DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/15/2023 was filed and is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 5/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without the fingers of claim 3 and the qubits of claim 9, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976).
In regard to claim 1, the applicant recites a classical computing assembly. However, the specification is clear that this invention is directed to a quantum signal. The only enters the claims in claim 9. This is critical to the invention. Moreover, the specification is clear that the problem is transmitting extremely low-energy quantum signals between chips while reducing noise—this is accomplished by the fingers of claim 3. Claim 3 is further critical to the invention. Claims 3 and 9 must be rolled into claim 1 before allowance.
Claims 2-8 are further rejected for depending on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zangrando et al (US 4,083,016).
In regard to claim 1, Zangrando et al disclose a structure comprising:
a first chip substantially located in a first microwave cavity, wherein the first microwave cavity has a first mode;
a second chip substantially located in a second microwave cavity, wherein the second microwave cavity has a second mode;
a microwave channel connecting the first microwave cavity and the second microwave cavity; and
a coupling from the first chip to the second chip through the microwave channel.
Zangrando et al fail to disclose wherein the microwave channel has a third mode, and wherein the third mode dissipates the first mode and the second mode in the microwave channel.
However, in the 45 years since Zangrando et al, it was well-known that iris/apertures between microwave cavities would posses their own third mode, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the iris in order to reduce propagation of undesired cavity fields.
In regard to claim 2, Zangrando et al fail to disclose the microwave channel has an aspect ratio of greater than 4:1. However, this is routine optimization. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the iris in order to reduce propagation of undesired cavity fields.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shabani et al (US 2024/0005187 A1) disclose quantum architecture.
Paik et al (US 11,586,967 B2) disclose controlling quantum states.
Bishop et al (US 2018/0003753 A1) disclose read out of quantum states.
Paik (US 2014/0314419 A1) disclose quantum information transfer.
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875