedly connected with the base through a second base cabinet; and the second adjustable support is connected with a screw through a servo motor, and an end of the screw is provided with a coupling.
Wang teaches a clamping assembly with a positioning mechanism, Para[0030]. Wang discloses two locating bearings that ensure proper location of the specimen, Para[0022]. This meets the limitations of the two clamps. Wang also teaches a screw rod and a slider wherein the servo motor is provided at one end of the slide rail and the servo motor outputs the required speed of the screw, Para[0064]. Therefore, Wang covers the additional limitations of claim 3. Thus, Wang in view of Xu further in view of Shao, the combination of Yamamura and Lecomte, and Prabhu covers all limitations of claim 3.
Claim 4 further limits claim 1 by claiming that two sliding rails are arranged in parallel on the base, and the slide platform is arranged on the two sliding rails; and a bottom of the slide platform is connected with a screw through a servo motor.
Wang teaches a screw rod in parallel with the sliding rail wherein the servo motor is provided at one end of the slide rail and the servo motor outputs the required speed of the screw, Para[0064]. Therefore, Wang covers the additional limitation of claim 4. Thus, Wang in view of Xu further in view of Shao, the combination of Yamamura and Lecomte, and Prabhu covers all limitations of claim 4.
Claim 7 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the water-cooling copper jacket is correspondingly provided with a water inlet, a water outlet, an air inlet, and an air outlet; the water inlet and the water outlet are connected with a cooling system; and the air inlet and the air outlet are connected with a protective gas cylinder.
While Wang teaches a water-cooling circulation system, Wang does not specifically teach a water outlet and water inlet. Wang also does not teach an air inlet, air outlet, or protective gas cylinder.
Xu teaches a water outlet pipe, a water inlet pipe, Para[0018], and a gas inlet and gas outlet, Para[0077], equivalent to the claimed air inlet and outlet. Xu also teaches a hydrogen cylinder, Para[0077], equivalent to the claimed protective gas cylinder. Xu teaches that the technical problem to be solved by the present invention is to provide a kind of high-purity tellurium with high yield, high purity and production efficiency, and a targeted eddy-current strengthening regional smelting preparation of high-purity tellurium with few regional smelting times, Para[0008]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the water and gas inlets/outlets and the gas cylinder taught by Xu in the zone melting device taught by Wang in order to strengthen regional smelting preparation of high-purity metals. Thus, Wang in view of Xu further in view of Shao, the combination of Yamamura and Lecomte, and Prabhu covers all limitations of claim 7.
Claim 10 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the lifting device comprises an actuator arranged in the first base cabinet; the actuator is connected with a first end of a connection plate through a screw; and a second end of the connection plate is connected with the base of the melting device.
Wang does not teach a lifting device to change the inclination angle of the melting device.
Xu teaches that the zone melting device further comprises an inclination adjustment assembly for adjusting the inclination angle of the closed pipe, the inclination adjustment assembly comprises a top plate, and a lower part of the top plate is provided with a tilt adjustment component for adjusting the inclination of the top plate. Angled hydraulic lifting system (such as hydraulic four-column lifting system), the top plate is provided with a support, and the closed pipe is connected to the top plate through the support, Para[0015]. Xu’s tilt adjustment component meets the limitations of the claimed actuator. Therefore, Xu covers the additional limitation of claim 10. Thus, Wang in view of Xu further in view of Shao, the combination of Yamamura and Lecomte, and Prabhu covers all limitations of claim 10.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN210974835 (machine translation) of Wang in view of CN114590783 (machine translation) of Xu further in view of CN11230075 (machine translation) of Shao further in view of the combination of JP2000129372 (machine translation) of Yamamura and WO2017093165 (machine translation) of Lecomte, further in view of US10696576 of Prabhu, as cited above, and further in view of CN107858523 (machine translation) of He.
Claim 5 further limits claim 4 by claiming that an outer side of each of the two sliding rails is provided with a slide limiter.
Wang does not teach a slide limiter.
He teaches a purification device and purification method for high-purity indium in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. He discloses that the guide rail is provided with a left stopper, a slide groove and a right stopper, Para[0025]. He discloses that the present invention simultaneously realizes regional smelting and directional solidification, Para[0062]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the slide stoppers taught by He in the device disclosed by Wang in order to realize regional smelting and directional solidifcation. Thus, Wang in view of Xu, further in view of Shao, the combination of Yamamura and Lecomte, Prabhu, and He covers all limitations of claim 5.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN210974835 (machine translation) of Wang in view of CN114590783 (machine translation) of Xu further in view of CN11230075 (machine translation) of Shao further in view of the combination of JP2000129372 (machine translation) of Yamamura and WO2017093165 (machine translation) of Lecomte, further in view of US10696576 of Prabhu, as cited above, further in view of CN116588902 (machine translation) of Yang.
Claim 8 further limits claim 7 by claiming that an interior of the water-cooling copper jacket is provided with a spirally-grooved air channel; and an inert protective gas is configured to be fed from the protective gas cylinder to the heating-cooling device through the air inlet, and fill the heating-cooling device along the spirally-grooved air channel.
Wang does not teach an inert protective gas or a spirally-grooved air channel.
Xu teaches heating pipes with spiral structure, Para[0018]. Xu discloses the use of copper heating tubes to spirally wind to form multiple secondary spirals can effectively improve the temperature and heating speed of the melting zone, and is convenient to control the temperature of the melting zone, Para[0054]. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the spiral structured heating pipes taught by Xu in the zone melting device disclosed by Wang in order to improve the temperature and heating speed of the melting zone.
Yang teaches a high-purity tellurium efficient zone melting method and device in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Yang teaches argon as the protective inert gas, Para[0023]. Yang discloses that the present invention provides a high-purity tellurium and efficient zone melting method and device, Para[0008]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the protective inert gas taught by Yang in the zone melting device taught by Wang in order to obtain an efficient zone melting method and device.
Thus, Wang in view of Xu, further in view of Shao, the combination of Yamamura and Lecomte, Prabhu, and Yang covers all limitations of claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that (remarks, page 6 and 7 of 11) the combination of Wang and Xu is improper because Wang teaches away from the melting device because Wang consistently emphasizes a vertically aligned induction-smelting structure. This is not found persuasive as Xu teaches a horizontally aligned structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to consider the teachings of Xu as a whole, including the horizontal structure and the lifting device, and apply them to Wang. The test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art, and all teachings in the prior art must be considered to the extent that they are in analogous arts, see MPEP 2143.01.
Applicant argues that (remarks, page 7 of 11) a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that introducing Xu’s tilting arrangement into Wang would impair the uniform induction-heating condition on which Wang relies. This is not found persuasive as one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the horizontal structure of Xu and would be able to incorporate it into the base cabinet of Wang resulting in a melting device that meets the limitations of the claim and does not impair the incorporated structures of Wang.
Applicant argues that (remarks, page 7 of 11) the office action does not adequately explain why one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Wang’s invention with Xu’s lifting device and inclination angle. This is not found persuasive as Xu teaches an inclination adjustment component and a magnetic turbine generator, which can precisely adjust the inclination of the quartz tube, accelerate the removal of impurities under the superposition of gravity assistance and turbine strengthening, realize the targeted enrichment of impurity metals and improve the purification efficiency of tellurium, Para[0055]. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Xu’s lifting device and inclination angle to Wang’s invention in order to accelerate the removal of impurities.
Applicant argues that (remarks, page 8 of 11) Wang also teaches away from incorporating the claimed ring magnetic stirrer because the circumferentially moving ring magnetic stirrer would introduce an additional magnetic field in the melting region that could interfere with the eddy-current field generated by Wang’s heating coil acting on the vertically moving tube. This is not found persuasive as the horizontal structure taught by Xu would not result in an additional magnetic field in the melting region, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to apply the ring magnetic stirrrer of Yamamura and Lecomte along with the horizontal structure of Xu to the cabinet of Wang resulting in the claimed invention.
Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JACOB BENJAMIN STILES/
Examiner, Art Unit 1733